Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭letsseehere14

CATwalk wrote:
    If canning starts centre forward I'd put my money on Galway. Let him roam around and pick off points to keep scoreboard ticking over. He'd have free role as paudie maher is too busy sweeping up loose ball.

But Paudie Maher isn't a sweeper. He only found himself in that role against Waterford because they had so few forward.
    If he's on Canning he'll mark Canning. Also if he's free to sweep up loose ball that's a pretty bad thing for Galway right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I would put Glynn on Paudi Maher, Donnellan full forward and try and get canning on Ronan Maher. If the Tipp wing backs switch you'll still have Canning on Bergin which Id prefer to Paudi Maher.

Don't think yell be able to get Mannion on O Brien but Flynn is a good hurler in my opinion and both have big height advantages on those two so if your half forward line is going reasonable you could get at Tipp.

I'd fear for Tannion on Bonner Maher. Kevin Moran was well on top in midfield until Brendan Maher went back there. If on of your lads could get a similar dominance, maybe Smyth and deliver ball into the forwards early when Tipp maybe rusty ye might steal a March that they can't retrieve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

I would put Glynn on Paudi Maher, Donnellan full forward and try and get canning on Ronan Maher. If the Tipp wing backs switch you'll still have Canning on Bergin which Id prefer to Paudi Maher.

Don't think yell be able to get Mannion on O Brien but Flynn is a good hurler in my opinion and both have big height advantages on those two so if your half forward line is going reasonable you could get at Tipp.

I'd fear for Tannion on Bonner Maher. Kevin Moran was well on top in midfield until Brendan Maher went back there. If on of your lads could get a similar dominance, maybe Smyth and deliver ball into the forwards early when Tipp maybe rusty ye might steal a March that they can't retrieve.

I can see daithi burke following bonner maher, john hansbury picking up seamus callahan and johnny coen picking up bubbles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 CATwalk

But Paudie Maher isn't a sweeper. He only found himself in that role against Waterford because they had so few forward.
    If he's on Canning he'll mark Canning. Also if he's free to sweep up loose ball that's a pretty bad thing for Galway right?

Richie hogan had a field day on him in last years all Ireland, he left him roam free. His man always scores 3-5 points. Same against Limerick this year. I'd prefer canning roaming free than maher hurling loose ball. Galway forwards need to up work rate to curb his influence. Tip would have won all Ireland last year had Richie hogan been marked in first match. Surely canning on his day is equally as good as Richie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭letsseehere14

CATwalk wrote:
    Richie hogan had a field day on him in last years all Ireland, he left him roam free. His man always scores 3-5 points. Same against Limerick this year. I'd prefer canning roaming free than maher hurling loose ball. Galway forwards need to up work rate to curb his influence. Tip would have won all Ireland last year had Richie hogan been marked in first match. Surely canning on his day is equally as good as Richie.

Bit of a difference between Hogan and Glynn in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭T0001

Everyone saying this ill be a tight game but I don't think so. The margin will be 6+ points as far as I can see. If Galway are on form they'll win it but if they're not they'll be left behind. Its been the case all year bar the first day v. Dublin. Galways intensity when its brought to any game will destroy any team. Brought it in every match bar the Leinster Final and weren't too far off KK that day just couldnt pick off the points, which I think will be our downfall tomorrow. Optimistic that we have it in us but we'll know after 5-10 minutes what way its going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

T0001 wrote: »
    Everyone saying this ill be a tight game but I don't think so. The margin will be 6+ points as far as I can see. If Galway are on form they'll win it but if they're not they'll be left behind. Its been the case all year bar the first day v. Dublin. Galways intensity when its brought to any game will destroy any team. Brought it in every match bar the Leinster Final and weren't too far off KK that day just couldnt pick off the points, which I think will be our downfall tomorrow. Optimistic that we have it in us but we'll know after 5-10 minutes what way its going.

Couldn't agree with that at all to be honest, a part from the bit about you being optimistic.

Wouldn't be surprised if either team won it, but think Tipp will shade it. Dunno what this next level Galway intensity you're talking about is, because I've never seen it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭thesamster

Couldn't agree with that at all to be honest, a part from the bit about you being optimistic.

Wouldn't be surprised if either team won it, but think Tipp will shade it. Dunno what this next level Galway intensity you're talking about is, because I've never seen it myself.
    Fully agree . Kilkenny beat Galway in third gear got scores so much easier .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭T0001

Just OMFG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Well done Galway. Outstanding performance. It would be an injustice if Tipp won today, Galway were the better team all around and I hope Galway now go on and win All Ireland, your team has being knocking on the door since 2010. I hope this is the year. Best of luck in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Bad call.

