Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saving Stupidity why ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,639 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Close off the feckin mountain. It's crumbling anyway with all the eejits climbing all over it. Of course there will be broken ankles when you're sliding down a hill of scree.

It's only open because of the business it brings in locally, with the poor volunteers enabling that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

"A family has died after their boat got into difficulty off the Cliffs of Mohar on Friday. Under the controversial Darwin Act of 2015, emergency services risk hikes in insurance premiums if they endanger themselves to rescue people dubbed 'Too Stupid To Live'.

"Ah, sure, its a great shame there were a couple of kids on it. Jimmy called in the boat in difficulties, but there'd been a weather warning, so what can you do. Besides, if the parents were daft enough to do it, they probably passed on the Idiot genes, you know what I'm saying?"

The High Arbiter of Stupid, Paddy Nolen, is under fire after 63 people died since April in various freak accidents around the coast, including a classful of teenagers celebrating the end of exams. Paddy Nolen defended his decision to leave the group;

"Like lemmings going in after each other when that tide caught the first. Pity, but they were old enough to know better. And it's all a great auld saving on the equipment. We've managed to cut down on callouts by 60%. "

Meanwhile, the volunteer services are continuing to protest the new law, with one spokesman commenting that he "wouldn't piss on that man Nolan if he were on fire."

And now for the Sports news."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭bnt

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    That he's a gobsh*te?
    Sexist. What if she's a gobsh*te? :p

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Shelflife wrote: »
    Why should emergency services be forced to put their lives at risk when people clearly and against all clear warnings endanger themselves.

Because the people in the emergency services are better people than you'll ever be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Because the people in the emergency services are better people than you'll ever be.

You may well be right, doesn't answer the question of whether it's right for their lives to be put at risk because people clearly and blatantly ignore safety advice .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Why should emergency services be forced to put their lives at risk when people clearly and against all clear warnings endanger themselves.

Probably for the same reasons they're obligated to go out on any Saturday night to help the severely inebriated. I'd think the emergency services are probably more worried about working the dreaded Saturday night shift. Where they face the possibility of being assaulted, bitten, headbutted, stabbed or punched by a selection of out of control piss heads around the country. I say they would take the Croagh Patrick shift over that in a heartbeat.

So despite been told that it was extremely dangerous and advised not to climb, many still went ahead and did it.

11 casualties, one of them a 14yr old with hypothermia -dont blame him but you have to wonder what the parents have between their ears, anecdotal evidence of parents with young children (u10) ignoring advise and heading up the reek.

Could they be charged with child endangerment ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,705 ✭✭✭stimpson

So despite been told that it was extremely dangerous and advised not to climb, many still went ahead and did it.

11 casualties, one of them a 14yr old with hypothermia -dont blame him but you have to wonder what the parents have between their ears, anecdotal evidence of parents with young children (u10) ignoring advise and heading up the reek.

Apparently there was a 3 year old treated for hypothermia and a couple with a 12 week baby ignored Mayo Mountain rescue advice and climbed with the baby.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/three-year-old-treated-for-hypothermia-after-climbers-ignore-croagh-patrick-warnings-688314.html

Twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,058 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The couple with the 3 year old and 12 month old definitely should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

VinLieger wrote: »

Yeah, I'm inclined to agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

A THREE YEAR old was among at least eight people who were treated for hypothermia after climbing Croagh Patrick yesterday – despite warnings not to do so because of adverse weather conditions.
    The annual Reek Sunday pilgrimage was cancelled yesterday after a yellow weather alert was issued. However a number of people ignored warnings from authorities and started their climb anyway.
    This morning Paul Feeney from Mayo Mountain Rescue told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland that it was “very frustrating” for the volunteers in his organisation to see people traversing the peak after they had been told not to.

http://www.thejournal.ie/croagh-patrick-hypothermia-2237366-Jul2015/?utm_source=shortlink

I feel sorry for the child but the parents need a serious kick up the arse. The article also mentions that a 12 week old was also brought up the mountain, who in their right mind would subject an infant to yesterday's conditions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Dimithy

ColeTrain wrote: »
    http://www.thejournal.ie/croagh-patrick-hypothermia-2237366-Jul2015/?utm_source=shortlink

I feel sorry for the child but the parents need a serious kick up the arse. The article also mentions that a 12 week old was also brought up the mountain, who in their right mind would subject an infant to yesterday's conditions?

****ing idiots is the best I can come up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Absolute morons, the lot of them. Kids should have been rescued and parents left there, better off without them. "Wheres your Messiah now, eh".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bringing a three year old up a mountain which has been deemed unsafe due to hazardous weather conditions....parent of the year award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Someone should be up there taking a fking hurl to these gobsheens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Bambi wrote: »
    Someone should be up there taking a fking hurl to these gobsheens.

