Height Of Rudeness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭PippaChic

Miaireland wrote: »

I also hate when people are constantly late. We all get delayed every once and a while but not always.

Same here. And you'll find these people get furious if YOU are late for a change!

I can't stand people who are rude to shop assistants, waiting staff and cleaners. It could be because it's the only time they feel they have power over somebody. I know a couple who do that and I don't meet up with them socially anymore.

People who stare and gather when a child has a tantrum in a shopping centre, if the mum is dealing with it just ignore it and move on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

One of my favourites is when you're in a shop and go to pay at the counter. You're standing there with your groceries and the staff (usually boys and girls in their late teens/early twenties) continue on their own non-work-related conversation when it's evident that you're waiting to be served. When they do eventually kindly grant you their attention, they don't make eye contact, say hello or any other pleasantry and, needless to say, they don't say thank you. This type of shop worker should be taken out and maimed.

Another that comes to mind is when you're walking along a narrow pathway beside a busy road. Approaching from the opposite direction walk two people, either a couple hand-in-hand or two women aged between twenty and sixty, yapping away to each other (sorry if that sounds sexist but unfortunately it's true. In my experience this rarely happens if two men are walking the opposite direction).

Instead of forming a single file to allow you to pass (which would be the courteous thing to do), the couple don't even consider for a second to make enough space and so you have no choice but to step out on to the busy road. This sort of bad manners astonishes me.

Incidentally I've noticed if you deliberately walk on the inside of the path, the approaching couple, whether consciously or not, will break into a single file. Still, I've had people tut-tutting at me for forcing them to break formation. That always makes me smile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Menas wrote: »
    People who do not use their indicators on roundabouts.
    I could add a thousand other things but am typing this on my phone!

People who text while driving!!! :eek::eek::eek::eek::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

What drives me into a red rage is people who don't turn off the television when you are trying to have a conversation.

Their eyes keep sliding away over your shoulder to the flickering screen...(so you know that their ears and their attention are doing so as well). It's completely insulting.

I believe it also predicts Alzheimers...by shortening the attention span to mere seconds. I like this thought. *gnash*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,924 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Ooh, have another one.

People that won't take a crying child out of a cafe/restaurant. Like, we all know that kids get cranky and that's fine, but the parents who allow their kids to cry uninterrupted for minutes on end do my head in. It's like they don't even hear them.

katemarch wrote: »
    What drives me into a red rage is people who don't turn off the television when you are trying to have a conversation.

Their eyes keep sliding away over your shoulder to the flickering screen...(so you know that their ears and their attention are doing so as well). It's completely insulting.

That's fine but it's another story if you just decide you want to have a conversation with someone whilst they're already engaged in watching something on TV.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Ooh, have another one.

People that won't take a crying child out of a cafe/restaurant. Like, we all know that kids get cranky and that's fine, but the parents who allow their kids to cry uninterrupted for minutes on end do my head in. It's like they don't even hear them.

Or even worse, if it's a concert/performance or a lecture. Get a babysitter you cheapskates!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Or even worse, if it's a concert/performance or a lecture. Get a babysitter you cheapskates!

What college are you going to??!!

eternal wrote: »
    What college are you going to??!!

I meant a non-university lecture. A talk is a better word.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

When everyone's shaking hands at mass and someone whips their mickey out hoping to get a cheeky tug.

Damn.

Rumbled again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I meant a non-university lecture. A talk is a better word.
    Intellectualised creches? Awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Drenching the toilet seat in a half gallon of sour piss and walking off leaving it for the next person. I'm talking public bathrooms here, pubs, airports etc. I'd say about 80% of the time when I go to use a cubicle in a public convenience , the seat is wet with stale piss.

I feel I must ask how you know it is sour.

galljga1 wrote: »
    I feel I must ask how you know it is sour.

A pH meter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

I've handed money to people a few times in shops/bars and when I've put my hand out to take my change they plonk it down on the counter.

It's a small thing but it bugs the sh!t out of me.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Throwing used food wrappers out of a car window, on the roads I drive around there always seems to be some rubbish on the roadside, hold on to it till you find a bin you f*cking ape :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Not having a whipping boy :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Not having a whipping boy :pac:

Is that rude or just unfortunate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

Another that comes to mind is when you're walking along a narrow pathway beside a busy road. Approaching from the opposite direction walk two people, either a couple hand-in-hand or two women aged between twenty and sixty, yapping away to each other (sorry if that sounds sexist but unfortunately it's true. In my experience this rarely happens if two men are walking the opposite direction).

Instead of forming a single file to allow you to pass (which would be the courteous thing to do), the couple don't even consider for a second to make enough space and so you have no choice but to step out on to the busy road. This sort of bad manners astonishes me.

Incidentally I've noticed if you deliberately walk on the inside of the path, the approaching couple, whether consciously or not, will break into a single file. Still, I've had people tut-tutting at me for forcing them to break formation. That always makes me smile.

I hate this! Really ignorant. I've stopped stepping onto the road for people that do this, draw attention to their rudeness.

