Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

chrislad wrote: »
    Just mapped out my 15 mile run for tomorrow. This will be the furthest I've ever gone (until next week at least!)

I love plotting out runs especially in new area's where I haven't run before.

This is what I might do tomorrow...https://www.google.ie/maps/dir/53.209748,-6.6537465/53.2102118,-6.6540106/@53.1742652,-6.6594079,11.75z/data=!4m19!4m18!1m15!3m4!1m2!1d-6.626017!2d53.2038984!3s0x486782806f433e3d:0x51711f42821e2098!3m4!1m2!1d-6.6076691!2d53.1370459!3s0x48678376a05a52e7:0x90dd3c5937efa61d!3m4!1m2!1d-6.6709688!2d53.172924!3s0x48678226751ee329:0x3396bc83101a725a!1m0!3e2
    As its a new run and I've never even driven on these roads, its very possible I could get lost.

Also I maybe a long way from home if I do have a problem with my calf and I don't carry a phone with me. Could be a long walk home...
    Maybe it might be safer to go a more local route that gives me options to head back home relatively quickly if I do have a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭saucyjack

Trust your plan. Trust your pace. Trust your legs! You are a better runner than you think you are!

FWIW: I think that's a really good observation...following the novices thread in 2013 I got to the start line and lined up with the 4:50 pacers and finished in 4:28. Similar but faster in 2014. And while part of that was selling myself short wrt target but a big part was waaaaaaay underestimating how well prepared the boards plan and it's taper had me on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

This is what I might do tomorrow...https://www.google.ie/maps/dir/53.209748,-6.6537465/53.2102118,-6.6540106/@53.1742652,-6.6594079,11.75z/data=!4m19!4m18!1m15!3m4!1m2!1d-6.626017!2d53.2038984!3s0x486782806f433e3d:0x51711f42821e2098!3m4!1m2!1d-6.6076691!2d53.1370459!3s0x48678376a05a52e7:0x90dd3c5937efa61d!3m4!1m2!1d-6.6709688!2d53.172924!3s0x48678226751ee329:0x3396bc83101a725a!1m0!3e2
    As its a new run and I've never even driven on these roads, its very possible I could get lost.

Also I maybe a long way from home if I do have a problem with my calf and I don't carry a phone with me. Could be a long walk home...
    Maybe it might be safer to go a more local route that gives me options to head back home relatively quickly if I do have a problem.

hey eyeball, I think either carry your phone with you OR take a local route you already know, one or the other. If nothing else you'll have peace of mind in case there's a problem, enjoy the run whatever you decide :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

My discounted Saucony Triumph's arrived from Wiggle this morning. All going well, these will be my shoes come October! Kinda excited and nervous now that the kit is being assembled!

PJD wrote: »
    My discounted Saucony Triumph's arrived from Wiggle this morning. All going well, these will be my shoes come October! Kinda excited and nervous now that the kit is being assembled!

I go my new Ride 8s on Wednesday and I'll have to bring them back this evening, they just don't feel right. I'm very sad. They're so pwetty and I waited a whoooole week for them to come in.

I'm hoping it's just that particular pair :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Pink11 wrote: »
    Is anyone else having to bend plans to fit around life? I do a lot of travelling but I do my best. I need to settle down though with one. I've been flip flopping way too much!
    I've been sticking reasonably well to the Boards plan - I've been swapping rest days and doing a little more mileage than the plan calls for, and swapping hill sprints for strides and vice versa. And I've been running easy days too fast.

So I'm more or less on plan, but I do find it all consuming; this is taking a chunk of my life 5 days a week.
    BUT, I did my first run-commute yesterday and this pretty much gives me a day back. I can run home from work in less than the time it would take me to take a bus, so its almost like a free day. I think I'm going to do this twice a week from now on, so that should take some of the pressure off normal life. My run home also has some hills, which my normal routes are lacking, so its also adding a bit of variety.

@PJD When you're starting to get excited about shoes, it's time to take a step back. :o

You're a bloke, right?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

chrislad wrote: »
    I created a Strava map of the route. It's off by about half a mile so I'll try to fix it later. I've added it to the Strava group page.

There is a page for the Dublin Marathon already on Strava. It has the route, some discussion and elevation etc.

