Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Ahhhh, ye want the alcohol discussion now?!
    I'm of the school of Have a Little Cop ;)
    A heavy session the night before a lsr is not going to help you. In fact, I think that your performance will be impaired for 48 hours...that's for you young wans. Us older more distinguished folk...we're talking a possible 72 hours :o ...
    Moderation is key. If you want the benefits of that lsr/pace run/race, prepare properly. That means knowing your body. In winter, I will often have a glass - even two - of red wine the night before a race...but with dinner. I haven't noticed any detrimental effect. If a glass of wine (or beer) is going to help you relax after a hard day's work or your dinner is begging for an alcoholic accompaniment, go for it.
    You might decide to abstain closer to the time, you might not. This is a personal choice and comes from knowing what your body can/can't cope with. It also depends on the level of sacrifice you want to make.
    As I said, have a little cop. A lot of alcohol is going to lead to probable dehydration and disrupted sleep. You don't enter a full deep sleep when loaded with alcohol. Both are not ideal prep for that lsr.
    Timing is everything. Sunday night is usually my 'night off' due to lsr on Sunday. See how considerate we guys are of you? Lsr on Saturday so you only have to *behave* on a Friday ;)

ratracer wrote: »
    I've been getting on OK, I'm happy with it so far. I was away the last two weeks and just got three runs each week, including the long ones, so I was happy enough with that. I'm regular enough with stretching and doing a bit of core work, so the body is holding up, no niggles or injuries so far. I have noticed my heels are a bit tired though, not painful but noticeable. The shorter LSR tomorrow will be grand, but I'm looking forward to getting the longer ones done in the weeks after that.

Grand but keep an eye on the heels. Could be Achilles related or, depending where on the heel, the dreaded plantar fasciosis/fasciitis :eek: plenty of gentle calf stretching for you. Do you do heel drops/calf raises on the stair at all? I find them great...but probably don't do enough of them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Grand but keep an eye on the heels. Could be Achilles related or, depending where on the heel, the dreaded plantar fasciosis/fasciitis :eek: plenty of gentle calf stretching for you. Do you do heel drops/calf raises on the stair at all? I find them great...but probably don't do enough of them :)

Yep, I would regularly do the calf raises on a step alright. Its right on the centre of the heels, I'll be monitoring it closely over the next few weeks.

chrislad wrote: »
    Chances are, I'll stick to 11:30/mile pace. The main reason I'm doing it is that I'm down in Killarney that weekend, and I don't know the area so finding a 13 mile route would be difficult. This is a closed road so it has that going for it, plus we were staying in the Gleneagle anyway!

It's only 100ft per mile drop for the first bit so if I'm taking it handy, I shouldn't feel too many after effects.

Truthfully, I am considering dropping the marathon. It *may* be a year too early. It was July 12th last year that I only started running - and that was 2.8km on the C25K stop/start plan. I'll probably decide by months end. While I feel I probably could do it, and I'm finding the current distances per week fine, I'm thinking that if my shins do act up, resting would be much more beneficial in the long term. My physio doesn't seem to be worried about them, which is a plus, but I want to be able to run it in relative comfort.
    I trust you...:)

I hear you on the marathon plans. I admire your restraint, in fact I am very impressed. It's a very difficult call to make, I completely understand, having had to make a similar call in the last month. IMO, I feel the short term sacrifice is worth it for the sake of long term gain.
    My club captain gave me some spot on advice months ago. He said to always have a long term plan; one, two years down the line so when something -like injury - happens in the short term you can always put it in the larger context...It has really worked for me and hopefully will help you too if you decide that 2015 is not the year for your DCM...

frash wrote: »
    Just signed up for the Rock n Roll HM in August

Need something short term to keep me focused.

That's grand but it coincides with the step back week in the HHN1 plan. You could swap with the following week's lsr. You're not planning on doing the Frank Duffy 10 mile as well, are you...?*

*hint: there is only one right answer here ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

I went for a 5k easy run (5:59/km) on the way home from work, it went well, even though it was 21c. I did a good bit of stretching and felt great, then while sitting at the dinner table I got a mild cramp in my foot, I now have a pain in my lower back, glute, thigh, knee, calf, ankle and foot. I'm hoping I'm just coming down with something dodgy because there's no way I injured myself. It was a slow run and nothing happened. I had a good go on the foam roller there and I'll go on it again in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

RonanP77 wrote: »
    I went for a 5k easy run (5:59/km) on the way home from work, it went well, even though it was 21c. I did a good bit of stretching and felt great, then while sitting at the dinner table I got a mild cramp in my foot, I now have a pain in my lower back, glute, thigh, knee, calf, ankle and foot. I'm hoping I'm just coming down with something dodgy because there's no way I injured myself. It was a slow run and nothing happened. I had a good go on the foam roller there and I'll go on it again in the morning.

Ouch! Take it easy for a bit - hope you'll feel OK soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 donegalpaddy

Hi donegalpaddy. You've got a marathon under your belt so you know the score :) Yes, I'd be inclined to agree with you on the paces of your training runs. Was the whole of the 22 miler done at this pace? If so, you were effectively doing your lsr's at PMP :eek:
    Any sort of flick through these pages will see a theme emerge.... Slooooooow down :D
    Do tell us all about what went right and wrong along the way last year too. I hope you're able to commit to four, even five, days running a week. Miles and miles (slow ones of course ;) ) will get you over that line and miles spread across the week are smarter miles IMO :)

We were doing our lSr runs at 5.40. I know was far too quick. We done a 18 mile, 19 and a 21 at that pace all was fine. Even got a pb on my local 5k 4 weeks before 20.50. On day of marathon we took off at around 5.35. Wasn't feeling well at 11 miles so told the fella with me people to run on. Looking back I took a diorolite sachet the night before and one on morning and had a powerade before we took off. Last 8 miles was toughest thing I ever experienced. Last 6 miles was running and walking. Light headed. Probably should a stopped. 4 hours pacers past me at 24 miles. Gave it all to finish in 4.03. Have to say derry marathon was still fantastic. Great support. A few hills but atmosphere was amazing. Medal was huge.
    So many things I would a done different.

So I wanna finish dublin in 3.50. Probably can do 4 days a week. Can anyone tell what pace I should do lSr at and weekday runs at. I just run weekday runs at 5-15 to 5.30 and lSr at 6min per km

Right, here goes........

After much soul searching, reading back through what I said at the start of this thread and on my log along with a good chat with my wife (plus paying attention to advice given to myself and others on here) I've come to the conclusion that I'm not ready for a marathon this year. I'm pushing my luck after such a big injury lay-off (5 months) and every niggle scares the crap out of me, making it harder to relax.

The physio gave me the all clear for longer mileage so the plan is to do the Monaghan 10 mile and maybe three HMs between now and Christmas. I'll work on bringing down my 5k (maybe one Parkrun a month) and 10k times too. That'll give me a much better idea of what times to aim for next year, so I'll be confident I'm doing everything at the right paces.

I think if I can up the mileage slightly over the next while and hold it at about 25 mile a week (I'm above 20 already) I should be fit to start an 18 week plan in late Feb and then aim for the Viking Marathon if it's on again next June, a bit of a break after that and I should be able to train for DCM 16.

I'll draw up a proper plan and train with structure, lots of slow miles will still make up the bulk of it but there'll be a day for pace each week and maybe think about hills every now and again.

I'll still hang about here but probably say very little from now on. Best of luck to everyone still doing it, I might just pop up and cheer you all on.

Aw Ronan. I was nearly making the very same decision last weekend before deciding to give it one more week, so I 100% understand where you're coming from. Its bloody heartbreaking.

<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Tough call Ronan and I'd say it's harder to do that and be smart about things than make the easy call and just plough on with it. Good luck with the rest of your training for the rest of the year and onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Ronan - best of luck with your revised plan. A very good call and the extra time and mileage can only benefit you in the future. Its so easy to think that things will sort themselves out. I have trained for a marathon before , against my better judgement, only to end up with a dnf. There are plenty of more sensible and worthy goals out there if you don't feel confident enough to tackle the DCM this year. Any day that you are out on your feet and enjoying your run is a good day.

Keep posting as I have been following your posts.

We were doing our lSr runs at 5.40. I know was far too quick. We done a 18 mile, 19 and a 21 at that pace all was fine. Even got a pb on my local 5k 4 weeks before 20.50. On day of marathon we took off at around 5.35. Wasn't feeling well at 11 miles so told the fella with me people to run on. Looking back I took a diorolite sachet the night before and one on morning and had a powerade before we took off. Last 8 miles was toughest thing I ever experienced. Last 6 miles was running and walking. Light headed. Probably should a stopped. 4 hours pacers past me at 24 miles. Gave it all to finish in 4.03. Have to say derry marathon was still fantastic. Great support. A few hills but atmosphere was amazing. Medal was huge.
    So many things I would a done different.

So I wanna finish dublin in 3.50. Probably can do 4 days a week. Can anyone tell what pace I should do lSr at and weekday runs at. I just run weekday runs at 5-15 to 5.30 and lSr at 6min per km

Morning donegalpaddy. Sounds like you had a tough experience alright! From the looks of it, you were running your lsrs just outside PMP :eek: I think *the other way* so here's a table for our monolinguists :)

|Real money|*That* way :rolleyes:
    Current weekday runs|8:25-8:50|5:15-5:30
    Current marathon target pace|8:46|5:27
    Old lsr pace|9:05|5:40

Recommended lsr pace quickest|9:30|5:53
    Recommended lsr pace slowest|10:15|6:22

The majority of your running should be in the green zone.

Depending on your schedule, you should really only have
    - one run max per week faster than your PMP (planned marathon pace)
    - one run with a section of it at PMP
    - the rest should be within the 'recommended lsr pace quickest-slowest

The reason for this is quite simple: only long and slow miles - lots of them - will build the required endurance for the day. These long slow easy miles allow you to recover more quickly too. They also do scientifickey things to your body like allow your mid-twitch muscle fibres to recruit fatigue-resistant mitochondria, therefore you have slow and mid twitch working together = better marathon experience. Slow running also helps your capillaries work more efficiently = better marathon experience.

Faster miles don't allow you to do the above as efficiently. Your easy runs should be in the lsr zone too...and four days running will spread the load more efficiently. If you want to be more certain about achieving 3:50, five days running will make that easier too :) What would a week's training look like currently?

Right, here goes........

After much soul searching, reading back through what I said at the start of this thread and on my log along with a good chat with my wife (plus paying attention to advice given to myself and others on here) I've come to the conclusion that I'm not ready for a marathon this year. I'm pushing my luck after such a big injury lay-off (5 months) and every niggle scares the crap out of me, making it harder to relax.

The physio gave me the all clear for longer mileage so the plan is to do the Monaghan 10 mile and maybe three HMs between now and Christmas. I'll work on bringing down my 5k (maybe one Parkrun a month) and 10k times too. That'll give me a much better idea of what times to aim for next year, so I'll be confident I'm doing everything at the right paces.

I think if I can up the mileage slightly over the next while and hold it at about 25 mile a week (I'm above 20 already) I should be fit to start an 18 week plan in late Feb and then aim for the Viking Marathon if it's on again next June, a bit of a break after that and I should be able to train for DCM 16.

I'll draw up a proper plan and train with structure, lots of slow miles will still make up the bulk of it but there'll be a day for pace each week and maybe think about hills every now and again.

I'll still hang about here but probably say very little from now on. Best of luck to everyone still doing it, I might just pop up and cheer you all on.

Morning Ronan...on the one hand I am so disappointed for you, but on the other hand I know you are doing the right thing. Brave and sensible call. The long term doesn't get to go right without the short term bringing you forward too :)

Fwiw, I think you should focus on your 5 and 10k times. Training for a HM is demanding, depending on how you want to perform and I strongly suspect you are a competitive racer ;)
    HM training can involve a lsr of 17 miles so think about this before you commit to three. 6-10 months of base building and sharpening with 5 and 10k races will leave you perfectly primed to train and race for HMs and marathons next year. I have a feeling you're going to shine in the faster stuff and I predict a 20:xx 5k for you next year :)

There are plenty of 5 and 10k programmes out there...and HM ones too. I'd recommend you source a few and follow one of them with minor tweaks to accommodate lifestyle, work etc.

