Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread IV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Wang King wrote:
    That's better!!!

It's about as realistic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

All this discussion about props and not one mention of Hayes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Teferi wrote: »
    I'm not disagreeing with you, I'm simply laying out where the logic may be coming from.

But my point is there's no logic to it, all it takes is one injury to Murray and we either have Madigan covering 9 against a serious opponent or call up Boss/Marmion and lose Murray for a possible crunch game later on when he would have been fit. It makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. It's a specialist position where we have to have 3 players who can realistically play it, not 2 plus 1 who has a few minutes emergency experience at Pro12 level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭smiley_face

kingtiger wrote: »
    Right lads, I have this from a very reliable source that has never steered me wrong

Healy is out of the WC!!!

Here is all the players cut from the provisional squad

Healy / Tuohy / Conan

Boss / Marmion / Gilroy / Reid / Felix Jones / Darcy / Cave

only bringing two Scrum Halves (Madigan in as cover)

Ok, assuming this is true, leaves us with 33 (18 forwards, 15 backs)
    That leaves,
    Props LH: McGrath, Kilcoyne
    Props TH: Ross, Moore, White
    Prop Utility: Bent
    Hookers: Best, Cronin, Strauss
    Locks: POC, Toner, Henderson, Ryan
    Back Row: Heaslip, SOB, POM, Henry, Murphy
    SH: Murray Reddan
    OH: Sexton, Jackson
    SH/OH/IC Utility: Madigan
    IC: Henshaw
    OC: Payne
    Centre/Wing Utility: Earls, McFadden (McF possibly only a wing now?)
    Wing: Fitz, Bowe, Trimble (all 3 have played centre, but believe they are now only seen as wings?)
    Wing/FB Utility: Zebo, D Kearney
    FB: R Kearney

I'd say it is down to White or Moore,
    And Trimble if fit will go ahead of McFadden and D Kearney, D Kearney is probably ahead of McFadden.
    Also an outside chance that D Kearney could go ahead of Fitzgerald, and even McFadden ahead of Fitzgerald too.

Personally I would take the 6 props and cut McFadden and Fitzgerald.

So the backline would be:
    Starting: Murray, Sexton, Zebo, Henshaw, Payne, Trimble, R Kearney,
    Subs: Reddan, Madigan, Earls,
    Back-up: Jackson, Bowe, D Kearney

If Trimble wasn't fit I'd take McFadden ahead of Fitzgerald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

McFadden ahead of fitz... I've heard it all now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Also an outside chance that D Kearney could go ahead of Fitzgerald, and even McFadden ahead of Fitzgerald too.

Personally I would take the 6 props and cut McFadden and Fitzgerald.

If Trimble wasn't fit I'd take McFadden ahead of Fitzgerald.

Is there a fitness concern with Geraldsie ?

If not, then the above is utter nonsense. Have you seen him play before ?

Fitzgerald isn't that great and I like McFadden more. Also think D Kearney probably is a better winger.

Sure if you think it's nonsense feel free to post your pick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,019 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I assume Geraldsie is Fitzgerald.

I don't think he is any more a certainty for the squad than Zebo, Earls or Trimble (injury permitting obviously). It's very close between them and Fitzgerald could potentially miss out as could any of them.

For all the criticism of Bowe in the Scotland game, Fitzgerald was just as disapointing.

Fitzgerald isn't that great and I like McFadden more. Also think D Kearney probably is a better winger.

Well unless you are Joe, or Joe calls you and takes your advice, there is zero evidence that :

"Also an outside chance that D Kearney could go ahead of Fitzgerald, and even McFadden ahead of Fitzgerald too.".

whatever your own view of the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

bilston wrote: »

I don't think he is any more a certainty for the squad than Zebo, Earls or Trimble (injury permitting obviously). It's very close between them and Fitzgerald could potentially miss out as could any of them.

For all the criticism of Bowe in the Scotland game, Fitzgerald was just as disapointing.

I agree with that. However I don't think you read the post he's responding to.

bilston wrote: »

I agree with you. But the idea that DK and Fadser are ahead of him. Nein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,019 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I agree with you. But the idea that DK and Fadser are ahead of him. Nein.

Agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

DK is underrated, but so is Fitzgerald if you really think DK and McFadden are better players, Fitz was pretty frequently a one man backline for Leinster last season, imo he's the best winger or centre in Leinster by a comfortable distance

Well unless you are Joe, or Joe calls you and takes your advice, there is zero evidence that :

"Also an outside chance that D Kearney could go ahead of Fitzgerald, and even McFadden ahead of Fitzgerald too.".

whatever your own view of the players.

