Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭rosskeen

Flukey wrote: »
    It can't happen that way. They'll have Galway or Donegal in the quarter Final. Tyrone play Sligo now, which gives the outside chance of a repeat Connacht final, so it can't happen. The quarter finals and semi-finals now are:

Fermanagh/Westmeath v Kerry
    V
    Tyrone/Sligo v Monaghan

Kildare/Cork v Dublin
    V
    Galway/Donegal v Mayo

If Galway and Tyrone win their qualifiers Mayo play Tyrone and Galway play Monaghan. Galway and Mayo have already met in the championship and will be kept apart where possible. If Donegal win they play Mayo.

Should Kildare and Fermanagh happen to win Fermanagh would meet Dublin and Kerry would meet Kidare because Dublin and Kildare have already met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

It can't happen that way. They'll have Galway or Donegal in the quarter Final. Tyrone play Sligo now, which gives the outside chance of a repeat Connacht final, so it can't happen. The quarter finals and semi-finals now are:

Fermanagh/Westmeath v Kerry
    V
    Tyrone/Sligo v Monaghan

Kildare/Cork v Dublin
    V
    Galway/Donegal v Mayo

Great weekend for Kerry in fairness.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I've been going to Sligo games for the last 15 years and I've seen them take a few hammerings but that was easily the grimmest and most depressing day I've ever had following them,I didn't go into it expecting a whole lot but I thought we could give them a good fright and at the very least keep within 6 points, and we end up giving them a f*cking 10 point headstart :mad: and the frustrating thing is we had a bit of success when we played diagonal balls into Kelly and Hughes.

I don't Sligo are as bad as this result suggests, Mayo just got the ideal start and it was effectively as a contest after 5 mins it, hope we can at least put in a performance and at least restore some pride against Tyrone, Mayo were brilliant and that's probably the best team performance I've seen in the flesh, surely this has to be their year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

No disrespect to Donegal but it's no harm to see them beaten today. Only to put an end to the nonsense talk of systems and fitness and tracking back and formulas and all the other nonsense that goes with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

mfceiling wrote: »
    No disrespect to Donegal but it's no harm to see them beaten today. Only to put an end to the nonsense talk of systems and fitness and tracking back and formulas and all the other nonsense that goes with them.

None of which comes from Donegal themselves. Most of it is spouted by the three eejits on RTE, and in nonsense articles in the Indo. They'll only start talking up Monaghan's 'system' now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

that's probably the best team performance I've seen in the flesh, surely this has to be their year.

Mayo have a habit of playing brilliant one day and flopping the next. Putting two good results back to back is often a problem. They were good today, but Sligo didn't test them. They have to do that against the bigger teams and do it in consecutive games. On their day they can beat anyone, but doing it again the next day can be a problem. As good as they were today, there is a lot of work to be done on that defence. A bigger team will punish that defence and won't give their forwards the free ride they got today. So Mayo have a lot of work to do. They can beat any of the teams that are left, but to get Sam they have to beat three of them and in consecutive matches. That won't be easy for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Although Kerry are now looking nailed on for the all ireland final this is a brilliant chance for Monaghan.

Tyrone and Galway are decent but both teams are eminently beatable and I think Kerry are very dicey at the back and I could see Monaghan causing them problems.

If Kerry play Dublin in the All Ireland as it looks like it's probably going to go I'd say Dublin would destroy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

mfceiling wrote: »
    This is really great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,934 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

All teams play a system. Get over it.

Wondering from a neutrals point of view, which game would you see as the better quality, the one-sided Connacht Final with piles of scores or the Ulster Final, with its tightness, tension at the end and one point difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Mayo have a habit of playing brilliant one day and flopping the next.

As I said Sligo had a bit of success going forward, but Mayo cut through us far too easily, they probably won't get through Dublin, Kerry, Monaghan or Donegal that easily but still it's hard not to admire the way they played, they definitely will have a say in where Sam will reside for the Winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Although Kerry are now looking nailed on for the all ireland final this is a brilliant chance for Monaghan.

Tyrone and Galway are decent but both teams are eminently beatable and I think Kerry are very dicey at the back and I could see Monaghan causing them problems.

If Kerry play Dublin in the All Ireland as it looks like it's probably going to go I'd say Dublin would destroy them.

Hope you're wrong and it's a Mayo Kerry final but it's a big call to make saying Dublin will destroy Kerry in such a contest this year.Not a lot between them IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Mayo have a habit of playing brilliant one day and flopping the next.

I don't really remember Mayo flopping too much over the last few years.
    They got narrowly beaten by Kerry last year, Dublin in 2013, and Donegal the year before.

They may not have performed to their potential in the finals but they definitely did not flop!

seligehgit wrote: »
    Hope you're wrong and it's a Mayo Kerry final but it's a big call to make saying Dublin will destroy Kerry in such a contest this year.Not a lot between them IMO.

Kerry's full back line is not great in my opinion.The goals they conceded against Cork are evidence of this.

