Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Project CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

The patch has gone live for the PS4, I hope I can finally play this game properly now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭harpstilidie

Think I'm finally going to take the plunge and get this game now with the new patch out. Let's hope it fixes most of the problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Think I'm finally going to take the plunge and get this game now with the new patch out. Let's hope it fixes most of the problems.

Still same problem for me with setup saves it dont sound like a big deal but when you are playing career mode and you cant save your carnsetup properly it really ruins your game. Other then that ive no problem with it.

I was absolutely blown away by this game tonight if I'm honest. The ffb felt great, I was finally able to really feel what the car was doing.
    About bloody time though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

I was absolutely blown away by this game tonight if I'm honest. The ffb felt great, I was finally able to really feel what the car was doing.
    About bloody time though!

Glad you finally got to play it properly!

v3ttel wrote: »
    Glad you finally got to play it properly!

Cheers man, are you still playing away yourself?

Not much recently, but it's one to come back to.

While I was waiting for the patch, a 3 month free trial of iRacing popped up, so I've been focusing on that mostly. F1 2015 is out this week, so I will probably put a few hours into that too.

Still up for a few races if we can get a group together for it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Still bugs ruin this game. Last night after 30 minutes of qualifying, we go to the starting grid. For some reason my car teleports into the air and lands sideways on the track, colliding with 2 other cars. A warning about having to enter the pits appears. I wait for the lights to go green. Im facing the barrier and sideways on the grid. I move forward and someone else teleports into me and Im disqualified.

Meanwhile Ive got to wait ages because my friends are also racing in it so I cant race with them as its too late to go through all of that again. Really frustrating and a complete joke at this stage in the development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭.G.

I had cars morphing all over the place in front of me in qualifying for an online race, just bouncing off walls and going at light speed from the wall on one side to the wall on the other then just disappearing and re appearing right on the bloody racing line. Managed to qualify 4th, race start comes, i move about 2 car lengths and get swallowed up by the entire grid getting into a massive pile up!

I haven't been back online since. Game is a joke.

Right lads, I need some help here please.
    I'm doing my best to get an option put into the game to let people disable the racing line in their public lobbies.
    As a fellow Irish man, Ian Bell has said that he can swayed into implementing it if a few more Irish guys throw their ore in too!
    Please post in this thread if you get a chance.
    Thank you.
    http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?34524-The-Racing-Line/page4

Not much recently, but it's one to come back to.

While I was waiting for the patch, a 3 month free trial of iRacing popped up, so I've been focusing on that mostly. F1 2015 is out this week, so I will probably put a few hours into that too.

Still up for a few races if we can get a group together for it though.

I'm only dying to play iRacing or AC, not really an option for me at this stage though.
    I've got bloodshot eyes as I type this from playing PC's far too late a few nights in a row now.
    Jump on later man and have race with me and my buddy, nothing too serious, we're just having a blast.

Right lads, I need some help here please.
    I'm doing my best to get an option put into the game to let people disable the racing line in their public lobbies.
    As a fellow Irish man, Ian Bell has said that he can swayed into implementing it if a few more Irish guys throw their ore in too!
    Please post in this thread if you get a chance.
    Thank you.
    http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?34524-The-Racing-Line/page4

Posted all Irish stuff, even though Im Scottish!

I'm only dying to play iRacing or AC, not really an option for me at this stage though.
    I've got bloodshot eyes as I type this from playing PC's far too late a few nights in a row now.
    Jump on later man and have race with me and my buddy, nothing too serious, we're just having a blast.

This is the code I used on iRacing to get 3 months free. I'm not sure how long it will last. If you have any interest in playing it over the next 3 months, I'd say you might as well sign up using that now, and see what you think.

PR-BLANCPAIN2015

Can't beat free, but I can pretty much guarantee you will be hooked. I stayed up until 4am during my first two days with it, just hotlapping by myself.

I've had two races and they were great. In one, I had a wheel to wheel battle for the lead with 2 guys for 25 minutes, with no contact. It was epic....not what I'm used to with PCARS online lobbies anyway!

This is the code I used on iRacing to get 3 months free. I'm not sure how long it will last. If you have any interest in playing it over the next 3 months, I'd say you might as well sign up using that now, and see what you think.

PR-BLANCPAIN2015

Can't beat free, but I can pretty much guarantee you will be hooked. I stayed up until 4am during my first two days with it, just hotlapping by myself.

I've had two races and they were great. In one, I had a wheel to wheel battle for the lead with 2 guys for 25 minutes, with no contact. It was epic....not what I'm used to with PCARS online lobbies anyway!
    That sounds deadly alright, I don't have a PC anywhere near good enough to run it on though.
    My buddy across the road has one, I might get him to download it and then I'll drag my gear over to his house and take over his sitting room for a few nights!

