Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saving Stupidity why ???

• 26-07-2015 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭

So despite been warned not to climb Croagh Patrick as it was dangerous and the emergency response set up had been compromised by the bad weather the night before, lots of people went ahead and climbed it anyway.

are we under a moral obligation to save them in the event of an accident or should we just let nature take its course and weed out the stupid people.

Why should emergency services be forced to put their lives at risk when people clearly and against all clear warnings endanger themselves.

Should we endanger lives to save stupid people 61 votes

YES we have a duty to save them
    0% 0 votes
    NO leave them there to ponder their stupidity
    100% 61 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Let their God sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Why wouldn't they climb it? God created this weather to test them further. I'd imagine the ones who backed out probably won't get into heaven.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

they should be charged for needing to be rescued after a warning

should be charged generally speaking but definitely after ignoring a warning and putting rescue crews lives at risk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

I voted NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

This is the slightly larger and more dangerous version of "Wet Paint - Don't Touch".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'm a great believer in weeding out idiots.

Throw rocks at the emergency services? You're now at the bottom of any list for ANY state help.

Rob a car and smash into a lamp post? Sort yourself out...more important causes than yours to be sorted out.

Climb up a mountain and get injured because you believe the stories in a fairy tale book? See what the book says about getting back down again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

I thought this thread was going to be about the stupidity of saving money

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

Keno wrote: »
    This is the slightly larger and more dangerous version of "Wet Paint - Don't Touch".

if the paint was poisonous and other people would have to cover themselves in the poisonous paint in order to clean it off you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Shelflife wrote: »
    So despite been warned not to climb Croagh Patrick as it was dangerous and the emergency response set up had been compromised by the bad weather the night before, lots of people went ahead and climbed it anyway.

are we under a moral obligation to save them in the event of an accident or should we just let nature take its course and weed out the stupid people.

Why should emergency services be forced to put their lives at risk when people clearly and against all clear warnings endanger themselves.

The problem is if they die up there they become martyrs/saints and then more and more gob****es wild insist on climbing Croagh Patrick, so the problem will become increase exponentially.Sort of like One Direction fans.

So the lesser of two evils is to go and drag them back down after injury , illness and apparition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I'd go one further and say that if their defenceless, and the emergency services are around, they should take some small time out to give the person (s) in trouble a moderate kicking for their stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

These Cimmerians are going to see if they can meet Crom on top of his mountain.
    Crom dwells on a great mountain. What use to call on him? Little he cares if men live or die. Better to be silent than to call his attention to you; he will send you dooms, not fortune! He is grim and loveless, but at birth he breathes power to strive and slay into a man's soul. What else shall men ask of the gods?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Crom dwells on a great mountain. What use to call on him? Little he cares if men live or die. Better to be silent than to call his attention to you; he will send you dooms, not fortune! He is grim and loveless, but at birth he breathes power to strive and slay into a man's soul. What else shall men ask of the gods?

what dafuq?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

What about smokers needing hospital treatment for smoking related illnesses?

Or alcoholics taking up valuable beds in a hospital for alcohol realted illness?

Or a junkie needing treatment after he's overdosed?

All these are preventable and well known issues yet they still receive help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

To be fair, it's not the most dangerous place to be rescued from. Awkward, time consuming, expensive, sure, but I wouldn't go as far as putting lives at risk.

Rescue them, and then send them the bill, because they explicitly ignored warnings, which is an entirely different situation to a genuine accident.

A mountain rescue team and an Aer Corps helicopter aren't exactly cheap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Maybe we shouldn't help anyone ever? Get rid of emergency services, hospitals, the dole, fire brigade, police, army...
    The Irish argument being, if you were clever enough, you wouldn't have gotten yourself into trouble in the first place. If you are in trouble, it's your own fault and let me kick you a bit while you're down.
    I'm afraid all arguments aside, you can't pick and choose who you want to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

What about smokers needing hospital treatment for smoking related illnesses?

Or alcoholics taking up valuable beds in a hospital for alcohol realted illness?

Or a junkie needing treatment after he's overdosed?

All these are preventable and well known issues yet they still receive help.

If they climb Croagh Patrick , a miracle will occur and they will be saved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

stimpson wrote: »
    Let their God sort it out.