Good call

Awesome match!

Awesome result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭LMK

Great game at last.
    Galway deserved to win. Fantastic will to win shown by the team. Tipp played their part too no shame in losing that match.
    Galway had 5 or 6 outstanding performers, really delighted for Tannion he was a rock in the 2nd half.
    Seemed to me that the constant driving the ball down the middle could do with a bit of variation in the final, excellent ball by Canning for the last point but the young lad still had it all to do. Looking forward to the final now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Scaldy Ned

Up the deise ... Cmonn Galway .
    What a game , best game I've seen in ages ... Was shouting for Galway all through and jumped up in delight at the end . No offence to tipp who were great as usual but let's have a different final this year . As a Waterford supporter I'm obviously crestfallen after last week ... I thought the championship was over for me but thanks Galway for stirring the passion again ..... Up the deise and cmon Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭threeball

Incredible game for a game that wasn't even close apart from on the scoreboard. Galway hurled Tipp off the pitch and only for a total insistence on leaving the middle channel wide open, our full back completely isolated and wide after poor wide and missed goal chances all of which conspired to leave Tipp in a game that they had no right to be in.

Never at any stage was I in doubt that Galway would close the gap after conceding which as a Galway fan is a very unfamiliar feeling. We were absolutely leaps and bounds ahead in hunger, aggression, physicality and were we anywhere near Tipps level of economy we'd have been out of site.
    Unfortunately if we repeat those failings against KK we'll get torn asunder so we much protect our FB line much more effectively but if we get a day the this team clicks I don't see anyone stopping them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Scaldy Ned wrote: »
    Up the deise ... Cmonn Galway .
    What a game , best game I've seen in ages ... Was shouting for Galway all through and jumped up in delight at the end . No offence to tipp who were great as usual but let's have a different final this year . As a Waterford supporter I'm obviously crestfallen after last week ... I thought the championship was over for me but thanks Galway for stirring the passion again ..... Up the deise and cmon Galway

I believe Galway can and will beat Kilkenny in the final without too much fuss either .
    If it were Waterford we were facing I think we would lose .

Galway played with freedom today and to my eyes had no strategy you could sit down an plan a counter to . This was the key to your success today ... Galway kept it simple ... Catch it ... Score . Take this to the final .....I think Brian Cody will be concerned about this Galway team . We (Waterford) have been playing to a system this year and its served us well BUT Codys KK are ingenious at countering any system .....respect to them . Galway have a chance if they mix it up and muddy the expected waters . Well done Galway and we'll be rooting for you down here in Waterford .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Was sitting near a Galway lad with his Tipp in-laws. He was a quiet lad in contrast to his slightly cocky relations. To see him absolutely roaring like a caveman who killed a tiger at them for Maloney's point was a sight to behold. If that was you take a bow. Galway support was fantastic all round.

The place nearly burst when the final whistle went. Thought David Burke had his best Galway showing ever. Flynn and Mannion really picked up the Canning slack and Whelan showed a coolness on the big day. Glynn mightn't have scored but his defending was super and his passing was great.

Considering the opposition I thought Hanbury did fairly well. Padraig Mannion was unfortunate to start coming on top in fullback just before the end of the first half. Might have been moved otherwise.

Callanan make a quadruple save was something else.

Proudest I've been coming out of Croker. Just showed a serious passion and die-for-the-cause determination that was non-existent in 2013. The new additions are really make a huge difference.

Haha OAP watched the game last week and said to the wife at half time ....."if we win I hope it's tipp ..... We know them but don't know Galway " after today I think I was right ...... Can't wait for the final now ...... What a game it "should be" 🇫🇮🇫🇮🇻🇳🇻🇳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

What a game. Best game I've ever been at in any sport. Hopefully we repeat that in the final!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

Brilliant match. The excitement and scoring never let up. The Tipp supporters were in shock. I would have taken the draw but Canning's pass to Moloney was sublime.
    Is Hanbury badly injured and is Canning's hand still not right?

Well done on today folks. Better team won. Finish the job now and bring Liam across the Shannon. Best of luck to ye! :)

First of all to give Tipp fans their due, they aren't the most liked county around the country due to their arrogance (perceived or otherwise) but I thought they were classy today. Losing by a point they had the excuse of Barry Kelly giving one or two dodgy calls our way or whatever but while they were sickened they were very gracious in defeat and went up hugely in my estimation today. Noel McGrath coming on was inspirational regardless of your allegiance and briefly broke the sort of mad belief around the stadium that this match was the most important thing ever but not for long. Any other day you'd have been delighted if he had got the winner even if you had no time for Tipp but we have been on the flip side of these gut wrenching losses so many times over the years I honestly don't think I could have faced Croke Park again if we lost a game where we were definitely the better side on the day.

