Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Duanington wrote: »
    (shocking trousers though !)

I cant really argue with that, great spot is right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Ha tang your taste in music is actually worse than mine :D:D I have no words for the tartan trousers.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

I feel strongly enough that a thank to someone elses comment just isn't enough.

Tang - WTF are you listening to !!!! :eek::D

Friday 31.7.15

Rest

Saturday 1.8.15

7miles@7.50min/miles in 54min 49secs(including 2mile time trial)

No issues with this today, few better nights sleep and energy levels were great. Legs were a little creaky from the hill repeats on Thursday but loosened out during the two mile warm up. I had no real idea at what pace to run the time trial at so ran them as hard as i could, the miles clocked in at 6.07, 6.04. Was there more in the legs if i was running a 5k race, may as well be honest and say no there wouldn't be at that pace, not yet anyway. I know myself at present i have to take the first mile of a 5k conservative enough and build from there, if i ran 6.07 first mile in a 5k at the minute i would blow up.

Its still a work in progress, but its getting better. I used to knock reps at this pace out for fun 2 and a half years ago, this is the first time i honestly think i have ran two miles at that pace in training since then, it felt good again. Stood on the scales this morning to, 13stone and half a pound, could the half pound not fook off!!!!

Sunday 2.8.15

3.80miles@9.29min/miles in 36mins

Recovery run, up to local GAA pitch to help the legs, 30miles on the button for the week.

Monday 3.8.15

Rest

Tuesday 5.8.15

8miles@8.22min/miles in 66min 56miles

Cant remember much about this so obviously nothing bad to report.

Wednesday 6.8.15

6.25miles@8.31min/miles in 53min 12secs(including 10x200s off 30secs recovery)

Handy few miles warm-up before getting into these, have a decent flat piece of road close by that i do these. Wind was blowing hard going one way i'd be doing these so knew i'd be working a little doing them. Goal again was 42secs for these, reps clocked as follows:

Very happy with these, even though they were a second or two quick, they were consistent even working into the wind. Found it more manageable than i thought. Few miles warm down after.

Thursday 7.8.15

4.05miles@8.45min/miles in 35min 27secs

Few easy miles, legs were in good shape after yesterdays 200s. The 'bounce' is still there.

Friday 8.8.15

I had hoped to be reporting on more improvement on my 5k time this evening after running the Streets of Athboy, a life threatening case of man-flu has knocked that on the head!! Misus says i'll just survive, she did ask if i wanted to be put out of my misery, turned her offer down.

Anyway feel like sh1t so no point racing tonight, its something thats out of my control so dont feel so bad. Back to bed and hook the intravenous drip back on. Say a prayer for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

tang1 wrote: »
    Friday 8.8.15

I had hoped to be reporting on more improvement on my 5k time this evening after running the Streets of Athboy, a life threatening case of man-flu has knocked that on the head!! Misus says i'll just survive, she did ask if i wanted to be put out of my misery, turned her offer down.

Anyway feel like sh1t so no point racing tonight, its something thats out of my control so dont feel so bad. Back to bed and hook the intravenous drip back on. Say a prayer for me.

Translated as "I saw the bit of rain outside and chickened out!";)

Misus says i'll just survive, she did ask if i wanted to be put out of my misery, turned her offer down. Back to bed and hook the intravenous drip back on. Say a prayer for me.

Mrs Tang, mistake no 1 right there... :p*

*in all seriousness feel better soon!

belcarra wrote: »
    Translated as "I saw the bit of rain outside and chickened out!";)

No sun is shining here in the Royal county, just cause there like that in Mayo dont assume the rest of the country is the same. Up Donegal!!

Firedance wrote: »
    Mrs Tang, mistake no 1 right there... :p*

*in all seriousness feel better soon!

Cheers, I have found her standing over me lately when i wake with a pillow in her hands, she swears shes only fluffing them. Beginning to wonder now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

No sun is shining here in the Royal county, just cause there like that in Mayo dont assume the rest of the country is the same. Up Donegal!!

So you're a proud Meath man now, huh??:rolleyes:

Or even a Donegal man... I suppose anything but Westmeath!;)

belcarra wrote: »
    So you're a proud Meath man now, huh??:rolleyes:

Or even a Donegal man... I suppose anything but Westmeath!;)

The young lad got a Meath jersey for his 4th birthday, its now used for cleaning the dirt off my runners, thats how much of a Meath man i'll ever be!! I have to be loyal to the misus, even though i think Mayo will make light work of them tomorrow evening(sorry Anna)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Hope you pull through man ;) I presume you've the local padre on speed dial so I'll give the prayers a skip & sink a few cold ones instead!

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Hope you pull through man ;) I presume you've the local padre on speed dial so I'll give the prayers a skip & sink a few cold ones instead!

Hes practicising the last rights as we speak i'm that bad!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Men :rolleyes:

And you'd be the very one giving out if any of us went racing while sick. Women, no pleasing ye!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

The young lad got a Meath jersey for his 4th birthday, its now used for cleaning the dirt off my runners, thats how much of a Meath man i'll ever be!! I have to be loyal to the misus, even though i think Mayo will make light work of them tomorrow evening(sorry Anna)

Off the soles of your runners while still wearing them I hope :p

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Off the soles of your runners while still wearing them I hope :p

Oh absolutely!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Just catching up here, B... hope you are recovered from your near-death experience ;)

and yes, you were right!

...hope you are dusting off the Dubs jersey, to annoy Belcarra :)

On the road to recovery Anna, cheers. It was touch & go over the weekend though!! Looks like the exodus is starting in the Donegal team, Paul Durcan going to Doha, shame.

Saturday 8.8.15

Still feeling rubbish, nothing done.

Sunday 9.8.15

Marked improvement, good nights sleep made world of difference. Erred on side of caution and left doing a run.

Monday 10.8.15

7miles@8.10min/miles in 57min 13secs(including 10x100m strides)

Legs felt refreshed after the 3 days off and i was only chomping at the bit to get out for a run. This felt good and i bounced along doing it, will have to keep a closer eye on my easy pace its creeping up to fast again, spread the strides out over the 7 miles.

Tuesday 11.8.15

6.50miles@8.41min/miles in 56min 24secs

Easy run at a far more sensible pace, body feeling good, no niggles or strains to report. This is the furthest i've gotten into a calender year without getting injured!!!

Today 12.8.15

6.20miles@7.44min/miles in 47min 55secs(including 2x10mins@ 10k pace off 3mins recovery).

Have to say i thoroughly enjoyed this little session, McMillan gives me 6.32 for my 10k at present. Set out to keep to this as close as i could, give or take 3-4 secs either side of it. Made sure to choose a fairly bumpy route to keep the legs honest, the 10 min splits worked out as follows:

1. 1.54miles in 10mins @6.29min/mile
    2. 1.55miles in 10mins @6.28min/mile

Cant complain about that, i felt at ease through out even in the heat and the 3 mins recovery even felt a bit to much. Gives me a real confidence boost heading into my next 5k that i hopefully have a bit in the tank to take a few more seconds off my last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

On the road to recovery Anna, cheers. It was touch & go over the weekend though!! Looks like the exodus is starting in the Donegal team, Paul Durcan going to Doha, shame.

yeah, he's a *big* loss!

good to see you back in top form and great that you are staying injury free...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

annapr wrote: »

good to see you back in top form and great that you are staying injury free...

+1 nice work going on in these parts :)

Thursday 13.8.15

Rest, spent the day in the zoo with the family.

Friday 14.8.15

Rest again, only run 5 days out of 7, 3 done already and running both days of the weekend. No harm either.

Sayurday 15.8.15

3.30miles@8.48min/miles in 29min 01secs

Just few easy miles, nothing at all to report from it, had cycled 30km along with the misus straight before this. Trying to help her get back into the cycling, shes going well.

Meant to say i thought i had seen TbL in the zoo Thursday until i seen his log and he was in London, the likeness is uncanny though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Haha, It wasn't in that state until after a recent running date down by the royal canal :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Haha, It wasn't in that state until after a recent running date down by the royal canal :)

TbL

It is called something else where I come from :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

FBOT01 wrote: »
    It is called something else where I come from :D

FFS :D:D I nearly spat out my tea :D

Celbridge AC 5k - 20.23(6.15,6.24,7.01.6.28)

Not the time that i wanted or expected, but circumstances that occurred dictated that for me somewhat. I done my usual 2 mile warm up before and felt a twinge in my left calf in the same place that kept me out for a week or so back in late May. I stretched it out a good bit before the race start and it felt fine. Lined up a few lines back from the front of the race and we started at 10.30am on the nose, the first mile is quick and downhill but i wanted to ease myself into it rather than bolting off.

Eased into it and was feeling good as the first mile beeped in 6.15, we turned left shortly after and into the only uphill section of the route, up on my toes for this and "bing" the calf muscle goes again only more painful this time, ease off the gas and the pain dissipates somewhat. I know my goose is cooked at this stage, i have over one and a half miles left to go and i know i cant force the pace confidently in the way i'd like for fear of pulling something serious.

Mile two clocked 6.24 but that was from the effort early in the mile. Just took it easy from here to finish running at less than 10k effort, calf forces me to walk a bit on the closing stretch around the grass track. Pass davemcmahon out supporting with 200m or so to go, muster a smile for him at best(sorry Dave). Mile 3 beeps in 7.01, and finish out in 20.23.

Thoughts:

Calf feels so so now, its as i said the same issue that cost me a week off running in late May only not as bad this time i think. Will take a few days off to let it rest and hopefully that will help it. I could do with a rub down on my legs to so will try sort that out next week to. I hate running 5k races in the morning, i have NEVER ran a good one which starts before 12pm ever, takes my body till at least 1pm to start functioning right. I would have been despondent about this earlier this year, but as Van Morrison says "There will be days like this", move on learn and be stronger in the next race.

Edit: Meant to say, great race by Celbridge AC on a fast, quick route. Plenty of marshals, accurate course and they even sorted the weather. Could not fault it in anyway.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,418 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Sorry to hear that. Ice and calf raises for the moment anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

B, you made the right decision, running a sub 20 and getting injured would have been stupid.

Take it handy till you're sure its ok

TbL

B, you made the right decision, running a sub 20 and getting injured would have been stupid.

Take it handy till you're sure its ok

TbL

+ 1 to this, sometimes the right thing is the hardest to do, hopefully you get it sorted quickly