LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

bidiots wrote: »
    Wrong thread surely? If I'm paying top tax, its not going to be in a Passat!

true, but if you had money to burn that would be a serious sleeper to put away all the daysul 'coo system' boys in the border counties, badge it up with a red-i tdi badge and challenge their 'red d-i' mobiles to a race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭bidiots

true, but if you had money to burn that would be a serious sleeper to put away all the daysul 'coo system' boys in the border counties, badge it up with a red-i tdi badge and challenge their 'red d-i' mobiles to a race.

I'm just getting too old for this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭skibum

With a little bit of work with the exhaust they sound nice :D

The engine isn't the most reliable and a bit of a bitch to work on, that particular W8 had 2 engines blow on the owner, but I like it.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I just spent an hour browsing through pistonheads, man alive we have some seriously cheap luxobarges here. The massive sterling/euro discrepancy aside, cars are going for big bucks in the UK, especially Mercedes and BMW.

If I was selling, i'd definitely be listing it over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Nct expired Feb 2014 :eek:
    Too busy ducking bullets to NCT it :)
    Let him stand behind the glass and i'l Fire the gun to test the bullit proofness of the glass,if he survives i'l buy it......if he NCT'S it :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

only in ireland does double glazing=bulletproof glass :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,186 ✭✭✭✭unkel

More of a Luxobanger than a Luxobarge:

'99 LS400 NCT early '16, asking €1,000, BUT: taxed until the end of November (worth over €500)

45710902.jpeg

Linky

Get it for €800, drive it until the tax runs out and sell it for scrap / parts (€300) and you have owned a free car :cool:

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

unkel wrote: »
    ...drive it until the tax runs out and sell it for scrap / parts...

And this is what becomes of many of the great V8 Capital Ships in this fcuked up little disgrace of a country. Sometimes I'm truly on the verge of tears. :(

It's more likely that it will be driven on by one of those individuals who don't believe in paying taxes...

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Interesting car - '05 BMW 545i Sport, V8, original Irish car, passed NCT this week. Looks like a full service history until '12, but since then it was not driven much

45581841.jpeg

Asking €5,500. I'd want at least a grand off that and at that it's a lot of car for the money

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The 545i badge on the back is horrendous!

But nice car, and I actually like those wheels too. I'd say she'd definitely need some TLC. But you're getting a high spec, modern looking cruiser that's faster than 95+% of cars on the road. So long as you save some haggle hard and save your pennies for must do jobs and tax it'd be a beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

n62b44 engine has a lot of issues according to google but we have a well minded one here and it's good so far touch wood..

the engine has a known coolant leak which can be remedied by replacing the rubber seal with a piece of pipe and the gearbox sump which I presume is shared with the 645 is also known to leak and there's no sensor so it could be a situation where the gearbox is without any fluid for as long as it takes to completely destroy itself. that can be preventativly fixed too I believe.

I'd love that 545, would be a great yoke with a 520d badge :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

More of a Luxobanger than a Luxobarge:

'99 LS400 NCT early '16, asking €1,000, BUT: taxed until the end of November (worth over €500)

Linky

Get it for €800, drive it until the tax runs out and sell it for scrap / parts (€300) and you have owned a free car :cool:

Pity there's not more pics and especially interior shots, if it was near me I would go look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭ofcork

Is the NCT disc on that beemer iffy?

Interesting car - '05 BMW 545i Sport, V8, original Irish car, passed NCT this week. Looks like a full service history until '12, but since then it was not driven much

Asking €5,500. I'd want at least a grand off that and at that it's a lot of car for the money

Linky

they bought a 545i and it has only half leather and the awful boggo silver trim :( , its really not spec'd well at all.

also even though its wet the boot lid looks a different colour to the rest of the car, with that and the halfrauds lettering id suggest it may have had a knock to the boot lid at some point.

that's not real silver trim i'd say it has been wrapped. it has a different texture than the normal bmw silver trim. the wet car is a dead giveaway that the paint is swirled up to **** too and the different boot lit with horrible badge could be a boot from a donor 520d or something

The problem with a big engined E60 is that it's been possibly bounced around numerous owners in the last 5 years who likely have done little to no work to it due to big bills.

Purely speculation of course, but you'd want to take a long hard look at a car like that. Aftermarket alloys would be the first bad indicator for me. And Eric's right, it does look a surprisingly low spec.

NCT disc looks like it's been altered too for some reason.

I noticed the nct disk too but thought I must be going mad since it's listed as having an nct on the website

Ive had a look and just cannot find another 545i with cloth seats , alacantara yes, leather standard yes, leather comfort yes but not half leather. the base SE even comes with leather.

none on autotrader with half leather and even google isn't turning up ads for them.

I have a feeling this is either a 520d with an engine swap or its been crashed badly and rebuilt using a donor 520i/d

The problem with a big engined E60 is that it's been possibly bounced around numerous owners in the last 5 years who likely have done little to no work to it due to big bills.

Up to '12 the car was serviced by BMW (so not owned by someone avoiding bills) and since then it has done very few miles. The NCT is genuine too, just passed a few days ago.

Agree with most of what everybody said though, eyes VERY wide open on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭lafors

That's not the original rear bumper on the 545, it's got a straight rear lip normally. Plus it's a different colour to the car, black v dark blue.

Can't see anything wrong with the nct disc though.
    Likely it was originally debadged, then someone bought it who couldn't afford to run it, put in after market wheels and put a halfords badge on the back. They then managed to spin it backwards into a hedge like a powerful rear wheel drive likes to do in the wet.

I'd say someone has taken the seats from this and swapped them into another 5er.

Btw if it has the coolant issue its an expensive fix even if you use the N62 aftermarket coolant tube and I'm guessing whomever has this now can't afford to run it by the look of it.

My opinion looks ok internally, rear will need work, engine should be good but expect to have to do the coolant repair. Need to get rid of those wheels. The gearbox issue is found pretty easily, if it clicks fron R to D and slow to take off in D then its got a problem. ZF do their own kit to refurb not cheap but no need to pay bmw to do it.

Bang on time for valve stem seals too mileage-wise. All that said, still worth a punt as it's a rare machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭landmarkjohn

The 545i badge on the back is horrendous

Agreed. I would actually have a problem with owning a car that's been owned by someone who would put that badge on it.

A 5 series with a V8 of that vintage is IMO likely to have been owned by a hooligan at some stage and that's a lot of power to transmit through the auto box....

If you are prepared to pay the tax and want a BMW V8 you might as well get a 7 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

If you are prepared to pay the tax and want a BMW V8 you might as well get a 7 series.

Alas, since Love/Hate, wannabe gangsters have been queuing up for 7er's as well. Same caution now needs to be applied to them as well.

that show lowered the e38 tone :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭ofcork

ofcork wrote: »
    Is the NCT disc on that beemer iffy?

I know lads here have said that nct is legit but every car I look at with a 2016 nct has the other colour disc,also the digit 2015 on that has something over the 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9729275

I would love to trade up to this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,906 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Truckermal wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9729275

I would love to trade up to this!!

Cheap car if right.

Looks good value!

Battery out of warranty though. Be very careful. Didn't we come across another '07 Lexus Hybrid with a knackered battery recently?

Looks good value!

Battery out of warranty though. Be very careful. Didn't we come across another '07 Lexus Hybrid with a knackered battery recently?

that was in this thread, i think the consensus was that it hadn't been serviced by toyota in years