"Artist adds blood stains to Disney princesses' dresses to dispel menstrual taboo"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

If I'm going out and my periods overdue I just pop in a tampon because I think it's better to be safe than sorry.

You *really* shouldn't do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Dolbert wrote: »

Toxic Shock Syndrome.

I wouldn't do it either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

I'm sure the date was a hole heap of fun anyway with yer wan on the rag.

Yes, I thought that too but I can't remember why. Something to do with irritation from excess dryness?

Edit: TSS, of course FC. Can be fatal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Annnnnd... with that, the lads: gone. :D

So what'll we all talk about now that we have some privacy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Candie wrote: »

The fact that we make up having PMS every month just to eat junk food and treat men like crap!

Can't believe they fell for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Candie wrote: »

A good auld cervical fluid discussion maybe?

Nothing like a good mucus discussion.

And mooncups.

Mooncups are great. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Mooncups are a great idea in theory, and probably a lot better for both you and the environment in terms of waste, but...*grimace*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭somefeen

How is this even being considered as significant in anyway?

Are periods really such a taboo subject? And if he wanted to make a point there are surely a million more creative and imaginitive ways to do it then just drawing a bit of red on an existing picture. Like seriously I don't think this guy is skilled as an artist. Seems to be getting attention for focusing on feminist issues rather than his message or how he communicates it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Isn't there enough of period drama in downton abbey to dispel any myths?:confused::D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Oh yes I know your not supposed to but I got my first period when I was 12 and I'm 40 now and I've always done it. It's just one of my bad habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Some women have irregular periods and some women just have very heavy flows. I have a very heavy flow. I need to change a pad every 2 hours but I tend to wear black when I'm on the blob. I have leaked loads of time, especially on long bus journeys when I can't change my pad as often. It's very embarrassing but you can't notice it with dark clothes. Honestly though, if I was wearing white and got it unexpectedly, I'd be mortified, especially on a date.

You have a way with words, ill give ya that. Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

wha dafuq is a mooncup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

wha dafuq is a mooncup?
    It's sort of like a rubbery eggcup that's placed inside the vagina to catch blood rather than using tampons or pads. When you go to the bathroom you grab it by the stem, pull it out, tip the blood into the toilet, give it a rinse and then fold it up and pop it back in.

Some people find them gross but it's no big deal. It's only stuff from your own body. I tried them myself and found it wasn't for me but lots of women swear by them and would never change back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Well, you learn something new every day...

Mooncups. I forgot about those.

You know I don't think I'll have that red lentil soup for lunch today after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

The artist seems to think the blood squirts out from the top front of the gee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

fatknacker wrote: »
    The artist seems to think the blood squirts out from the top front of the gee.

You'd know he wasn't a bleeder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Some Spanish feminists got up to the same in 2009.

They also went on a protest in the streets and called it the: “Manifesto for the Visibility of the Period

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

If nothing else, it's a fairly mediocre photoshop effort.

Maybe put it up to the lads in CVPL :pac:

Fairly mediocre is very generous. It looks like a spraycan tool job on MS Paint :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Why does not wanting to talk openly about something mean it's taboo or something to be ashamed of?

I don't get periods because my pill stops them, but when I did, they were painful, heavy and I'd occasionally faint.

I wouldn't talk to my friends or extended family about them, and I'd only mention to my mam or sister if I was in too much pain to leave the bed and needed them to bring me painkillers.

But that doesn't mean I'm ashamed of them. They're just there, they happen, end of. I couldn't give a monkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I was delighted to read recently that the backlash against such "artists" has begun as Damien Hirst, Tracey Emin et all are failing to sell works and the idiots who fell for their self promotion are beginning to realise that the Emperor was naked all along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Sleepy wrote: »
    I was delighted to read recently that the backlash against such "artists" has begun as Damien Hirst, Tracey Emin et all are failing to sell works and the idiots who fell for their self promotion are beginning to realise that the Emperor was naked all along.

Totally agree, but I have no real issue with the "artists" themselves. Hell, I'd do it myself if I thought I' might get away with it and there was a chance someone would pay me a mint for my unmade bed. It's the idiots that indulge them and buy into the the whole "Aren't the Emperor's new clothes just magnificent" People like Elton John. I think he's a sound enough chap but some of the crap he has bought in the name of "art" would be laughable if it wasn't such a shameful waste of money. I've seen articles suggesting he has spent hundreds of millions on art collections.

Many years ago now he displayed some of his photography collection in some UK gallery and one photo was reported by some prudish twits as it had a naked child in it and for while it was though that he might be in a bit of bother. He wasn't as the photo was innocent enough and not taken to exploit but honest to God, I have seen the photo and if you took it, you'd delete it, as it was crap. I have no problem with there being a naked kid in it, no reason that should mean it couldn't be artistic and beautiful, but there was nothing artistic about it, to my eyes at least. Maybe you had to see it as part of a collection, I don't know.

There's a UK woman called Jen Lewis who calls herself a 'menstrual designer'.

Another Chilean menstrual blood artist saved up all her sanitary towels for five years and made this "art".

Money surely is wasted on the rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

..That last one must have stank. The smell of decaying blood isn't exactly roses.

Also, what even is the point? It's just waste. It's nothing to be excessively ashamed of, but I see no reason to stick it on a pole and call it Art either.

Totally agree, but I have no real issue with the "artists" themselves. Hell, I'd do it myself if I thought I' might get away with it and there was a chance someone would pay me a mint for my unmade bed. It's the idiots that indulge them and buy into the the whole "Aren't the Emperor's new clothes just magnificent" People like Elton John. I think he's a sound enough chap but some of the crap he has bought in the name of "art" would be laughable if it wasn't such a shameful waste of money. I've seen articles suggesting he has spent hundreds of millions on art collections.

Many years ago now he displayed some of his photography collection in some UK gallery and one photo was reported by some prudish twits as it had a naked child in it and for while it was though that he might be in a bit of bother. He wasn't as the photo was innocent enough and not taken to exploit but honest to God, I have seen the photo and if you took it, you'd delete it, as it was crap. I have no problem with there being a naked kid in it, no reason that should mean it couldn't be artistic and beautiful, but there was nothing artistic about it, to my eyes at least. Maybe you had to see it as part of a collection, I don't know.

There's a UK woman called Jen Lewis who calls herself a 'menstrual designer'.

Another Chilean menstrual blood artist saved up all her sanitary towels for five years and made this "art".

Money surely is wasted on the rich.

How is that second one art?

Fcuking vile and from an attention seeker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

How is that second one art?

Fcuking vile and from an attention seeker.

Jesus! That was brutal...art my arse.

Menas wrote: »
    Jesus! That was brutal...art my arse.

Art, her fanny, more like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Menas wrote: »
    art my arse.
    I think you may have something there.