Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Argos Chat Thread #1

• Registered Users Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭Doodah7

Techmaster wrote: »
    I have a Kensington metal 3.0 32GB one that I bought from Amazon, excellent build quality to keep on my work lanyard. I agree about plastic keyrings - metal ftw!! :D

Completely agree. I have this Transcend USB 3.0 64GB on my key ring with added bonus that it is tiny.

https://www.memoryc.ie/usb/flash-drives/64gb-transcend-jetflash-710s-silver-metallic-usb3-flash-drive.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Nice, this usb key is perfect for my TV. Can throw loads of movies on it and just leave it there for weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Tazz T

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Slight word of caution on the flash drive.

Not too sure whether it was just my reservation that was the issue or what.

I sent on the reservation code to the mother, who was in the city centre, to pick it up for me.
    She rang me when she was at the till saying the asking price was 59.99 on my reservation. I had to give her the catalogue number of the thing, so that it came up at the discounted price of 27.99, but I got the discount in the end. :)

She said the till guy said something about the prices not updating on his till.

Did this happen to anyone else?

Same thing happened me, but got it in the end. Loading it with movies for the hols. Quite slow, but great bargain. Thanks OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,442 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Tazz T wrote: »
    Same thing happened me, but got it in the end. Loading it with movies for the hols. Quite slow, but great bargain. Thanks OP.

Nice one :)

Yeah, I reckon it would take 2-3 hours to fill it, based on the xfer speeds I get with usb 2.0 on my machine.

Still, you should have no trouble with playback of movies anyway :D

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭KathleenF

Might have been posted before, but Argos have an eBay UK outlet, had a quick browse and there might be a few bargains there for someone. Assume you can ParcelMotel purchases. On mobile so can't link.

http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Argos-Outlet

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭daytob

Can I have it please?
    sent

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭dubsuperstar

daytob wrote: »
    sent
    PM sent, I never got it. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

• Registered Users Posts: 28,876 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

murphm45 wrote: »
    They have a 128gb USB drive for €28 today, it's only USB 2 so the speed won't be great but still seems like a good deal.

http://www.argos.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=10152&catalogId=14551&langId=111&productId=812510

There seems to be decent stock levels too

http://checkargos.com/?search=402/7072

Reserved this in Tullamore and got my wife to pick it up. They charged the original price of 52.49. No answer on the phone from them now. I'm actually looking forward to going in and giving out to them in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,833 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Have a USB key reservation for Sligo - valid til tomorrow!

First PM gets it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Caovyn Lineah

Quazzie wrote: »
    Reserved this in Tullamore and got my wife to pick it up. They charged the original price of 52.49. No answer on the phone from them now. I'm actually looking forward to going in and giving out to them in the morning.

Did your wife pay the full price? It's her you should give out to if she did, not some poor worker who has no control over their systems price updates.

My wife never knew what she was picking up. She just got a text, and picked it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,865 ✭✭✭Soarer

My wife never knew what she was picking up. She just got a text, and picked it up.

Dead right too. Just tell them what to do, and they do it. Well in fella.

Soarer wrote: »
    Dead right too. Just tell them what to do, and they do it. Well in fella.

Damn tootin'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Caovyn Lineah

So it's your fault then? The person working in argos is the last person to blame for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭murphm45

Went to pay in Nutgrove they tried to charge me 52 but when I pointed out the reserved price it was changed without any hassle (fair play to Aaron who sorted it).

I appreciate it's been said before but credit where its due. Argos are great for honour these things (although this is probably not as pronounced as the "problems" others have had resolved considering in a number of places the standard response is "computer days no" it's nice and commendable when it doesn't happen)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,029 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Just checking CA's analytics there, there is a good few searches for Pokemon White 2 for the DS which is €11 at the moment and is available in most shops

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭johnf26

Just checking CA's analytics there, there is a good few searches for Pokemon White 2 for the DS which is €11 at the moment and is available in most shops

They will go back down to 7.99 eventually as they were before

Didnt realise they were cheaper, there was just a good few searches for it yesterday so I thought I would share.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,100 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

That new checkargos.com is like New Coke, can we get a checkargos.com classic in the mix.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

Finally picked up 2 SanDisk Cruzer Blade 128GB USB Flash Drive in Kilkenny today.

Seemingly the priced 27.99 was never in store, was a glitch. Took 30 minutes to approve but himself is delighted.

They do honour online prices, fair play to them

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Janey Mack

Got an Xbox One Wireless Controller - Covert Forces for €44.99

It has a built in headphone adaptor which is useful.

http://www.checkargos.com/?search=415/9775

Anyone interested in the new Rare Replay game for xbox one?
    It's €30 on digital, in Smyths and Gamestop.
    But argos have it for €25

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/4397094.htm

Plenty of stock at time of writing :)

http://checkargos.com/?search=439/7094

That new checkargos.com is like New Coke, can we get a checkargos.com classic in the mix.

I was actually pretty sad replacing it! It served honarably for nearly 4 years!

Personally I think the new one is a big improvement, but if there is somethings you prefer about the old one please me me know and I'll see if there is anything that can be done.

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭mac.in

Quackster wrote: »
    A useful way of saving an extra 6% on Argos purchases (worth the trouble for bigger purchases) is to buy an Argos gift-card from SVM here: http://countdown.svmeurope.com/

Best thing to do is order the card with the minimum 1 Euro credit and get it delivered by ordinary post. When the physical card arrives, load the actual amount of credit you need on it. You can then reuse it again and again whenever you need to.

One thing to watch out for though, it does take a day or two for loaded credit to show up on the card (just like Argos/Homebase cards purchased in Tesco) so it's no good of you need to get something in a hurry, unless you already have it pre-loaded.

And you don't actually need to be a Countdown member!

Any idea if this site is currently having issues with topping up Argos cards? I haven't been successful to place an order for reloading money into Argos cards/Debenhams cards since yesterday night.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭xECompanyx

Janey Mack wrote: »
    Got an Xbox One Wireless Controller - Covert Forces for €44.99

It has a built in headphone adaptor which is useful.

http://www.checkargos.com/?search=415/9775

Thanks, picked up one of these, €15 off, sweet..

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Anyone interested in the new Rare Replay game for xbox one?
    It's €30 on digital, in Smyths and Gamestop.
    But argos have it for €25

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/4397094.htm

Plenty of stock at time of writing :)

http://checkargos.com/?search=439/7094

Got one, thanks..

mac.in wrote: »
    Any idea if this site is currently having issues with topping up Argos cards? I haven't been successful to place an order for reloading money into Argos cards/Debenhams cards since yesterday night.

Publicsectorgroupschemes have the same offer, 6% extra on card, takes a while for the cards to come tho :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 27,910 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

xECompanyx wrote: »
    Thanks, picked up one of these, €15 off, sweet..

You can also sell your old black Xbox one controller to CEX for €35. Its a handy way to upgrade for very little outlay.

There's a thread dedicated to this in the Xbox forum.

xECompanyx wrote: »
    Got one, thanks..

Gonna pick up my reserve after work :)

I read there's a 38 gig day one patch for it. Holy crap :eek: