Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA FPL Rate My Team Thread 2015/16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭lassykk

OK. I've ignored FF for the last few weeks to avoid going crazy but thought it best to take a look at with a week left.

This is my first serious draft. I'm pretty happy with it but I'm sure there's room for improvement

d05JeCj.png

Courtois - cheapest way into Chelsea defence that I could see
    Rudd - bench fodder - will be playing Courtois every week

Defence will rotate 3 from 4 of

Muniesa - appears to be first choice for Stoke
    Cédric - Southampton - based solely off last year
    Mertersaker - Would prefer Bellerin but is he nailed on?
    Huth - Hoping Ranieri knows how to get a team to defend
    Saylor - Just bench fodder

Midfield
    3 big hitters in Hazard, Walcott and Sterling

Rotating 2 of Ritchie / Sinclair / Sakho depending on fixtures

Up front - Rooney & Kane

Any feedback greatly appreciated. Haven't been rating others up till now but will be more active over the next few days (not that I would recommend relying on my feedback!)

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭8-10

CSF wrote: »
    I suppose my biggest gripe is that you don't necessarily seem to benefit from your lack of Hazard. With no Costa, Aguero, Sanchez or Hazard I'd almost be expecting a squad strong from 1 to 15, but it's not really that. Yaya, Cazorla and Fabregas are a combination of what approx 26-27 million? With Hazard instead of one of those, you'd still have between 14.5-15.5 to replace the other 2. Do I think you could replicate Yaya and Cazorla's points with that amount of money if used right? Absolutely. Payet and Mane perhaps.

Very smart post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Gary Gurny

Finished in 38k worldwide last year and it was my first year taking the game seriously. Hoping to break the 10k barrier this year.
    I dont post a lot on this but I am constantly reading the posts from certain readers such as CSF Lemlin Ziegler and a couple others who seem to be right most of the time when it comes to this game.

Anyway looking to get a few tips today as I have the day off work. I am thinking of doing the following regards my team: Any comments would be very greatful :

Coutois / Hennessy

Darmian OShea Lescott S.Taylor Ward

Hazard Ramsey Silva Mane Wanyama

Rooney Benteke Deeney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

lassykk wrote: »

Not a million miles away from own team at the moment, I like the balance. I've gone Courtois, Huth and Muniesa as well, with Targett as an early season 4m player and Bellerin instead of Mertesacker - as far as I know Bellerin is pretty nailed on?

Same big three in midfield, but I'm not rotating any of my front 7. I had Kane in for a good while, but I'm not sure 9.5m is the right price for him, I'd have to see if he can re-produce last season's form before I get him in, his spot will probably go to Lukaku or Benteke, or maybe even Pelle, early doors.

Overall though, nice team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,393 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

How certain are people Sterling will start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,512 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Why are people over looking Henderson, he is on pens and set pieces and got over 160 pts last season and is only 7m

Any reasons?

Because all the things you mentioned seem to be accounted for in his price. He isn't an attacking midfielder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

First draft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

How certain are people Sterling will start?

Very certain. 50m is not a bench player even at City!! Will probably be up front against WBA.

Gary Gurny wrote: »
    Finished in 38k worldwide last year and it was my first year taking the game seriously. Hoping to break the 10k barrier this year.
    I dont post a lot on this but I am constantly reading the posts from certain readers such as CSF Lemlin Ziegler and a couple others who seem to be right most of the time when it comes to this game.

Anyway looking to get a few tips today as I have the day off work. I am thinking of doing the following regards my team: Any comments would be very greatful :

Coutois / Hennessy

Rooney Benteke Deeney
    Thank you for the kind words. That's a strong team for the most part, the only issue Id have with it is a common one in a lot of teams this year. The combination of the 4.5 million dud midfielder with the cheap striker. It means that you're almost compelled to play Deeney even in the really tough away games because you don't have the sort of defence to go 4-4-2 and you're not going to want to play Wanyama because he doesn't carry a goal/assist threat really.

I would downgrade Ramsey or Mane (depending on your preference) to maybe Ritchie, and upgrade Deeney to Sakho. Meaning you'd be able to play Ritchie for all Bournemouth's home games and bench him for the away ones and do the same alternating with Sakho. Depending on which player you downgraded, you'd have either 1.0 or 1.5 left to beef up that defence too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Because all the things you mentioned seem to be accounted for in his price. He isn't an attacking midfielder.

But was the sixth highest pts scoring midfielder last year?

FHFC wrote: »
    Very certain. 50m is not a bench player even at City!! Will probably be up front against WBA.

Yeah I think he'd almost have to play himself out of a start. Those first 3 fixtures still have me reluctant though. I'm almost tempted to give him the Aguero treatment and bring him in for GW4.

But was the sixth highest pts scoring midfielder last year?

Yeah, which was good, but which I felt belied his overall attacking contribution also. Liverpool have more good attacking players this year also which changes the dynamic a lot too. I'll be waiting to see how he starts the season before moving on him.

