Life Living at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Lusocu

Ah come on, that's bad form - I could never let my Mum do all of that for me and be proud of it - to not even make your bed is pretty god damn lazy! :(
    She must have the patience of a saint the poor woman.

I'm not proud of it, I'm not ashamed of it neither. She does all the washing in the house so the bed making goes along with it. I'm out at work all day so it's done when I'm gone. It is what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

He knows how to sponge. ;)

Probably not himself though, mother washes him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Lusocu wrote: »
    I'm a 34 year old male and I've never moved out of home. It's fantastic. I have all meals made, I don't lift a finger around the house, I don't even make my bed. All for 60 euro a week. I've saved a fortune and I'll move out when the time is right for me. I've always had girlfriend's who've had their own places. When I settle down I'll have a very small mortgage if any for all my years of luxury. That's the way to do it if you get on well enough at home with family.

You can move them out to a retirement home when the time comes for you to take a bride.

Birneybau wrote: »
    And absolutely no life skills. And a substitute mother who will come to resent you.

I think you're over rating these life skills. I'll be able to deal with whatever I have to as it comes, despite missing on whatever life skills you are referring to.

I might not have a substitute mother. When the situation changes I'll adapt. Chores would be divided evenly on ability and time, working hours, DIY tasks ironing or whatever.

You can move them out to a retirement home when the time comes for you to take a bride.

The thought had crossed my mind lol. Or I could just move the wife in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,102 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

He knows how to sponge. ;)

And he's probably awesome at call of duty

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I think you're over rating these life skills. I'll be able to deal with whatever I have to as it comes, despite missing on whatever life skills you are referring to.

I might not have a substitute mother. When the situation changes I'll adapt. Chores would be divided evenly on ability and time, working hours, DIY tasks ironing or whatever.

what ability? Can you work a washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, iron, hoover, mop, toilet brush? Can you cook a meal (that's not out of a packet)? Can you cook several different meals? Otherwise the future Mrs. is going to do her nut teaching a middle aged man stuff he should have learned when he was 19.

Akrasia wrote: »
    And he's probably awesome at call of duty

I sense resentment for my choice in life. Why is this? Everyone has freewill to make their own decisions. I'm not less than because of it. In fact I'm minted and when I move out I'll have no mortgage or ever have to pay rent. Sure there are some sacrifices that comes with living at home. But I weighed up the pros and cons and my choice has worked out great for me.

A few years ago my wife was desperate to buy a house and she wanted us to move back into her mothers house so we could save money.

I refused, I don't think owning a house would be worth the stress of moving back into that kind of environment.

If we had moved in there would have been Me, My Wife, our young 3 kids, my Mother in law and 4 brothers in law aged 12 18 20 and 24

They're grand to visit, but 6 adults and 4 kids in one house would be mental.

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

I sense resentment for my choice in life. Why is this? Everyone has freewill to make their own decisions. I'm not less than because of it. In fact I'm minted and when I move out I'll have no mortgage or ever have to pay rent. Sure there are some sacrifices that comes with living at home. But I weighed up the pros and cons and my choice has worked out great for me.

It's not resentment, you just came across like a bit of an idiot in your original post. 34 and you let your Mum make your bed. You don't lift a finger around the house. You should be ashamed of that, I would be.
    Instead, it came across as bragging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Green Mile

I say leave Lusocu alone. Sure he doesn’t conform to the norm of society but he and others around him are happy. Future wife wouldn’t be his wife if she didn’t love him so no need to criticise the guy.

You're free to live your life whatever way you like

I hope you'll look after your mother when her time comes as well as she has looked after you.

Ban billionaires

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

Bad points: Always having to wear earphones whilst masturbating.

You'd probably be better off go into your own room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I'm 24 and still at home.

I've started a permanent job two months ago but I wouldn't be able to live on my wages if I wasn't at home because I'm at the very bottom of the ladder.

When my wages go up I'll be trying to get out but now I'd be paying 2/3 of my wages on rent and not have any social life,car or hobbies.

It seems to be more acceptable in the current climate for people to be living at home at an older age.I only know one or two people my age who have flown the coop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Bitty!

kylith wrote: »
    what ability? Can you work a washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, iron, hoover, mop, toilet brush? Can you cook a meal (that's not out of a packet)? Can you cook several different meals? Otherwise the future Mrs. is going to do her nut teaching a middle aged man.

Fair comments, but I can do all of those. I'm a good cook, I like trying out recipes from cook books and tv shows, I can use all kitchen appliances and I'm capable of cleaning. I can imagine for a % of young people moving out of home these might seem like a learning curve. One just has to adapt to new circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Satriale wrote: »
    You'd probably be better off go into your own room!

Would have been ideal for sure but back then, the sitting room was the only room in the house where you could watch the ten minute Playboy freeview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Nucular Arms

Fair comments, but I can do all of those. I'm a good cook, I like trying out recipes from cook books and tv shows, I can use all kitchen appliances and I'm capable of cleaning. I can imagine for a % of young people moving out of home these might seem like a learning curve. One just has to adapt to new circumstances.

