Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 17/06/2015 to date

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

digzy wrote: »
    Ha ha

Imagine taking a shower of skobies into your house

Fcuks sake:rolleyes:

You'd soon experience a minimalist existence

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Bring back the tenements!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Air b nb anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

Is school even on this womans agenda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

digzy wrote: »
    Ha ha

Imagine taking a shower of skobies into your house

Fcuks sake:rolleyes:

Imagine the skobies taking a shower in your house. Your water bill would escalate, and God knows what might block your drains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,109 ✭✭✭✭neris

Fujitsu10 wrote: »
    I don't mean to sound nasty here, but could we hear something about her past, did she ever work, and a few more details like that.

This is liveline joe never deals into some schemer/entitled ones past. theres a saint as far as hes concerned and should get what they they entitled ask for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

The anti-bedsit legislation was one of the most cack-handed, ill-thought-out piece of lawmaking in recent times. Totally head-in-the-clouds bollix, by some eejits who never would have found themselves in a bedsit anyway, and with not an iota of comprehension of the lives lived by people to whom bedsits are an important part and resource.

Anywhere??

I'll sponsor a trip to Nigeria for Lorraine

But the local authorities say, we don't have the funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭touts

If only someone would invent a process where an individual would get up in the morning and go somewhere for 8 hours during which time they would be given tasks to do and in exchange they would get money which they could in turn use to sort out their own accommodation and living expenses. Surely a system like that has to be better than living off the government and it's magical money tree.

Ffs they knew all this before the shut down of bedsits was decided. As usual people are making decisions about situations(bedsits) that they know shag all about. Typical incompetence by the council. Clowns the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Foster a family in d7. the students cant even get rooms for next year.

Fujitsu10 wrote: »
    Is school even on this womans agenda?

It's the summer holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Was this guy elected?...what a ridiculous solution..pay people to take in homeless families.. who in their right mind would take a mother and kids into the spare room and have the house wedged with people that may have various issues?

what the hell is wrong with these people his solution is to pay 4k a month in somebodies box room instead of 1500 for an apartment.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    The anti-bedsit legislation was one of the most cack-handed, ill-thought-out piece of lawmaking in recent times. Totally head-in-the-clouds bollix, by some eejits who never would have found themselves in a bedsit anyway, and with not an iota of comprehension of the lives lived by people to whom bedsits are an important part and resource.
    Tbh they should have been banned.
    It's just no one bed flats replaced them.

touts wrote: »
    If only someone would invent a process where an individual would get up in the morning and go somewhere for 8 hours dorung which time they would be given tasks to do and in exchange they would get money which they could in turn use to sort out their own accommodation and living expenses. Surely a system like that has to be better than living off the government and it's magical money tree.

I think your onto something there.... That might WORK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

snubbleste wrote: »
    Tbh they should have been banned.
    It's just no one bed flats replaced them.
    Phased out, yes; banned overnight, no.

touts wrote: »
    If only someone would invent a process where an individual would get up in the morning and go somewhere for 8 hours dorung which time they would be given tasks to do and in exchange they would get money which they could in turn use to sort out their own accommodation and living expenses. Surely a system like that has to be better than living off the government and it's magical money tree.

Dats aginst mee human rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

But the local authorities say, we don't have the funding.

The local authorities sold off most of the counci houses and now claim there is not enough social housing.....?

my friend wrote: »
    Anywhere??

I'll sponsor a trip to Nigeria for Lorraine

Fair balls to you. You could bring her with you when you are going over to that Nigerian prince to get the money he's giving you. He might put her up.

move to rural ireland? half of these skanks dont even want to move to the next postcode in dublin never mind down the sticks

And we've the either and the expense of that ffs. Next the 600 refugees....where are they going to stay.....does it ever end.

"We live in a mad country"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,886 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

"We live in a mad country"

In a mad mad world.....theres a song there somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Was this guy elected?...what a ridiculous solution..pay people to take in homeless families.. who in their right mind would take a mother and kids into the spare room and have the house wedged with people that may have various issues?

what the hell is wrong with these people his solution is to pay 4k a month in somebodies box room instead of 1500 for an apartment.

The landlords get 12k tax free for renting a room to students. Raise it to 16k for a foster family. Government could pay three families for price of one in hotels.

One of the more sensible ideas tbh on liveline

Roger_007 wrote: »
    The local authorities sold off most of the counci houses and now claim there is not enough social housing.....?
    Because the State allowed tenants to buy house. The local authorities had no choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Why do we need an organisation for rural resettlement? Isn't that what local authority staff are paid to do?

neris wrote: »
    move to rural ireland? half of these skanks dont even want to move to the next postcode in dublin never mind down the sticks

Ah come on now. Could you blame her? They eat their childer down there.

rural ireland is on the other side of the country? im sure thats news to people in wexford, louth, meath, wicklow

Roger_007 wrote: »

I was passing through one of the large social housing areas in Cork last weekend and the Missus commented about all the boarded up houses. If a few bob was made available to get these houses fit for habitation then the problem mightn't be so bad. Also the fact that the clients can turn down 2 housing offers and still be on the housing list makes no sense either. :mad: