Argos Chat Thread #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭johnf26

Just checking CA's analytics there, there is a good few searches for Pokemon White 2 for the DS which is €11 at the moment and is available in most shops

They will go back down to 7.99 eventually as they were before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,452 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Didnt realise they were cheaper, there was just a good few searches for it yesterday so I thought I would share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,600 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

That new checkargos.com is like New Coke, can we get a checkargos.com classic in the mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

Finally picked up 2 SanDisk Cruzer Blade 128GB USB Flash Drive in Kilkenny today.

Seemingly the priced 27.99 was never in store, was a glitch. Took 30 minutes to approve but himself is delighted.

They do honour online prices, fair play to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 118 ✭✭Janey Mack

Got an Xbox One Wireless Controller - Covert Forces for €44.99

It has a built in headphone adaptor which is useful.

http://www.checkargos.com/?search=415/9775

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Anyone interested in the new Rare Replay game for xbox one?
    It's €30 on digital, in Smyths and Gamestop.
    But argos have it for €25

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/4397094.htm

Plenty of stock at time of writing :)

http://checkargos.com/?search=439/7094

That new checkargos.com is like New Coke, can we get a checkargos.com classic in the mix.

I was actually pretty sad replacing it! It served honarably for nearly 4 years!

Personally I think the new one is a big improvement, but if there is somethings you prefer about the old one please me me know and I'll see if there is anything that can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭mac.in

Quackster wrote: »
    A useful way of saving an extra 6% on Argos purchases (worth the trouble for bigger purchases) is to buy an Argos gift-card from SVM here: http://countdown.svmeurope.com/

Best thing to do is order the card with the minimum 1 Euro credit and get it delivered by ordinary post. When the physical card arrives, load the actual amount of credit you need on it. You can then reuse it again and again whenever you need to.

One thing to watch out for though, it does take a day or two for loaded credit to show up on the card (just like Argos/Homebase cards purchased in Tesco) so it's no good of you need to get something in a hurry, unless you already have it pre-loaded.

And you don't actually need to be a Countdown member!

Any idea if this site is currently having issues with topping up Argos cards? I haven't been successful to place an order for reloading money into Argos cards/Debenhams cards since yesterday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭xECompanyx

Janey Mack wrote: »
    Got an Xbox One Wireless Controller - Covert Forces for €44.99

It has a built in headphone adaptor which is useful.

http://www.checkargos.com/?search=415/9775

Thanks, picked up one of these, €15 off, sweet..

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Anyone interested in the new Rare Replay game for xbox one?
    It's €30 on digital, in Smyths and Gamestop.
    But argos have it for €25

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/4397094.htm

Plenty of stock at time of writing :)

http://checkargos.com/?search=439/7094

Got one, thanks..

mac.in wrote: »
    Any idea if this site is currently having issues with topping up Argos cards? I haven't been successful to place an order for reloading money into Argos cards/Debenhams cards since yesterday night.

Publicsectorgroupschemes have the same offer, 6% extra on card, takes a while for the cards to come tho :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,230 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

xECompanyx wrote: »
    Thanks, picked up one of these, €15 off, sweet..

You can also sell your old black Xbox one controller to CEX for €35. Its a handy way to upgrade for very little outlay.

There's a thread dedicated to this in the Xbox forum.

xECompanyx wrote: »
    Got one, thanks..

Gonna pick up my reserve after work :)

I read there's a 38 gig day one patch for it. Holy crap :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Gonna pick up my reserve after work :)

I read there's a 38 gig day one patch for it. Holy crap :eek:

Nah there's not its a couple of gigs max. The whole disc is only like 12gb in size anywya.

Tinie wrote: »
    Nah there's not its a couple of gigs max. The whole disc is only like 12gb in size anywya.

Thanks, panic averted so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Racket

Tinie wrote: »

The size on the disc is close to 50GB for all 30 games, it's 12GB for the older games and then the rest is taken up by the 360 games that install separately work through Xbox One's new software emulation for backwards compatibility. I had 6.2GB of patches overall to install on Friday for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭honda boi

emmetkenny wrote: »
    You can also sell your old black Xbox one controller to CEX for €35. Its a handy way to upgrade for very little outlay.

There's a thread dedicated to this in the Xbox forum.

Do I just bring the controller itself into them or does it need to be in its original package to get the €35?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

honda boi wrote: »
    Do I just bring the controller itself into them or does it need to be in its original package to get the €35?

They sell them for €32 so I'm guessing you don't get €35 off them anymore?

https://ie.webuy.com/product.php?sku=05880013465229#.VcojGPlVhBc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭honda boi

That's the 360 controller :p
    This is the one.
    https://ie.webuy.com/product.php?sku=885370603927#.VcojuZ81jqA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭Doge

Thats an xbox 360 controller you linked to.

They still buy the xbox one controller for €35:

https://ie.webuy.com/product.php?sku=885370603927#.VcokGflVhBc

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 489 ✭✭AngryDiMaria

That's the 360 controller your looking at!

It still says 35 for the Xbox one Controller

https://ie.webuy.com/product.php?sku=885370603927

Edit: Triple post lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,861 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Edit: Triple post lol

Jeeze. Take it easy lads! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,230 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

honda boi wrote: »

Just the controller. If you have the box I sappose you could bring it to. They won't give you any extra mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭bored_newbie

Fairly cheap tent, down from 84 to 21 euro
    http://checkargos.com/?search=3044874

FYI, it has mixed reviews, might not be entirely waterproof
    http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Search/searchTerm/3044874.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,326 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Homestore has a load of tents at the minute for very cheap!

Again, maybe not great quality but cheap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭kop77

probably the wrong place to ask this but is there a way of seeing the price history of an Argos product, 128/5910 to be precise

I could of sworn I saw a post here sometime ago showing the history of a price... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

kop77 wrote: »
    probably the wrong place to ask this but is there a way of seeing the price history of an Argos product, 128/5910 to be precise

I could of sworn I saw a post here sometime ago showing the history of a price... :)

Thats €44.99 in pc world, have previously seen it for €37.99 there. Might be worth waiting for a discount. Awesome keyboard for HTPC, have mine a few years, only replaced batteries once i think, only drawback is no dedicated media keys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,173 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Had that keyboard before. Got it from Amazon for about €30. Does the job but I wasn't mad on the touchpad. Sold it and bought a gaming touchpad for my raspberry pi2.

We are actually in the process of adding this functionality to checkargos (huge thanks to scanner.today for supplying the historical price data)

That product has changed price a good bit over the last year:

Cheapest it has been is €33.99 on 22nd of April

It is currently the most expensive it has been at €46.99 (changed to this price on 18th of July)

Most recently it was €36.39 on 1st of July, so it was a big change in price.

If anyone has any other feature requests or suggestions please get in touch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Invincible

There was a thread about the Logitech K400 here few months ago, Amazon were doing it as deal of the day for £17.99, got one but the @ button and " button are mixed up, will return.