Best of luck and yes, keep popping in. Ronan also keeps a log in the Training Logs section so Novices, pop in there too :)

Edit:
    Ps, how is the niggle from last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 donegalpaddy

Morning donegalpaddy. Sounds like you had a tough experience alright! From the looks of it, you were running your lsrs just outside PMP :eek: I think *the other way* so here's a table for our monolinguists :)

|Real money|*That* way :rolleyes:
    Current weekday runs|8:25-8:50|5:15-5:30
    Current marathon target pace|8:46|5:27
    Old lsr pace|9:05|5:40

Recommended lsr pace quickest|9:30|5:40
    Recommended lsr pace slowest|10:15|6:22

The majority of your running should be in the green zone.

Depending on your schedule, you should really only have
    - one run max per week faster than your PMP (planned marathon pace)
    - one run with a section of it at PMP
    - the rest should be within the 'recommended lsr pace quickest-slowest

The reason for this is quite simple: only long and slow miles - lots of them - will build the required endurance for the day. These long slow easy miles allow you to recover more quickly too. They also do scientifickey things to your body like allow your mid-twitch muscle fibres to recruit fatigue-resistant mitochondria, therefore you have slow and mid twitch working together = better marathon experience. Slow running also helps your capillaries work more efficiently = better marathon experience.

Faster miles don't allow you to do the above as efficiently. Your easy runs should be in the lsr zone too...and four days running will spread the load more efficiently. If you want to be more certain about achieving 3:50, five days running will make that easier too :) What would a week's training look like currently?

I do 10k on Tuesdays and 10 on thursdays. And lSr on Sunday morning. Know I need to get out more days. I work saturdays. Okay so from next week I'm gonna give 5 days a go. Reduced speed should leave me less tired after runs.

Sorry, should have clarified :) Build up to five days gradually, plenty of time to move up. Start with four days running a week. Keep at that for three weeks, see how the body is feeling after the increased workload then think about increasing to five.

Ps see edit in original table on your lsr pace, clearly I haven't enough coffee :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭tipping

Right, here goes........

Right call Ronan. Similar injury troubles and reading the thread I made the same call before I even started training so will see you on this thread next year.
    I'm training for 5ks this year, doing about 30 miles a week in 4/5 runs and having lots of fun. No Physio trips since March.. What suits me for now is not following a plan and no pressure to do high mileage to improve. If I'm tired/sore I'll just drop the lsr to a few miles, skip the club session etc. The lower distances give you more room to play around I think and you can set shorter term target races every 3 weeks or so, keeps it fresh too. Anyway looking forward to hearing about all the pbs soon.

Dubgal72 wrote:
    Edit: Ps, how is the niggle from last night?

I ended up with cramps in my arm and both hands too so it was obviously down to something other than running. I get joint pains at times anyway but the Doc can't figure out why, nothing showed up in tests she did.

New 5k PB of 21:27 at Parkrun this morning to celebrate my decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

I went out for the 13 mile LSR last night. I was thinking going on Friday was a bit soon after a LSR last Sunday but I felt fine so off I went.

Struggled to keep the pace down. When I slowed down it felt like a slow slow shuffle and I started to speed up again. It was mile 9 before I got into required LSR pace.

Having said that I was feeling fine and enjoying the run.

At the end of mile 10 I stopped for a walk, not really sure why. Took a couple of mins break and off I went again. From here on in I struggled. Managed 2 really slow miles. Energy was gone. Was close to my car so called it at 12 miles and walked back to the car. Didnt feel bad at this stage. Felt I had lost it mentally as opposed to physically.

Got home and felt terrible. 15 min lie down and then a shower. Had some dinner but it didnt stay down... After that everything was fine.

No after effects today. Thinking/hoping the issues were a combination of 2 LSRs being too close together and going too fast and doing too much in the hill sprint sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭mobfromcork

I haven't run since Wednesday morning. The very last day of working with kids for this year I picked up some type of Gastro bug on a tour we took them on. I'm not in good shape since and have passed it onto my own little daughter now. We were both up all last night. Probably no Lsr this week but I've been doing 12-14 mile long runs for the last good few weeks so one missed won't be the end of me.