Some might say he is in the hearts of the men and women of the emergency services that risk their lives on a daily basis in an effort to save people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Some people are idiots.

I'm sure we have all been in a situation where we knew better but said "ah, be grand".

Any emergency service personnel that I have come across have been very professional. I've never needed their assistance so far but if I ever do, I'm confident that they will do their best to help me out.

Some of them do remarkable, thankless jobs. Most are volunteers who have a full life already but at the sound of a beep will drop whatever that are doing and rush to the unknown. Amazing people.

If someone needs help, they need help. Even the idiots who should have known better. Let them live to regret their actions.

Some might say he is in the hearts of the men and women of the emergency services that risk their lives on a daily basis in an effort to save people.

Whatever the poll decides, those people will go out and save anyone who needs saving. They have to (i.e they are personally compelled, not because of whatever orders they receive) and it's hardwired into them, otherwise they wouldn't do it. These people would never walk up to someone and say "Sorry old chap, you got into this through your own stupidity, so I'll wash my hands of you, toodles!"
    Regardless of what some bitter and twisted people on the interwebs might think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Effects wrote: »
    Why wouldn't they climb it? God created this weather to test them further. I'd imagine the ones who backed out probably won't get into heaven.
    Test them for what? How much they spent on the correct gear and clothes for the weather?

It's parochialism, pure and simple. Look around this world, all the wars and disasters happening, and ask yourself whether (a) a god cares whether some twits climb a hill in spite of sensible advice, and (b) if the god does care, what does that say about said god?

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

Big sign - if you require rescuing you will incur the cost of your rescue - this may run into the several thousands of pounds.

The type of people who'll climb a mountain when told not to will believe all sorts of nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Speak not of the false god Crom, he of the half-stare and the short hand,but sing of Lugh, he of the Long Arm and the eternal feasting-house,bringer of life and destroyer of Fomorians,a thousand-fold warriors falling in his wake at Lunasa, he awaits you on the Mountain, go to his embrace....

bnt wrote: »
    Test them for what? How much they spent on the correct gear and clothes for the weather?

It's parochialism, pure and simple. Look around this world, all the wars and disasters happening, and ask yourself whether (a) a god cares whether some twits climb a hill in spite of sensible advice, and (b) if the god does care, what does that say about said god?

God just spoke to me. He said "stop blaming me for all the sh*t you do to each other!" :p
    Seriously, we can't use God as an excuse for everything. It's the ultimate self deception of the human race. Maybe we just invented God as a scapegoat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Climbing that mountain is a pleasure on a nice dry day, there is a great view to be had.
    But climbing it on a wet day - barefoot....nah...you are all right Father.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

They're putting themselves needlessly at risk and by doing that are putting Mountain Rescue needlessly at risk.

At the very least it's very selfish which is ironic seeing as the Gospel preaches about not being selfish and looking out for others. These people then regard themselves as good Christians for doing this.

It's also hardly a one off like a Papal visit, I mean the bloody mountain is going to be there next weekend as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭dandyelevan

An old guy once told me the best way to get an Irishman to do something was to get somebody in a uniform to tell him he can't do it.
    It's in the genes I guess.

They may, perhaps, be stupid. Another way of looking at it is that stupid people have a very important role in the economy. For instance, next time you're in work surrounded by stupid people, it shouldn't take you long to figure out how to make money from them. This state-funded rescue service is, arguably, saving targets for exploitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The only way people EVER cop on to themselves is by hitting them in the wallet. If they want to waste resources needlessly due to sheer idiocy then they should receive a fat bill for that luxury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

bnt wrote: »
    (b) if the god does care, what does that say about said god?

That he's a gobsh*te?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Close off the feckin mountain. It's crumbling anyway with all the eejits climbing all over it. Of course there will be broken ankles when you're sliding down a hill of scree.

It's only open because of the business it brings in locally, with the poor volunteers enabling that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

"A family has died after their boat got into difficulty off the Cliffs of Mohar on Friday. Under the controversial Darwin Act of 2015, emergency services risk hikes in insurance premiums if they endanger themselves to rescue people dubbed 'Too Stupid To Live'.

"Ah, sure, its a great shame there were a couple of kids on it. Jimmy called in the boat in difficulties, but there'd been a weather warning, so what can you do. Besides, if the parents were daft enough to do it, they probably passed on the Idiot genes, you know what I'm saying?"

