The General Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭tampopo

To stripedboxers, we use Thai rice, fwiw.
    That Asian market is indeed on Abbey st. by the Luas stn.
    And another on Drury St. near Fade st.

Golden Thai Dragon brand, jasmine broken rice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Some of the dishes we like are

Pad Thai (with chicken)
    Bang Bang Chicken
    Crispy chilli beef (this was unreal)
    Gyoza
    Shredded salt chilli chicken (wok fried, not deep fried)
    Japanese rice
    Singapore Noodles
    Teriyaki Ramen with beef/chicken

Would appreciate any help with this :) Thanks. :)

Love these gyoza/potstickers. They freeze well too!

I get all the ingredients for these in the Asia Market on Drury Street (it's fab in there) or the Oriental Emporium at Jervis. They sell frozen gyoza wrappers there so I don't make em myself. Man they are delicious.

Are you familiar with the Chinese dishes superthread (All hail Jassha and await the day he comes to walk among us again)? I think Salt & Chili chicken at the least is in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

This reminds me of a story that my folks told me.
    I was only a couple of months old when they brought me on Easter holidays to Inishbofin.
    They were renting a room from an elderly farmer (known as The Boult) down there.

Anyway, a storm blew up & they couldn't get off the island, & ended up running out of SMA baby milk. My mum was distraught.
    The Boult produced his milking pail & says, "Shure haven't I plenty of milk fresh from my cows here. You can give that to the young lad."
    "But there's grass & flies & all manner of shite in that bucket!" my mum wails.
    "It'll be grand girl, shure we'll shtrain it through my hanky."

I'm still alive & kicking. :)

Just in case people living in the city think this is hilarious it extremely common and most if not all farmers I know drink the milk from their farm strained through a tea towel or hanky and there is nothing that will stop them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Bored_lad wrote: »
    Just in case people living in the city think this is hilarious it extremely common and most if not all farmers I know drink the milk from their farm strained through a tea towel or hanky and there is nothing that will stop them.

Straining? Pfft, pick out the flies if you let any of the buggers get in there :D

I'd often handmilk one of the quieter sucklers in the field but this year the fecker had twins so no spare milk for me. We also had a major TB scare in the area so that stopped me anyway. I'd not touch beestings though, I've seen what comes out of calves after a feed of it......we always have a bottle in the freezer though if anyone is brave enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭fiddlechic

Growing up on a farm, pancakes made with beestings are the best sort of pancakes ever.
    Either French crepes, or more American ones - incomparable when made with beestings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I had to Google "beestings" ............eurggghhh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭EITS

For a minute I thought it was literally bee stings.. spot the non-country folk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

EITS wrote: »
    For a minute I thought it was literally bee stings.. spot the non-country folk :D

the lads in the fitness forum usually call it beastings, wiki says beestings. They were weightlifting lads who said it was great as it was full of protein and some other benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

I come from a dairy farm and I too have seen what comes out of calves after a feed of beestings. Yeaaahhhhh no.

We used to drink the unpasteurized milk - collected in a shiny clean bucket after it had been milked off through the cooling system. The cream that rose to the top in the fridge was sensational. Just can't get it in the shops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Mrs Fox

Beestings/colostrum do wonders to your skin, really. My mother swears by them. She had skin grafts done for a reconstructive surgery and the surgeons were amazed how a then 70-year-old have the skin of someone in her 40s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I'm afraid to google all this :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Mrs Fox wrote: »
    Beestings/colostrum do wonders to your skin, really. My mother swears by them. She had skin grafts done for a reconstructive surgery and the surgeons were amazed how a then 70-year-old have the skin of someone in her 40s.

I knew what colostrum was (and how important it is) from when our baby was born a few years ago. Didn't know of the bovine version as a drink though.

Reading up on it a bit, there is a Ukrainian cheese called Molozyvo that's made from "cooked cow colostrum. It is a traditional dish of Ukrainian cuisine. It tastes like a tender sweet cheese."

Everyday is a school day, eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Tilly wrote: »
    I'm afraid to google all this :o

Beastings/Beestings is the first milk of a cow after giving birth - colostrum. Usually a thicker version of milk with a buttery colour. All mammals produce it and its basically considered liquid gold in terms of nutritional benefits for the offspring. It's packed with nutrients and antibodies to keep a baby healthy.

It's just the look of it was what made me go bleugh.

Different cattle will produce different 'strengths' of biestings too, I suppose that's the best way to describe it. Some will have thicker buttermilk type and others will be far more like normal milk. The thick stuff is the good stuff! There's a few recipes for it in a Darina Allen cookbook for Irish Traditional cooking, biestings cakes being one. Then again there's also fried blood cakes, jugged hare, pigs tails and stuff in that book.....gack.