For the first time in my lifetime I can say I am proud of the Galway senior hurling team as a team of real substance. I have never felt so emotional leaving a hurling game in Croke Park. We had good one off days or a couple of good results/performances out of nowhere during the 90's, 2001, 2005, 2012 and all the intervening years but this year since the Dublin replay we have hurled consistently. Ok we weren't at the races 100% against Kilkenny but we stayed going and were still in the game towards the finish. After the Waterford league game I really despaired as to where Galway hurling was going, it wasn't the loss but the manner of the loss which was so disturbing. We were only ok against Dublin the first day in a poor game but we did battle that day and lived to fight another day and we have built from there.

For a team that have deservedly got flack for lacking character, heart, spirit whatever you want to call it over the years, they had it in abundance today. So many times over the years we'd be hurling well and a goal would go in and that would prompt the collapse. This time, we kept fighting, kept responding to every hammer blow and were fully deserving winners.

The main positive I'd see is that a number of Galway players have room for improvement. There is at least 5 or 6 players who will need to up their game, very harsh after such a trojan effort by everyone but it will take a full 20 man effort to beat Kilkenny.

However, must say I had my doubts on Tannian and he was struggling during the first half a bit but he was superb as the game wore on. Andy Smith is really leading by example this year and David Burke gave his first performance of substance since 2012, showing us the quality we know he has. Conor Whelan's battling qualities are superb, didn't know would he survive but he did more than that and his hard work won us a few crucial points directly or indirectly.

Glynn wasn't as effective as against Cork but won us some vital turnovers, Donnellan will need to up his game for Kilkenny.

Colm Callanan deserves an All-Ireland medal for all the times he has saved us this year even going back to the league. Superb again today. Johnny Coen put in a huge shift and Hanbury until he had to go in on Callanan is continuing to prove himself. Daithi Burke again came up with some key catches during the game and is growing with each day out.

Looking to the final we have it all to do. Obviously Seamus Callanan was superb but we were slow to identify the problems in there and could never address them at any stage. Easier said that done I know but if we give free rein to TJ Reid or Richie Hogan we can forget Liam McCarthy crossing the Shannon in 2015.

It will take an almighty effort, we must cutt out the errors and abundance of goal chance we offered up today but opportunities like this don't come along too often. If we get it right on the day and knock Kilkenny out of their stride early who knows. We were never going to beat Kilkenny twice in a championship season. 6th of September will hopefully be the day we can put 27 years of heartbreak, despair and soul destroying defeats behind us. The most important thing in my mind though is that the mentality displayed by this team and indeed the minor team today is carried on. Hopefully we'll soon be hearing the last of that dreaded phrase 'which Galway team will turn up'?

Minors were extremely fortunate to win. Kilkenny should have killed us off but once again they dug in and got the breaks and the panel made the difference. Tipp will be another step up in the final but 3 games down and no goals conceded which is a good platform. We need to be more intelligent about frees though, at least 4 frees we shot for goal from unscorable positions. If its not scorable, we need to look for runners or put men in around the goal to cause problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

Well done to Galway, great fight and character shown today. Go on now and finish the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

great game yesterday, best of the year so far.

Galway deserved it, really thought that they would need at least one goal to win it, especially with Callinan scoring three.

one comment i would make, its great to see the hunger in the Galway team, I think they will be a match in that respect with Kilkenny in the final, what i would worry about is Cunningham, he seemed to get too wrapped up in the atmosphere, getting into the spirit of it on the sideline is one thing, but to not be doing your job because of it is another. he nearly cost Galway the game by not switching Mannion off of Callinan, Cody will eat him for Breakfast if he does that in the AI Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭threeball

great game yesterday, best of the year so far.

Galway deserved it, really thought that they would need at least one goal to win it, especially with Callinan scoring three.

one comment i would make, its great to see the hunger in the Galway team, I think they will be a match in that respect with Kilkenny in the final, what i would worry about is Cunningham, he seemed to get too wrapped up in the atmosphere, getting into the spirit of it on the sideline is one thing, but to not be doing your job because of it is another. he nearly cost Galway the game by not switching Mannion off of Callinan, Cody will eat him for Breakfast if he does that in the AI Final.

