Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Artist adds blood stains to Disney princesses' dresses to dispel menstrual taboo"

• 26-07-2015 6:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭

Spotted this article online, some parts of which caught my eye:
    Saint Hoax explained that the inspiration for his project came about when a female friend confided that a date ended badly when she noticed a bloodstain on her skirt.
    "I think the fact that my friend had to apologise for having a period leak is more disturbing," he said.

If fairness, if I (male) had turned up a date with someone (female) and I had a stain on my trousers from excreting (my own) bodily fluids all over myself, it's only right that I be embarrassed. Periods are nothing to be ashamed of but being unable to master basic personal hygiene is, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Is unexpectedly coming on their period a personal hygiene failure? I'm not sure it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Not everyone's periods are regular. Sometimes people get caught out by them. It's no biggie, and yer man who sent her a text saying she was too stupid to operate a tampon isn't much of a catch.

I swear, if a bit of period blood is going to freak a guy out, how the fook he would ever deal with seeing childbirth or any of the rest of it?

No loss, clearly a wuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

This should be good....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Why not go the whole hog and also give the Disney Princes in the photos a wet patch to dispel premature ejaculation taboo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Some women have irregular periods and some women just have very heavy flows. I have a very heavy flow. I need to change a pad every 2 hours but I tend to wear black when I'm on the blob. I have leaked loads of time, especially on long bus journeys when I can't change my pad as often. It's very embarrassing but you can't notice it with dark clothes. Honestly though, if I was wearing white and got it unexpectedly, I'd be mortified, especially on a date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Some women have irregular periods and some women just have very heavy flows. I have a very heavy flow. I need to change a pad every 2 hours but I tend to wear black when I'm on the blob. I have leaked loads of time, especially on long bus journeys when I can't change my pad as often. It's very embarrassing but you can't notice it with dark clothes. Honestly though, if I was wearing white and got it unexpectedly, I'd be mortified, especially on a date.

True, some girls would look as if they had wade through a river of blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Last year there was a sale on in dunnes for sanitary towels, think it was just for the Christmas period...

True, some girls would look as if they had wade through a river of blood.

How I actually don't die from blood loss every month is beyond me.

The first 2 days are the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

How I actually don't die from blood loss every month is beyond me.

The first 2 days are the worst.

I'd say sneezing is a bollox, fearing you might splatter half the room in menstrual material.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I'd say sneezing is a bollox, fearing you might splatter half the room in menstrual material.

Ah, I'm sorry Fat Christy, I know I shouldn't laugh, but Sheep Lover, I nearly spilled my tea laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The artist hopes that his efforts will lead to a freer discussion on the 'taboo' subject.

There's nothing 'taboo' about it, most people have no interest in discussing periods. Kinda getting sick of this whole "nobody talks about it so they must be ashamed to talk about it". It could never be as simple as people have no interest in periods.

Hoax's efforts and his motivation are truly admirable.

Some people have no sense of perspective.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Thank fck I already had my dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

Should thread title not be re-named to "Some muppet goes around calling himself Saint Hoax" ?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

If nothing else, it's a fairly mediocre photoshop effort.

Maybe put it up to the lads in CVPL :pac:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Was never taboo for Cheryl Cole. She should sue the artist for copyright :P

https://twitter.com/MrNachoBusiness/status/625377722366341120

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Aenaes wrote: »
    Should thread title not be re-named to "Some muppet goes around calling himself Saint Hoax" ?

At first I thought that's exactly what it was - a hoax, but apparently not :rolleyes:

Saint Hoax is a pseudonymous Middle Eastern artist, satirist and sociopolitical activist. An embedded infatuation with pop culture and politics drove Saint Hoax to embark on his PoPlitical journey. Hoax combines tangible and digital mediums to create beautiful visual lies that tell an ugly truth.

http://www.sainthoax.com/about/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

News just in:

Menstrual taboo reeling from devastating blow.

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Is unexpectedly coming on their period a personal hygiene failure? I'm not sure it is.

We've all woken up on the Japanese flag at one point, especially in the early years when things are unpredictable.

