Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farewell Arfur Daley

• 06-08-2015 11:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭

BBC R4 has just reported that the actor George Cole has died - a genuinely brilliant actor.

The tributes will be justified on this one - and hats off to his scriptwriters as well.
    Arthur: Your modern entrepreneur is constantly gazing into the crystal ball of opportunity.
    Terry: And what do your crystal balls tell you about that then, eh? Is there gonna be a big rush on firewood?
    Arthur: No, Terry. That is... that is "an Indian ebony and porcupine quill workbox, nineteenth century". Described as "distressed".
    Terry: Distressed?
    Arthur: Yes, that is a term they use in the auctioneering world.
    Terry: Yeah, loosely translated as "knackered"!
    Arthur: As with most things in this life, Terry, it is in the eye of the beholder. One man's firewood is another man's porcupine wotsisname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

RIP

I'm sitting here singing the theme tune......"I Could be so good for you!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

RIP George.

Time for a VAT in the eternal Winchester Club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Great character, great TV.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Genuinely sad about this, a superb comic actor and did a lot more than give Terry the roundabout. That said I'd buy a car from him and a competitively priced Hitachi VCR without any of that annoying wrapping or a box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Ah, thats sad. Looks like a binge session of Minder is on the cards for me this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

RIP George / Arfur /Flash Arry

Thanks for the entertainment :)

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Menas wrote: »
    Ah, thats sad. Looks like a binge session of Minder is on the cards for me this weekend.

ITV4 are as usual cranking them out every afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Goodbye Minder.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Ah good gawd. Farewell George. A gent

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Eeek - a ghost !!

To be honest i thought he went years ago. Anyway RIP great actor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

RIP George, thanks for the laughs!

And my condolences 'to her in-doors'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

To be honest i thought he went years ago. Anyway RIP great actor

Understandable enough - he was 90 and had been out of the limelight for a good while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 thoughtmelodic

Arthur Daley: At that price, it's a steal.
    Dave Harris: That's what worries me.

Rest in peace

The quote from the Minder script in the OP could easily be a Del Boy and Rodders back and forth.

Isn't it true that the BBC commissioned OFAH as a copy of the ITV show Minder (albeit less gritty)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Great as Flash Harry in the St. Trinian's movies...RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

Arthur Daley, little dodgy maybe, but underneath,
    'E's alright......

KungPao wrote: »
    The quote from the Minder script in the OP could easily be a Del Boy and Rodders back and forth.

Isn't it true that the BBC commissioned OFAH as a copy of the ITV show Minder (albeit less gritty)?

Yes. Ofah was the bbc response to minder. They both struggled a bit in series one and would have been cut nowadays no doubt.

Yeah, I think I read that during the original showing of OFAH season 1, the ratings were horrible (for 1981 any way) and there was no buzz about it which made season 2 look unlikely, but then through repeats it caught on. Same with Minder I imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

He's up at the bar in heaven loosening his tie with Frank Butcher, wearing nice camel skin coats, nursing their scotches and waiting for Del Boy to hurry up and join them.

anncoates wrote: »
    He's up at the bar in heaven loosening his tie with Frank Butcher, wearing nice camel skin coats, nursing their scotches and waiting for Del Boy to hurry up and join them.
    ...who promptly asks the bar maid for a Caribbean Stallion or a large Tia Maria & Lucozade, and tells her to have a drink herself from the change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

When I was a kid I had a steel badge with his picture and "nice little earner" emblazoned on it

Legendary charectar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

RIP Arfur, .............. my saan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Gutted. I adored George Cole and was obsessed with Minder from my early teens, like lots who grew up in the 80s. His recent autobiography The World Was My Lobster is a gem. His greatest disappointment in life was without doubt that he was estranged from his daughter (from his first marrige) since she was a teenager. Interesting factoid, he was actually in Dublin during WWII and more specifically, the day Britain declared war on Germany.

Too Many Crooks is a classic film form 1959 if anyone wants to watch him in an earlier role.

Glad he's no longer suffering. Fcuking legend.

Thoughts with her indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

anncoates wrote: »

drinking scotch? A VAT surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

R.I.P :(

Only 108 episodes of the classic minder to start on tonight in memory of the numero uno. The guvnor.

'Arthur is dead, long live Arthur' is a good 'un. Where he fakes his own death to avoid a tax audit. George's own 'er indoors' Penny Morrell is actually in that episode with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

The world is your lobster Terry.