Posted all Irish stuff, even though Im Scottish!

Fair play to you man, cheers. Ian finally relented and has included it for the next patch hopefully.
    He wasn't keen at first but we wore him down!
    Happy days.

That sounds deadly alright, I don't have a PC anywhere near good enough to run it on though.
    My buddy across the road has one, I might get him to download it and then I'll drag my gear over to his house and take over his sitting room for a few nights!
    iracing uses an old game engine. Well actually I dont know what engine it uses, but out of all of the sims going its incredibly good looking considering how minimal the resources it uses. P Cars on the other hand, well its a different ball game altogether.

Fair play to you man, cheers. Ian finally relented and has included it for the next patch hopefully.
    He wasn't keen at first but we wore him down!
    Happy days.

I know he has come around and will put it on the to do list, which is great.

I have to say though, there is something about the manner in which he posts that makes it difficult to like him. I do not know if this is a result of the pressure he is under given the torrent of abuse directed at the game since it was released due to the multiple game breaking bugs, but I just think someone else should take over the role he has of posting on the forums. He is way too "bull in a china shop" to obtain the best PR his role requires.

I know he's Irish but it's Ok to admit he's still a twat.:D

I have to say though, there is something about the manner in which he posts that makes it difficult to like him. I do not know if this is a result of the pressure he is under given the torrent of abuse directed at the game since it was released due to the multiple game breaking bugs, but I just think someone else should take over the role he has of posting on the forums. He is way too "bull in a china shop" to obtain the best PR his role requires.

Oh he's a mad ****er alright, no question. I honestly reckon he was against my idea at first because I've been giving out on their forums since launch day when my wheel wouldn't work on the game.
    If those other lads hadn't chimed in it would have fallen flat.
    In some ways though, I think it's actually quite funny how he's so up front on their forums, it makes a nice change. Sometimes.

I'd say it's worth giving it a go on your own pc. It's not graphically demanding even on the highest settings, and you can always lower the settings too.

Seriously addictive!

As I said numerous times the man shouldn't be allowed near social media or public forums, ye got lucky but I've seen others get banned for saying similar stuff and others complaining because they blacklisted ip adresses for playing pc online.

Personally myself I only hover on there forums I find most of the wmd members look down on everyone else especially if you have a complaint.

I can't complete a race without several Ai drivers crashing into me cos I had the temerity to slow down for a corner or turn in while ahead of them. Gob****es the lot of them.

Unless it's me and I'm terrible :D

Anybody up for a boards PCARS multiplayer night on PS4 either Saturday or Sunday?

I know you're on my FL but you're not called v3ttel on it! What's your PSN man? I've been on the last few nights racing away with the same group of guys, so far we've just been setting up hour long practice sessions and people can bomb around in whatever car they like.
    I'm completely hooked on this game after 2.0, I've found some great car tunes I can share with you too.
    I can't guarantee I'll get on tonight though, my other half has been away for three nights with the kids and I've barely left the house since!

I know you're on my FL but you're not called v3ttel on it! What's your PSN man? I've been on the last few nights racing away with the same group of guys, so far we've just been setting up hour long practice sessions and people can bomb around in whatever car they like.
    I'm completely hooked on this game after 2.0, I've found some great car tunes I can share with you too.
    I can't guarantee I'll get on tonight though, my other half has been away for three nights with the kids and I've barely left the house since!

I'll fire you a message on PSN.

http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?36676-Project-CARS-All-Platforms-Patch-3-0-Release-notes

Extensive patch notes for 3.0 there. It should go a long way to really making this game great.
    If there are any PS4 players out there looking to get online, shoot me a FR on PSN.

V3ttel's not welcome anymore, he's too fast!

Lost my save game in the recent move to Windows 10. Thought it was backed up to the steam cloud. Evidently not. :(

superg wrote: »
    Lost my save game in the recent move to Windows 10. Thought it was backed up to the steam cloud. Evidently not. :(

I got caught the same too in my hard drive crash. If you didnt format your hard drive while changing stuff over you should still be able to retrieve your game file from the windows.old folder mate.

jayo26 wrote:
    I got caught the same too in my hard drive crash. If you didnt format your hard drive while changing stuff over you should still be able to retrieve your game file from the windows.old folder mate.

I upgraded and then did a clean install so all wiped. Had a HDD image backed up to my NAS which I restored everything from but the save file is in the steam folder rather than user/documents so I didn't restore that, some point after the restore the backup image became corrupted so I can't get it now!

Presumed Steam would back that up but it doesn't. Backs all my other games up.