You have no idea. I sneezed three times in a row and this happened:

*May be NSFW*

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/03/e8/5d/03e85d762c551390bb43e9e24adbd503.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

Jaysus, just realised while reading this. Women are durty yokes.

Surely to really break the taboo he'd make a lovely bit of black pudding with it and eat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

...Those are totally ridiculous pictures. Mostly, they just look ..well..like he opened an image in Paint, did a bit of spraying with a red airbrush, possibly while giggling and then wrote some pretentious nonsense on it.

On top of everything else, it should be fading through from the -inside-, not looking like a sparrow rammed into her thigh and exploded, and unless she's been lying on her stomach gently leaking, it would be far more likely visible on the back than the front.

Art fail >.> Daft attempt to appeal to the feminists fail too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

What's the difference between PMT and BSE?

One attacks the cow's brain and sends it fcuking mental, and the other is some kind of agricultural problem

Feminine hygiene jokes are the lowest form of humour. Period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Eve was weak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

It attracts bears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

In the last 30 - 40 years, much of what has passed for art is in fact an utter load of horse sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Well, as for the girl who went on the date with that guy, he was an asshole to react the way that he did (if he did actually react badly). In fairness though, I'd be completely mortified if that happened to me, regardless of whether it was my ''fault'' or not. I don't really see how the ''artist'' is doing much to dispel anything, except maybe the fact that he is absolutely crap at using paint. Oh yeah, btw OP, let us know when you have your first girlfriend :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Every second person in the world gets periods. This has been going on since the beginning of time. There's no big mystery to it. Those of us that do get them know that they really are a bloody painful nuisance. If I'm going out and my periods overdue I just pop in a tampon because I think it's better to be safe than sorry. These pictures are a complete load of ****e. Nobody needs to see this. A load of fuss about nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I like eating red carpet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Sir prefers his steak Medium Rare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

If I'm going out and my periods overdue I just pop in a tampon because I think it's better to be safe than sorry.

You *really* shouldn't do this.

Dolbert wrote: »

Toxic Shock Syndrome.

I wouldn't do it either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

I'm sure the date was a hole heap of fun anyway with yer wan on the rag.

Yes, I thought that too but I can't remember why. Something to do with irritation from excess dryness?

Edit: TSS, of course FC. Can be fatal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Annnnnd... with that, the lads: gone. :D

So what'll we all talk about now that we have some privacy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Candie wrote: »

The fact that we make up having PMS every month just to eat junk food and treat men like crap!

Can't believe they fell for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Candie wrote: »

A good auld cervical fluid discussion maybe?

Nothing like a good mucus discussion.

And mooncups.

Mooncups are great. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Mooncups are a great idea in theory, and probably a lot better for both you and the environment in terms of waste, but...*grimace*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

How is this even being considered as significant in anyway?

Are periods really such a taboo subject? And if he wanted to make a point there are surely a million more creative and imaginitive ways to do it then just drawing a bit of red on an existing picture. Like seriously I don't think this guy is skilled as an artist. Seems to be getting attention for focusing on feminist issues rather than his message or how he communicates it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Isn't there enough of period drama in downton abbey to dispel any myths?:confused::D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Oh yes I know your not supposed to but I got my first period when I was 12 and I'm 40 now and I've always done it. It's just one of my bad habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

You have a way with words, ill give ya that. Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

wha dafuq is a mooncup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

wha dafuq is a mooncup?
    It's sort of like a rubbery eggcup that's placed inside the vagina to catch blood rather than using tampons or pads. When you go to the bathroom you grab it by the stem, pull it out, tip the blood into the toilet, give it a rinse and then fold it up and pop it back in.

Some people find them gross but it's no big deal. It's only stuff from your own body. I tried them myself and found it wasn't for me but lots of women swear by them and would never change back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Well, you learn something new every day...

Mooncups. I forgot about those.

You know I don't think I'll have that red lentil soup for lunch today after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

The artist seems to think the blood squirts out from the top front of the gee.

fatknacker wrote: »
    The artist seems to think the blood squirts out from the top front of the gee.

You'd know he wasn't a bleeder.