LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Far from being in the price rules of this thread, but this is an interesting car for the money.
    S500 with 29,000 miles. Big spec and looks to be in like-new condition.

45082714.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Another thread ruined. There will be nothing left at this rate.
    Sick and ****ing tired of it now, can the header of this thread have a note saying no Lexus talk?
    It just goes on and on and on to the point where people will stop coming here or engaging.
    Hachiko: Don't know you from Adam and you could actually be a sound lad with tonnes of advice but this Lexus stuff needs to stop.
    The moment someone says something negative about your car you go off on a tangent, big nasty was talking about another car and you misunderstood it and you cant even admit you are wrong.
    Posters challenge you cause you manage to either annoy posters or fight them on anything Lexus related.
    And you assume everyone drives a diesel which is also annoying - or daysul as you say.
    You keep us to go make a cup of tea... Wtf is that about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

bear1 wrote: »
    Sick and ****ing tired of it now, can the header of this thread have a note saying no Lexus talk?
    It just goes on and on and on to the point where people will stop coming here or engaging.
    Hachiko: Don't know you from Adam and you could actually be a sound lad with tonnes of advice but this Lexus stuff needs to stop.
    The moment someone says something negative about your car you go off on a tangent, big nasty was talking about another car and you misunderstood it and you cant even admit you are wrong.
    Posters challenge you cause you manage to either annoy posters or fight them on anything Lexus related.
    And you assume everyone drives a diesel which is also annoying - or daysul as you say.

Maybe he's related to Mrs Doyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭Hachiko

it wasnt clear that he was on about a 7 series, and in any event a 750 is hardly pig ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Hachiko wrote: »
    it wasnt clear that he was on about a 7 series, and in any event a 750 is hardly pig ugly.

It wasn't clear what car I was talking about yet you jump to the conclusion I'm talking about a Lexus?

I'm a bona fide BMW fanboi but I've no problem admitting the E65 is a horrible looking car, no matter what engine it has. The '66 is a bit better looking tbf.

the cynic in me says he was on about pig ugly Lexus LS430/460 (not that it bothers me, amuses more like). After all I cant exactly say a 750i is the car you will get for reliability.
    I'd have a 750 if it wasn't for the lack of spec on 95% of them, when my 740 came along i couldn't believe the spec it had, such an odd combination.

daRobot wrote: »
    Not sure about that to be honest. CL's and S classes from that era, while they're much better than the previous, still tend to throw up bill bills with far more regularity than their jap cousins. The US merc forums are full of them.

I say this as someone who prefers the styling of the S class and the 7'er, but having owned an ls430 for over 3 1/2 years, with literally not one fault in that time, I would find it very hard to pick anything other than the LS460/600H as my next car.

The reliability of those Lexus models does appear to be one of those few motoring yarns that is actually true, a massive plus when it comes to luxobarges. I wonder as they advance will the reliability continue, ie the 600h models etc. I'd seriously consider a Lexus if their styling wasn't so far behind all the other marques.

New models are definitely much better, but even models from 5-6 years ago look ancient.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Fooked if I'd drive a pig ugly car no matter how reliable / economic it may be.

It wasn't clear what car I was talking about yet you jump to the conclusion I'm talking about a Lexus?

I'm a bona fide BMW fanboi but I've no problem admitting the E65 is a horrible looking car, no matter what engine it has. The '66 is a bit better looking tbf.

you could be on about this for all I care, boi

wb5lyzuvi212vmsqr5m2qzn0jy1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Wouldn't mind this, looks clean(not daysul)
    https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-ls-430/10146164

pig ugly but Id take it, 4k euro and its a good bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You can't stop though with the childish remarks.
    Boi.. Pig ugly blah blah.
    Just leave it and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭ewj1978

That s500 is well nice but 29000 after 11 years? One careful lady old dear I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

ewj1978 wrote: »
    That s500 is well nice but 29000 after 11 years? One careful lady old dear I suppose.

With that spec I'd be inclined to believe it. Ex embassy car I'd guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Brasso

With that spec I'd be inclined to believe it. Ex embassy car I'd guess.

There's a dealer in Wicklow, Paddy Connelly might be the name, that sells cars of a similar nature ( old, low-mile S-Classes). Seems to be able to charge good money for them. I suppose if they are in a good as new condition it makes sense versus buying a new for 100k+ The seats in that one look interesting, nice spec.
    Barge for good measure: http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9986877
    Volvo XC90 3 litre straight 6.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

you could be on about this for all I care, boi

And this right here is probably why people jump down your throat. Acting like a prick and then you will play the innocent card.