Or a replica of St.Patrick's big **** off stick, the one he used to drive the snaaaakes out..

Threads merged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Has anyone ever "did the Reek" and not mentioned it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

ColeTrain wrote: »

The world is full of real morons alright. Even a passing glance at the comments on Adverts.ie would reinforce that. Still you have to legislate and allow for these morons.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Seriously who would bring a 12 week old or even a 3 year old up to climb a mountain?! I climbed Mt Errigal a few weeks ago (I've never climbed Crough Patrick), I found it tough so why on earth would you bring such small children with you. I'm guessing the 12 week old was carried up, what if the parent slipped, stumbled on loose stone, gust of wind caught them off guard...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Seriously who would bring a 12 week old or even a 3 year old up to climb a mountain?! I climbed Mt Errigal a few weeks ago (I've never climbed Crough Patrick), I found it tough so why on earth would you bring such small children with you. I'm guessing the 12 week old was carried up, what if the parent slipped, stumbled on loose stone, gust of wind caught them off guard...

Whatever about the parents been victims of their own stupidity, hate to see kids been victims of their parents stupidity.
    But could you imagine the fury from the God botherers if Social services intervened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

I'm one of those who climbed it yesterday. When I arrive at the car park I was told mass was cancelled. When I asked if it was ok to climb I was told yes but be careful. I didn't see any signs or get any warnings from Gardai or other volunteers at the bottom. I'm a fairy experienced mountain hiker and athough the conditions were poor I felt I'd be okay. As I climbed I passed a few mountain rescue guys but received no warnings about going further. It was only when I got down I heard the authorities were telling people not to climb. It wasn't too bad at the bottom but it wasn't very nice at top. I had my doubts but I was confident in my ability as I have been in worse conditions on harder mountains, I did sea to summit some years back in simular conditions too. Also I felt I had the correct equipment with me which is very important. But saying all that I did see some crazy things like a guy climbing it with a six pack of Guinness and his daughter and other guy carrying his baby in a sling. If people are going mountain climbing no matter what the conditions are like it's very important to have the correct equipment and I don't think it's ever right to bring children under 12 on that mountain. I think if I was told not to climb it I would do what I was told, I guess it was hard to individually warn everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

You may well be right, doesn't answer the question of whether it's right for their lives to be put at risk because people clearly and blatantly ignore safety advice .

Honestly I think the outcome of death is not proportionate punishment to the stupidity of those getting in trouble. I was implying that the people in the Emergency Services certainly feel it's right to risk their lives, or else they wouldn't do it.

Deciding who's worth saving based on perceived (or in this case, actual) stupidity makes me uncomfortable. I know some very smart people (mentality) but they bumble the simplest, basic tasks by over complicating them.

Ultimately the Emergency Services are in less danger due to training and equipment. The fact that many of them volunteer also makes the question somewhat redundant -- they've already decided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

VinLieger wrote: »

12 week old !!

They should be, but will they be ?? Probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,806 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Emergency services exist to help people, I don't see how someone who risks their safety for religion deserves this help any less than someone who does it for sport. Call them out for their stupidity, even charge them for reckless endangerment of others, but the emergency services aren't there to be arbiters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

6781 wrote: »
    I'm a fairy experienced mountain hiker

Sometimes the innuendo just writes itself.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

diomed wrote: »
    Has anyone ever "did the Reek" and not mentioned it?
    Given that there is nothing up there beyond a small church that is usually locked, the answer I would venture is "no".
    You do it partly for the views, partly for the exercise, but mostly to tell people you did it so as to inspire envy and/or admiration.
    It's your ego that drives you up the path. It's egos that drive people up Everest.

Drive the new Ford Ego 1.6 Diesel

€18,995 ex works

-You'll never guess what I did
    -Do you want to see the pictures
    -What about that then

all included as standard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

kowloon wrote: »
    Emergency services exist to help people, I don't see how someone who risks their safety for religion deserves this help any less than someone who does it for sport. Call them out for their stupidity, even charge them for reckless endangerment of others, but the emergency services aren't there to be arbiters.

I don't think it is the religion vs sport aspect that is the problem here, it is the fact that they were allegedly advised against it on safety grounds.

kowloon wrote: »

Religion has nothing to do with this discussion.

Emergency services exist to help people that get into trouble, however if someone deliberately and in spite of receiving clear warnings still goes ahead and put themselves in harms way would you expect the emergency services to put themselves in danger to save them ?