Another thing that bugs me is right at the end of a transaction, when the person in front of you is trying to put their money/purse back in their bag, and the next customer just tries to barge pass them to put their items on the counter with no regard at all for them. I always tell them (politely) to just hold on a second and I'll be with them. People shouldn't be forced to walk away from the till with their money on show, you never know who's watching for their next target!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Ive mentioned some of these on Trivial things that annoy you but here goes

- people who slurp their tea, if its too bloody hot put some more milk in

- People not saying hello back on corridors, I forgive shyness but not people looking at you as if you just told their child to feck off

- Not thanking someone for letting them out on the road, listen love Im holding up traffic behind me here just to let you out least you can do is wave in acknowledgement.

-people not saying thank you or please, manners cost nothing

- people jumping the queue in IT departments, have you logged a call? ''no'' well fecking log one then im dealing with someone already

- people who eat with their mouth open like a fecking pig, you'd swear it was their first meal in 10 days, animals

cant all be perfect but **** me atleast make the effort some people were dragged up

jester77 wrote: »
    When a younger person duzt instead of siezt.

hey alter hast du die nase voll :D:D:D:D:D:D

One of the polish lads was telling me they do the equivalent of duzen all the time in their native tongue, so they slipped and did it to a bus driver in germany
    there were nearly fisticuffs!

People who fiddle away on their phones while in a restaurant or cafe with you, pretending to listen
    If I'm that boring just go =/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

People talking to me with their mouths, even though their attention is on their smartphones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Not making eye contact with everyone in a discussion.

Middle age/old born again cyclists who like to pretend they're in the tour de France and cycle around in a peloton, blocking the roads.

I find that extremely difficult to do iff theres more than 2 people. Its not rudeness..I think I just have bad social skills

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭Kalman

cloud493 wrote: »
    People talking to me with their mouths, even though their attention is on their smartphones.

I like that! > If they don't talk to you with their mouths, how do you suppose that they can communicate ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭johndaman66

_meehan_ wrote: »
    Another thing that bugs me is right at the end of a transaction, when the person in front of you is trying to put their money/purse back in their bag, and the next customer just tries to barge pass them to put their items on the counter with no regard at all for them. I always tell them (politely) to just hold on a second and I'll be with them. People shouldn't be forced to walk away from the till with their money on show, you never know who's watching for their next target!

To be honest I think checkout operators are as much guilty if not even more guilty than other customers on this one a lot of the time. Presumably you work in a convenience shop such as Centra/ Spar/ Applegreen as its a case of the next customer putting their items on the counter as opposed to them already being on the belt as in the likes of Dunnes or Tesco. but whichever it is I often would see the checkout operator beckoning on the next punter before who is already at the till and has had a chance to pack their bags/ round up their items let alone put their change back in their purse/ wallet. It would clearly seem that your not guilty of this though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

_meehan_ wrote: »
    Because it's such a huge surprise that if you give more money than you're meant to give, you're gonna get the difference back.

Well, is it really such a huge surprise that someone might actually like to finish bagging their items? How hard is it to wait a few seconds
    What you're describing really isn't rude unless the cashier has some kind of attitude and they're trying to rush you or something.

It is rude, of course it is. Would you like the customer to try and give you some cash while you were still scanning the items forcing you to stop? Course not, so return that courtesy and wait until they have bagged their items before giving them the change. M&S staff can do it, not sure why Dunnes can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

bluewolf wrote: »
    People who fiddle away on their phones while in a restaurant or cafe with you, pretending to listen
    If I'm that boring just go =/

I'm not sure if thats a reflection of their rudeness or the fact ye must not have too much in common or possibly a combination thereoff. Either way I think you need to make new friends.

I have in the meantime - doesn't happen much anymore
    But it's awful rude when it does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

To be honest I think checkout operators are as much guilty if not even more guilty than other customers on this one a lot of the time. Presumably you work in a convenience shop such as Centra/ Spar/ Applegreen as its a case of the next customer putting their items on the counter as opposed to them already being on the belt as in the likes of Dunnes or Tesco. but whichever it is I often would see the checkout operator beckoning on the next punter before who is already at the till and has had a chance to pack their bags/ round up their items let alone put their change back in their purse/ wallet. It would clearly seem that your not guilty of this though...

Well then those operators should have a bit of cop on! And no, I don't work in a convenience shop, but I do work in retail.

It is rude, of course it is. Would you like the customer to try and give you some cash while you were still scanning the items forcing you to stop? Course not, so return that courtesy and wait until they have bagged their items before giving them the change. M&S staff can do it, not sure why Dunnes can't.

They can't really give me cash until they know what they have to pay, not a comparable situation.

Why don't you complain about the staff being rude to you in this manner since it bothers you so much?

I just think that handling of money should happen in one go - customer pays for their items and immediately receives their change. The amount of people I've seen in work who forget to give change because the whole money handling part was drawn out for some reason, or who sometimes are accused of not giving change by people who have forgotten they've received it is unreal. To avoid this, all money is handed back and forth in the same 30 seconds. Not left there on the counter, not held onto by the staff member.

If you can stop bagging for a couple of seconds to give money, you can do the same to receive it.

^^^Point taken