I personally think that Dublin are miles better than all the other teams and won't get caught out like they did against Donegal last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

I agree totally. The thing with Monaghan is that they have done just about enough in all three of their games without ever really hitting top gear or taking compete control.

Wylie is a superb player and a massive loss naturally but if they can get him back and up their game a few levels they can have a big say in the AI series. The talk inside is that O'Rourke isn't overly happy with the overall performance today and has laid down the law. I have felt all year that they look like a side with loftier ambitions than an Ulster Championship although that is their first port of call. An All Ireland is beyond them imo but they can certainly progress to the last 4 and indeed the final. This is a big chance for them to break their quarter hoodoo at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I'll say something about A O' Shea at number 14 he'll cause Dublin more issues than Murphy or Donnaghy. All things aside I think he'd have Rory O'Carrols number. Not that the other two don't, but he has reasonable form against them.

AOS usually ends up out of the game against Dublin where MDMA breaks it down and Flynn picks up the scraps. In big games at midfield Seamus often comes through imo. With Parsons , S O'Shea and Barry Moran they have three or four decent midfield options. But at 14 there's nothing but the keeper behind the full back and breaking the ball out of his hands is dangerously because more than Donnahy, he can get to the ball that breaks off him himself.

He's some option to have in the forward line, he's good in the air and in front of goal. I thought he was very humble today with some of his scores too.

Mayo have a serious chance this year imo. Him up front is a big tactical change. Parsons could end up being the move that makes the difference for them.

All they need is a full back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Ao'S was awesome today. Maybe just maybe this will be Mayo's year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

They got narrowly beaten by Kerry last year, Dublin in 2013, and Donegal the year before.

They may not have performed to their potential in the finals but they definitely did not flop!

Yes, they haven't had the really big collapses in recent years, that they have had in the past, but they've lost games they should have won and with performances below their previous day out. They have to get a string of those good performances together before they can win Sam. They need three good ones now, and with the second of those likely to be against Dublin and maybe the third against Kerry, they've a big job ahead of them. They can beat Dublin, they can beat Kerry, but can they beat Dublin and Kerry? Before all that, they've a quarter final to win too. It's a tough ask. They can do it, but will they do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I personally think that Dublin are miles better than all the other teams and won't get caught out like they did against Donegal last year.

Don't agree at all DDM.

Its a good championship. Dublin need Fenton to produce othsrwise they dont have the midfiled to get 40% from Kerry or Mayo. Plus Dublin struggle a bit at the back and Kerry and Mayo showed that they have stepped it up there IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭zetecescort

going on the highlights Michael Murphy was anonymous today. is he carrying an injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,934 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

He was strapped up around the knee.

I also think that sometimes Donegal don't play to his strengths. He needs to be full forward and often plays too deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Monaghan vs Mayo in the All Ireland Final.

The heartbreak at Full time from 50% of the crowd would be distressing, whatever way the game goes.

Edit: Cormac Reilly to Referee with Marty Duffy and Martin Sludden as umpires. Just for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭zetecescort

jaysus Sligo making O'Shea look like the Bomber Liston

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Making... .game over since 4.06 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Watching it again there on the Sunday game. The Sligo full back line treated him like a tray of drinks that they were afraid to spill. Utterly hapless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

You could definitely argue that they froze for the first few minutes against Donegal in the AI final.

Kerry's full back line is not great in my opinion.The goals they conceded against Cork are evidence of this.

I'd say their entire defence more so that their full back line. For nearly all Corks goals in the two games, one of their defenders was caught napping and the wrong side of the forward. Doesn't augur well for them. Their forward line and bench has been much vaunted, but their form is not great and it remains to be seen if Cooper is anywhere near his normal self.
    They will need to improve hugely to put it up to the likes of Dublin, but then they do tend to do that once they get to Croke Park.

Dublin look the best of all the teams so far, but they usually do at this stage of the year. They will be pleased enough with what they saw in the other provincial finals. They won't have seen anything that they can't cope with, Mayo being the most impressive of the other top teams so far.

Stoner wrote: »
    Don't agree at all DDM.

Its a good championship. Dublin need Fenton to produce othsrwise they dont have the midfiled to get 40% from Kerry or Mayo. Plus Dublin struggle a bit at the back and Kerry and Mayo showed that they have stepped it up there IMO

The problem is that although Dublin have some slight issues as well at the back I think both Kerry and Mayo have serious deficiencies in defence and Dublins forwards are so good they'll simply outscore them.Dublin have tightened up this year and the full back line all seem to now be holding their positions throughout the game which means they're less likely to get caught on the break compared to what happened in the semi final last year.

Cluxtons kickouts are so good that it compensates somewhat for any deficiencies they may have in midfield.

I agree. They are a very good side, but just came up slightly short. Probably missing one more top class forward that would be the difference between winning the All-Ireland and not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,952 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Monaghan vs Mayo in the All Ireland Final.

The heartbreak at Full time from 50% of the crowd would be distressing, whatever way the game goes.

Edit: Cormac Reilly to Referee with Marty Duffy and Martin Sludden as umpires. Just for the craic.

Why would you heap more pain on good folk from mayo ?? :))