I've been splattered with a fair amount of it over the years, maybe that's why I look so good for my age :D (I'm another year older today, getting closer to that big 3-0!) I've unintentionally tasted it many times too, milking cow to hand feed calf, cow kicks, splatter everywhere- it's a bit like condensed milk, that's the best way I can describe it

Neyite wrote: »
    Beastings/Beestings is the first milk of a cow after giving birth - colostrum. Usually a thicker version of milk with a buttery colour. All mammals produce it and its basically considered liquid gold in terms of nutritional benefits for the offspring. It's packed with nutrients and antibodies to keep a baby healthy.

It's just the look of it was what made me go bleugh.
    So it still tastes the same but thicker? Doesnt sound as bad as what i had in my head :)

Kovu wrote: »
    Different cattle will produce different 'strengths' of biestings too, I suppose that's the best way to describe it. Some will have thicker buttermilk type and others will be far more like normal milk. The thick stuff is the good stuff! There's a few recipes for it in a Darina Allen cookbook for Irish Traditional cooking, biestings cakes being one. Then again there's also fried blood cakes, jugged hare, pigs tails and stuff in that book.....gack.

I've been splattered with a fair amount of it over the years, maybe that's why I look so good for my age :D (I'm another year older today, getting closer to that big 3-0!) I've unintentionally tasted it many times too, milking cow to hand feed calf, cow kicks, splatter everywhere- it's a bit like condensed milk, that's the best way I can describe it
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BUDDY :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Happy birthday Kovu :)

Safe to say I won't toast you with a glass of beestings. Ick!

Happy birthday! Facing the big 3-0 later this year myself. Weh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

So it tastes like condensed milk Kovu? or is that consistency you mean?

Happy birthday by the way!

Happy Birthday Kovu!!

Thanks guys! Safe to say I don't blame you. However if anyone out there is daft brave enough to want some, you could probably just ask at any dairy farm. It wouldn't be pasturised though so it could be a lot more difficult for non-farmers to get. If you say you're making face cream out of it you'd be thrown in a shed and the psych ward called :D

Neyite wrote: »
    So it tastes like condensed milk Kovu? or is that consistency you mean?

Happy birthday by the way!

A bot of both, it's definitely sweeter than normal milk, however I've only ever tasted it warm (DO NOT DO THIS, it's very bad to drink warm cows milk straight from cow)
    It's the colour of condensed milk, very toffee like in colour. The texture is definitely runnier but also thicker than normal milk. Think single cream.

This is the colour of it by the way, this was sheep colustrum being frozen-

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/562196/341039.jpg

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,397 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Happy beestings day Kovu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Happy birthday Kovu!

When you all first started taking about beestings it hit a nerve. My sister used to slag me when i was a teen and getting boobs telling everyone to "look at her beestings". :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Tilly wrote: »
    When you all first started taking about beestings it hit a nerve. My sister used to slag me when i was a teen and getting boobs telling everyone to "look at her beestings". :mad:

You can tell your sister that there are worse beestings out there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,859 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Happy birthday kiddo! :pac:

My local Lidl has loads and loads of raspberry bushes in the carpark. Loads. Berries as far as the eye can see. Now I'm a scuzzy old wagon when it comes to this sort of thing so I was picking them off the bushes yesterday and ramming them in my mouth going 'haha €1.99 a punnet haha' but would anyone else consider going back to pick them or am I weird?

I know there's car exhausts to be considered but no one walks their dog there and walking my dog round the parks and wildernesses of Dublin the last few weeks has ruined many, many things I used to consider to be perfectly grand to eat off a bush.

I wonder would sprays (pesticides or that) have been used on the bushes?

I dunno if it's a real concern. My dad would always have kept an eye out for which fields around at home would have been sprayed when we would pick blackberries and told us to avoid them.

I miss being a kid picking blackberries.

My local Lidl has loads and loads of raspberry bushes in the carpark. Loads. Berries as far as the eye can see. Now I'm a scuzzy old wagon when it comes to this sort of thing so I was picking them off the bushes yesterday and ramming them in my mouth going 'haha €1.99 a punnet haha' but would anyone else consider going back to pick them or am I weird?

I know there's car exhausts to be considered but no one walks their dog there and walking my dog round the parks and wildernesses of Dublin the last few weeks has ruined many, many things I used to consider to be perfectly grand to eat off a bush.

Foraging in urban and suburban areas is generally grand, but I would thoroughly wash any fruit before eating - a double rinse, a soak and a final rinse.