Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young Teenager Losing Faith

• 14-07-2015 3:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭

I believe i'm kind of losing my connection with God, my family is from a strong christian background and seemed to see my interest and focus seems to be disappearing especially during mass. I'm trying to find a resource on the web to spark my interest with Jesus again, can anyone recommend me a website aimed for teens please and God bless you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭am946745

Read Fr. Donald Calloway's book or hear about his struggles when he was young.
    https://youtu.be/bE_0-D2F8Wc?t=25s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

You could come over to the dark side and stop believing in God like I did when I was in my mid teens. Basically everything stays the same except you don't get the feeling that someone is always watching and judging you.

When I was young I was pretty much in the dark side... Drugs, sex, party party party.. and it never made me happy. It all ends and you wait for your next fix or experience. That was the dark side for me, it was a life without meaning or purpose.

For me when my uncle bought me to Lough derg it change me and I have always found faith in Christ meaningful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

am946745 wrote:
    When I was young I was pretty much in the dark side... Drugs, sex, party party party.. and it never made me happy. It all ends and you wait for your next fix or experience. That was the dark side for me, it was a life without meaning or purpose.

It's not one or the other!!!

They are various degrees of dark side and most of them don't include drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

am946745 wrote: »

For me when my uncle bought me to Lough derg it change me and I have always found faith in Christ meaningful.
    What exactly is the dark side and why do you assume that those that don't believe in any God are on it?
    I'm not a believer. I think I'm pretty normal.
    OP think for yourself. If you really want to reconnect with the faith you have been brought up with then you will. If things move a different direction the so be it but don't underestimate yourself enough to believe you need to have a faith to have a happy, healthy and fulfiling life.

Ye I'm not sure what any of those things have to do with not believing in God but sure whatever gets you through your day.

Ps as a non believer I find meaning in my family, my friends, my love of sport and general curiosity about all sorts of things, but especially about the universe. Meaning comes from everywhere you see, God doesn't have a monopoly on it.

Finally, I love drink, parties and sex, they all make me very happy :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

I love this idea that the religious have that one must either be a sex and drugged crazed lunatic or a nice religious believer.

It also saddens me that people also think that life can have no meaning or purpose (if it has to have one) simply because one does not believe in a supernatural being.

I don't believe in gods. I am not a sex or drugged crazed lunatic, though I must admit to being reasonably fond of a bit of sex. With respect to meaning or purpose... My purpose is simple, to try to leave the world a little better than I found it, and to equip my children with the tools they need to get on in their lives and instil in them the desire to try to leave the world a little better than they found it. Meaning? What does that even mean?

To the OP, perhaps this crisis of belief you are having is simply your sub-conscious trying to tell you that something is not quite right with religion. Is there a reason why you feel you have to spark up your interest and belief? I appreciate that your faith might be something you value and cherish, as clearly your family do, but perhaps it is time you have a look at the dark side. You don't have to behave in a particular way, there is no rules that you have to take drugs, become an alcoholic or a sex maniac. It is perfectly possible not to believe in gods and still be a nice person, millions do it every day.

I wish you all the best in whatever you decide, but please don't just assume to have to believe out of habit, because it is all you know, or because your family does.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭homer911

Do you, or have you attended, any Christian Youth Groups?

Are there any/many people of your age in your local church/parish?

Have you any/many friends with an interest in the Christian life?

A lack of connection with God for young people is often linked to lack of Christian social life and sense of belonging.

What part of the country are you living in? Are you open to attending a different church?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Perhaps the OP might move the power of snark that is prominent in the current Zeitgest and look at both the historical roots of Catholicism to which they are heir to and the lighter and joyful aspects : eg "The Bad Catholic's Guide to Good Living"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

I was always struck by something my mother said to me once. She could not understand how it is that I do not steal from people as I do not believe in a god. It seems her only reason to be nice to people is that she's afraid of what her "god" might do to her if she isn't. It's scary how prejudiced religous people can be - if you don't share my beliefs you must be evil.

