Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noticed about a million spanish teens every corner of dublin. just wondering what's h

• 15-07-2015 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭

So yeah, on the way home now from town and even in the bus I'm in, there are a lot of spanish teens. Just wondering is there something going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Here to learn English and casually shout on buses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

So yeah, on the way home now from town and even on my bus there are a lot of spanish teens. Just wondering is there something going on
    I heard there's an Armada of them.

There really should be an Inquisition ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

It's the same as every summer, so why do you wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

A million? Do you estimate crowds for Pro Life groups when they are protesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

So yeah, on the way home now from town and even in the bus I'm in, there are a lot of spanish teens. Just wondering is there something going on

Been happening the past 30/40 years they come over to learn English. Kind of like when we send the kids to the gaelteach to learn Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭tempnam

They're here every summer op.

Hoards of them come over to learn English.

As well as that they generally block footpaths, shops, busses & just cause a general nuisance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Did you get on the right bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Been happening the past 30/40 years they come over to learn English. Kind of like when we send the kids to the gaelteach to learn Irish

They never seem to look any older, though.

A bit like the Artane Boys Band years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

tempnam wrote: »

As well as that they generally block footpaths, shops, busses & just cause a general nuisance.

They are not being a nuisance by standing there????
    All I have ever witness them do was stand around and chat to eachother, no big deal.

Imagine them standing on footpaths, and in shops, and being On Buses, the horror!!!!!!!!!!!! Who do they think they are?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I'm no good at judging the size of crowds Ted, but I'd say there's about seventeen million of them out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Heroin, according to Popeye Doyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

They come in every single summer. We act like its a new thing every year.

edit - I was walking into the village last night, and a whole load of spanish students were stuck in the park cos the main gates and stuff were locked. I laughed, and then assisted them in leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

H was the blonde guy from Steps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Town?

Which tow......oh forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

The majority are rude as f*ck in fairness.

TA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

And they throw papers on the ground all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭tempnam

Fudge You wrote: »
    All I have ever witness them do was stand around and chat to eachother, no big deal.

Imagine them standing on footpaths, and in shops, and being On Buses, the horror!!!!!!!!!!!! Who do they think they are?????

Yeah - when 10 kids stand blocking the doorway to a shop cos one of them is buying something in the shop i'd call that a nuisance. Especially when the fcukers dont move out of your way to let you in / out & you end up having to barge through them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

They also are notorious for engaging in shoplifting. This helps our native shoplifters as all eyes are on the Spanish lad while I'm shopping free.

Most return home with little or no English. Some meet a handsome stranger who knows Bono and will be the absent father of their surprise Irish free gift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Thanks OP, there's been a shortage of Spanish student threads in AH this summer. I knew something wasn't quire right but I couldn't put my finger on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

First summer in the big shmoke?

Kids away from home to learn English with their friends, chatter excitedly and explore their new surroundings in groups.

That sums up the Spanish student situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

the_syco wrote: »
    First summer in the big shmoke?

They're not just in Dublin. They've been coming to my town for over 30 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

Lad I knew worked security in a shops in Dublin city centre..

He said the little fecks would come in 10-30 at a time, swarming the place and robbing whatever they could.

It got so bad in one shop he worked in, that they would only let 3-4 of them in at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭MikeSD

It's just the anti-Irish Water protestors recruiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,740 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Its funny that they are learning English but don't talk it on the buses or the street.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Running of the bulls, annual thing in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

don't worry this happens every year

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

If you think the Spanish kids over here are bad, you definitely wouldn't want to see what the Irish 16-21 year olds over in the Spain get up up to at this time of year.

You would choke on your Earl Grey!

If you think the Spanish kids over here are bad, you definitely wouldn't want to see what the Irish 16-21 year olds over in Spain get up up to at this time of year.

You would choke on your Earl Grey!

Its funny that they are learning English but don't talk it on the buses or the street.

I assume you're serious. They're here to get drunk, do some petty thieving and party. Learning English is the excuse they gave the parents back in Madrid. They probably download some Downton Abbey just before they go back in case any awkward questions are asked.
    Fair play to them. Ourselves and the UK set the example -we export our jewel and darlin' criminals to the Costa del Blagga and they only come back when they get in trouble with the Russian mob. A few nuisance teenagers is more than a fair swap.

I assume you're serious. They're here to get drunk, do some petty thieving and party. Learning English is the excuse they gave the parents back in Madrid. They probably download some Downton Abbey just before they go back in case any awkward questions are asked.

No they are not. The majority of them would be under 18, have a full plan of lessons and excursions throughout their stay and are under pretty strict supervision. They have a big Friday night disco near my house in the school where the English lessons are held and I've never witnessed any hint of drunkenness. They are generally very well behaved. Being a nuisance on public transport and clogging up the footpath is their biggest crimes. But you can live with that.

It's expensive for their parents to send them over. Flights, bed and board with an Irish family, costs of the lessons, excursions and their spending money.

^ Are they strictly supervised while they're loitering around Dame St. 24/7 coming up with new ways to bum a fag? And I'm not talking about 13 or 14 year olds here. Haven't seen them but that age isn't on my radar. Ones I'm talking about would be 17 at least and mainly college age.
    I haven't got a problem with them anyway - sign that summer is here.

I went over to Spain to learn Spanish when I was 16 during the summer with a few of the lads, place we went to school was basically just Irish people from about 14-18 so we'd go out with them and majority of them acted like complete scumbags and had no intention of learning Spanish, majority from private schools I might add so not the typical 'scumbag backround'. If the Spanish tried any of that stuff on a night out in Ireland they'd be set upon by our knackers. So while the Spanish are definitely more annoying, from my experience we Irish outdo them on scumbaggery, in the night time at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Dublin is El Gaeltacht for English. We got a grant.

Ronnie Drew taught English in Spain back in the 50s. So any Spaniard pensioner that you see talking in pure Liffey English met the great man.

^ Are they strictly supervised while they're loitering around Dame St. 24/7 coming up with new ways to bum a fag? And I'm not talking about 13 or 14 year olds here. Haven't seen them but that age isn't on my radar. Ones I'm talking about would be 17 at least and mainly college age.
    I haven't got a problem with them anyway - sign that summer is here.

I live beside a secondary school that hosts them and they're pretty young, I'd say 14 or 15 would be the oldest. Maybe in town a few people go over to go to the more adult language schools when they're in their late teens. Have it on good authority that all the local scumbags in my area want to get their hands on them, probably because they're easy targets and I assume this is true throughout Dublin so I doubt they're able to cause too much trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Spanish people are just loud in general. It's just the way of itl. I think for the most part they're fine just really need to learn etiquette as to how to sit on bus seats i.e hogging and taking over the back of buses. That and littering. Par that they tend to keep to themselves and look like their having fun. Too many people dissing on them just for speaking their own language. Get over it.

I live beside a secondary school that hosts them and they're pretty young, I'd say 14 or 15 would be the oldest. Maybe in town a few people go over to go to the more adult language schools when they're in their late teens. Have it on good authority that all the local scumbags in my area want to get their hands on them, probably because they're easy targets and I assume this is true throughout Dublin so I doubt they're able to cause too much trouble.

Yeah, I'm city centre Dublin....we're probably at cross purposes on who we're talking about. I see the young kids passing through like little battalions led by schoolteachers / designated adults - they're not what I'm referring to.
    The crowd around Temple Bar / Dame St / Grafton St are all late teens and most would certainly be served alcohol without question in a pub. That's a litmus test for age ... not a slur on their intake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I operate from UCD where they seem to be learning English and bumping into people WHILE WALKING WITHOUT LOOKING :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,216 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was at the cinema a couple of Summers ago and their was a group of Spannish students sitting behind me.
    For some reason they clapped if somebody kissed or at the end of a good scene and they all gave a big applause at the end of the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

I think I have heard a few in the train as well they were talking about some pop group, forgot the name.. so I don't think they are older than 14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Ah they're grand coming over here for a bit of an adventure. The shouting on the bus needs to stop though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I operate from UCD where they seem to be learning English and bumping into people WHILE WALKING WITHOUT LOOKING :mad:

They are mostly Italian on UCD campus I think. Loads of them around and when in the shops behaving like magpies. You can actually watch them shop-lift sweets and drinks when in Centra/Student shop or coffee shops. Bold as brass.

Apart from that they are very loud and are causing headaches for those staff who were hoping to have some quiet time to write up research or prepare new lectures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Valetta wrote: »
    They never seem to look any older, though.

A bit like the Artane Boys Band years ago.

that's because it's not the same ones every year

I worked in a pub in Dublin city centre years back, a crowd of them would come in, make a fuss, all sit down, start smoking, then one would pluck up the courage to order a half pint, be told no, then they'd all make a fuss and leave again ..... The cycle continued all summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Thread is missing the "They share 1 pint with the lot of them"

So here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Babble out loud, walk out in the middle of the road infront of on coming traffic and just act the general maggot....

Irish summer = Spanish students

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

And spending money, how dare they.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Ah they're grand coming over here for a bit of an adventure. The shouting on the bus needs to stop though.

I was in a restaurant recently where the neighbouring table was 15 Spanish people. By Irish standards they shout buts it's just conversation to them I suppose. What was interesting is that more than one conversation seemed to be going on at once across the table. I mean on one side of the table a guy was talking to his friend on the other, and his neighbour was talking to her friend at the other end at the same time. Neither conversation paused for the other.

I'd be lying if I said that I am delighted when 20 Spanish students get on my dart carriage but they are harmless, if loud. If 20 of our local youth got on a carriage I'd feel a bit more uncomfortable.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Well in fairness they do tend to travel in large groups and just stop in the middle of a busy footpath and chat. They take up the entire width of it and seem oblivious to the fact that there is other human traffic trying to get past them.