Is this illegal?

• 04-08-2015 10:36AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭

Last night there was a speed trap at Blanchardstown where two of our wonderful gardai were standing on the flyover over the M3 pointing their hairdryers north.. As usual, they make sure to set is up where there are no speed limit signs. Is it legal for them to mount such a trap? Just asking. First time I have seen them do it from the bridge. Normally it's a hair dryer or van on the M3 itself under one of the bridges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

I cannot see why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

No, why would it be illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Which part do you think is illegal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Of course it's legal. And there are speed limit signs when you enter the speed zone. They are often on the flyovers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

ectoraige wrote: »
    No.

I would see it as legal. Why do you think it is not? Is it the elevation of the site being used?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭wylie

ectoraige wrote: »
    No.

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I don't see why it wouldn't be legal.

If you're breaking the speed limit, the Gardai are entitled to use any reasonable measures to detect that. They don't have to make you aware of where they are.

It's not called a speed "trap" for nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Last night there was a speed trap at Blanchardstown where two of our wonderful gardai were standing on the flyover over the M3 pointing their hairdryers north.. As usual, they make sure to set is up where there are no speed limit signs. Is it legal for them to mount such a trap? Just asking. First time I have seen them do it from the bridge. Normally it's a hair dryer or van on the M3 itself under one of the bridges
    It's not the M3 at Blanchardstown, and if it was a flyover on the N3 at Blanchardstown there are signs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

No signs doesnt mean no speed limits. People obeying the law and driving sensibly have no need to worry about such 'traps'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Your supposed to be aware of the speed limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Are you actually trying to say that if there isn't a sign right there then you can't be speeding? Have you heard of a phenomenon called 'remembering what the speed limit is'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭seenitall

galljga1 wrote: »
    I would see it as legal. Why do you think it is not? Is it the elevation of the site being used?

Q: Is this illegal?
    A: No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Zillah wrote: »
    Which part do you think is illegal?

Is it illegal to stand over the road on the flyover? Could they do so in the dark where you couldn't see them? It was bright last night mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,103 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

So what did they catch you at OP?

kylith wrote: »
    Are you actually trying to say that if there isn't a sign right there then you can't be speeding? Have you heard of a phenomenon called 'remembering what the speed limit is'?

At one stage, the speed limit went from 120 to 60 for roadworks. Then back up to 80. Then down to 50, then up to 100 on the M50. Ridiculous, isn't it?

• Administrators Posts: 56,574 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Is it illegal to stand over the road on the flyover? Could they do so in the dark where you couldn't see them? It was bright last night mind

Why do you need to see them? :confused:

If they are on the bridge you aren't going to be running them over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

At one stage, the speed limit went from 120 to 60 for roadworks. Then back up to 80. Then down to 50, then up to 100 on the M50. Ridiculous, isn't it?

I remember the drop to 50 somewhere along that stretch..

this is interesting

awec wrote: »
    Why do you need to see them? :confused:

They're supposed to be visible. Otherwise they're entrapping. Next thing you know a scarecrow in a field has a hairdryer hidden it it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It's not the M3 at Blanchardstown, and if it was a flyover on the N3 at Blanchardstown there are signs.

you probably didn't see the earlier signs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭horse7

So if your speeding ,do they drive after you or send out letter?

They're supposed to be visible. Otherwise they're entrapping. Next thing you know a scarecrow in a field has a hairdryer hidden it it

They were visible enough for you to spot them and create this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭wylie

She did see them, remember she saw them on the bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Ridiculous it may be, but as long as each limit is posted you should be following it.

horse7 wrote: »
    So if your speeding ,do they drive after you or send out letter?

The hairdryer needs to stop you I think.

I think there's usually a guard waiting on a bike / in a car to go after and stop anyone that is seen to be speeding.

So what did they catch you at OP?

I jammed on. Think I was doing 74 before I copped them. Depends on if I was in the 80 or 50 zone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

The more important question is : 'is this a known accident-prone stretch of road'. The Gardai always maintain that their road safety resources are concentrated on known dangerous roads and 'black spots'. The motorways are much safer than other roads.
    I live on a small country road where the speed limit is 80kph. I have been here 15 years and have never seen or heard of the Gardai operating a speed check on my road, despite the fact that it seems to be a favoured road for 'boy racers'.
    The scenario described by the OP is simply a case of the Gardai bumping up their statistics. It has very little to do with road safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

kylith wrote: »
    Are you actually trying to say that if there isn't a sign right there then you can't be speeding?
    There was a thread last week where some lad was complaining that there was no "no littering" sign around bottle banks. He was caught littering on CCTV and was complaining about the lack of signs, wondering if he could get off.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    The more important question is : 'is this a known accident-prone stretch of road'. The Gardai always maintain that their road safety resources are concentrated on known dangerous roads and 'black spots'. The motorways are much safer than other roads.
    I live on a small country road where the speed limit is 80kph. I have been here 15 years and have never seen or heard of the Gardai operating a speed check on my road, despite the fact that it seems to be a favoured road for 'boy racers'.
    The scenario described by the OP is simply a case of the Gardai bumping up their statistics. It has very little to do with road safety.

The reduced speed limit is usually because of narrow lanes, frequent exits (and therefore frequent lane changes) combined with high traffic volumes.

Or else roadworks.

The speed limit isn't set lower just for the craic.

I jammed on. Think I was doing 74 before I copped them. Depends on if I was in the 80 or 50 zone

If they didn't stop you you're grand I think. IMO they don't stop everyone anyway, especially if you are just keeping up with traffic. They are more interested in people who are taking the absolute piss and flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

They're supposed to be visible. Otherwise they're entrapping.
    Nonsense.
    There's no law which requires a Garda carrying out a manual speed check to be visible.