Young Teenager Losing Faith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭am946745

kippy wrote: »
    I wasn't going to respond to your comment to this however I was responding to someone who insinuated that all those that don't believe in god are somehow evil/on the dark side etc etc.
    I think it's only fair to ask for clarification on this type of comment as it paints all non believers with the same rather negative brush.

I dont think I jumped down anyones neck, indeed I gave the OP the type of advice I'd like to have been given at that age as well.

I didn't set out for a debate on faith here. I gave advice for a question that was asked as a Christian to someone who came looking for Christian advice in a Christian forum.

Why the need for someone who does not believe to start butting into a conversation about THEIR views when they WERE not asked.

Simply bad manners.

To be fair the op titled this thread "Young Teenager Losing Faith", I don't think the op is "looking for God", the op is already a believer but he's possibly questioning his faith so I think both believers and non believers have a say here in the interest of balance.

He posted in the Christian Forum.. If he had posted in the Atheist forum.. I would not have replied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭kippy

am946745 wrote: »
    I didn't set out for a debate on faith here. I gave advice for a question that was asked as a Christian to someone who came looking for Christian advice in a Christian forum.

Why the need for someone who does not believe to start butting into a conversation about THEIR views when they WERE not asked.

Simply bad manners.

To be honest, if someone says this in ANY forum:
    "When I was young I was pretty much in the dark side... Drugs, sex, party party party.. and it never made me happy. It all ends and you wait for your next fix or experience. That was the dark side for me, it was a life without meaning or purpose.
    "

it will get responses similar to my own.

The OP opened the floor to responses on a public forum.
    I responded to post you made and gave the OP some advice.

And by the way, I was a teenager once, in a similar position to the OP, so I don't see how my advice is any less valuable than anyone elses.

Apologies for offending anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

He posted in the Christian Forum.. If he had posted in the Atheist forum.. I would not have replied.

There's plenty of believers posting regularly on the atheist forum expressing their views and beliefs and nobody seems to have a problem with that. What's with the calls for censorship and outrage over contrary views on the Christian forum?

Sorry for non believers appreciate your comments but i disagree with every single post!

I'd be delighted to join a christian youth group, i love mixing with people and i do get on well.
    Cork :) and not a hope joining a new church if you meant protestant no, going to remain in my own parish :)

Since the devils minions have hijacked your thread, I suggest to look for advice elsewhere. This forum anyWay isn't the best place for advice. Anonymous posters.

There are lots of youth groups in Ireland, I will PM you some.

Next year is world youth day in Krakow, there are over a million young people going. I suggest you touch base with the irish group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Since the devils minions have hijacked your thread, I suggest to look for advice elsewhere. This forum anyWay isn't the best place for advice. Anonymous posters.

Next year is world youth day in Krakow, there are over a million young people going. I suggest you touch base with the irish group.

Devils minions? Really?? There is no need for that kind of comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I believe i'm kind of losing my connection with God, my family is from a strong christian background and seemed to see my interest and focus seems to be disappearing especially during mass. I'm trying to find a resource on the web to spark my interest with Jesus again, can anyone recommend me a website aimed for teens please and God bless you!

Hey LuckyD,

Youth 2000 should still run prayer meetings in Cork City every week - but maybe not during the Summer. There will be retreats hosted by Y2k and I would strongly recommend you to go to one of these. They're not expensive but can be good craic and a great way to experience your faith with other people your own age (some nice women at them too!). Websites are great but nothing beats human interaction! The website here has some reading material that you may find useful, so scout around.
    http://youth2000.ie/prayer-groups/munster/

Cork city has more meetings now than when I was there, so you should ring a few numbers (not tonight) and try each of the meetings. Not everyone attends on the same night but try them at least. The Summer festival in Knock is worth going to and you'll make loads of new friends. It will help you to experience your faith in new dimensions.

A good book I'd recommend would be John Wooley "I am with you" (young people's edition).

Try not pay too much attention to those who try to discourage you from having faith. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭9de5q7tsr8u2im

Thanks appreciate it a lot will defintely take a look at it and very interested thanks and God bless you !

eviltwin wrote: »
    Devils minions? Really?? There is no need for that kind of comment.

Ye he's really not the sort of person people should be taking advice off, he's expressed outrage and demanization of those expressing contrary views, I'd advice the op to be careful if I'm honest, don't give him personal details if you're going to PM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

that's well creepy

Hey LuckyD,

Youth 2000 should still run prayer meetings in Cork City every week - but maybe not during the Summer. There will be retreats hosted by Y2k and I would strongly recommend you to go to one of these. They're not expensive but can be good craic and a great way to experience your faith with other people your own age (some nice women at them too!). Websites are great but nothing beats human interaction! The website here has some reading material that you may find useful, so scout around.
    http://youth2000.ie/prayer-groups/munster/

Cork city has more meetings now than when I was there, so you should ring a few numbers (not tonight) and try each of the meetings. Not everyone attends on the same night but try them at least. The Summer festival in Knock is worth going to and you'll make loads of new friends. It will help you to experience your faith in new dimensions.

A good book I'd recommend would be John Wooley "I am with you" (young people's edition).

Try not pay too much attention to those who try to discourage you from having faith. :rolleyes:

Thanks appreciate this so much, thanks a lot for taking your time and informing me of these wonderful events, appealed to me a lot, will take a look at it for sure!!
    Thank you!!

Thanks appreciate it a lot will defintely take a look at it and very interested thanks and God bless you !

Listen I know you don't agree with any of my views and that's fine but just be careful if you're going to PM any posters on here, don't give them your personal details, that's all.

Thanks appreciate this so much, thanks a lot for taking your time and informing me of these wonderful events, appealed to me a lot, will take a look at it for sure!!
    Thank you!!

Your welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Thank you!!

No problemo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭hinault

I believe i'm kind of losing my connection with God, my family is from a strong christian background and seemed to see my interest and focus seems to be disappearing especially during mass. I'm trying to find a resource on the web to spark my interest with Jesus again, can anyone recommend me a website aimed for teens please and God bless you!

There are lot of means that one could use to assist one's efforts to try to kindle or rekindle, faith.

Faith can be inspired by reason.
    Faith can be inspired by the heart.
    Faith can be inspired by example.

Depending on the person, one or some or all, of the above can help rekindle
    one's faith.

I guess it depends too on the circumstances which cause you to consistently doubt Jesus, which need to be examined as well.

There are plenty of web based resources that you can use to inspire your faith.

There are several excellent web based ministries such as
    http://www.markmallett.com/blog/

You could look at reading more traditional based web ministries such as
    The Remnant, HarvestingthefruitofVaticanII.

On Youtube you can view the full movie The Passion of the Christ, to help you meditate in a tangible way upon the suffering of Jesus Christ and to witness the triumph of Life over Death.

Saint Paul of the Cross teaches that doubt and faith are linked. Saint Paul says we must pray if doubt starts to take hold.

• Moderators Posts: 52,294 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

MOD NOTE

Less of those sort of insulting comments please.
    gctest50 wrote: »
    that's well creepy
    Please keep to the topic.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭homer911

Thank you!!

Best Wishes OP, I know nothing of the Christian community in Cork but its great that other posters here do. Do let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Rezident

Well forget about Mass for starters, I went to Mass for 14 years and never felt the presence of God there once. Now the Pentecostals etc. that'll get your juices flowing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Rezident wrote: »
    Well forget about Mass for starters, I went to Mass for 14 years and never felt the presence of God there once. Now the Pentecostals etc. that'll get your juices flowing!

Each to their own. I get the impression that the OP wishes to stay within the RC faith for the moment. Like you, I would encourage him or her to explore other Christian faiths but he or she may not be at the point on their Christian journey, right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Berserker wrote: »
    Each to their own. I get the impression that the OP wishes to stay within the RC faith for the moment. Like you, I would encourage him or her to explore other Christian faiths but he or she may not be at the point on their Christian journey, right now.

IMO it shouldn't be about the OP's "wishes", rather what the OP believes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

Hello OP!

I was religious myself until about a year and a half ago. I'd even get into heated discussions with friends on the matter when they disregarded my faith.

The reason I lost my own faith wouldn't be applicable to most so no point putting it up. However, if you're an ardent believer just knocked a little off the righteous path I think the best thing to do would be to talk to your priest/ minister/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Losing your faith? Newsflash: you never had it, until someone told you you did.

You're back to square one - that is the greatest miracle of all - adopt reason and logic as your faith is my advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Rezident wrote: »
    I have to agree. If the RC church isn't doing anything for him, he needs to see where will work..but it does depend on the pentecostal church

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

I have to agree. If the RC church isn't doing anything for him, he needs to see where will work..but it does depend on the pentecostal church

They can be quite overwhelming for some people. I know Christians who found the uniqueness of Pentecostal church services too much to handle.
    K4t wrote: »

You're back to square one - that is the greatest miracle of all - adopt reason and logic as your faith is my advice.

Why do non-Christians feel the need to "contribute" to a thread in which a young Christian is looking for advice from fellow Christians?

• Moderators Posts: 52,294 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

K4t wrote: »

MOD NOTE

The OP has opened this thread to find literature to re-kindle their faith and has asked posters to suggest some reading material. Please respect that request.

Thanks for your attention.

If you can read this, you're too close!

Berserker wrote: »
    Why do non-Christians feel the need to "contribute" to a thread in which a young Christian is looking for advice from fellow Christians?
    The answer is in your post. The poster is not a young Christian, he/she is a young person.
    SW wrote: »
    MOD NOTE

The OP has opened this thread to find literature to re-kindle their faith and has asked posters to suggest some reading material. Please respect that request.

Thanks for your attention.
    Silly me to think constructive advice and a differing view point would be welcome on a discussion forum, albeit a christianity one.

I'm a young teen and a proud christian.

Please be advised i will not take any advice from non christians on this thread as i don't feel it has anything positive towards me although i do appreciate your views!

It's just my life isn't going the way it wants to be and i believe theres a holy spirit out there that can help me during these hard times!

I'm a young teen and a proud christian.

Please be advised i will not take any advice from non christians on this thread as i don't feel it has anything positive towards me although i do appreciate your views!

It's just my life isn't going the way it wants to be and i believe theres a holy spirit out there that can help me during these hard times!
    Fair enough, can't say I didn't try. Remember it's good to have an open mind though, and hopefully some day you'll realise that it's not the holy spirit that will guide you through the difficult times, but rather the human one. Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭j80ezgvc3p92xu

Hi Lucky Dude,

I'd just like to say you are already miles ahead of your peers. It is truly admirable to see a young person who is not content on how things are and wants to get closer to God. Seek and you shall find!

First off, I am in a similar age group to yourself. I will give you my take on the situation, what works for me, but I realise that it might not work for everyone. We all work in different ways and variety is the flavour of life.

I would suggest that as a Catholic you should not try different denominations. You are exactly where you need to be.

I often wonder about myself, how come, despite everything God has done and continues to do for me I remain so lukewarm, bearing so little fruit. I imagine God as he is depicted on the Sistine Chapel, his arm outstretched, desperately trying to save man from his own stupidity and weakness. In return, man's arm is not even fully outstretched in a feeble attempt. This reminds me of myself. I get mad with myself and say no more. Little by little, things change. Over time, the changes become noticeable.

What is to be done then?

1)Pray to the Holy Spirit for wisdom and strength - you will recieve copiously.
    2)Submit to God - pray that the Lord God's Will be done, not your own - you will become truly surprised at how much your life will change
    3)Stamp out sin with all viciousness - anything you feel is preventing you from living your life as God intended has got to go. This may be tough, but it needs to be done. You will become a happier person and better Christian.
    5)Read the Bible - try to read a bit everyday. Meditate on what God is trying to tell you.
    6)Read about the lives of the saints - if this does not inspire you and set fervor in your heart, nothing will...

I would also recommend the Rosary as a brilliant prayer. But to be honest, there is just too many to list in the Catholic tradition (:

And finally, don't give up. You will become a better Christian and God will draw you to Himself if you work hard and remain patient.

"Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD." Psalm 27:14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭hinault

Hi Lucky Dude,

I'd just like to say you are already miles ahead of your peers. It is truly admirable to see a young person who is not content on how things are and wants to get closer to God. Seek and you shall find!

First off, I am in a similar age group to yourself. I will give you my take on the situation, what works for me, but I realise that it might not work for everyone. We all work in different ways and variety is the flavour of life.

I would suggest that as a Catholic you should not try different denominations. You are exactly where you need to be.

I often wonder about myself, how come, despite everything God has done and continues to do for me I remain so lukewarm, bearing so little fruit. I imagine God as he is depicted on the Sistine Chapel, his arm outstretched, desperately trying to save man from his own stupidity and weakness. In return, man's arm is not even fully outstretched in a feeble attempt. This reminds me of myself. I get mad with myself and say no more. Little by little, things change. Over time, the changes become noticeable.

What is to be done then?

1)Pray to the Holy Spirit for wisdom and strength - you will recieve copiously.
    2)Submit to God - pray that the Lord God's Will be done, not your own - you will become truly surprised at how much your life will change
    3)Stamp out sin with all viciousness - anything you feel is preventing you from living your life as God intended has got to go. This may be tough, but it needs to be done. You will become a happier person and better Christian.
    5)Read the Bible - try to read a bit everyday. Meditate on what God is trying to tell you.
    6)Read about the lives of the saints - if this does not inspire you and set fervor in your heart, nothing will...

I would also recommend the Rosary as a brilliant prayer. But to be honest, there is just too many to list in the Catholic tradition (:

And finally, don't give up. You will become a better Christian and God will draw you to Himself if you work hard and remain patient.

"Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD." Psalm 27:14

Excellent advice.

I'd just to reiterate a couple of points.

We all prefer to learn in different ways. Some folk like to learn by reading. Others like to learn through example. My advice is to try to discern which method of learning best suits you in order to help you grow in faith.

I know people who's faith grew through the study of theology and philosophy. The intellectual evidence helped them deepen their understanding and their faith.

But I know other people who's faith grew through working with Catholic charities.
    They joined a charity to do good works. And when the witnessed the material benefit to those who received the charity of their works, this helped those volunteers to deepen their own faith in God.

As a result both sets of people - through very different routes - grew in their faith.

And you'r right it is great that the OP has an awareness that his/her faith is sliding a bit and that they're conscientious enough to try to address this.

If it is any consolation, from time to time, we all find ourselves in the desert of doubt. Something may happen which leads us to question or to start to second guess.

The important thing is that we recognise this and we take stock and to try to seek a path back to where our faith is once again restored.:)