The High Arbiter of Stupid, Paddy Nolen, is under fire after 63 people died since April in various freak accidents around the coast, including a classful of teenagers celebrating the end of exams. Paddy Nolen defended his decision to leave the group;

"Like lemmings going in after each other when that tide caught the first. Pity, but they were old enough to know better. And it's all a great auld saving on the equipment. We've managed to cut down on callouts by 60%. "

Meanwhile, the volunteer services are continuing to protest the new law, with one spokesman commenting that he "wouldn't piss on that man Nolan if he were on fire."

And now for the Sports news."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    That he's a gobsh*te?
    Sexist. What if she's a gobsh*te? :p

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Because the people in the emergency services are better people than you'll ever be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Because the people in the emergency services are better people than you'll ever be.

You may well be right, doesn't answer the question of whether it's right for their lives to be put at risk because people clearly and blatantly ignore safety advice .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Probably for the same reasons they're obligated to go out on any Saturday night to help the severely inebriated. I'd think the emergency services are probably more worried about working the dreaded Saturday night shift. Where they face the possibility of being assaulted, bitten, headbutted, stabbed or punched by a selection of out of control piss heads around the country. I say they would take the Croagh Patrick shift over that in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

So despite been told that it was extremely dangerous and advised not to climb, many still went ahead and did it.

11 casualties, one of them a 14yr old with hypothermia -dont blame him but you have to wonder what the parents have between their ears, anecdotal evidence of parents with young children (u10) ignoring advise and heading up the reek.

Could they be charged with child endangerment ?

So despite been told that it was extremely dangerous and advised not to climb, many still went ahead and did it.

11 casualties, one of them a 14yr old with hypothermia -dont blame him but you have to wonder what the parents have between their ears, anecdotal evidence of parents with young children (u10) ignoring advise and heading up the reek.

Apparently there was a 3 year old treated for hypothermia and a couple with a 12 week baby ignored Mayo Mountain rescue advice and climbed with the baby.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/three-year-old-treated-for-hypothermia-after-climbers-ignore-croagh-patrick-warnings-688314.html

Twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The couple with the 3 year old and 12 month old definitely should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

VinLieger wrote: »
    The couple with the 3 year old and 12 month old definitely should be

Yeah, I'm inclined to agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

A THREE YEAR old was among at least eight people who were treated for hypothermia after climbing Croagh Patrick yesterday – despite warnings not to do so because of adverse weather conditions.
    The annual Reek Sunday pilgrimage was cancelled yesterday after a yellow weather alert was issued. However a number of people ignored warnings from authorities and started their climb anyway.
    This morning Paul Feeney from Mayo Mountain Rescue told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland that it was “very frustrating” for the volunteers in his organisation to see people traversing the peak after they had been told not to.

http://www.thejournal.ie/croagh-patrick-hypothermia-2237366-Jul2015/?utm_source=shortlink

I feel sorry for the child but the parents need a serious kick up the arse. The article also mentions that a 12 week old was also brought up the mountain, who in their right mind would subject an infant to yesterday's conditions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Dimithy

ColeTrain wrote: »
    http://www.thejournal.ie/croagh-patrick-hypothermia-2237366-Jul2015/?utm_source=shortlink

I feel sorry for the child but the parents need a serious kick up the arse. The article also mentions that a 12 week old was also brought up the mountain, who in their right mind would subject an infant to yesterday's conditions?

****ing idiots is the best I can come up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Absolute morons, the lot of them. Kids should have been rescued and parents left there, better off without them. "Wheres your Messiah now, eh".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bringing a three year old up a mountain which has been deemed unsafe due to hazardous weather conditions....parent of the year award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Someone should be up there taking a fking hurl to these gobsheens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Bambi wrote: »
    Someone should be up there taking a fking hurl to these gobsheens.

Or a replica of St.Patrick's big **** off stick, the one he used to drive the snaaaakes out..

Threads merged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Has anyone ever "did the Reek" and not mentioned it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

ColeTrain wrote: »

The world is full of real morons alright. Even a passing glance at the comments on Adverts.ie would reinforce that. Still you have to legislate and allow for these morons.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.