It's okay, you can lose your beliefs, make up your own beliefs, or whatever, nothing bad will happen to you. Except perhaps the people who still "believe" might now decide you're evil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭9de5q7tsr8u2im

homer911 wrote: »
    Do you, or have you attended, any Christian Youth Groups?

Are there any/many people of your age in your local church/parish?

Have you any/many friends with an interest in the Christian life?

A lack of connection with God for young people is often linked to lack of Christian social life and sense of belonging.

What part of the country are you living in? Are you open to attending a different church?
    Sorry for non believers appreciate your comments but i disagree with every single post!

I'd be delighted to join a christian youth group, i love mixing with people and i do get on well.
    Cork :) and not a hope joining a new church if you meant protestant no, going to remain in my own parish :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭tastyt

OP, live your life, have experiences, follow what you want to follow.

All you have to do is be a good person, treat people with respect and kindness and don't hurt people. The only guilt you should ever have is if you hurt somebody not a guilt of not living up to some old teachings in a human written book.

Be a good person and you'll be happy and you'll make other people happy. If there is a God, then that will be more than good enough for him.

Sorry for non believers appreciate your comments but i disagree with every single post!
    Not quite sure what there was to disagree with... But hey, it's your life, whatever makes you happy and helps you get up in the morning.

MrP

Manach wrote: »
    Perhaps the OP might move the power of snark that is prominent in the current Zeitgest and look at both the historical roots of Catholicism to which they are heir to and the lighter and joyful aspects : eg "The Bad Catholic's Guide to Good Living"

Cant believe you're a moderator here in this section a total disrespect towards my beliefs, i was just looking for help and you totally ignore and suggest something irrelevant that i should take a look at? Shame on you...
    I found your post very offensive btw

• Moderators Posts: 51,917 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

MOD NOTE

I would remind posters this is the Christianity forum.

The OP has made a request for Christian websites aimed at teenagers so they can re-kindle their interest in Jesus.

It would be appreciated if posters would respect that request and refrain from suggesting the OP try atheism.

If you can read this, you're too close!

SW wrote: »
    MOD NOTE

It would be appreciated if posters would respect that request and refrain from suggesting the OP try atheism.

But it tastes so goood. :D

MrP

Ok fair enough but don't dismiss the possibility that atheists can have meaning in life, take that from me who used to be a believer till I was about 15. I've lived both sides and I have to say I find life far more interesting and meaningful as a non believer.

But my genuine advice to you is to make your own mind up, don't be influenced by family or friends. Do your own research, weigh up all the arguments without prejudice and come to your own conclusion, if after that you're still satisfied that their is a God then that's perfectly ok, that's your right.

Cant believe you're a moderator here in this section a total disrespect towards my beliefs, i was just looking for help and you totally ignore and suggest something irrelevant that i should take a look at? Shame on you...

Manach isn't a mod of the Christianity forum.

In addition, I suggest you look beyond the title of the book to see it is actually a helpful suggestion.

MOD NOTE

The OP has made a request for Christian websites aimed at teenagers so they can re-kindle their interest in Jesus.

Just what i needed thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

OP, it happened to me when I was younger. I was a very committed Catholic, but through learning about myself and the world I lost my faith from when I was about fourteen. When I turned twenty, I became interested in religion again, but I now go to Methodist services instead of Catholic ones. Sometimes the denomination you belong to may not be the right one for you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

My apologies for any offence inadvertently caused. My comment could have been better construed and were not directed to you. The book in question was actually recommended by the Catholic channel EWTN as an excellent and humourous way to celebrate the Catholic faith & I enjoyed reading it. On a side note, moderators in one forum have no moderator effect in other forums such as this.

MOD NOTE

I've always found this interesting, why is it that the religious are generally welcome for debate on the atheist forum yet non believers are told to be silent very early on in many religious threads?

