Another light sentence handed down by the courts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

'He suspended the final two years of the sentence to give Nolan “light at the end of the tunnel.”'

I think after 128 convictions, that ship has sailed. How many convictions do you need before a judge will stop it with the kid glove treatment? 200, 500...a thousand?

Compassion should be saved for the victims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I think after 128 convictions, that ship has sailed. How many convictions do you need before a judge will stop it with the kid glove treatment? 200, 500...a thousand?
    One which affects the judge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-jailed-for-three-years-for-attacking-two-men-with-a-glass-bottle-in-separate-attacks-31413746.html

128 previous convictions. ... Three years for two vicious assults .... Whats it going to take.. Somthing has to change

The gas thing is that 128 are only the ones he was caught/convicted of. In reality you could probably double that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

"Judge Patricia Ryan noted the woman’s apology and remorse for her actions. She said the woman now accepted this was not an appropriate way to discipline a child and was not permitted in this jurisdiction."

In this jurisdiction? What country does this monster come from that allows children to be tortured?

All this talk about putting children first is pure BS. I don't know how that Ryan sleeps at night. To think she's ok with beating children with a tree branch and rubbing salt into the wounds is disturbing.

"Judge Patricia Ryan noted the woman’s apology and remorse for her actions. She said the woman now accepted this was not an appropriate way to discipline a child and was not permitted in this jurisdiction."

In this jurisdiction? What country does this monster come from that allows children to be tortured?

All this talk about putting children first is pure BS. I don't know how that Ryan sleeps at night. To think she's ok with beating children with a tree branch and rubbing salt into the wounds is disturbing.

<sarcasm >

But it's grand, the kids are back with her and they're happy

</sarcasm >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Been done to death with the same old arguments as usual I could just put mine forward but I won't other than to say Mary Ellen Ring didn't get promoted out of the DC for being a fool. Anyway question...

Why does Mr. Garlic always get brought up. If this other white collar criminal we'd be suggesting burning them at the stake. Why is defrauding the exchequer out of hundreds of thousands grand and a scum bag in a fight the antichrist? Now Should the sentences have been different - probably if I'm being fair but I don't actually see why either of them should get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

128 previous convictions. ...

…For which he has spent "half his life in custody". His solicitor & counsel probably know him better than some of his own relatives.

You seem to think this is an argument for harsher terms of imprisonment, when in fact it suggests that imprisonment hasn't worked.

I'm not joining in the chorus of the anti-prison brigade, because I believe in imprisonment, but there are limits to its usefulness

I don't think imposing a suspended sentence means the Judge is "okay" with the crime..l

conorh91 wrote: »
    …For which he has spent "half his life in custody". His solicitor & counsel probably know him better than some of his own relatives.

You seem to think this is an argument for harsher terms of imprisonment, when in fact it suggests that imprisonment hasn't worked.

I'm not joining in the chorus of the anti-prison brigade, because I believe in imprisonment, but there are limits to its usefulness

Unfortunately due to it's complete lack of resources that usefulness is extremely limited in many cases it seems.

Is there a single politician that's serious about actually resolving the issues in the Irish CJS? I actually got the impression Shatter was after a fashion as much as I'll be flamed to a crisp for that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

I actually got the impression Shatter was after a fashion as much as I'll be flamed to a crisp for that one!
    He was, I agree.

It was a big victory for democracy when he resigned, but a massive loss for the justice system and positive reforms he had planned.

If the current minister had Shatter's brain, she'd be the next Taoiseach. If history is anything to go by, there may not be another justice minister of his stature for decades. Unfortunately for us, his ego knew how good he was.

I don't think imposing a suspended sentence means the Judge is "okay" with the crime..l

Well if she doesn't want them jailed for torturing a child, then it mustn't be that big a deal to her.

Not really. If he never gets out no crime / no more victims

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

What a disgustingly sadistic bitch of a woman she must be, God help the child :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

No, what it means is prison hasn't reformed him. That is only one function of prison. It has worked in that it kept him away from society for half his life. Who knows how many more victims he'd have to his name if he'd not spent all that time in prison.

