Meeting a total let-down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

It is heartbreaking to realise that these people who you have had on a pedestal for so many years be it friend, celeb whoever they are, are really just full of bs.. Had a very good friend for years who I always admired and it turned out twas all fecking lies upon lies.. eventually came to terms with it but I wouldn't put myself out for them or belief much they say..

some people just think too highly of themselves, everyone does it every now and again but the difference is we realise it and give ourselves a wake up call and some people dont

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

I met that guy who played Dr Cox in Scrubs, John McGinley I think his name is...

To me, he'll always be Sgt. O'Neill out of Platoon. Essentially he's the same character.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqpKJ1wAmYY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

cloud493 wrote: »
    Because she wrote my favourite book series of all time? And as I said before, I know I'm not entitled to anything from her or to expect anything, but thats not an excuse for being rude.

What did you bring though? Her time is worth millions, she could turn up anywhere for huge fees. So a friend asks her to meet a fan. She's got millions of those. She's tired of meeting fans, as anncoates says unlike other famous people who are naturally extroverts and seek the lime light, authors are often introverts.

So this, turning up at all, was a huge favour to her friend. Arguably her friend shouldn't really have asked. Meet a random person.

Then it was kinda up to you to keep the conversation going I think. "I'm your biggest fan" isn't it.

Rowling does clearly have an edge to her, just listening to her speak she's clearly not all sweetness and light, but I understand her slight resentment here.

Meeting authors is not really something I would bother with. I'd bring Lee Mack and David Mitchell to a dinner party before any famous author, even though I rate writing higher than comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Never read Harry Potter, but loved Alice in Wonderland...and Lewis Carroll was a dirty pervert who photoed pre pubescent kids.

The need to believe that people are nice is interesting. I have written elsewhere of the Ed Sheeran thing, guy goes on Late Late Toy Show cos he has to flog 200,000 tickets, Facebook lights up with "Ed was nice, and to an Irish kid too".

Yes. On the other hand you haven't proved that he isn't genuinely nice, just that you are a cynic. I'm sure those tickets were selling anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Dunno. I'd be inclined to agree with Beks that you should leave your problems by the wayside when speaking to your fans (essentially customers). It's only being professional. You don't have to be gushing with niceness and gratitude or anything, just non rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭crushproof

duffman13 wrote: »
    Seen Dj Carey randomly one day in the outskirts of Dublin. Not a huge GAA fan but recognised him and said hello. He was waiting for someone so jumped out of the car and started having a chat with me and two of the lads. Think we spoke for about 10 mins him just telling a few funny stories.

Met him on the DART going to an Ireland match one time, as above not a major hurling fan but chatted all the way in, proper gentleman.
    Pierce Brosnan is another, had a bit of kick about with him when he was making a movie years ago, top chap!
    Actually my mate met Susan Boyle in McDonalds last week, just chilling eating her Big Mac - she had just arrived to Glasgow on the Megabus! Despite her $$$millions she still enjoys the simple life and chatting to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

My husband and I met Jimmy Carr a few years ago and I was disappointed that he wasn't a total pr1ck. He's a really friendly nice guy, the cheek of him......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Stop building people up in your head.
    Then you don't have to tear them down on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Joe Rogan

crushproof wrote: »
    Met him on the DART going to an Ireland match one time, as above not a major hurling fan but chatted all the way in, proper gentleman.
    Pierce Brosnan is another, had a bit of kick about with him when he was making a movie years ago, top chap!
    Actually my mate met Susan Boyle in McDonalds last week, just chilling eating her Big Mac - she had just arrived to Glasgow on the Megabus! Despite her $$$millions she still enjoys the simple life and chatting to anyone.

I'd say she was going at that Big Mac with a sort of primal, unbridled ferocity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

I'd say being a celebrity these days is a massive pain in the tits with everyone wanting selfies. Before it was just autographs and you don't have to fake smile a thousand times for those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Tonight I went for a group dinner with someone I'd wanted to meet for a long time. Not a celebrity or anything, just an intelligent young guy my friends have been raving about. We DM'd conversations on twitter a few times. He's smart.

It was a devastating disappointment. He was rude and pompous. He was so rude to everyone I spent most of my time apologising for him. I felt so let-down I almost burst into tears. (Thankfully, for everyone, i didn't.)

Proust and Joyce once met at a dinner. A veritable nuclear explosion of intellect and inspiration, by all accounts.....
    http://flavorwire.com/318990/when-marcel-proust-met-james-joyce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Did he give any clues as to why he is such an arsehole when he is doing politicking?

Have met a fair few politicians and they are generally decent people. In power, they have to work within tough constraints, so you are judging them based on that. Phil and most politicians would be delighted to be Father Christmas to all but that rarely happens in political life when you are in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Full Marx

I've met Henry Shefflin a number of times in a professional (he works for a bank) and social context and every time he has been a self entitled, obnoxious wanker. I'm not a fan of hurling but you could tell that the fame has gone to his head and he expects to be worshiped. (which he is in Kilkenny) and is not happy when he isn't. Everyone has a bad day, but every time I've met him he has been the same.

