Danny Ward - Is this right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭VisibleGorilla

I can't be the only one who's skeptical about the stories of Ward peering in windows like some nefarious Wee Willie Winkie, and buying children's toys for bait. As far as I can see these claims have come from facebook. It's fueling a mob mentality and I don't think it will end well....
    Exactly!

A load of facebook bollox, if this was actually true he'd be in court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

I used to know his brother when I was younger. Very decent man & single father; had plenty of his own troubles but wouldn't harm a fly. He used to drive his children to school in a pony & trap, this was about 1997! Lovely man. It's that family I feel sorry for, seeing their relative live like a wretch and at the same time knowing what he's done.

I can't be the only one who's skeptical about the stories of Ward peering in windows like some nefarious Wee Willie Winkie, and buying children's toys for bait. As far as I can see these claims have come from facebook. It's fueling a mob mentality and I don't think it will end well....

Try this newspaper article.
    https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CCAQFjAAahUKEwjNq4-ftenGAhWmltsKHa4aA58&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishmirror.ie%2Fnews%2Firish-news%2Fcrime%2Fpaedo-school-gate-he-leered-4502742&ei=C8KsVY36Haat7gautYz4CQ&usg=AFQjCNHZuQIHwOzwY5mlyo-M1cC8u2lxbg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

The guards supposedly put a patrol outside the school in question. If that's true then it's worrying. Can't blame people for taking matters into their own hands. If he's likely to reoffend then he shouldn't be out tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Seeing that made my day. Some of the hug-a-thugs in this thread make me feel ill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The newspapers know he is a bit simple and he probably cant read either. They can print whatever they like about him and know he'll never sue them.

'Oh you can't believe anything on Facebook!'.

'Ok here's a newspaper article.'

'Oh you can't believe anything in the papers!':rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

pablo128 wrote: »

Sorry, I wasn't attacking you. I have seen the story before. I was always a bit sceptical of it but you were correct to post it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It's not right but its okay

that paedo fella looks like a mongooid brendan gleeson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Will these folks be giving the same treatment to to the drug dealers and criminal gangs who are destroying their communities.Among whose numbers are convicted padeophile Christy Griffin?

I believe people are making these reports, I just think they stretch credibility. Why is his parole not affected if AGS believe it?

Obviously I'd be concerned if I had young relatives living in that place, but I think people are frightening themselves on top of that. When people openly threaten to kill someone using their real facebook identities, when public beatings are happening, and newspapers are broadcasting this man's address, I think everyone needs to take a step back. It's rabid.

I believe people are making these reports, I just think they stretch credibility. Why is his parole not affected if AGS believe it?

Obviously I'd be concerned if I had young relatives living in that place, but I think people are frightening themselves on top of that. When people openly threaten to kill someone using their real facebook identities, when public beatings are happening, and newspapers are broadcasting this man's address, I think everyone needs to take a step back. It's rabid.

What parole? I think you're watching too much American TV.

This guy should be hounded out of the country at every available opportunity.

I don't know if it's called parole or not. There's a parole board isn't there? "Early release" if your prefer. Sheesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Well I wouldn't trust anything in the papers. Even in that article they say "The Irish Mirror tracked Ward down to his flat this week and watched as he walked through the city without a care in the world." That's while they're chasing him through the streets. They're painting a picture rather than telling the truth.

It seems a bit pointless parking a car outside the school too, all that's for is the appease the parents. If they wanted to ensure the peadophile didn't go to the school they'd be better off knowing where he is and sitting outside his house while the schools are let out.

I don't really have much sympathy for old Danny. If he is someone with mental problems that lead to violent outbreaks then having the media chase him around town, pressuring him isn't really helping anyone. At best they'll force him to commit suicide at worst they'll make him more comfortable in his role as a monster.

The guy doing the punching, unless he knew the victim has no place dishing out street justice. I'd say he's only motivation is the back slaps he'll get down the pub for being a hard man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

This guy should be hounded out of the country at every available opportunity.

How does hounding him out of the country solve anything?
    If this guy is genuinely a risk to kids, he is a risk to kids in any country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

It's possible to want both sides in a fight to lose.

