Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was trying to remember 09. Was able to afford to pay a full time wage to some one so mustn't have been too bad. 2012/13 was worse here

The answer is on the back page of that report you got in the post yesterday .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Dawggone wrote: »
    I hope you're right...'85 and '86 were two memorable years also.

I meant in terms of the state of the farm here ha. If things ever got that bad again I'd have a for sale sign up on the place.

I hope you're right...'85 and '86 were two memorable years also.

Father bought a new slurry tanker summer of 84 . Drew water for months before ever he dirtied it. I remember when the winter barley was cut in the area he was feeding the straw straight away . Its like chocolate to them was a comment that sticks in the mind as they half killed themselves around the ring feeder.
    Not all hardship was rain induced.

(Not to take away from the misery suffered in those wet summers. Some acot vids on youtube iirc )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,812 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The answer is on the back page of that report you got in the post yesterday .

Yes very interesting reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Iost 6.5k last yr in fines due to milk quality. Stuff like thermo and then tbc with the old tanks.

.. "gives GG'S old(est) tank a little extra polish and tells it to pay no attention"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Father bought a new slurry tanker summer of 84 . Drew water for months before ever he dirtied it. I remember when the winter barley was cut in the area he was feeding the straw straight away . Its like chocolate to them was a comment that sticks in the mind as they half killed themselves around the ring feeder.
    Not all hardship was rain induced.

(Not to take away from the misery suffered in those wet summers. Some acot vids on youtube iirc )

In fairness I remember '84 well. I made a ball of money that year only to blow it all in the two following years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I know a few with rotary parlours not going bust :)

There's fierce leaping up and down going on over there about price. The funny thing is price isn't the issue its massive amounts of bad debt on farms that's causing the problems.

By bad debts I mean massive sheds, 4 big tractors, cows indoors and only lows or drys allowed out, shyte milking setups and an over reliance on bought in cake.

They have loads if land while very few have any grazing infrastructure. They've gone down a yield at all costs system with calving Ayr and 30% of their cows always dry.

It's selling half their kit and uncomplicating their systems they should be at instead of emptying shelves in Morrisons.

I'm friendly with a few grass based guys over there and there's not a word out of them. They are quietly sitting in the wings awaiting opportunity just like they did in 09

You said it
    https://twitter.com/JoeDelves/status/629000510029332480

kowtow wrote: »
    .. "gives GG'S old(est) tank a little extra polish and tells it to pay no attention"

Lol bust my whole laughing. Tbf they weren't designed to be filled in one milking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    We had a brutal 2012/13 . only recovered from it in middle of 2014. Well used to controlling costs. Think some people got too used to good prices 😀
    When we got back milking in '87, everybody was giving out about the milk price at 80p a gallon saying they would need £1 a gallon to survive.

We were delighted to get the 80p a gallon and the cashflow it brought with it. We made a good few bob in '88 when the milk price hit the £1 mark:)

Perspective is everything.

When we got back milking in '87, everybody was giving out about the milk price at 80p a gallon saying they would need £1 a gallon to survive.

We were delighted to get the 80p a gallon and the cashflow it brought with it. We made a good few bob in '88 when the milk price hit the £1 mark:)

Perspective is everything.

Mülder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Mülder?

we had our own currency (the punt), & the green pound was devalued

Real subtle...

Someone else will be in if he isnt

And I've been called arrogant...

Edit. Usually people like that love to listen to themselves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mülder?
    SLOM 1;)

SLOM 1;)

Bought a nice little farm out of that...:)

Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Real subtle...

To be fair, the local quadtrac crew would be in pretty soon i reckon on a fbt more likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

I dont think any dairyfarmer will go bust. I certainley hope not.

The type of lads that go bust, are work shy dreamers that love shiney tractors and kit. Worlds apart from a lad who takes on a seven day a week job . Working at the ****ty end of a half ton mammal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,464 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ye could always go suckling.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Ye could always go suckling.....:rolleyes:

A lad from the creamery called out last summer doing a survey on my future expansion plans.

Told him if price dropped to low id leave the calves on the cows. He couldnt find a relevant box to tick for this option. So moved on to next question;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Did I gather from the release that the combined venture proposes to sell a billion litres at 67 c a litre in aggregate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Id say this is going to be more common, wonder will arrabawn follow suit arra/tipp or arra/centenary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Id say this is going to be more common, wonder will arrabawn follow suit arra/tipp or arra/centenary

Centenary are too tied in with Glanbia. If they go any way it will be with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭stanflt

Timmaay wrote: »
    09 was the big crunch here also, only delivered about 3300l per cow! Summer 2012 we shouldn't have been effected 1/2 as bad but the roadways in very poor shape, I remember cows crossing 3 paddocks to come in for milking, the closest to the parlour has a wet clay structure, the cows were wading through 2ft of muck and sh1te! Milk might be only at break even now but thank God them days over!

In 09 we still got 29.6cpl avg for our milk here due to liquid and winter contracts-
    Have to admit that they cost us money when milk price is high but it's a bit of an insurance policy if anything

It avgs out that over the years we are no better off financially but is better for cash flow

At 85% spring calving now but have enough March calvers to fill quota

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

kevthegaff wrote: »

Should of sorted something with dairy gold Kev ,think we may regret not teasing that deal out further

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭C0N0R

stanflt wrote: »
    In 09 we still got 29.6cpl avg for our milk here due to liquid and winter contracts-
    Have to admit that they cost us money when milk price is high but it's a bit of an insurance policy if anything

It avgs out that over the years we are no better off financially but is better for cash flow

At 85% spring calving now but have enough March calvers to fill quota

What do you mean cost you money when price is high? Is it not tied to base price? I'm trying to get my head around our liquid quota here and it's like pulling hens teeth with the auld lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Yep agreed Stan, thats all I see liquid milk as some fixed price milk, hence why I've never bothered putting any milk in the fixed price schemes.
    C0N0R wrote: »
    What do you mean cost you money when price is high? Is it not tied to base price? I'm trying to get my head around our liquid quota here and it's like pulling hens teeth with the auld lad

Yes its tied to the base, but it doesn't fluxuate 1/2 as much, last year when the surplus was 39cent we were only getting about 36 for liquid. Liquid accounts for about 27% of our current supply of milk (and that figure reduces as we increase numbers), so in our case it won't sway our overall price of milk by much more than a cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,812 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

NMA sent out a news letter the other day on the back they have a table in 2009 average manufacturing price was 22.49 and liquid was 29.17 in 2014 manu was 36.92 and liquid was 38.15cpl all prices exclude vat