Noticed about a million spanish teens every corner of dublin. just wondering what's h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It's the same in Galway, I never get buses bit theres always huge hoards of them clogging the streets. Do they actually come here to learn english? Because it seems to me all they do is shout at each other in spanish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

12 of them enter a shop. Large debate on potential purchases.

12 of them in the queue, debate continues.

Result = 1 of them buys a mars bar with a credit card.

Great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

MadYaker wrote: »
    It's the same in Galway, I never get buses bit theres always huge hoards of them clogging the streets. Do they actually come here to learn english? Because it seems to me all they do is shout at each other in spanish.

I have one staying with me and it's against the school rules for the host family to speak Spanish to them, so they learn English in the home they're in. I can confirm he's in school Monday-Friday where they are only allowed to speak English and they go out on a school trip on Saturday. They're allowed out on their own from after school to 10PM. Sunday is the only day they're not out from 8:30 - 17:00.

They are a bit of a PITA so really the trick to becoming very tolerant of them is to cram 2 of them in bunk beds in your box room and get nearly a grand and a half for letting Spaniards make themselves toast in the morning and make an extra plate at dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

According to the Spanish I work with, they're the equivalent of our stereotypical 'D4's, rich and spoiled.

Unfortunately that's true of the Italians here too. Zero manners and etiquette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Our one is minted too. I asked him was his house similar in size to ours and he said their second one is :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

tempnam wrote: »
    They're here every summer op.

Hoards of them come over to learn English.

As well as that they generally block footpaths, shops, busses & just cause a general nuisance.

No big deal really.

As someone mentioned before, gangs of Irish tourists head over to Spain every Summer getting pissed up, annoying locals and whatever goes with debauched behaviour. The students coming over here are well tame and less of an eyesore in comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

MadYaker wrote: »

They're kids ffs. It's a bit of a holiday away from home for a weeks or two in the Summer:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'm sure if we exported vast numbers of spoiled, wealthy teenagers to Spain for language lessons every summer, they would do exactly the same thing.

Plus they provide a relativity exotic community service for thousands of horny suburban Dublin teenagers every year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Trond wrote: »
    12 of them enter a shop. Large debate on potential purchases.

12 of them in the queue, debate continues.

Result = 1 of them buys a mars bar with a credit card.

Great craic
    same act with Dublin Bus.
    Two of them joint in a bunch don't have a valid bus pass. And have no coins. Big debate ensues as to who should pay.

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    same act with Dublin Bus.
    Two of them joint in a bunch don't have a valid bus pass. And have no coins. Big debate ensues as to who should pay.

I can only imagine how unsure of myself I would have been in a foreign city at 14 or 15 trying to figure out buses. I'm not surprised they stick together, security in numbers.

They're just kids, probably away from home for the first time. They're not stabbing and glassing people or clogging up the A&E departments with alcohol poisoning, just being noisy and excited and teenage.

I don't mind them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,071 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Jumping on the bandwagon here, but I never understand why they all have to walk side-by-side when wandering down a street (i.e. taking up the whole footpath), so much so that some even walk on the road to maintain the parallel position.

Perhaps they have an inferiority complex if they end up walking behind the other friends?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

mrcheez wrote: »
    Jumping on the bandwagon here, but I never understand why they all have to walk side-by-side when wandering down a street (i.e. taking up the whole footpath), so much so that some even walk on the road to maintain the parallel position.

Perhaps they have an inferiority complex if they end up walking behind the other friends?

You may be overthinking this somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Bless their little hearts but they are a pain sometimes.

I bet if you got a massive group of Irish 15yearolds together and sent them to Spain they'd exhibit the exact same behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    A bit like Irish tourists in Spain getting pissed-up in their GAA jerseys & shouting in English slowly so the Spaniards understand :rolleyes:

FFS they're teenagers on the loose in a different country, they're all over-excited & having the craic, probably their first experience away without parental restrictions.

At least they attempt to learn our language, what harm?

I've already defended them, why did you quote me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,071 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

anncoates wrote: »
    You may be overthinking this somewhat.

I don't know, I spotted 10 of them walking side-by-side today, 3 on a bike lane :)

I've seen it too many times for it to be a coincidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I've already defended them, why did you quote me?
    Because I felt like it, nothing personal :confused: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,772 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Ahh... the annual migration of the lesser spotted Spanish teenager. You really know it's Summer (well, you'd hardly know from the weather) when you see them congregating in small herds of five to ten in their natural habitats of Starbucks and 'Aul Oirish Pubs' around a single soft drink or pint.

