Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Stoner wrote: »
    I'll say something about A O' Shea at number 14 he'll cause Dublin more issues than Murphy or Donnaghy. All things aside I think he'd have Rory O'Carrols number. Not that the other two don't , but he has reasonable form against them.

AOS usually ends up out of the game against Dublin where MDMA breaks it down and Flynn picks up the scraps. In big games at midfield Seamus often comes thorough imo. but with Parsons , S OShea and Barry Moran they have three or four decent midfield options. But at 14 there's nothing but the keeper behind the full back and breaking the ball out of his hands is dangerously because more than Donnahy, he can get to the ball that breaks off him himself.

He's some option to have in the forward line, he's good in the air and in front of goal. I thought he was very humble today with some of his scores too.

Mayo have a serious chance this year imo. Him up front is a big tactical change. Parsons could end up being the move that makes the difference for them.

All they need is a full back.

Finger on the button Stoner.He could cause Rory O Carroll serious problems.If we can only find a full back or as somebody already said clone Aidan O Shea! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

AOS... one the most unfit-est players i've ever seen play in Croker made to look like Lionel Messi today.

Just goes to show what a change of pos can do for a player (even against a woeful team), when less running is required.
    Wont do it against a decent a team though, never has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭P_Cash

None of which comes from Donegal themselves. Most of it is spouted by the three eejits on RTE, and in nonsense articles in the Indo. They'll only start talking up Monaghan's 'system' now

Well said.

Annoys me when rte say something and the country make it out as it came from donegal camp.

No more than the Sunday game there, des referencing to mayo fans getting hyped up again already. Well, sorry Des, most mayo fans would find the likes of today meaningless,.

Still reckon donegal will take galway, and meet mayo in qtr final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

NIMAN wrote: »
    Wondering from a neutrals point of view, which game would you see as the better quality

No contest really, both Ulster teams at a higher level than Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭robbiezero

No contest really, both Ulster teams at a higher level than Sligo.

Yep. A game that is over after 5 minutes is very little entertainment for the neutral

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭B17G

rosskeen wrote: »
    If Galway and Tyrone win their qualifiers Mayo play Tyrone and Galway play Monaghan. Galway and Mayo have already met in the championship and will be kept apart where possible. If Donegal win they play Mayo.

Should Kildare and Fermanagh happen to win Fermanagh would meet Dublin and Kerry would meet Kidare because Dublin and Kildare have already met.

Is this correct? I though the only criteria is to prevent a provincial final repeat. All other pairings are ok based on the A versus B separation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Just looking through provincial finals on Wikipedia...

Only two teams have ever scored 6 goals in a final... Kerry in 1919 and Cavan in 1933. No team has ever scored more.

Only one team has ever scored 25 points in a final... Cork in 1971. No team has ever scored more.

Biggest score by any team in a provincial final ever.

Sligo scored 2-11. Only Roscommon in 1989 have scored more as losers in a Connacht final in over 30 years.

FWIW in All Ireland finals, Cork scored 6 goals in 1911, no team has ever scored more or as many as 25 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

robbiezero wrote: »
    Yep. A game that is over after 5 minutes is very little entertainment for the neutral[/quote

Yeh, it made the switch back to the golf a no brainer. ]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,412 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Yet again the big talking point tonight is the poor standard of refereeing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭jdbarry

B17G wrote:
    Is this correct? I though the only criteria is to prevent a provincial final repeat. All other pairings are ok based on the A versus B separation?

Nope he's very wrong! Yeah at the quarter stage they're just keeping provincial finalists apart. Winners of Donegal v Galway play Mayo and winners of Sligo v Tyrone play Monaghan.

Kerry have winners of Fermanagh v Westmeath and the dubs have the winners of Kildare v Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

P_Cash wrote: »
    Well said.

Annoys me when rte say something and the country make it out as it came from donegal camp.

No more than the Sunday game there, des referencing to mayo fans getting hyped up again already. Well, sorry Des, most mayo fans would find the likes of today meaningless,.

Still reckon donegal will take galway, and meet mayo in qtr final.

You could'nt be more correct.Balderdash from Des.

Yeah Donegal will be favourites but I'd give Galway a decent chance.They are a team on the rise.Excellent forwards...Lundy,Comer,Cummins,Sice and Shay Walsh back and a monster of a midfield with Flynn and O Curraoin.Their defence seems to be tightening up.Confidence should be on the up after their two qualifier wins over two much talked about Ulster teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I think talk of Donegal's demise might be premeture;were very close to getting at least a draw today in spite of not being at their best.
    If they beat galway big Aiden O Shea won't push the Mcgee brothers around like he did to those gossans from Sligo today.
    Had to laugh at the panel earlier talking about how Donegal lost the tactical battle today. Only for poor shooting by Donegal in the second half they could have won.... Nothing to do with tic tags at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Only for poor shooting by Donegal in the second half they could have won.... Nothing to do with tic tags at all
    Agreed after the first five minutes of the scond half they should have brought the four point gap to one. Poor shooting.