Adams told Bernard Condon SC, defending, that he would like to apologise to his victim and accepts that he is 100 per cent to blame.
    He said he would like to continue with his drug treatment programme as he only really gets into trouble when he is intoxicated.

Blames himself, then immediately blames drugs. Little scroat. I'd feel aggrieved if I was the victim. The poor dude has his headphones whipped and then gets booted for having the audacity for wanting them back. This probably is unpopular, but I feel worse when it's a foreign national on the receiving end of these attacks, seems more cowardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Absolutely outrageous.
    What the fcuk is wrong with that judge. Surely there are sanctions for judges like this. Like never being allowed near a court room again.
    WTF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Absolutely outrageous.
    What the fcuk is wrong with that judge. Surely there are sanctions for judges like this. Like never being allowed near a court room again.
    WTF.

This country is baffling sometimes. Try drink driving see how far you get with the old it was the chemicals. Yet Judges take crack heads sob story about the drugs being the issue.

Well if she doesn't want them jailed for torturing a child, then it mustn't be that big a deal to her.

No no, not imposing a jail sentence does not mean it's not a big deal. For example, it's a remedy that's not available in many areas of law, like most litigation (save for rare issues like breach of an injunction)...but that does not mean litigation is "no big deal".

Disgusting. But not to worry, he's been "spoken to". I hope it was in very firm tone.

He must be laughing at how easy it all is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

The alternative?
    Torture fantasists in 3... 2... 1...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

This country is baffling sometimes. Try drink driving see how far you get with the old it was the chemicals. Yet Judges take crack heads sob story about the drugs being the issue.

So true!

I am beginning to think that the law system is in favour of people who are violent and abusive - the country is out screaming about water charges yet we have people who stole milk from shops behind bars and people who are a danger to society out scratching their Ba*ls doing "community service" -

I honestly empathise so much with people who are VICTIMS of crime in this country and all of the people who will BECOME victims because our judges and law system have failed them so horrendously.

222233 wrote: »
    So true!

I am beginning to think that the law system is in favour of people who are violent and abusive - the country is out screaming about water charges yet we have people who stole milk from shops behind bars and people who are a danger to society out scratching their Ba*ls doing "community service" -

I honestly empathise so much with people who are VICTIMS of crime in this country and all of the people who will BECOME victims because our judges and law system have failed them so horrendously.

Taking the most recent case in this thread. The Judge himself commented that he had no doubt of reoffending. He took into consideration all the facts he was allowed to take into consideration in the legislation (Government made law). Who's failing here, the Judge or the prison system?

This guy shouldn't have been allowed out until he posed no further risk to children. He should have been hospitalised and studied until he was dealt with. He should have then been rehoused in a semi secure facility preferable on an Island somewhere.

Question is who's paying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

Taking the most recent case in this thread. The Judge himself commented that he had no doubt of reoffending. He took into consideration all the facts he was allowed to take into consideration in the legislation (Government made law). Who's failing here, the Judge or the prison system?

This guy shouldn't have been allowed out until he posed no further risk to children. He should have been hospitalised and studied until he was dealt with. He should have then been rehoused in a semi secure facility preferable on an Island somewhere.

Question is who's paying?

It is an over all failure to be honest.

The solicitors who find loopholes to get these people off, the constitution, the judges who impose the sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

The alternative?

I know this is some wild, outside the box thinking but, jail?

They guy's just been released, which probably means early on licence (since nobody serves a full term), if a paedo is indulging in that sort of activity it's time to reactivate the remainder of his sentence

Can prisoners be shipped out to an eastern european country where it would cost the tax payer less to have them serve out there sentence there in prison ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Can prisoners be shipped out to an eastern european country where it would cost the tax payer less to have them serve out there sentence there in prison ?

No, cos thats 'inhumane' and would cost too much.

There has to be a way to give harsher sentences and give these thugs a punishment without turning into a police state or dumb torture fantasies.