Understandable enough - he was 90 and had been out of the limelight for a good while.

He did a fair amount of TV stuff in the noughties (like Midsummer Murders, Heartbeat etc) but yeah, hadn't worked in a long enough time. Tragically, as fate would have it, he was due to make a movie this year but it was delayed.

Two years back he appeared in the following episode of BBC's One Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 thoughtmelodic

Only 108 episodes of the classic minder to start on tonight in memory of the numero uno. The guvnor.

'Arthur is dead, long live Arthur' is a good 'un. Where he fakes his own death to avoid a tax audit. George's own 'er indoors' Penny Morrell is actually in that episode with him.

I actually watched that one the other day, it's a good one

Get hold of my accountant Andrew a bit cunning, he'll know what's going on, I don't want my death to ruin my living

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Very sad rip one of my favourite shows ever. Classic episode was a friend he was meeting staying with terry went on the lash woke up with a slapper and no pants. He was from up north of england never had a curry before described it to arfur as like a "rabid rat right up my back passage" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Very sad rip one of my favourite shows ever. Classic episode was a friend he was meeting staying with terry went on the lash woke up with a slapper and no pants. He was from up north of england never had a curry before described it to arfur as like a "rabid rat right up my back passage" lol

The Beerhunter, also starring (as the north of England Chap) the late great Brian Glover.

Excellent acting, excellent script (it was't the same when Dennis Waterman left though).
    My particular favourite was the episode where Arfur was selected for jury duty and went to sterling efforts to persuade his fellow jury members of the defendant's innocence despite some pretty weighty evidence against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

And the ending words from that actual episode 'Arthur is dead, long live Arthur'

Arthur Daley, He Dealt, He Diddled, He Died,

RIP Arfur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Arfur faked his death one time to avoid a huge tax bill, wouldn't work in the real world though :(

RIP George

He did a fair amount of TV stuff in the noughties (like Midsummer Murders, Heartbeat etc) but yeah, hadn't worked in a long enough time. Tragically, as fate would have it, he was due to make a movie this year but it was delayed.

Two years back he appeared in the following episode of BBC's One Show.

If I get to 88 and 1/2 I hope I am as sharp as George is here.

90 is some innings for a man, especially if he smoked and drank like Arthur!

Farewell, Mr. Daley.

Terrible he had to put up with this kind of crap at his stage of life.
    Was seemingly still ongoing up until quite recently too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Really sad to hear that Mr George Cole has died. We always used to joke at home that he must've been related to us because my dad was the image of him. Minder was always my favourite show and I still watch the box sets. Arthur and Terry together were pure magic. Hopefully 'er indoors won't let the VAT man take liberties.
    Thanks for the laughter Mr Cole and may you Rest In Peace. A true legend.

Jaysus, the opening Thames jingle would take you right back.. (this was a feature length Christmas Day special back in '85):

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

Root in Europe was again George Cole at his brilliant best

He played a right-wing fish dealer who disapproves of the impending European Union. Declaring himself England’s ‘European regulator’ he goes on a tour of Europe with his wife Muriel..........
    The episode in Amsterdam where he unwittingly eats some hash cake and then meets up with local chief of police is a fúcking joy to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I've got "I could be so good for you" on my iPod. It always makes me think of Arthur and smile:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Fact: The expression "er indoors" wasn't in any script for the show or even real life slang-he just made it up himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

All up to Ray now to look after the business...

RIP to a fantastic actor

sabat wrote: »
    Fact: The expression "er indoors" wasn't in any script for the show or even real life slang-he just made it up himself.

It caught on so much that they even released the following song:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭CaoimheSquee

Absolute hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

"One of the lance corporals of life". In the words of Arthur E Daley himself.

A genuine legend and a one-off. RIP George. VATs all round at the Winchester please, Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

"One of the lance corporals of life". In the words of Arthur E Daley himself.

A genuine legend and a one-off. RIP George. VATs all round at the Winchester please, Dave.

On the slate of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

RIP Arfur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I'm someone else who thought he died 20 years ago.

Another Classic Line from the Bold Arthur

Always take cash

Arthur spent his life chasing "nice little earners". In one episode he berated his nephew Ray for taking a cheque after delivering some dresses to a shady character called Morry. "You took a cheque? A bloody Gregory? Don't you realise why he's called Bouncing Morry?"