If you cop n for a minute, this forum and more importantly this thread can remain interesting.

so its fine for seasoned posters to blert crap onto me, but when I back stab them I am called a prick. I said to drop this Lexus argy bargy a few times myself. even told a mod to clean the thread up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

so its fine for seasoned posters to blert crap onto me, but when I back stab them I am called a prick. I said to drop this Lexus argy bargy a few times myself. even told a mod to clean the thread up.

NOBODY CARES!!!!!!

Anyway, barges!

2002 GS300 with 6 months test left, €1750
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10148421

2004 Pheaton with test, €4300
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9900346

nice phaeton, has anyone here bought a barge after being posted up here? some mad bargains to be got in Ireland for cars like this. Won't get cheaper anywhere else in the world id say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,338 ✭✭✭mullingar

Speaking of gs300's, Here is a LPG'd one with 13 months of NCT.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1998-lexus-gs300-lpg-kit-nct-until-09-2016/10140025

45190859.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

NOBODY CARES!!!!!!

Anyway, barges!

2002 GS300 with 6 months test left, €1750
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10148421

2004 Pheaton with test, €4300
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9900346

Those phaeton seats, those damn comfy seats,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭lafors

Are those seats cooled and heated? They look seriously comfy! Have to say though the only phateon I'd be interested in is one with a W12. One of the lads on here had one a while back, savage car.

Jaysus having some laugh reading all the Lexus loving/bashing in motors when catching up on the threads after my holiers. Dunno if he was referring to the Lexus as pig ugly but even if he wasn't he'd be right if he had meant it. They either look like the same car i kicked the crap out of in street fighter 2 a long long time ago or they have the ugly bubbly/droopy front end. A car can be great on the inside but does anyone want to be the one with the sound ugly bird? ;) BTW I can't slag I've a car that it has been said should always be reversed into a space so your mates can never see it's ugly rear ;)

As for luxobarging surely 5k is too low for what could be considered a luxobarge these days? To me a luxobarge is around a €100k+ car new that can be now gotten for around 1/10 the price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

lafors wrote: »
    Are those seats cooled and heated? They look seriously comfy! Have to say though the only phateon I'd be interested in is one with a W12. One of the lads on here had one a while back, savage car.

Jaysus having some laugh reading all the Lexus loving/bashing in motors when catching up on the threads after my holiers. Dunno if he was referring to the Lexus as pig ugly but even if he wasn't he'd be right if he had meant it. They either look like the same car i kicked the crap out of in street fighter 2 a long long time ago or they have the ugly bubbly/droopy front end. A car can be great on the inside but does anyone want to be the one with the sound ugly bird? ;) BTW I can't slag I've a car that it has been said should always be reversed into a space so your mates can never see it's ugly rear ;)

As for luxobarging surely 5k is too low for what could be considered a luxobarge these days? To me a luxobarge is around a €100k+ car new that can be now gotten for around 1/10 the price?

Don't think there was ever a W12 on here or this country, i think you are thinking of the V10 TDI ?

The phaeton hasn't aged well inside for me,hard to look past the A8. Also the 3.2 V6 is a fine engine for a hot hatch but it has no place in a car that size and weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

tossy wrote: »
    Don't think there was ever a W12 on here or this country, i think you are thinking of the V10 TDI ?

The phaeton hasn't aged well inside for me,hard to look past the A8. Also the 3.2 V6 is a fine engine for a hot hatch but it has no place in a car that size and weight.

At 2.7 ton it's a beefy old Petunia right enough, it'd take a lot of the joy out of an otherwise decent V6. Even with a W12 Bentley unit in it it would still kill me to pay Jag/Merc money for a Volkswagen, though! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭lafors

tossy wrote: »

Actually i think you're right, it was the V10, the same lad had an 850 around the same time iirc :)
    Have to agree on the A8 though, i'd have it over a phaeton in the same model any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'm in love with the styling of the S8 Beshoffs have, but that's for another thread. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm in love with the styling of the S8 Beshoffs have, but that's for another thread. :D

Well done sending me off like an eejit Googling "Audi S8 Beshoff" thinking it was an aftermarket styling/performance house like AMG or Kahn! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

jimgoose wrote: »
    Well done sending me off like an eejit Googling "Audi S8 Beshoff" thinking it was an aftermarket styling/performance house like AMG or Kahn! :pac:

Beshoff make good chips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭CheezePleeze

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-passat-w8-4-0-lhd/9881368

02 PASSAT W8,4.0 LHD. On German Plates. 3600 snots.

Interesting alternative to the Phaeton.... Vorsprung Durch Me Eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭DoctorStrange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭bidiots

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-passat-w8-4-0-lhd/9881368

02 PASSAT W8,4.0 LHD. On German Plates. 3600 snots.

Interesting alternative to the Phaeton.... Vorsprung Durch Me Eye

Wrong thread surely? If I'm paying top tax, its not going to be in a Passat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭ofcork

The alloy on the rear left of that A8 is different than the other 3!