Mob Rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

That's not fair, I'm sure his kids are cool in their own way.
    Their mom says they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

Oh get a grip OP.

He shot a defenceless animal with a bow and arrow, tracked it for 40 hours, killed it, then skinned it and took its head. Bastard deserves everything he gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

kneemos wrote: »
    What can be done about these internet mobs who decide to start a campaign of abuse and destroy the lives of whoever happens to be in the news this week?
    The Lion man(who did nothing illegal) has been attacked unmercifully. Just the other day some on here were advocating starting a campaign against a particular Judge.
    Quite a few of the internet heroes who participate in these things I suspect have little understanding or real interest but are simply in it for the thrill and come next week will have completely forgotten their passionate crusade.

Is there a solution to the modern equivalent of townsfolk with pitchforks?

It's the best thing that's happened to the modern world. The ability to deliver justice where the government fails to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Fleawuss wrote: »
    What's an Internet mob? A large group of people who feel strongly the same way about something and, crucially, with whom you disagree. One OPs mob is another OPs maximum thanks received.

It could be a campaign against someone innocent who they mistake for a criminal. A campaign of threats to murder and/or rape the innocent victim. Leading to that person having to keep moving address or even commiting suicide.

There are real life examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Internet mob rule is a scary thing. While I may not agree with a person's actions, if that action is legal, I believe they should still be able to undertake it without getting death threats or being spat at in the street, and their family members and friends should not be harassed purely for being in some way connected to them.

If you feel an action should be illegal, campaign to make it so. Boycott the business of the person involved, and tell them why. Tell your friends about your boycott-- in calm and reasoned terms, without screaming, emotive hyperbole. If you believe a person's actions were illegal, report them to the relevant authorities.

We are possibly reaching a point where a person's entire future can be destroyed by a single mistake, an unwise action, or even a case of mistaken identity or spite. I can't speak for anyone else, but I find that very alarming.

DivingDuck wrote: »
    Internet mob rule is a scary thing. While I may not agree with a person's actions, if that action is legal, I believe they should still be able to undertake it without getting death threats or being spat at in the street, and their family members and friends should not be harassed purely for being in some way connected to them.

If you feel an action should be illegal, campaign to make it so. Boycott the business of the person involved, and tell them why. Tell your friends about your boycott-- in calm and reasoned terms, without screaming, emotive hyperbole. If you believe a person's actions were illegal, report them to the relevant authorities.

We are possibly reaching a point where a person's entire future can be destroyed by a single mistake, an unwise action, or even a case of mistaken identity or spite. I can't speak for anyone else, but I find that very alarming.
    Check out the Justine Sacco story - all over an ironic tweet being interpreted literally.
    That witch hunt against Three recently was another example of a willingness to misread things in order to form a mob. The sjw term is misused a lot but this is where it's very much applicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's the best thing that's happened to the modern world. The ability to deliver justice where the government fails to do so.

I'd prefer the democratically elected and accountable Government to some dude on facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Oh get a grip OP.

He shot a defenceless animal with a bow and arrow, tracked it for 40 hours, killed it, then skinned it and took its head. Bastard deserves everything he gets.

The World Wildlife Fund supports and auctions off big game hunting licenses in Zimbabwe.

This ithe problem with online hate mobs, it's populist hate venting which never really gets to the root of the problem. destroying this guy, however unpleasant he is, wont scratch the surface of the problem.

perhaps take the time to understand why the wwf has this policy and, if appropriate, what can be down to change it. Of course that would require a long term campaign and real analysis of why the policy of auctioning off these licenses exists. No fun for the hate mobs, shrill fools .

I'd prefer the democratically elected and accountable Government to some dude on facebook.

That would work if they were actually accountable.
    Are you ok, for instance, with the ridiculous number of suspended sentences handed out to violent thugs in Ireland's gangland wars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

endacl wrote: »
    What he did was not illegal. It was, however, ****. Most people, when confronted with **** behaviour, let the individual concerned know that what they did was ****, and that they themselves are more than likely, a ****.