There have been a lot of good midfielders transferred into the league this year. That in itself is going to decrease his ownership. The more options, the less ownership for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ssshhh123

This is my squad so far today. I've only.5 in Anglo resting so not much room for changes. Just looking for some opinions as every year in my league I fall short bout 200 pts. Think I loose interest and forget to change team some weeks and other times I feel as if I have to make a transfer

Yeah I think he'd almost have to play himself out of a start. Those first 3 fixtures still have me reluctant though. I'm almost tempted to give him the Aguero treatment and bring him in for GW4.

My only fear is if he bags 1 or 2 he will become unaffordable, especially if he starts up front in any of the 3 opening games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭bodking

dahat wrote: »
    First team in have seen Walters in, could he lose gametime with all Stokes new signingsarrow-10x10.png?

Giroud I'd be in a panic over each weekarrow-10x10.png as well, Kane maybe?

Welcome back thougharrow-10x10.png!!!

Walters with 8G 6A and Arnautovic injured I don't think he will lose much GT

Im playing Giroud until Costa is fit and with Sánchez out for the first game not to mention 2 fairly easy games to start with .

And thanks good to be back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

I'd say Benteke will be Liverpools main penalty taker now, he had a good record at Villa as far as I remember.

ssshhh123 wrote: »
    This is my squad so far today. I've only.5 in Anglo resting so not much room for changes. Just looking for some opinions as every year in my league I fall short bout 200 pts. Think I loose interest and forget to change team some weeks and other times I feel as if I have to make a transfer

Your team looks good. Except it looks a bit like you got 10 players in that you really wanted and then kind of just put in anyone to fill the 5 remaining places. Wanyama should never be a starter. That's something I'd be looking to rectify and I don't think the answers are on your bench currently either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭Nom De Guerre

Thoughts lads?

Capture_zpsutjjecyv.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Yeah, which was good, but which I felt belied his overall attacking contribution also. Liverpool have more good attacking players this year also which changes the dynamic a lot too. I'll be waiting to see how he starts the season before moving on him.

this. Hendo/Milner/Coutinho/Firmino and possibly the likes of Ibe/Origi will all be taking a share of the attacking spoils for Liverpool apart from Benteke. very hard to see any one of them standing out above the rest. Milner and Hendo i think will both get around 150pts for the season, i'd be surprised if there's much between them come the end of the season. as such, i think there is a case for having one of them in ones squad, but like yourself CSF i think the wise move would be to wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ssshhh123

Your team looks good. Except it looks a bit like you got 10 players in that you really wanted and then kind of just put in anyone to fill the 5 remaining places. Wanyama should never be a starter. That's something I'd be looking to rectify and I don't think the answers are on your bench currently either.

That's exactlywhat happens get good few that I want then fill with low 4.5 etc whoever git highest points year befire

ssshhh123 wrote: »
    That's exactlywhat happens get good few that I want then fill with low 4.5 etc whoever git highest points year befire

Probably not the ideal route. Bargain hunting is the way to go.

Thoughts lads?

Capture_zpsutjjecyv.png

I'd be nervous having 4 debutants in my team week 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Darrenon91

First time posting here would like to get some feedback.

Courtouis/Butland
    Francis/huth/wisdom/richards/kaboul
    Haz/Sterling/Hendo/Cazorla/Wanyama
    Rooney/Lukaku/Pelle

What ye think?

0.5 itb with the view to getting benteke after GW1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭Nom De Guerre

I'd be nervous having 4 debutants in my team week 1

Duly noted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭iba

75d6cd88a1a09dc2c18bf0a0bf1ec745.png

Guys is my team totally mad or just completely totally mad - Hazard and Fabregas :)

iba wrote: »
    75d6cd88a1a09dc2c18bf0a0bf1ec745.png

Guys is my team totally mad or just completely totally mad - Hazard and Fabregas :)

Are you using the full 100? Hard to see where it's all been used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭iba

Are you using the full 100? Hard to see where it's all been used.

well spotted - no, 3.5m left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

Gary Gurny wrote: »

Coutois / Hennessy

Rooney Benteke Deeney

Ha, cheers. I need to prove I'm not a one season wonder.

I'd prefer Cawson to Lescott with the Villa bid hanging over him. Cawson is quite good in the air as well. Otherwise, looks solid and you have a flexible squad to move onto early season bandwagons. Maybe switch Wanyama to Fletcher or Westwood since you already have Mane taking up a Saints spot.

iba wrote: »
    well spotted - no, 3.5m left

Get that money used. Your team looks short on big hitters. If it's Aguero you're worried about you're better off wildcarding on GW4, then going the first 3 weeks kind of weak to facilitate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

Darrenon91 wrote: »
    First time posting here would like to get some feedback.

Courtouis/Butland
    Francis/huth/wisdom/richards/kaboul
    Haz/Sterling/Hendo/Cazorla/Wanyama
    Rooney/Lukaku/Pelle

What ye think?

0.5 itb with the view to getting benteke after GW1

You'll be playing Courtois every week, so might as well downgrade Butland to Hennessey/McCarthy and bank 0.5m. Wisdom is unlikely to be nailed for Norwich, I'd recommend Bassong. Kaboul might also not be a definite starter with O'Shea and Coates although Sunderland supporters back him to get it eventually.