Both scumbags imo

people may give out about Danny Ward being loose on the streets but how many of those on those radio shows lobbied their TDs for stronger jail terms for peados'?
    How many of you in AH have?

I didn't , I was too busy bothering them about ****e like the war in Gaza and Irish Water. I failed on that front as well because in fairness this is a bigger issue.

Ward served the time the judge gave him. I hate the guy as much as the next fella with a pitchfork but that doesn't mean we get turn up and give him random beatings because our laws are lax.

The fella who punched him is a dirtbag and a coward pure and simple .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

we need mandatory minimum sentencing for violent crimes, steadily increment img with each previous conviction in the same vein of offenses.
    Actually, we need several new jails.
    I'm not a garden variety criminal, common thug or thief, nor do I regard myself as a hero. Yet I would do the same or more as that chap did.
    So that you wouldn't be able to protect your kid as you'd be in jail for the assualt? How odd.

Seems he was tracked down, and got bet to a pulp.

I don't condone mob justice, but it seems pedo's have to be given a reason to stay within their terms of parole...!

the_syco wrote: »
    Actually, we need several new jails.

So that you wouldn't be able to protect your kid as you'd be in jail for the assualt? How odd.

Seems he was tracked down, and got bet to a pulp.

I don't condone mob justice, but it seems pedo's have to be given a reason to stay within their terms of parole...!

What parole? In Ireland you do your sentence and get out. You might get temporary release, but I doubt this particular fella did. The only prisoners to get parole are lifers.

You would want to leave a person almost dead to be locked up in this country, by the way. And that's if your caught.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'm not a garden variety criminal, common thug or thief, nor do I regard myself as a hero. Yet I would do the same or more as that chap did.

If you did what that chap did, you'd be a thug, plain and simple.

Walk up to a guy who poses no threat to you or anybody else there and start punching him in the face without provocation - that's thuggery.

The idea that it isn't thuggery because of who that person is or what they've done is just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

What parole? In Ireland you do your sentence and get out. You might get temporary release, but I doubt this particular fella did. The only prisoners to get parole are lifers.

No idea about Ward, but that doesn't seem to be correct.

"If you are a prisoner in Ireland serving a life sentence or a long term sentence, the issue of your early release from prison may be considered by the Parole Board of Ireland."

Not sure what they're calling a "long term sentence" though.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/prison_system/parole_board_of_ireland.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Ha the fcukin eejot fell on his arse.
    Dishing out his bit of justice and he goes flat on his arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

conorh91 wrote: »
    Based on a selective sample of sensational newspaper reports, right?

I can think of sentences I thought were too lenient or too harsh. We all can. But don't exaggerate based on, I presume, newspaper headlines that jumped out at you.

No actually, based on personal experience, family experience and, research into a particular suburb of Dublin which has been plagued by a gang problem, and persistent media reports over at least the last five years.

Come on, you're hardly going to tell me that you've never heard on Morning Ireland "Mr John Doe, who has 27 previous convictions for assault and burglary, was given a suspended sentence by Mr Justice...."? Or that you haven't read about any of the major gang feuds which involve people with dozens of convictions still being free to walk the streets and eventually murdering somebody?
    Personal experience, my iPhone was stolen by a man who had previously been busted with hundreds of stolen iPhones and let off. Cost me €400 to replace at the time.
    And that's only one end of the scale - we've seen people including Gardai get off for very serious crimes (the Waterford case springs to mind) with very minor sentences.
    I'm pretty sure the guys who beat that poor autistic teenager in a park a few weeks back were also said to have a long conviction history at the time.

Are we or are we not agreed that people should only have a certain number of "strikes" in terms of previous convictions before they start getting severe jail sentences as a matter of course for any future offences?
    Meaning, obviously, that newspaper reports of sentencing only highlight the apparently egregious departures from public opinion, and, more often than not, will be a badly incomplete analysis of a trial.

The fact that a guy has 27 previous convictions is enough in my view to say that a suspended sentence is too lenient.
    For example, most people think rape sentencing is too lenient, even though 70% of sentences are for a minimum of about a decade. The shorter sentences tend to be in cases where the individual admitted guilt at an early stage, so as to cause minimal further damage and stress to victims.