In the good old days, this may have been one or two people confronting the **** about his **** behaviour. Now it's one or two, times a million or so.

Fair play to them all.

I just filled in the blanks with banana, much funnier now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Check out the Justine Sacco story - all over an ironic tweet being interpreted literally.

Oh god, that was a horrible case. I felt very sorry for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Are you ok, for instance, with the ridiculous number of suspended sentences handed out to violent thugs in Ireland's gangland wars?

They are accountable.
    I'm not a legal expert so I've no knowledge of the intricacies of these cases.I suggest you talk to your elected representatives if you have a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

QuinDixie wrote: »
    big game hunting of these animals for me is disgraceful.
    I would not mind if the lion was killed for food, say the locals needed food, but some rich white American dentist shoots with an arrow. Cyril deserved a more noble death.
    so I say let them hunt the dentist. payback is a bitch.

What has his race got to do with anything??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

It could be a campaign against someone innocent who they mistake for a criminal. A campaign of threats to murder and/or rape the innocent victim. Leading to that person having to keep moving address or even commiting suicide.

There are real life examples.

It could be. It could be just trying to denigrate people you disagree with by name calling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

Fcuk the lion killer. Fcuk him and his tiny dick and his shiny teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭QuinDixie

Letree wrote: »
    What has his race got to do with anything??

Everything, Chris Rock has a good joke about his white neighbour the dentist.
    Very funny and very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

What can be done about these internet mobs who decide to start a campaign of abuse and destroy the lives of whoever happens to be in the news this week?
    The Lion man(who did nothing illegal) has been attacked unmercifully. Just the other day some on here were advocating starting a campaign against a particular Judge.
    Quite a few of the internet heroes who participate in these things I suspect have little understanding or real interest but are simply in it for the thrill and come next week will have completely forgotten their passionate crusade.

Is there a solution to the modern equivalent of townsfolk with pitchforks?

Thats the problem right there... yes not legally wrong... but so morally wrong its off the scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

yeah. ranting on the internet is "justice" . its usually the same nonsense spouted all the time but in internet rant language

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

i'm not, no . however behaving like vermin, either spouting nonsense or attacking someone makes any argument for higher sentences invalid

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

It's great to see such overwhelming compassion when the worst aspects of humanity are emphasised so much, but the witch-hunt is getting too much now - and it's unfair on his children. He's done a runner. No sympathy for him, but it's awful for his family. His kids don't deserve to be punished for what he did. It's bringing out an ugliness in people who know what this is doing to his kids - and kinda undermines their compassion for the lion.

There is also some really stupid sh-t on Facebook about what Cecil said from heaven according to an animal communicator or something. FFS. Getting just a tad hysterical.

That's just ridiculous.

i'm not, no . however behaving like vermin, either spouting nonsense or attacking someone makes any argument for higher sentences invalid

I don't think it does tbh but that's just me. Government needs to understand that in a democracy, if the people want criminals to be properly punished, then not doing so is undemocratic - and people will, just like every other instance of a government behaving undemocratically, form activist groups to deal with the problem themselves.

There was a guy murdered in the '90s around the corner from my mate's gaff because he was a drug dealer and the locals spotted him out in the small hours one night, thinking he was entering their estate to sell drugs. The neighbours had started up a "Concerned Parents Against Drugs" movement and were patrolling their estate to make sure that nobody was out trying to sell anything in the locality. Beat him to death.

http://www.rte.ie/news/1999/1207/4592-dwyer/

Now I have every sympathy for that fellow. I don't believe in the death penalty for starters, and I don't believe in violent vigilantism. However, while the people who beat him up were indeed scumbags, the ultimate blame for that incident lies at the feet of the government of the day, which ignored locals' demands for dealers to be locked up and removed from their communities where they couldn't continue to terrorise and destroy local families. So ultimately, while the guy who attacked him was a scumbag for doing what he did, the root cause was that the local people had demanded, as is their democratic right, that the law be enforced and that these gangs not be allowed to operate in their estate, and the government had done absolutely sweet f*ck all in response to that. If they had dealt with it themselves, and if this guy had been in jail where he belonged, the entire incident wouldn't have happened.

I guess it depends what your stance is on cause and effect. I believe in looking for root causes - if mob justice and vigilantism are becoming the norm, it's ultimately because ordinary people feel that there is a disconnect between the kind of society they want to live in, and the kind of society that is being enforced by the law. And such disconnects should never be allowed to develop in the first place.

If most people believe that the killing of Cecil the Lion should be a crime, and it isn't, then the government has failed in its democratic duty to sculpt a legal system in the manner that the public wants it to be sculpted. And this kind of thing online is the result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Op, this incident serves to show how a$$wards people have got their priorities.

Zimbabwe was one of the wealthiest nations in Africa but now has a starving population. A dictator grips the Country and suppresses political rivals with brutality. The same dictator, for his 91st birthday in February of this year, had 2 elephants shot and served on the menu, a lion and a crocodile were killed and stuffed as gifts. A herd of impala, buffaloes, cows and sables were also on the menu.

The Country is in ruin and people are upset because a lion was killed...

I have some issues with this argument, although I can see where you're coming from. There's two points I want to raise;

I don't think it does tbh but that's just me. Government needs to understand that in a democracy, if the people want criminals to be properly punished, then not doing so is undemocratic - and people will, just like every other instance of a government behaving undemocratically, form activist groups to deal with the problem themselves.

An activist group is one thing. It is campaigning for the law to be changed (although they might do this by peaceful or violent means). A vigilante mob isn't looking for legal sanction, they're looking to deal with the problem themselves by their own authority. For obvious reasons, an activist group tends to last longer.

This is problematic, because not least because the intelligence of a mob is, as defined by Pratchett (I think) the IQ of the stupidest member divided by the number of people in the mob.

The government needs to be cautious in changing the laws based on one particular incident as well. What works in Donnybrook may not work in Kenmare, Co. Kerry and vice versa.
    If most people believe that the killing of Cecil the Lion should be a crime, and it isn't, then the government has failed in its democratic duty to sculpt a legal system in the manner that the public wants it to be sculpted. And this kind of thing online is the result.

Well, who is the government in question? The Zimbabwe government is answerable mostly to its own people and a bit to the "international community". The main rage is on the internet in America and Europe amongst ordinary people (and a few celebrities that can never shut up when they might get some airtime out of talking rubbish).

Finally, the internet is a new social phenomenon compared to how societies have dealt with issues in the past. Making laws and shaping society based on what the internet population wants is like doing it based on the graffiti around your capital city. Sure, they may have some good points, but mostly they are uninformed, emotional and speaking anonymously and in the moment (and possibly written on the toilet, that bastion of intellectual thinking :pac:). They do not have to consider any ramifications to their wants.

This is a one-off international kerfuffle that the internet mob happens to have landed on (as much as I agree with a hatred of blood sports). The row spans three different (and much more than three, but I'll make it simple and go by continent) cultures and values. Of everyone involved in this, the Europeans have really the least say in what happens or should happen to Palmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,439 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Disappointed I thought this thread was going to be about the mafia!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I was walking down by Kildare Street earlier and there was a mob gathered.
    They were protesting and shouting
    ' What do we want,
    a cure for Tourettes,
    When do we want it,
    CNUTS'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I was walking down by Kildare Street earlier and there was a mob gathered.
    They were protesting and shouting
    ' What do we want,
    a cure for Tourettes,
    When do we want it,
    CNUTS'
    You just p1ssed off the entire Irish tourretes community...you're gonna get some abuse

But how is one supposed to tell the difference between being deliberately insulted by them and just being... Tourettes'd? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

Lads Kneemos is having a go at us.

Let's get him. Come on everybody.

Who's with me.

That's a lot of people to come on. I'm not sure if I can do it.