Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,889 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Stheno wrote: »
    What's the big fuss about this guy? Is he a ****e player?

He's a promising young player but his attitude stinks, he basically pulled a sickie so Liverpool would be forced to sell him. 50 millions makes him the most expensive player for his age in history. And the team he is going to are absolutely stacked in his position.

The money in football now is just crazy. What would someone like Zidane or a peak Henry be worth in today's market?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Well that was an action scene!

molloyjh wrote: »

Not sure what it was all 'for' though.

Not bought into this yet at all. Probably would have given up on it if it weren't for the name.

Not sure what it was all 'for' though.

Not bought into this yet at all. Probably would have given up on it if it weren't for the name.
    McAdams character is being stitched up. She was in charge of that bust and will get shafted because of how it went. Between that and the sexual harassment charges she's pretty much done. Remember the mayor told her to be careful so it's a safe bet it was all a set up.

I'm definitely enjoying this more than S1.

Seemed to me to be a setup and an attempt to line up all the ducks. If you noticed in the pawn shop the watches weren't the same so I presume the finger prints were also fabricated.

Looks like an attempt to close down the investigation has just blown up however and whilst I think that everyone bar McAdams' character had an inkling it was a a sweep under the carpet exercise I imagine they are all likely a bit pissed after what happened.

Not sold on this season all the same, find myself quite bored throughout episodes.

• Administrators Posts: 55,127 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Was in town yesterday just walking around, my goodness O'Connell Street is a complete disaster. Seems to get worse every time I go.

For one of the major streets in the city the shops there are bloody crap (arcades, bargain shops, bookies etc) and the place just looks so run down with so many empty units.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

awec wrote: »
    Was in town yesterday just walking around, my goodness O'Connell Street is a complete disaster. Seems to get worse every time I go.

For one of the major streets in the city the shops there are bloody crap (arcades, bargain shops, bookies etc) and the place just looks so run down with so many empty units.

And yet, I love O'Connell St and Parnell St, the area is rich with colour, its vibrant and ethnically diverse, yes there are negatives...like no more Pulau Penang :(
    But otherwise, i love the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭chupacabra

I agree. Every time I go back to Dublin it seems to get worse and worse. I dont really see it as a "street" anymore to be honest, more like a really long, thin "town square". :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Parnell street is actually pretty cool but unfortunately I agree about O'Connell street and it's a crying shame. The loss of Clery's won't help either.

Wang King wrote: »
    And yet, I love O'Connell St and Parnell St, the area is rich with colour, its vibrant and ethnically diverse, yes there are negatives...like no more Pulau Penang :(

The place needs a facelift. They need to get the empty shops filled but by decent shops rather than more cheap tat.

Obviously it's difficult cause it needs to retain some identity rather than looking like every other main street in a European city but I refuse to believe they can't do better than it is now.

Surely not long until the Clerys building opens as a eurosaver or something.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

O'Connell Street is great til about 9.30am, that's when all the heads come out and start shouting at each other.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    O'Connell Street is great til about 9.30am, that's when all the heads come out and start shouting at each other.

You mean 9:30pm, right?

I very rarely hang around there at night. The furthest I'd go is the Grand Central.

I wasn't referring to general safety though, I just meant the look and feel of the place. It has been allowed to degrade into a poor state which is a disgrace for what is the main street in the city and a tourist hotbed.

You mean 9:30pm, right?

I very rarely hang around there at night. The furthest I'd go is the Grand Central.

I wasn't referring to general safety though, I just meant the look and feel of the place. It has been allowed to degrade into a poor state which is a disgrace for what is the main street in the city and a tourist hotbed.

9:30am is probably right. I'd walk it in the mornings on the way into work and it's quite pleasant at that time. Coming back from work on the other hand is another story.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

9.30am is right.

It's surprising how nice the city is at that time of the morning.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I get a bus past the GPO sometimes on the way home depending on where I am working.

O'Connell St to me is just a a thoroughfare I need to get through I go into Starbucks for a coffee, but the rest of the street is a horror.

I lived off Gardiner St in the early nineties, and it was much nicer, there was a sense of community about the are which seems to be gone now. Was never welcoming to strangers though!
    Why?

It's a ****hole fast food, the odd decent restaurant, a sex shop and not much else?

I get a bus past the GPO sometimes on the way home depending on where I am working.

O'Connell St to me is just a a thoroughfare I need to get through I go into Starbucks for a coffee, but the rest of the street is a horror.

I lived off Gardiner St in the early nineties, and it was much nicer, there was a sense of community about the are which seems to be gone now. Was never welcoming to strangers though!

Why?

It's a ****hole fast food, the odd decent restaurant, a sex shop and not much else?

Hang on ta fck!....... There's a sex shop?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

What show are you talking about? I'm on a tablet and can't open spoilers, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Ah jaysus Stheno, look what you've gone and done now! :eek:

What else do you think gives the vibrancy :D

I always got a kick out of the little shop across from Dublin bus with all the religious iconia in the windows, miraculous medals and pics of the baby jebus, it just seemed so out of place

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Zzippy wrote: »
    Ah jaysus Stheno, look what you've gone and done now! :eek:

I know he'll be Wankking away to his hearts content one he discovers anne summers!

Does anyone else here think it's fierce sad that a female member of the forum knows about such things??

Is WankKing behind the times?

I know he'll be Wankking away to his hearts content one he discovers anne summers!

Does anyone else here think it's fierce sad that a female member of the forum knows about such things??

Is WankKing behind the times?

Surprised by 2 things here...1...that anyone considers Anne summers a feckin sex shop...and 2...we have a female forum member!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

The puny Euro sucks after going on a mad one in Manchester

P_1 wrote: »
    The puny Euro sucks after going on a mad one in Manchester

I'd give my left nut to go on a piss up in Manchester!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I'd give my left nut to go on a piss up in Manchester!

Some may say that I did :P

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    What show are you talking about? I'm on a tablet and can't open spoilers, sorry.

Just touch the grey bar to reveal the spoiler

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Surprised by 2 things here...1...that anyone considers Anne summers a feckin sex shop...and 2...we have a female forum member!

We have several!

O'Connell Street would benefit from less traffic, though I realise that is fierce difficult to accomplish. There needs to be a coordinated effort to improve it though because its gone so far that its not going to happen by accident now. What development is really going to want to move there given a choice?

It's got a lot potentially going for it though. It would take a lot of work, but it's something that most definitely should be done.

Yeah_Right wrote: »

True Detective.

Also you should be able to see spoilers by double tapping them AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭b.gud

True Detective.

Also you should be able to see spoilers by double tapping them AFAIK.

When I'm on mobile I always just highlight them never knew I could double tap them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

In terms of the businesses on it, Parnell Street has come along a lot. It's the centre of the Asian community with probably a couple dozen restaurants in a small area. Really good area for food now. It's far from easy on the eye though.

O'Connell Street is the polar opposite. The businesses are cack and the people on it are dodgy but visually, it's still a very impressive street. Stand on the bridge and look down it. They've done a really good job on it. I walked it yesterday and it was spotless; wide, modern paths, trees lining the street and some cracking architecture on it.

It's a shame that it has degenerated to the point it's at but it's vastly better than what it was 20 years ago when it looked like an eastern bloc city. Ironically, it was much busier then.