You can enter your target time etc. on there.

https://www.strava.com/running-races/2015-dublin-marathon

Phoebas wrote: »
    BUT, I did my first run-commute yesterday and this pretty much gives me a day back. I can run home from work in less than the time it would take me to take a bus, so its almost like a free day. I think I'm going to do this twice a week from now on, so that should take some of the pressure off normal life. My run home also has some hills, which my normal routes are lacking, so its also adding a bit of variety.

Awesome!! Its also great for the head space.... I find that all the thoughts of work are gone by the time I get home. It also avoids the stress of public transport. Love it!! Well done. Wait till the winter! Its even better with a bit of rough weather to clear the head. Oh, but you will need a whole new kit list for that! :):cool:

@PJD When you're starting to get excited about shoes, it's time to take a step back. :o

You're a bloke, right?

Okay! Point taken!! But running and cycling gear makes up 90% of all my clothes. The running stuff is taking over just now because of the marathon.... Im enjoying my (near weekly) deliveries from Wiggle and Chain reaction cycles. Its kinda like shopping therapy for men. I have started hiding things from my wife!! Dont get me started on cycling kit! Wrong forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Is anyone else having to bend plans to fit around life? I do a lot of travelling but I do my best. I need to settle down though with one. I've been flip flopping way too much!.

I run to work one day a week. Takes a bit of planning as I have to bring everything in the day before but so worth it. I actually haven't ran in the evening yet. I run at lunchtime on a Tues/Thurs which is really handy (lucky to have a shower in work) and then run in on Wednesdays. When the Wed run gets a bit longer, I'm just going to get up earlier to do it as really couldn't face doing it when I got home from work. So the only run that I feel like I'm actually "gone" for is the LSR at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Go on. Do it.......PMA and you'll be grand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Is anyone else having to bend plans to fit around life?

Yep, I've started doing loops around the town for my lsr so that I can keep popping into the house to keep an eye on everything. I also have to go out at 6/7 in the morning while everyone is still asleep. You have to be a bit selfish but life gets in the way. I can't wait till school is back, it will free me up no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,509 ✭✭✭ratracer

I went out this morning, but I really wasn't feeling the running love! Legs were heavy, head wasn't right, I called it a day at a paltry 3km!
    I think (at least hope) that I just had my eye on tomorrows LSR, sad to say I'm actually excited about doing that, probably because it's somewhere I've not run before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

I've been sticking reasonably well to the Boards plan - I've been swapping rest days and doing a little more mileage than the plan calls for, and swapping hill sprints for strides and vice versa. And I've been running easy days too fast.

So I'm more or less on plan, but I do find it all consuming; this is taking a chunk of my life 5 days a week.

Run-commute is something I just need to nail, too. I think I'm in a very similar boat to you, following the boards-plan and just about managing to fit it in. I live about 6M from my work place, with route-extensions if needed, so I can do (for example) do the Wednesday sessions en-route home.

One thing is that I don't really have a public transport option. So running from/to work needs to be followed by running to/from work. This complicates matters! :pac::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Hi Pink, as far as your pace and the marathon goes, I wanted to tell you this because what you're saying sounds a lot like what I've been saying to myself :pac:

You are capable of more than you think!!

I am by far the slowest runner here and my goal is to firstly finish the marathon and secondly to finish in 6 hours. Now I'm not saying we should compare ourselves to others (really, DON'T! I do that and it's very disheartening! I'm the Slowpoke Rodriguez to everyone else's Speedy Gonzales! See..there, I did it again!) but what I AM saying is that you are a better runner than you think you are!

When the day comes and it's marathon time remember that your legs will not only be WELL TRAINED but they will be WELL RESTED too! I realised this last night, that my long runs are hard because I'm tired, my legs are tired, I've been training all week. I look at my long runs and think how the heck am I ever going to run a marathon if 12 miles is such a struggle. But those 12 miles will be part of the reason I'll be able to do the marathon, they'll be money in the bank as far as my legs are concerned.

So really. It's normal to worry and fret but don't let it stop you running your plan and your pace. Trust your plan. Trust your pace. Trust your legs! You are a better runner than you think you are!

We ALL are!

Thanks so much. What a great motivational speech!

You hit the nail on the head there and I'm going to keep your kind words in my head when the doubt and pain sets in! I really appreciate what you've said :D Thank you!

nop98 wrote: »
    Run-commute is something I just need to nail, too. I think I'm in a very similar boat to you, following the boards-plan and just about managing to fit it in. I live about 6M from my work place, with route-extensions if needed, so I can do (for example) do the Wednesday sessions en-route home.

