Farewell Arfur Daley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Very sad rip one of my favourite shows ever. Classic episode was a friend he was meeting staying with terry went on the lash woke up with a slapper and no pants. He was from up north of england never had a curry before described it to arfur as like a "rabid rat right up my back passage" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,423 ✭✭✭cml387

Very sad rip one of my favourite shows ever. Classic episode was a friend he was meeting staying with terry went on the lash woke up with a slapper and no pants. He was from up north of england never had a curry before described it to arfur as like a "rabid rat right up my back passage" lol

The Beerhunter, also starring (as the north of England Chap) the late great Brian Glover.

Excellent acting, excellent script (it was't the same when Dennis Waterman left though).
    My particular favourite was the episode where Arfur was selected for jury duty and went to sterling efforts to persuade his fellow jury members of the defendant's innocence despite some pretty weighty evidence against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭paconnors

And the ending words from that actual episode 'Arthur is dead, long live Arthur'

Arthur Daley, He Dealt, He Diddled, He Died,

RIP Arfur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Arfur faked his death one time to avoid a huge tax bill, wouldn't work in the real world though :(

RIP George

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

He did a fair amount of TV stuff in the noughties (like Midsummer Murders, Heartbeat etc) but yeah, hadn't worked in a long enough time. Tragically, as fate would have it, he was due to make a movie this year but it was delayed.

Two years back he appeared in the following episode of BBC's One Show.

If I get to 88 and 1/2 I hope I am as sharp as George is here.

90 is some innings for a man, especially if he smoked and drank like Arthur!

Farewell, Mr. Daley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Terrible he had to put up with this kind of crap at his stage of life.
    Was seemingly still ongoing up until quite recently too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Really sad to hear that Mr George Cole has died. We always used to joke at home that he must've been related to us because my dad was the image of him. Minder was always my favourite show and I still watch the box sets. Arthur and Terry together were pure magic. Hopefully 'er indoors won't let the VAT man take liberties.
    Thanks for the laughter Mr Cole and may you Rest In Peace. A true legend.

Jaysus, the opening Thames jingle would take you right back.. (this was a feature length Christmas Day special back in '85):

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

Root in Europe was again George Cole at his brilliant best

He played a right-wing fish dealer who disapproves of the impending European Union. Declaring himself England’s ‘European regulator’ he goes on a tour of Europe with his wife Muriel..........
    The episode in Amsterdam where he unwittingly eats some hash cake and then meets up with local chief of police is a fúcking joy to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I've got "I could be so good for you" on my iPod. It always makes me think of Arthur and smile:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

Fact: The expression "er indoors" wasn't in any script for the show or even real life slang-he just made it up himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

All up to Ray now to look after the business...

RIP to a fantastic actor

sabat wrote: »
    Fact: The expression "er indoors" wasn't in any script for the show or even real life slang-he just made it up himself.

It caught on so much that they even released the following song:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭CaoimheSquee

Absolute hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

"One of the lance corporals of life". In the words of Arthur E Daley himself.

A genuine legend and a one-off. RIP George. VATs all round at the Winchester please, Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

"One of the lance corporals of life". In the words of Arthur E Daley himself.

A genuine legend and a one-off. RIP George. VATs all round at the Winchester please, Dave.

On the slate of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Nodster

RIP Arfur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,929 ✭✭✭Calibos

I'm someone else who thought he died 20 years ago.

Another Classic Line from the Bold Arthur

Always take cash

Arthur spent his life chasing "nice little earners". In one episode he berated his nephew Ray for taking a cheque after delivering some dresses to a shady character called Morry. "You took a cheque? A bloody Gregory? Don't you realise why he's called Bouncing Morry?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

paconnors wrote: »
    Another Classic Line from the Bold Arthur

Always take cash

Arthur spent his life chasing "nice little earners". In one episode he berated his nephew Ray for taking a cheque after delivering some dresses to a shady character called Morry. "You took a cheque? A bloody Gregory? Don't you realise why he's called Bouncing Morry?"

Scriptwriters for the series were Oscar quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,423 ✭✭✭cml387

Arfur was only happy in his east end abode.

In one episode he had to go "up west". His sense of discomfiture was obvious all the time he was there. The look of panic on his face each time a jet flew over from nearby Heathrow was absolutely priceless.

Pure comedy gold.

Also let's praise the late Verity Lambert who commissioned the series, and who got her start in production with the BBC in the early sixties with a certain science fiction doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

anncoates wrote: »
    He's up at the bar in heaven loosening his tie with Frank Butcher, wearing nice camel skin coats, nursing their scotches and waiting for Del Boy to hurry up and join them.
    KungPao wrote: »
    ...who promptly asks the bar maid for a Caribbean Stallion or a large Tia Maria & Lucozade, and tells her to have a drink herself from the change.
    Couple of cigars, planning a trip to the Canaries... Lahvleey!

My dad adored Minder, I love the song. Major childhood memory.

George also played young Ebeneezer in the 1951 A Christmas Carol.

Actually, "Lahvleey" features prominently in Ebeneezer Goode the song. Coincidence? Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

It's good that Dennis Waterman seemed to happen to call into George at home on Tuesday. One last meet, and they remained very close. George was looking for a bottle of whiskey. So it was a little bit of surprise even if he was 90.

A great thing about George was that he was so unlike the character he portrayed, and how most people view him through flash Harry or minder.George was a quiet, home bird who was very unassuming. He came across that way in interviews where he was quite introverted which didn't make for a dazzling interview maybe, but he was just a total pro who knew his art form. Different from so many attention seekers out there nowadays.

It's similar to John Thaw who was as unlike Regan in the sweeney as you could get. Sign of a great actor I reckon and those two were up with the greats. It feels like the day John Thaw died in 2002.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Great show great actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Loved Daleys silver tongue when he would know there was an angry customer arriving he would soften them with his words

"Ah lovely fresh morning air, if only we could bottle it sir"

Or upon being arrested

"Is this what our boys in green died for ?!"Harrasment of an upstanding senior citizen?"

For anyone that missed it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

A great thing about George was that he was so unlike the character he portrayed, and how most people view him through flash Harry or minder.George was a quiet, home bird who was very unassuming. He came across that way in interviews where he was quite introverted which didn't make for a dazzling interview maybe, but he was just a total pro who knew his art form. Different from so many attention seekers out there nowadays.

That's very true.
    In fact, George came very close to missing out on the role of Arthur Daley because those doing the casting simply couldn't visualise him as a shady east end wheeler dealer.

RIP to an effortless comedy actor.