Because I felt like it, nothing personal :confused: :rolleyes:

No need for the rolleyes. Or the general dickishness, I was only wondering. And if you felt like it then surely it is personal? You also seem to be describing the Irish people in their 20s in aus with your gaa and pissed up stereotype, people who go to learn Spanish in Spain aren't typically GAA heads from the country who headed there with their mates. The Spanish who come here are usually quite well off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Ah yeah, the yearly thread moaning about Spanish teens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

No need for the rolleyes. Or the general dickishness, I was only wondering. And if you felt like it then surely it is personal? You also seem to be describing the Irish people in their 20s in aus with your gaa and pissed up stereotype, people who go to learn Spanish in Spain aren't typically GAA heads from the country who headed there with their mates. The Spanish who come here are usually quite well off.
    I own property in Spain for the last two decades & live there for two months of the year, I think I'm qualified to know what I'm talking about.

"No need for the rolleyes. Or the general dickishness"...Jeez you're a dainty little petal aren't you, bless :rolleyes: :P :D

What has the wealth of the Spanish who come here got to do with my post...enlighten me dainty one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

When I was a wee teen myself I used to think those spanish girls were the most exotic thing....

Just wanted to share that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Here to learn English and casually shout on buses.
    And shoplift etc
    Yeah - when 10 kids stand blocking the doorway to a shop cos one of them is buying something in the shop i'd call that a nuisance. Especially when the fcukers dont move out of your way to let you in / out & you end up having to barge through them
    I just barge through with a loud MOOOOOVE
    I live beside a secondary school that hosts them and they're pretty young, I'd say 14 or 15 would be the oldest. Maybe in town a few people go over to go to the more adult language schools when they're in their late teens. Have it on good authority that all the local scumbags in my area want to get their hands on them, probably because they're easy targets and I assume this is true throughout Dublin so I doubt they're able to cause too much trouble.
    Here in Carlow several centres host them and they are segregated by age so one school will only have 8-12 while another the far side of town will have 10-14/13-16 and yet another place caters for older teens 16-19.

Some years ago while having a few pints in a pub called Racey Byrne's in town a group of older Spanish teens 16-19yo came in and bought drinks and then went out to the pool table and mixed well enough with the locals till a few of the lads were seen to be holding hands and kissing:eek:

Had to take one with the best English aside and explain that they might get beaten up if they continued, he said someone they had been talking to in Tullys told them that it was a gay bar:pac: From his description I know who it was and just thought what most of the town think of this guy, What a Bastard!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Probably around this time last year I told the same story.
    I was in a clothes shop in Dublin, I was a customer.
    About 34235345 of them gathered around me screaming at me, pointing at me and poking clothes at me and shouting numbers.
    They thought I worked there, god bless the actual staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Typical Irish suburban street. Summer.

*5 people sitting quietly on a bus, bit sad really*

*Driver, loudly* 'AH FOR FCUK SAKE!'

*40 Spanish students gather around the door as the bus stops*

I own property in Spain for the last two decades & live there for two months of the year, I think I'm qualified to know what I'm talking about.

"No need for the rolleyes. Or the general dickishness"...Jeez you're a dainty little petal aren't you, bless :rolleyes: :P :D

What has the wealth of the Spanish who come here got to do with my post...enlighten me dainty one?

So you live in close proximity to a Spanish language school? I'm not talking about people going on the piss in Mallorca, Ireland has no equivalent of that so there's no comparison.

The wealth is to draw contrast with the image you're portraying of Irish guys on a lads holiday. I work in an English teaching school at the moment as an activity leader, I get talking to the Spanish lads, I'd liken them to a D4 stereotype, which interestingly has been said already. Now if you wish to tell me that all the GAA lads you see live in massive houses and come from wealthy backrounds go ahead, but we both know that's not true. So my point is that your comparison of Irish on lads holidays(which is what you're describing) isn't fair, because these Spanish are here to learn English. Compare them to the Irish who go to Salamanca to learn Spanish and you'd be onto something because they're usually all private schooled and from my experience, fairly rude and ignorant of the locals. I think the Irish are scummier on average because of the drink culture, but these Spaniards are no saints and stealing from shops isn't 'having the craic'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Typical Irish suburban street. Summer.

*5 people sitting quietly on a bus, bit sad really*

*Driver, loudly* 'AH FOR FCUK SAKE!'

*40 Spanish students gather around the door as the bus stops*
    THANK YOU TODDY DOODY!!
    more eloquently that I could ever put it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I wonder what "The Bearded Lady" thinks about this,what with herself living in Spain and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Well off people are fantastic when they earn it themselves. The sons and daughters of well of children often not so much. Born into an existence of free unearned privilege hasn't been conducive to good breeding IMHO. I live and work in UCD they are well off but absolutely rob places blind, bump into people without saying sorry and are quite rude.

The minders with them aren't much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Rezident

Why do they all have the same bag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭username2013

They're here every summer op.

Hoards of them come over to learn English.

As well as that they generally block footpaths, shops, busses & just cause a general nuisance.

Bit harsh to say they cause a nuisance. While it's true that quite a few of them congregate in groups together, I generally find them quite respectful and haven't had any hassle with them. Overall I think they contribute in a positive manner to the overall summer vibe in Dublin. IMO.