One thing is that I don't really have a public transport option. So running from/to work needs to be followed by running to/from work. This complicates matters! :pac::eek:

Leave some kit in work, Get a reasonable backpack.....Day 1- Cycle to work, leave bike at work, Run home..... Day 2- Run to work, collect bike, Cycle home..... etc etc... Less stress on the body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

Leave some kit in work, Get a reasonable backpack.....Day 1- Cycle to work, leave bike at work, Run home..... Day 2- Run to work, collect bike, Cycle home..... etc etc... Less stress on the body.

+1 to this. Running to/from work takes a bit of organising, but once you have a system it becomes a lot easier. There are lots of folks here that started this for marathon training, but still do it long after the marathon - it's a great way for getting easy miles in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

And you're still 3 months to race day! Marathon runners are an obsessive bunch :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Yes definately find now every week I am looking at the week ahead to plan my life around my running, going to Ed Sheeran Saturday night and travelling to Galway on Sunday to visit the youngest in the Gaeltacht so had to move everything forward by a day to get my long run done on Saturday afternoon (as Im volunteering at Park Run on Saturday morning) and have my rest day on Sunday so a busy week running. I am also out for dinner tonight so up at 6am this morning drove into work and ran in Sandymount this morning before work. Have to say I felt great after it, was a lovely morning and can't believe the amount of other crazies out running at that hour too. What has become of my life used to give the hubby grief for this a year ago, how life changes..... I'm even on boards too..... used to give him grief about that too !!! How the might have fallen !!:P

Dreading these longer runs, will also have to factor in toilet breaks on the way just in case !! I actually went into a gym to enquire about their membership and then asked could I use their loo on one of my long runs !! I always bring my phone on the longer runs just in case ! Good luck on the new route !

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Dreading these longer runs, will also have to factor in toilet breaks on the way just in case !! I actually went into a gym to enquire about their membership and then asked could I use their loo on one of my long runs !! I always bring my phone on the longer runs just in case ! Good luck on the new route !

No toilet talk please it lowers the tone of the neighbour :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Is anyone else having to bend plans to fit around life? I do a lot of travelling but I do my best. I need to settle down though with one. I've been flip flopping way too much!

I avoided working it out because it frightened me but today I finally got a race pace calculator up:

I'll have to keep to a pace of about 5.33per km to hit my target marathon end time. (I'd love to come in just under 4 hours). I really don't feel confident about it. I'm thinking I'll have to aim for 6 for my first. I'm also thinking do I just forget my end time for my first and just aim on bloody...
    Definitely +1 to TFGR's post below :). Perfect! My bit...don't stress about the goal, make that a secondary part. I was told by the very wise and experienced Emer911 to just enjoy the experience on my first marathon. Guess what...I *forgot* to do this and instead focused on the time faaaar too much. When the wheels came off - and boy did they - I was miserable, thoroughly miserable from miles 18-25. If I was to do things differently, I would do exactly as I was told: forget the time and enjoy.

However, I know how hard that is to do, it's the only tangible thing We have going into this big journey into the unknown. Have you set yourself a B and C goal? If 4:00 is your A goal, perhaps 4:15-20 could be your B goal and 4:30-40 your C goal? Train for your B goal for now and the A goal will come if it's in you nearer the time. Above all, as TFGR advises, TRUST :)
    Hi Pink, as far as your pace and the marathon goes, I wanted to tell you this because what you're saying sounds a lot like what I've been saying to myself :pac:

You are capable of more than you think!!

I am by far the slowest runner here and my goal is to firstly finish the marathon and secondly to finish in 6 hours. Now I'm not saying we should compare ourselves to others (really, DON'T! I do that and it's very disheartening! I'm the Slowpoke Rodriguez to everyone else's Speedy Gonzales! See..there, I did it again!) but what I AM saying is that you are a better runner than you think you are!

When the day comes and it's marathon time remember that your legs will not only be WELL TRAINED but they will be WELL RESTED too! I realised this last night, that my long runs are hard because I'm tired, my legs are tired, I've been training all week. I look at my long runs and think how the heck am I ever going to run a marathon if 12 miles is such a struggle. But those 12 miles will be part of the reason I'll be able to do the marathon, they'll be money in the bank as far as my legs are concerned.