Forget about the skills etc, I wouldn't be able to look at myself in the mirror.

It's not resentment, you just came across like a bit of an idiot in your original post. 34 and you let your Mum make your bed. You don't lift a finger around the house. You should be ashamed of that, I would be.
    Instead, it came across as bragging.

I was bragging. So shoot me. I'm very happy with how things are. It doesn't mean I don't love and respect my parents and care for them when they need it. Me being very looked after and being a loving and caring son aren't mutually exclusive.

Forget about the skills etc, I wouldn't be able to look at myself in the mirror.

I don't think it devaluates my worth as a human being that I'd go as far as not looking in the mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭waraf

I was bragging. So shoot me. I'm very happy with how things are. It doesn't mean I don't love and respect my parents and care for them when they need it. Me being very looked after and being a loving and caring son aren't mutually exclusive.

What about if your parents want to go out though? Will you have to pay your babysitter or will they?

waraf wrote: »
    What about if you're parents want to go out though? Will you have to pay your babysitter or will they?

Half and half

I don't think it devaluates my worth as a human being that I'd go as far as not looking in the mirror.

Obviously, since you choose it for yourself. It would certainly devalue my own sense of self but probably because I have established my sense of self worth on my achievements and my ability to look after myself.

You know, like a grown up?

You can't really be blamed I suppose though. Your parents clearly raised you in such a way that you view it as perfectly fine so who am I to argue?

I wonder also if someone raised as you have been will be so considerate toward any potential children of your own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

Ah lads, ye can't beat the aul magic laundry basket

In goes the dirty underpants, out comes fresh Lenor ones...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I loved living at home. Someone to call me in the mornings and make sure I was up on time. House clean and warm when I came home. Laundry done for me. Meals prepared.
    Nothing worse than being responsible for getting yourself up on time in the mornings, coming home to the house in the same state you left it in, cold, dark, and no dinner.

When I was in college, I would come home every Friday and would call home when I was an hour away, so they had time to prepare for my arrival. Good times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Unless you can afford your own place, living at home is much easier on the head than sharing with degenerates that you've nothing in common with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

I loved living at home. Someone to call me in the mornings and make sure I was up on time. House clean and warm when I came home. Laundry done for me. Meals prepared.
    Nothing worse than being responsible for getting yourself up on time in the mornings, coming home to the house in the same state you left it in, cold, dark, and no dinner.

When I was in college, I would come home every Friday and would call home when I was an hour away, so they had time to prepare for my arrival. Good times

Totally agree, it's crap!
    Especially when you've left the kitchen in a mess, then come home to it sitting there waiting for you when you'd totally forgotten the state it was in.
    This is literally me every day lol.

The preponderance of spoiled little mammies boys on here is a bit of a shock to me in fairness.

You poor wee darlings! There there, you won't have to deal with the other nasty strangers in the world. Mammy will take good care of you.

And you're far too precious and delicate a little flower to have to deal with all the grotty details of washing your own clothes as well. Mammy'll do that for you.

Awwww... the nasty mean landlord wants to take some of the money you work so hard for? Don't you worry, you can stay with mammy as long as you like.

gag........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

The preponderance of spoiled little mammies boys on here is a bit of a shock to me in fairness.

You poor wee darlings! There there, you won't have to deal with the other nasty strangers in the world. Mammy will take good care of you.

And you're far too precious and delicate a little flower to have to deal with all the grotty details of washing your own clothes as well. Mammy'll do that for you.

Awwww... the nasty mean landlord wants to take some of the money you work so hard for? Don't you worry, you can stay with mammy as long as you like.

gag........
    You can't say stuff like that to me, I'm telling!

Obviously, since you choose it for yourself. It would certainly devalue my own sense of self but probably because I have established my sense of self worth on my achievements and my ability to look after myself.

You know, like a grown up?

You can't really be blamed I suppose though. Your parents clearly raised you in such a way that you view it as perfectly fine so who am I to argue?

I wonder also if someone raised as you have been will be so considerate toward any potential children of your own?

There's no 'obviously' about it. I establish my sense of achievements on career goals, relationships, sport and hobbies. I don't pat myself on the back for forking out exorbitant sums of money to a landlord. And when I'm ready for a mortgage financially and relationshipwise I'll make that choice then. If that's what you need to do in order to feel like a grown up keep going for it.

Thank you for your pity on how I was raised and how I can't be blamed for it. Matter of fact my parents raised me very well. I worked hard for everything I've had. I've paid for my own college education entirely. Growing up I cut neighbours grass and saved pocket money for whatever I wanted. I remember in the 90's saving up for 2 and half years for the playstation 1 and I appreciated it so much.

And since you wonder, yes I would adore my children and raise them to be good people who aspire to achieve in life. It's my dream to have a family and lovely 4 bedroom house a little bit in the country with the love of a good woman.