Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Timmaay wrote: »
    If I was going to bother I'd put one on the plate cooler exit instead here, our bulk tank usually only has to cool from 13 degrees down, the plate cooler does most the work!

Didn't bother upgrading the plate cooler here so the tank may end up doing most of the work cooling. Will be talking to the lads installing the tank tomorrow and see what they say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Contractor here to spread dung he wanted to take down corner posts and fences so he could drive out instead of what I wanted him to do which was reverse out and drive down the road instead of flattening a fiekd of grass. He wasn't happy when I refused him.
    Was I right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Contractor here to spread dung he wanted to take down corner posts and fences so he could drive out instead of what I wanted him to do which was reverse out and drive down the road instead of flattening a fiekd of grass. He wasn't happy when I refused him.
    Was I right?

Definetly yes ,fook him your the customer and your paying him to do a job so let him suck it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Was I right?
    Do u not spread it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,891 ✭✭✭White Clover

Was I right?

You were correct Gg.
    Some contractors are complete divas

Do u not spread it yourself?

Not any more any way. Shifted some amount sInce 3. 200 t easily.
    taking 4 of my muck spreaders in 1 load.
    Well worth it 100e an hr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

Not any more any way. Shifted some amount sInce 3. 200 t easily.
    taking 4 of my muck spreaders in 1 load.
    Well worth it 100e an hr

Is it though? If your own one would spread away what would it cost? €6-8 euro an hour on diesel? At a fairly leisurely time of year and lower milk prices.....?

Cow Porter wrote: »
    Is it though? If your own one would spread away what would it cost? €6-8 euro an hour on diesel? At a fairly leisurely time of year and lower milk prices.....?

Easily use 250 diesel between the 2 tractors.
    Only get 2 load an hr as it's far side of the farm. Contractor is taking 3. Dad's busy baling straw and drawing it and we'd have the field traveled to ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Only get 2 load an hr as it's far side of the farm. Contractor is taking 3. Dad's busy baling straw and drawing it and we'd have the field traveled to ****e

Agreed with GG here. For me I know where my skills lie, and me doing jobs the contractor can is a total waste of time. I'm largely tipping away on the farm at the minute, afew small construction and engineering jobs, which are where I can definitely save money, further to this I'm working on one or two off farm opportunities, which will hopefully provide some off farm income moving forward.

We could do with upgraded the main tractor here, which is a landini vision 105. 2bh it's too big for a good few sheds, and the manual shuttle and heavy clutch aren't what my dad needs, he does 90% of the winter feeding. Took a powerfarm 95 with an electric shuttle for a spin today, it seems to be a far more suitable tractor for what we want. Are afew of them around with low enough hours for in around 35/37k (with a loader), anyone had one before, or have any opinion on them, and any suggestions for alternatives, compact, Electric shuttle and a loader?

Agreed with GG here. For me I know where my skills lie, and me doing jobs the contractor can is a total waste of time. I'm largely tipping away on the farm at the minute, afew small construction and engineering jobs, which are where I can definitely save money, further to this I'm working on one or two off farm opportunities, which will hopefully provide some off farm income moving forward.

Put 200 t of pure gold on 15 ac of hybrid. Should get 2 grazes off it before winter but it'll bull grass over the winter. We'd never get that amount on such small area due to the way the side spreader does it. This yoke chops it up real well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭gazahayes

Put 200 t of pure gold on 15 ac of hybrid. Should get 2 grazes off it before winter but it'll bull grass over the winter. We'd never get that amount on such small area due to the way the side spreader does it. This yoke chops it up real well

Is it the hi spec spreader?

gazahayes wrote: »
    Is it the hi spec spreader?