So really. It's normal to worry and fret but don't let it stop you running your plan and your pace. Trust your plan. Trust your pace. Trust your legs! You are a better runner than you think you are!

We ALL are!

^^^ Yup vvvv
    Firedance wrote: »
    hey eyeball, I think either carry your phone with you OR take a local route you already know, one or the other. If nothing else you'll have peace of mind in case there's a problem, enjoy the run whatever you decide :)
    Love it!

Life comes before the plan...for now ;) (obviously you will all have assessed if life can accommodate marathon training BEFORE you start, right?!)

The LAST thing to go should be the lsr, next on the list is the pace run/quality session so if you have to jettison a run now and then when juggling, make sure it's the easy or recovery one :)

You're a bloke, right?
    No waaaay :mad: :D Real runners get beyond excited about runners and kit :p Let your inner kid out Phoebs ;)
    FBOT01 wrote: »
    No toilet talk please it lowers the tone of the neighbour :P

Sorry FBOT, we ain't even started on the poo talk yet :D Nice intro Mrs Mc :D Shall we start next week with FFTW: potty talk?!

Dubgal72 wrote: »

Sorry FBOT, we ain't even started on the poo talk yet :D Nice intro Mrs Mc :D Shall we start next week with FFTW: potty talk?!

Why is it bad ???something to look forward to !! Think it's us females that get more stressed about this !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Toilet breaks not really too much of an issue in the country when its only cattle looking at you :pac:

I'm off so :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Emsy 1 wrote: »

This is why I do the early runs. I usually go at 6ish and I am home before anyone else is out of bed, so the only run I have to worry about fitting in during the week is the lsr.

Yes definately find now every week I am looking at the week ahead to plan my life around my running, going to Ed Sheeran Saturday night and travelling to Galway on Sunday to visit the youngest in the Gaeltacht so had to move everything forward by a day to get my long run done on Saturday afternoon (as Im volunteering at Park Run on Saturday morning) and have my rest day on Sunday so a busy week running. I am also out for dinner tonight so up at 6am this morning drove into work and ran in Sandymount this morning before work. Have to say I felt great after it, was a lovely morning and can't believe the amount of other crazies out running at that hour too. What has become of my life used to give the hubby grief for this a year ago, how life changes..... I'm even on boards too..... used to give him grief about that too !!! How the might have fallen !!:P

How life changes indeed!

I only started jogging / running about 1.5 years ago. It started innocently enough in the pub over a few Christmas pints (like all the best ideas). My mate and I (who have never done any sports/exercise) decided we need to get out & do something healthy. We joked about attempting a 10k together in the new year. In the end, we signed up for the race series & did them all the way to the HM. We've both surprised ourselves that we've kept at it. This year, we're going for the Full DCM.

If anybody had told me 2 years ago that I'd look forward to getting up at 6am to go running in the rain, I'd have said they were mad. Now, Mrs Yoda and the Yoda juniors all think I'm mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

15 Mile ish naked LSR done.

Check watch this morning, 61%, probably ok but a quick charge just to be sure.

All ready to go and got my watch and it beeped saying low battery, down to 13%. Disaster. Standing in my living room in my running gear holding 2 bottles of water, cursing my watch (I don't think it has forgiven me for not taking it out for every run). Momentarily unsure what I was going to do.

Said feck it, I'm going for my LSR. Quick look on garmin connect to map out a 15 mile route. Out I go with only a "normal watch" for a time check.

Really enjoyable run, the longest I have ever run. Felt a lot more in control of my pace than normal. Finished in much better condition than last weeks LSR.

Probably the first time I felt that I might actually be able to run this marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

macinalli wrote: »
    +1 to this. Running to/from work takes a bit of organising, but once you have a system it becomes a lot easier. There are lots of folks here that started this for marathon training, but still do it long after the marathon - it's a great way for getting easy miles in.

Brilliant. I had never thought about the cycle/run combo in one day. :rolleyes:

Life comes before the plan...for now ;) (obviously you will all have assessed if life can accommodate marathon training BEFORE you start, right?!)
    Some things in life you just have to commit to and then deal with the consequences, otherwise you'd never commit in the first place.

Omeceron wrote: »
    15 Mile ish naked LSR done.
    Well done. I think you're the first to complete the 15 miler on the plan. I'll be out bright and early for mine tomorrow (this marathon training is forcing me to knock my Friday night bottle of wine on the head :mad: - I didn't take that into account :p).