I agree with everything you say bar switching Mannion. Mannion was hung out to dry because he had little to no support and was completely isolated. Tannion had abandoned the CB position and was hurling everywhere bar inside his 45 where he needed to be. Callanan could then get ball anyway he wanted it, low in front, perfectly lofted high ball where he had a height and size advantage. No full back stood a chance.

Finian Hanley was wrongly criticised for getting cleaned versus AOS and Michael Murphy but he was left in the exact same position against the two best footballers in the country. Even McGee got cleaned in the same position. If we expose our FB line against TJ Reid like we did with Callanan we could be looking at a Waterford sized drubbing in the final. Protect the back 3 especially that centre channel and I believe we can complete the job.

The line is too slow to act so far however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Megager

Incredible performance, incredible game. Very proud of the lads yesterday. It wasn't perfect no doubt and the full back line, heading into a game against Kilkenny is a serious concern but also way more positives than negatives on what was an amazing exhibition of hurling. We went way further than I expected this year.

However we now face a really tough challenge. Kilkenny have beaten us well already this year, by 7 points-and I felt the cats radar was a bit off that day withquite a few uncharacteristic wides. It will take a monumental effort and dare I say a lot of good fortune to turn that deficit around. Absolutely if everything goes well and the lads show the same desire they can finish the job. But as others have said if we allow the kilkenny inside forward line the same chances they could really punish us. I'm obviously hopeful and cautiously optimistic, but as the old adage goes there is no trophy or medals for winning semifinals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭MfMan

Sean Walsh's commentary worth a listen, closing stages especially....

http://galwaybayfm.ie/galway-v-tipperary-commentary/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 The growler

First of all to give Tipp fans their due, they aren't the most liked county around the country due to their arrogance (perceived or otherwise) but I thought they were classy today. Losing by a point they had the excuse of Barry Kelly giving one or two dodgy calls our way or whatever but while they were sickened they were very gracious in defeat and went up hugely in my estimation today.

To be honest Tipp were so comprehensively outplayed I'd have been disappointed to hear of my fellow Tipp fans using excuses for that defeat. We did enough of that in 2009 after the final.

Perhaps the rivalry with Galway isn't as intense as it once was. I grew up watching hurling in the 80s and that rivalry was bitter! I don't know if it's a good thing or a bad thing that the rivalry isn't as intense, it can sometimes add to the occasion as long as the players don't lose the run of themselves.

Anyway, best of luck in the final. I remember there was a thread on boards last year about who was the worst GAA inter county team to support and one poster made a persuasive argument for the Galway hurlers. I'd say there was no better team to be a supporter of at the end of the match yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭MfMan

Perhaps the rivalry with Galway isn't as intense as it once was. I grew up watching hurling in the 80s and that rivalry was bitter! I don't know if it's a good thing or a bad thing that the rivalry isn't as intense, it can sometimes add to the occasion as long as the players don't lose the run of themselves.

In fairness it was only the Keady thing in '89 that engendered the bitterness, and many in Galway still don't realise that Tipp voted pro-Keady in the ballot and that 3/5 counties in Connacht voted contra- (backstabbing surrender monkeys).

Don't like bad feeling between fans; there's always an odd comment thrown but the banter between rival supporters, especially on the day of a big match, adds greatly to the occasion, and is part of the GAA ethos IMHO.

MfMan wrote: »
    In fairness it was only the Keady thing in '89 that engendered the bitterness, and many in Galway still don't realise that Tipp voted pro-Keady in the ballot and that 3/5 counties in Connacht voted contra- (backstabbing surrender monkeys).

Don't like bad feeling between fans; there's always an odd comment thrown but the banter between rival supporters, especially on the day of a big match, adds greatly to the occasion, and is part of the GAA ethos IMHO.

FWIW what happened to a terrific player such as Tony Keady that year was one of the lousiest things ever to do to an amateur athlete. A total and utter disgrace. Paul Delaney had also hurled in the US that year and wasnt banned. Neither should have been.

I dont care if it was by some bizarre technicality, 'against the rules'. I have never heard of such a bullshít rule in all of my life. What advantage did Keady hurling in America give Galway? None whatsover. You'd think it was the equivalent of drugs. Most nonsensical rule ive ever come across and those suits who stuck in the knife of course probably never played the game but unfortunately such is the archaic organisation in parts the GAA is and unfortunatley continues to be on occasion, (with the recent flip a coin to see who makes the camogie quarters), that is the way things conspired.