Last few minutes McBrearty missed a scorable point.

Monaghan deserved it. Donegal had too few scoring options and the ones they had were poorly executed . But the game was there for them, they didn't do it that's their own fault well done Monaghan they had chances to extend the lead but they hit the bar, a poor couple of passes from McManus at the end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭robbiezero

robbiezero wrote: »
    Watching it again there on the Sunday game. The Sligo full back line treated him like a tray of drinks that they were afraid to spill. Utterly hapless

That Rorys stories on Facebook has quite a funny sketch on Sligo marking O'Shea today. It's quite accurate too unfortunately for Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

I think talk of Donegal's demise might be premeture;were very close to getting at least a draw today in spite of not being at their best.
    If they beat galway big Aiden O Shea won't push the Mcgee brothers around like he did to those gossans from Sligo today.
    Had to laugh at the panel earlier talking about how Donegal lost the tactical battle today. Only for poor shooting by Donegal in the second half they could have won.... Nothing to do with tic tags at all

They could have won yes but it wasn't just wayward shooting missing from that performance. When the play broke down between halves there was a marked difference in the pace of transition from both teams. Time and again i spotted Donegal lads laboured in tracking back or moving forward. Thats completely out of character based upon previous years and its my experience you can't just wave a magic wand to rectify such issues.

A hesitant Monaghan (in the second half) team almost allowed them to mask their deficiencies but you can be sure as **** the likes of Mayo, or especially Dublin with the pace they have, will crucify such lack of application.

Strongly favour Mayo to beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Monaghan vs Mayo in the All Ireland Final.

The heartbreak at Full time from 50% of the crowd would be distressing, whatever way the game goes.

Edit: Cormac Reilly to Referee with Marty Duffy and Martin Sludden as umpires. Just for the craic.

Yes Monaghan v Mayo.

With them beating Kerry and Dublin in the semi finals

Revenge for 1985 without the replays mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭rosskeen

jdbarry wrote: »
    Nope he's very wrong! Yeah at the quarter stage they're just keeping provincial finalists apart. Winners of Donegal v Galway play Mayo and winners of Sligo v Tyrone play Monaghan.

Kerry have winners of Fermanagh v Westmeath and the dubs have the winners of Kildare v Cork.

Just to clarify my information came from the GAA website. From the document linked below. See page 5.

http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/GAA%20Football%20Championships%202015.pdf

All Ireland Quarter-Finals (B)
    Two Games
    Each of the two Provincial Final Winners (Connacht, Uladh) shall play against one of the two Winners of Round 4B.
    Draw is Subject to Provincial Final Winners avoiding defeated finalists from their own Province in this Round and to the avoidance of repeat pairings where possible

The second part of the sentence in bold indicates what I had said. If the provincial finalists are both knocked out the draw will be subject to "the avoidance of repeat pairings were possible." My reading of that is Galway and Mayo couldn't play in a scenario where Tyrone were the other Round 4B winner.

If I'm wrong I'll hold my hands up but the GAA's own rules wouldn't be particularly clear given that the same wording prevented Tyrone being drawn against Donegal in Round 4B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Wouldnt be ruling out Donegal at all yet. Mayo wont have it all their own away again them in the 1/4 final plus the result puts them into Dublins side of the semi final as opposed to Kerry's side if they had of won and the Dubs could struggle again

Lot of football to be played,

rosskeen wrote: »
    Just to clarify my information came from the GAA website. From the document linked below. See page 5.

http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/GAA%20Football%20Championships%202015.pdf

The second part of the sentence in bold indicates what I had said. If the provincial finalists are both knocked out the draw will be subject to "the avoidance of repeat pairings were possible." My reading of that is Galway and Mayo couldn't play in a scenario where Tyrone were the other Round 4B winner.

If I'm wrong I'll hold my hands up but the GAA's own rules wouldn't be particularly clear given that the same wording prevented Tyrone being drawn against Donegal in Round 4B

Provincial final matchups cannot be repeated in the QF, that is a given.
    But other repeat matchups should be avoided if they can.

So my understanding is
    if Kildare beat Cork and Fermanagh beat Westmeath then Dublin would play Fermanagh

If Kildare beat Cork and Westmeath beat Fermanagh then Dublin would play Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭rosskeen

Provincial final matchups cannot be repeated in the QF, that is a given.
    But other repeat matchups should be avoided if they can.

So my understanding is
    if Kildare beat Cork and Fermanagh beat Westmeath then Dublin would play Fermanagh

If Kildare beat Cork and Westmeath beat Fermanagh then Dublin would play Kildare.