Does that matter though really? There should be a mandatory minimum sentence for rape, and it should see the f*ckers taken away from decent society, where they can hurt people, for a long time.
    Mandatory sentencing is a truly terrible idea in most cases. It encourages accused persons to plead Not Guilty, creating a greater burden on the DPP and AGS. It is also offensive to the Separation of Powers, and risks polluting the administration of justice with mass populism.

It's still the lesser of two evils, if the alternative is seeing scumbags get let off with suspended sentences week in, week out.
    It can also give rise to blatant injustices since all context goes out the window, and there's very weak data to support the application of MMSs.

No "context" can justify raping and murdering someone, or breaking into their house and holding them at knife point while your buddy steals all of their belongings. That's actually one of the biggest problems I have with Irish sentencing - sob stories in court shouldn't take away from the fact that if you hurt someone, you should be adequately penalised for that. We all have choices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Thank God we have such upstanding moral citizens like this young man here.

I'd say he devotes lots of his free time- and really cares - helping kids and victims of abuse.

I mean, he's not doing it cos he's an angry little toerag and wants any excuse to beat someone up - not at all !!

It's the same in prisons, it's always other murderers and rapists (of victims that are +18 - fine young men) that are most
    "outraged" by pedophiles.

osarusan wrote: »
    If you did what that chap did, you'd be a thug, plain and simple.

Walk up to a guy who poses no threat to you or anybody else there and start punching him in the face without provocation - that's thuggery.

The idea that it isn't thuggery because of who that person is or what they've done is just silly.

The bit in bold is the fallacy. This guy is a danger to any children he comes into contact with, his antics outside that school a few months back are proof enough of that. To suggest that he poses no threat to anyone is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Do some fcuking research. This guy was going around leering in the windows of a primary school at little girls doing Irish dancing, AFTER he was released. The police had to put a squad car outside the school every day.

He is a serious danger to our children.

I'd be more concerned about pissed up toerags driving under the influence tbh ... I'd say yer man doing the punching has NEVER been in a situation like that :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

No of course it's not right.

Do people really want to live in a society where "Gavo" is walking around dishing out his own form of justice?

This man has served his time and is monitored by the Gardai, if people are not happy with his sentence take it up with your local politicians.

Chances he re-offends are extremely low according to all current statistics, over 90% of sexual abuse is done by someone close to the victim.

Wy does it have to be ''Gavo''

Cant it be Ross or Fredrick or something.

The bit in bold is the fallacy. This guy is a danger to any children he comes into contact with, his antics outside that school a few months back are proof enough of that. To suggest that he poses no threat to anyone is ridiculous.

To do what you did with my post, you had to stop bolding before the word 'there'.

He wasn't a threat to anybody there - there at the police station.

Honest mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Straight up question...

How would ye all feel if he commit suicide because he was being hounded and tormented..

osarusan wrote: »
    To do what you did with my post, you had to stop bolding before the word 'there'.

He wasn't a threat to anybody there - there at the police station.

Honest mistake?

Not at all. He wasn't a threat to anyone in that station at that moment in time. The minute he walked out of it, he would have been a threat to any kid he might walk past.
    This is somebody who, plainly and simply, should not be allowed anywhere near kids, ever again. Period. For that to happen, he has to be confined in some manner, be it house arrest or jail.

not yet wrote: »
    Straight up question...

How would ye all feel if he commit suicide because he was being hounded and tormented..

No loss in his particular case. He offers nothing to society.

Not at all.
    Not at all means it wasn't an honest mistake to say i suggested he wasn't any threat to anybody?
    He wasn't a threat to anyone in that station at that moment in time. The minute he walked out of it, he would have been a threat to any kid he might walk past..

So the fallacy and ridiculous suggestion you implied on my part do not exist.
    This is somebody who, plainly and simply, should not be allowed anywhere near kids, ever again. Period. For that to happen, he has to be confined in some manner, be it house arrest or jail.
    Nothing to do with what I posted though - which was that if you punch somebody 8in a situation like we saw in the video, I think you're a thug, regardless of who they are.