Manach wrote: »
    My apologies for any offence inadvertently caused. My comment could have been better construed and were not directed to you. The book in question was actually recommended by the Catholic channel EWTN as an excellent and humourous way to celebrate the Catholic faith & I enjoyed reading it. On a side note, moderators in one forum have no moderator effect in other forums such as this.

You had nothing to apologise for, I detest people looking for reasons to be offended, the OP owes you an apology if anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

OP, there is an excellent website and podcast series I found in my Catholic days called Busted Halo. Very American, but aimed at younger Catholics and seekers and not at all pushy. You might enjoy it.

I'd second what another poster said about exploring other expressions of Christianity as well, we can all learn from each other. Don't be afraid to ask questions and explore! I think most of us have experienced what you're feeling at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

My own two cents is not to try and force it. Take some time out, be patient with yourself and see what happens. I think you're at a stage where it's normal to question things, it's okay to do that. You'll find the right path in life for you. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 throwaway15

Hi OP, I was in the same position as you when I was 19. I'm 21 now. All my family are practicing catholics. What happened completely changed my life. I began to ask myself did god really exist, and was he listening to my prayers. I spent a number of months thinking deeply about the question, and it was important to me that I had an open mind. What I found was that I accumulated about 5 critical questions that I could not find a convincing response to. Not from my family, friends, or the internet. The funny thing is that the one question that really triggered my months of questioning, is probably not one that you would expect is all that significant. The question was this: if an all powerful god exists, one which has created the universe and everything in it, then why does that god not make himself/herself/itself known to us. Think about it. How many millions of people in the world like me choose not to believe because they are not convinced. Why does god not appear in the sky right now for all on earth to see. Is that an unfair or silly question to ask ? Surely this would be a simple task for god ? Why leave us to rely on a several thousand year old book. Millions of people are now destined for hell, many of whom will go there simply for not believing in god. God could save all these people. But doesn't. Think of all the followers that god would obtain in an instant. Nobody would question what could be seen with one's own eyes. This one question is what ended my belief in god completely. Several months later I accepted that I was no longer convinced, and that I would no longer go to church on a sunday. The last time I prayed I said something along the lines of "forgive me for not believing in you, but you have not given me enough evidence to believe you". A strange guilt stayed with me for a month or two later until I began to finally forget my old way of living, and move on with my life. Since that stage in my life two years ago, I have not once regretted the decision not to believe in god. I have not found, in the countless number of hours I've spent further pondering these questions on the existence of god, one argument that has made me rethink my decision. I can say that I have only become more convinced over time. Finally, I have a lovely sleep in every sunday morning, and I no longer feel guilty about it !

Can I say that I hope this post won't be removed. I think that it is relevant to topic. I only want the OP to hear my story. I'm not much older than the OP. I think it is healthy to allow them to hear other peoples perspectives, and then decide for themselves. Thanks.

kippy wrote: »
    What exactly is the dark side and why do you assume that those that don't believe in any God are on it?
    I'm not a believer. I think I'm pretty normal.
    OP think for yourself. If you really want to reconnect with the faith you have been brought up with then you will. If things move a different direction the so be it but don't underestimate yourself enough to believe you need to have a faith to have a happy, healthy and fulfiling life.

If you want to have an Atheist rant then go to that forum.

If someone comes looking for God in the Christianity forum they why jump down then necks or the advice given here.

I wasn't going to respond to your comment to this however I was responding to someone who insinuated that all those that don't believe in god are somehow evil/on the dark side etc etc.
    I think it's only fair to ask for clarification on this type of comment as it paints all non believers with the same rather negative brush.

I dont think I jumped down anyones neck, indeed I gave the OP the type of advice I'd like to have been given at that age as well.

The question was this: if an all powerful god exists, one which has created the universe and everything in it, then why does that god not make himself/herself/itself known to us.

He did, in the more real and human way possible. You see not matter how many times show shows himself there are always people who don't believe. When Christ raised the dead (dead that were already decaying) there were people who would not believe.

He gave you free will to find him, but he did make himself known.

To be fair the op titled this thread "Young Teenager Losing Faith", I don't think the op is "looking for God", the op is already a believer but he's possibly questioning his faith so I think both believers and non believers have a say here in the interest of balance.

kippy wrote: »
    I wasn't going to respond to your comment to this however I was responding to someone who insinuated that all those that don't believe in god are somehow evil/on the dark side etc etc.
    I think it's only fair to ask for clarification on this type of comment as it paints all non believers with the same rather negative brush.

I dont think I jumped down anyones neck, indeed I gave the OP the type of advice I'd like to have been given at that age as well.

I didn't set out for a debate on faith here. I gave advice for a question that was asked as a Christian to someone who came looking for Christian advice in a Christian forum.

Why the need for someone who does not believe to start butting into a conversation about THEIR views when they WERE not asked.

Simply bad manners.

To be fair the op titled this thread "Young Teenager Losing Faith", I don't think the op is "looking for God", the op is already a believer but he's possibly questioning his faith so I think both believers and non believers have a say here in the interest of balance.

He posted in the Christian Forum.. If he had posted in the Atheist forum.. I would not have replied.

I didn't set out for a debate on faith here. I gave advice for a question that was asked as a Christian to someone who came looking for Christian advice in a Christian forum.

Why the need for someone who does not believe to start butting into a conversation about THEIR views when they WERE not asked.

Simply bad manners.

To be honest, if someone says this in ANY forum:
    "When I was young I was pretty much in the dark side... Drugs, sex, party party party.. and it never made me happy. It all ends and you wait for your next fix or experience. That was the dark side for me, it was a life without meaning or purpose.
    "

it will get responses similar to my own.

The OP opened the floor to responses on a public forum.
    I responded to post you made and gave the OP some advice.

And by the way, I was a teenager once, in a similar position to the OP, so I don't see how my advice is any less valuable than anyone elses.

Apologies for offending anyone.

He posted in the Christian Forum.. If he had posted in the Atheist forum.. I would not have replied.

There's plenty of believers posting regularly on the atheist forum expressing their views and beliefs and nobody seems to have a problem with that. What's with the calls for censorship and outrage over contrary views on the Christian forum?

I'd be delighted to join a christian youth group, i love mixing with people and i do get on well.
    Cork :) and not a hope joining a new church if you meant protestant no, going to remain in my own parish :)

Since the devils minions have hijacked your thread, I suggest to look for advice elsewhere. This forum anyWay isn't the best place for advice. Anonymous posters.

There are lots of youth groups in Ireland, I will PM you some.

Next year is world youth day in Krakow, there are over a million young people going. I suggest you touch base with the irish group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Since the devils minions have hijacked your thread, I suggest to look for advice elsewhere. This forum anyWay isn't the best place for advice. Anonymous posters.

Next year is world youth day in Krakow, there are over a million young people going. I suggest you touch base with the irish group.

Devils minions? Really?? There is no need for that kind of comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I believe i'm kind of losing my connection with God, my family is from a strong christian background and seemed to see my interest and focus seems to be disappearing especially during mass. I'm trying to find a resource on the web to spark my interest with Jesus again, can anyone recommend me a website aimed for teens please and God bless you!

Hey LuckyD,

Youth 2000 should still run prayer meetings in Cork City every week - but maybe not during the Summer. There will be retreats hosted by Y2k and I would strongly recommend you to go to one of these. They're not expensive but can be good craic and a great way to experience your faith with other people your own age (some nice women at them too!). Websites are great but nothing beats human interaction! The website here has some reading material that you may find useful, so scout around.
    http://youth2000.ie/prayer-groups/munster/

Cork city has more meetings now than when I was there, so you should ring a few numbers (not tonight) and try each of the meetings. Not everyone attends on the same night but try them at least. The Summer festival in Knock is worth going to and you'll make loads of new friends. It will help you to experience your faith in new dimensions.

A good book I'd recommend would be John Wooley "I am with you" (young people's edition).

Try not pay too much attention to those who try to discourage you from having faith. :rolleyes:

Thanks appreciate it a lot will defintely take a look at it and very interested thanks and God bless you !

eviltwin wrote: »
    Devils minions? Really?? There is no need for that kind of comment.

Ye he's really not the sort of person people should be taking advice off, he's expressed outrage and demanization of those expressing contrary views, I'd advice the op to be careful if I'm honest, don't give him personal details if you're going to PM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

that's well creepy

Hey LuckyD,

Youth 2000 should still run prayer meetings in Cork City every week - but maybe not during the Summer. There will be retreats hosted by Y2k and I would strongly recommend you to go to one of these. They're not expensive but can be good craic and a great way to experience your faith with other people your own age (some nice women at them too!). Websites are great but nothing beats human interaction! The website here has some reading material that you may find useful, so scout around.
    http://youth2000.ie/prayer-groups/munster/

Cork city has more meetings now than when I was there, so you should ring a few numbers (not tonight) and try each of the meetings. Not everyone attends on the same night but try them at least. The Summer festival in Knock is worth going to and you'll make loads of new friends. It will help you to experience your faith in new dimensions.

A good book I'd recommend would be John Wooley "I am with you" (young people's edition).

Try not pay too much attention to those who try to discourage you from having faith. :rolleyes:

Thanks appreciate this so much, thanks a lot for taking your time and informing me of these wonderful events, appealed to me a lot, will take a look at it for sure!!
    Thank you!!

Thanks appreciate it a lot will defintely take a look at it and very interested thanks and God bless you !

Listen I know you don't agree with any of my views and that's fine but just be careful if you're going to PM any posters on here, don't give them your personal details, that's all.

Thanks appreciate this so much, thanks a lot for taking your time and informing me of these wonderful events, appealed to me a lot, will take a look at it for sure!!
    Thank you!!

Your welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Thank you!!

No problemo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

There are lot of means that one could use to assist one's efforts to try to kindle or rekindle, faith.

Faith can be inspired by reason.
    Faith can be inspired by the heart.
    Faith can be inspired by example.

Depending on the person, one or some or all, of the above can help rekindle
    one's faith.

I guess it depends too on the circumstances which cause you to consistently doubt Jesus, which need to be examined as well.

There are plenty of web based resources that you can use to inspire your faith.

There are several excellent web based ministries such as
    http://www.markmallett.com/blog/

You could look at reading more traditional based web ministries such as
    The Remnant, HarvestingthefruitofVaticanII.

On Youtube you can view the full movie The Passion of the Christ, to help you meditate in a tangible way upon the suffering of Jesus Christ and to witness the triumph of Life over Death.

Saint Paul of the Cross teaches that doubt and faith are linked. Saint Paul says we must pray if doubt starts to take hold.

MOD NOTE

Less of those sort of insulting comments please.
    gctest50 wrote: »
    that's well creepy
    Please keep to the topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭homer911

Thank you!!

Best Wishes OP, I know nothing of the Christian community in Cork but its great that other posters here do. Do let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Rezident

Well forget about Mass for starters, I went to Mass for 14 years and never felt the presence of God there once. Now the Pentecostals etc. that'll get your juices flowing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Rezident wrote: »
    Well forget about Mass for starters, I went to Mass for 14 years and never felt the presence of God there once. Now the Pentecostals etc. that'll get your juices flowing!

Each to their own. I get the impression that the OP wishes to stay within the RC faith for the moment. Like you, I would encourage him or her to explore other Christian faiths but he or she may not be at the point on their Christian journey, right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Berserker wrote: »
    Each to their own. I get the impression that the OP wishes to stay within the RC faith for the moment. Like you, I would encourage him or her to explore other Christian faiths but he or she may not be at the point on their Christian journey, right now.

IMO it shouldn't be about the OP's "wishes", rather what the OP believes.