Yeah, I'd agree with that based on my reading of the rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 barca_123

I thought the 4 quarter final matches would be played the bank holiday?
    According to gaa.ie, the Monaghan and Mayo games would be on the following weekend?

barca_123 wrote: »
    I thought the 4 quarter final matches would be played the bank holiday?
    According to gaa.ie, the Monaghan and Mayo games would be on the following weekend?

Yes that is a change introduced since last year when they split the qualifiers into A and B.

Its there to give the losing provincial finalists at least 2 weeks between the provincial final and their 4th round game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭jdbarry

rosskeen wrote:

Maybe I'm the one who's very wrong so! I was certain it was set in stone that the winners of Kildare v Cork had Dublin in the quarters even though Kildare have already played the dubs.

They interviewed Jason Ryan on Off the Ball during the week there and asked him what he felt about the prospect of facing them again in the quarters if they get by the losers of the Munster final. I've heard it said a few other times aswell. Also I've heard repeatedly that Kerry definitely have the winners of Westmesth v Fermanagh, but as I said I could be wrong, we'll find out soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Huge congrats to Monaghan. Suspected that they would avenge last year's defeat and make it two Ulster Final victories in three years. This team will probably go down as Monaghan's greatest ever at the rate they are going. Not their best performance ever especially in the second half but their hunger desire and of course Conor McManus's genius helped them get the job done.

You'd wonder what Eamonn McEneaney was thinking watching it yesterday. He took over in 2010 with Monaghan still in Division 1 (i think, feel free to correct that if you're a Monaghan fan). By 2012 Monaghan had been relegated to division three and dumped out of the championship by Laois. When leaving he claimed that the players just weren't there and that the team needed rebuilding which would take three to four years. Enter Malachy and within three years he has them back in division 1 and has led them to three Ulster Final's on the trot, winning two of them. And all this with a lot of the same players at Eamonn's disposal.

Anyway, looks like Tyrone next which is a bit of a stinker of a draw for Monaghan. Could go either way. Drew Wylie should be back to full fitness by then which will be a big boost for Monaghan. 12/1 from 25/1 now for All Ireland glory after yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭JB81

In terms of the Quarter finals.
    From what i gather:
    If Galway and Tyrone win, Tyrone play Mayo, Galway play Monaghan
    If Donegal and Tyrone Win, Tyrone play monaghan, Donegal play Mayo
    If Galway and Sligo win, Galway play mayo, sligo play Monaghan
    Donegal and Sligo win, donegal play mayo, sligo play monaghan.

On the other side:
    If Westmeath and Cork win, Dublin play cork, Kerry play westmeath
    If Westmeath and Kildare win, Dublin play Kildare and Kerry play Westmeath
    If Fermanagh and Cork Win, Dublin play Cork, Fermanagh play Kerry
    If Fermanagh and Kildare win, Dublin play Fermanagh and Kerry play Kildare.

You would expect
    Tyrone v Monaghan
    Donegal v Mayo
    Dublin Cork
    But hard to call Fermanagh v Westmeath, and who plays Kerry.. dont think Kerry will mind though.

Tyrone still hanging in there and a shout at a semi-final..
    Here's hoping

JB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,948 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

From a monaghan pov i still dont know who i'd rather between galway and tyrone. I think tyrone would be the better team and recent history between us might spur monaghan on to get the monkey off the back while galway would be relatively unknown to monaghan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

JB81 wrote: »
    From what i gather:

On the other side:

You would expect
    Tyrone v Monaghan
    Donegal v Mayo
    Dublin Cork
    But hard to call Fermanagh v Westmeath, and who plays Kerry.. dont think Kerry will mind though.

Here's hoping

JB
    The present Gaa fixture arrangements have got to be raising the IQ of the average Irish Person interested in Gaa.

It has to be some sophisticated weapon or something ! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

JB81 wrote: »
    From what i gather:

On the other side:

You would expect
    Tyrone v Monaghan
    Donegal v Mayo
    Dublin Cork

Here's hoping

JB
    Are you sure that's right? I thought it was a lot simpler than that. ie the line up being as follows.

Quarter-finals
    Dublin v Cork/Kildare
    Kerry v Fermanagh/Westmeath
    Mayo v Galway/Donegal
    Monaghan v Tyrone/Sligo

ie Monaghan will play the winners of Tyrone V Sligo etc etc. No if's or buts. Is it more complicated than this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Pighead wrote: »
    Are you sure that's right? I thought it was a lot simpler than that. ie the line up being as follows.

Quarter-finals
    Dublin v Cork/Kildare
    Kerry v Fermanagh/Westmeath
    Mayo v Galway/Donegal
    Monaghan v Tyrone/Sligo

ie Monaghan will play the winners of Tyrone V Sligo etc etc. No if's or buts. Is it more complicated than this?

That is the correct draw, AFAIK..no idea where all the complications are coming from!