I thought it way clear that that was my opinion, not a statement of fact.
    The squad won't be announced til after the Wales game, so this is a forum for discussion, and posting my favoured selection is just my input to the discussion.
    I don't imagine everyone on here has a direct line to Joe Schmidt, but they are still entitled to share their opinion.

I suppose if you want evidence, you could point out that McFadden started on the left wing in the match against Wales, and played better in that match IMO than what Fitzgerald showed against Scotland.
    Also McFadden has played well at numerous positions in the 2014 6 Nations, which gives me plenty of confidence in his ability. I haven't seen anything to suggest Fitzgerald is better than him.
    D Kearney can cover the back 3 positions, and has apparently been impressive in the training camp, whereas Fitzgerald wasn't able to do any contact for most of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I thought it way clear that that was my opinion, not a statement of fact.
    The squad won't be announced til after the Wales game, so this is a forum for discussion, and posting my favoured selection is just my input to the discussion.
    I don't imagine everyone on here has a direct line to Joe Schmidt, but they are still entitled to share their opinion.

What specifically in your opinion makes Fergus McFadden a better winger than Fitzgerald, and why do you think all of the many coaches who've coached both have disagreed with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Witheringeye

If this is true I think it means Payne is cover at 12 with earls coming in at 13 if henshaw is injured. If Madigan is bench OH and emergency cover at 9 I just don't think it's conceivable that he's also our back up 12. It would be more unjoe than joe only bringing 2 scrum halves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

F**k it, we should just name 18 players and save the union a bit of cash. Benty, Jordi and Madigan can cover all eventualities so what's the point of the rest of them?

Jaysus, what's with all the nicknames today? Fadser, Geraldsie, Marmy.... worse then bleedin' twatter handles! Cringe... :rolleyes:

Zzippy wrote: »
    Jaysus, what's with all the nicknames today? Fadser, Geraldsie, Marmy.... worse then bleedin' twatter handles! Cringe... :rolleyes:

Most of them come from Schmitty himself I gather.

Jaysus, what's with all the nicknames today?

Grown men with nicknames is all a bit silly if you ask me, Zzippy!

Buer wrote: »
    Grown men with nicknames is all a bit silly if you ask me, Zzippy!

At least everyone can pronounce mine! ;)

Hell, I can't pronounce mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Buer wrote: »
    Hell, I can't pronounce mine.

Ye're all bloody well overly familiar with mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

Wingers that are better than Dave Kearney:

Bowe
    Trimble
    Gilroy
    Matt Healy
    Fitzgerald
    Earls
    McFadden
    Zebo
    Poolman (now irish qualified)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Completely random and irrelevant question, but one that's been niggling away for the last few weeks as I look at stuff to do with the World Cup. In almost all of our pool games, it's listed as Ireland v Canada, Ireland v Romania, etc. But the France game, almost all sites list France v Ireland. Is there any specific reasoning behind how teams are listed? Is it based on ranking at the time of the draw or what? Just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Bowe
    Trimble
    Gilroy
    Matt Healy
    Fitzgerald
    Earls
    McFadden
    Zebo

Interesting opinions but joe clearly doesn't agree with you.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Completely random and irrelevant question, but one that's been niggling away for the last few weeks as I look at stuff to do with the World Cup. In almost all of our pool games, it's listed as Ireland v Canada, Ireland v Romania, etc. But the France game, almost all sites list France v Ireland. Is there any specific reasoning behind how teams are listed? Is it based on ranking at the time of the draw or what? Just curious.

Perhaps France are the "home" team for that fixture..

I assume that they have to make that distinction for each game in terms of who gets the home dressing room , who has to change shirts if there's a clash etc.

Guess it doesn't mean much - In that case Ireland will be togging out in the same dressing room as they always do in Cardiff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,990 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Bowe
    Trimble
    Gilroy
    Matt Healy
    Fitzgerald
    Earls
    McFadden
    Zebo

Foods that are nicer than pasta

Chips
    Steak
    Fajitas
    Roast chicken
    Fried onions
    Barbecued Ribs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

mfceiling wrote: »
    Foods that are nicer than pasta

Chips
    Steak
    Fajitas
    Roast chicken
    Fried onions
    Barbecued Ribs

Erroneous!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Currently reading Sexton's book - it's all "Redser" this and "Cheiks" that. Not to mention Bossy, Rossy, Darce, Drico, Corbs, Gats, Nugget, Earlsy, Cuthby, Paulie, Riff, Gilly, Church, Hibbs, Hinesy, Shaggy, Berch, Jenks, Jenno, Kissy, "Andy" Conway, "Stevie" Ferris, "Deccie" Kidney,"

A lot of the Irish lads books are like that. A bit annoying.