Any "leftie" politicians I have met were so rude - from Labour (pre coalition) and the Greens. Nicest I met were Noel Dempsey and Mary O'rourke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Full Marx wrote: »
    I've met Henry Shefflin a number of times in a professional (he works for a bank) and social context and every time he has been a self entitled, obnoxious wanker. I'm not a fan of hurling but you could tell that the fame has gone to his head and he expects to be worshiped. (which he is in Kilkenny) and is not happy when he isn't. Everyone has a bad day, but every time I've met him he has been the same.

I live close to him and he has been a complete arsehole every time i've encountered him.

Everyone i've spoken to who has met him in a non-hurling capacity has said the exact same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I didn't have any positive feelings turned on their head but rather negative ones reinforced when I was in the company of Twink a number of years ago. I can honestly say I have never met such a self righteous, ignorant and vain person in my life, not to mention her need to be the loudest person in any room she enters. Horrible horrible woman.

nullzero wrote: »
    I didn't have any positive feelings turned on their head but rather negative ones reinforced when I was in the company of Twink a number of years ago. I can honestly say I have never met such a self righteous, ignorant and vain person in my life, not to mention her need to be the loudest person in any room she enters. Horrible horrible woman.
    I'd be shocked if she were any other way tbh.

Any "leftie" politicians I have met were so rude - from Labour (pre coalition).............

Ruari Quinn always comes to mind. Was in his company twice over the period of a few years. Arrogant ignorant sod, and I say that despite many of his views running parallel to mine own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I'd be shocked if she were any other way tbh.

She's just as bad as you think, with big fvcking bells on.

nullzero wrote: »

'Ye knew who it was before ye looked" was how one encounter was described to me, and they didn't mean that in a good way.

Dunno. I'd be inclined to agree with Beks that you should leave your problems by the wayside when speaking to your fans (essentially customers). It's only being professional. You don't have to be gushing with niceness and gratitude or anything, just non rude.

Utter tosh. That's essentially saying that a person needs to be professional 24/7. Fans need to understand that these are people too and should be treated with the exact same respect that you would meeting any other person.

I've met a few people I'd consider idols and whom I'm huge fans of, but never once had a bad experience with.

Edit: Now that I think about, I've met one or two people that would be considered super famous in some parts, but were just arses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Full Marx wrote: »
    I've met Henry Shefflin a number of times in a professional (he works for a bank) and social context and every time he has been a self entitled, obnoxious wanker.

Worked with two GAA players in the past but they were rarely in work. Blew the myth that these guys work full time and then go off training etc right out of the water. They were always carted out when the company was doing a promo though.
    Any "leftie" politicians I have met were so rude - from Labour (pre coalition) and the Greens. Nicest I met were Noel Dempsey and Mary O'rourke.

Bertie was a hoot, I have to say. The two most prominent lefties I have met were Claire Daily and Mick Wallace. They were really nice and a good laugh. Some of the old school Shiners seemed to lack social skills but I couldn't say that they were rude. Have only ever met Eamon Ryan from the Greens and he was a gent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Don't know if it qualifies as 'meeting' per se, but Donovan's AMA thread on here was a bit of a farce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Met Paris Hilton in a nightclub in surfers paradise when she arrived with her entourage.......such a pretty ****head that I'd wished I'd never heard

Utter tosh. That's essentially saying that a person needs to be professional 24/7. Fans need to understand that these are people too and should be treated with the exact same respect that you would meeting any other person.
    Relax. I don't know where I indicated they shouldnt be treated with respect too. However it's a two-way Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I do some voluntary work and about a month ago I had to accept somebody on Facebook to speak to them due to geographical limitations.So eventually I travelled to meet with the person and they were completely different.A complete inversion of my expectations.Online they appeared caring and fun, but in real life they came across as egotistical and power hungry.Sometimes talking to people on Facebook can distort how they actually are as person.The superficially of social media can be blinding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

It was a devastating disappointment. He was rude and pompous. He was so rude to everyone I spent most of my time apologising for him.

Rude, pompous, ignorant and lacking basic manners tells me this guy is very far from being intelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I met Anton Savage off the radio in Dublin a few months back.. I thought he'd be fun but I remember him being obsessed with he cost of his round and he farted quite loudly at one point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Disappointed to hear some posters report back bad experiences with Henry Shefflin, I thought he'd be a gentleman.

Staying on the hurling I know that some of the Tipp boys are supposed to be up their own backsides as well. I don't know any of them that well though, just from what I hear in my club and around town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

cloud493 wrote: »
    Because she wrote my favourite book series of all time? And as I said before, I know I'm not entitled to anything from her or to expect anything, but thats not an excuse for being rude.

Personally, I'm just glad that they created this work and it's there. I'd never feel that by extension, they're supposed to be a certain type of person or be that cognizant of me, one of millions of fans of their work.

That's not to say it's nice if they're being a cnut, more so that people shouldn't build so much importance around them not being so much, as if they have some obligation to people who admire their work.