Span new Richard Weston. Got her first dirtying today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

YA must have some amount of dung, half a day with 2 spreaders here and its all out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭visatorro

Timmaay wrote:
    We could do with upgraded the main tractor here, which is a landini vision 105. 2bh it's too big for a good few sheds, and the manual shuttle and heavy clutch aren't what my dad needs, he does 90% of the winter feeding. Took a powerfarm 95 with an electric shuttle for a spin today, it seems to be a far more suitable tractor for what we want. Are afew of them around with low enough hours for in around 35/37k (with a loader), anyone had one before, or have any opinion on them, and any suggestions for alternatives, compact, Electric shuttle and a loader?

if the landini is two big would a bobcat any use to you. super machine, probably hard to find a tidy one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Best time of the year to spread dung. We always get contractor now with trailer type dungspreader to spread dung. Chops it up the finest plus what would take you a few day's to do yourself he'd do in a few hours. Never mark the ground this time of year plus get three hopefully more grazings before winter and then more grass grown during winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

Up to now we put all our dung, 600+ bales, on maize and kale ground. Next year we will only have a small bit of ground for it. Going to be a pain keeping till autumn to rot and go on grassland. Can it go out in late spring or will it cause problems with grazing /clean out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

anyone try the milk bucket challenge.....??:)

whelan2 wrote: »
    YA must have some amount of dung, half a day with 2 spreaders here and its all out

Yeah massive amount. Exported some to neighbour aswell as spreading some ourselves in the spring

dar31 wrote: »
    Up to now we put all our dung, 600+ bales, on maize and kale ground. Next year we will only have a small bit of ground for it. Going to be a pain keeping till autumn to rot and go on grassland. Can it go out in late spring or will it cause problems with grazing /clean out

We spread a good share in feb. It's well gone by mid April. All grassland hete and have no problems.
    Could ye leave it in the sheds? That's what we do with alot of it and it's still well rotted

dar31 wrote: »

Why is it a pain? Leave it stacked high in the corner of a paddock (away from the river obviously!!!), and spread in October. Turn during the year if you get a chance to help it rot.

Whatever p and k you spread on your silage ground that's the p and k that'll go into the silage and into the cow and into the dung or slurry and the cycle repeats itself. That's a little nugget of wisdom I picked up at an open day.

visatorro wrote: »
    if the landini is two big would a bobcat any use to you. super machine, probably hard to find a tidy one.

Ha, my dad is in his mid 70s, and got a hip replacement 2years back, I don't think he'd be impressed if he had to climb in and outa one several times a day. In fairness for what they do they are cheap, but realistically limited to yard work with a very smooth concrete floor, very poor suspension in them. I did think about a Terex or similar digger, but don't fancy another machine, esp with having to remove or put on the backhoe regularly.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Whatever p and k you spread on your silage ground that's the p and k that'll go into the silage and into the cow and into the dung or slurry and the cycle repeats itself. That's a little nugget of wisdom I picked up at an open day.

And if it's not in the ground it won't be in the slurry dung of silage

TRUE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I have awind turbine roadthrough the land so i drop it off at both sides of it, getting greener every year! Fill the dump trailer through spring and drop upa load every week

Ha, my dad is in his mid 70s, and got a hip replacement 2years back, I don't think he'd be impressed if he had to climb in and outa one several times a day. In fairness for what they do they are cheap, but realistically limited to yard work with a very smooth concrete floor, very poor suspension in them. I did think about a Terex or similar digger, but don't fancy another machine, esp with having to remove or put on the backhoe regularly.

That small load all Deepsouthwest has may suit him. Be handy lading the spinner as well with second machine and stacking bales and tge like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

'ah sure Nathan there's a loose yearling bull on the race can you chase him into a paddock when you're taking the dog for a run, will only take 5 minutes'. Just home 1hour 45mins later. Starting to wonder about the new fella though, failed to spot a milking cow that'd sneaked into the yearlings.

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    'ah sure Nathan there's a loose yearling bull on the race can you chase him into a paddock when you're taking the dog for a run, will only take 5 minutes'. Just home 1hour 45mins later. Starting to wonder about the new fella though, failed to spot a milking cow that'd sneaked into the yearlings.

Ah shir the yearlings must be massive

Milked out wrote: »
    Ah shir the yearlings must be massive

Or the cows must be awful small :D:D:D