Seems like a few people are a bit under the weather. Tough decision Ronan77 but probably the right call if you feel you'll be putting yourself under too much pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

time for an update.

this morning i had my sub 40 10k attempt and it didn't go to plan.
    the time was 40:35 which is a new Pb but is a long way off sub 40:(.
    i am not as disappointed as i thought i would be. over the 10 week training cycle i got 2 5k PBs and 10k PB so really i don't have anything to complain about.

now its time to get stuck into marathon training, my plan(P&D) doesn't start till the the 27th of July but for the next 2 weeks i will start to increase my mileage.
    the training should be interesting coming off the back of 10k training its going to be hard to slow down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

A hard decision to make Ronan but as everyone else has said it seems to be the sensible one the very best of luck with ur new plan.

I had a great weeks running. I really enjoyed doing the strides they added a bit of variety I did 5x70 meters. A lot of hills were we are staying there hard to avoid but I enjoy the challenge 😉. I hope everyone else is getting on well. Off now to enjoy our last day ......deffo a glass of wine for me on a Saturday nite everything in moderation life's for living😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

Right, here goes........

Sorry to hear that Ronan but as everyone has already said you are doing the right thing. I was in the exact situation 2 years ago when i was living in Oregon and i started training for the Portland Marathon, i tore ankle ligaments playing football earlier in the year and was scared ****less everytime i ran and felt any sort of twinge, i took the decision not to risk it. Came back stronger and ran DCM (Dublin carnage Marathin :) ) last year

Best of luck dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

After 2 10ks at an average pace this week did a 23k LSR this morning - would do the shorter (non-race) runs at around 5min/km so tried to push this up to 5.45 ish....in the end I averaged 5.25min/km so still a bit of work on pacing my LCRs needed. Still felt okay and happy that the pace was consistent even the last few kms.

Didn't bother bringing gels and while I was okay - I did feel I could have done with something from about 17k or so. Again something to remember for the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

That's grand but it coincides with the step back week in the HHN1 plan. You could swap with the following week's lsr. You're not planning on doing the Frank Duffy 10 mile as well, are you...?*

*hint: there is only one right answer here ;)

Nope not doing the 10 miler.
    Have this RnR and then the race series HM.
    That's it.

Edit: I know I said HHN1 but I started off ahead of it do today was a 14m LSR.
    Gonna use it as a basis but not following it exactly iykwim.

Did my LSR in the pissings of rain and wind earlier. Loved it :D Spoke to my coach last night who said rather than jump into my 110 minute run on my plan, to ease back in with an 80minutes. So 80 mins with 6 x 1 minute surges in the last 20 minutes. I kept it at a shuffle apart from the surges. Really happy and helps to know I could have done the 110mins and injury seems to be staying away. He said not to worry about the lower mileage for now, so I won't.

Recovery run tomorrow. It's been a good week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

First up, sorry to hear that Ronan and the very best of luck with your new plan.

My week looked a little something like this:

Monday - 3.62 mi @ 10:31/mi + 5 x 15sec strides

Tuesday - 4.07 mi @ 10:20/mi + core

Wednesday - 3.01 mi @ 9:33/mi + core (this was supposed to be a PMP run but I was bold and brought the headphones. FYI Chemical Brothers and
    running slow do not mix, bad Toulouse!)

Thursday - Rest

Friday - 6.44 mi @ 10:50/mi (this was supposed to only be 5 miles but of course I got lost in the park, as I am prone to do, and ended up tacking on an extra mile.

Saturday - Gym sesh (weights and core)

Sunday - Rest

Feeling fine although my knees are a little sore after Fridays run. I'm not sure whether this is down to the running or the runners. I don't think I was very convinced at my last gait analysis and I've run 6 miles before with no sore knees. I was wearing Kayano 17s and this time they recommended GT-2000s which I have been wearing. What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

LSR today of 21km. Its a quite a jump from last week and I'd notice it now. Felt ok during the run, a bit stiff and sore now though. I tried to take your advice from last week Dubgal about slowing down and I did but not as much as you had suggested. Averaged about 6:38 mins per km..

Splits Time
    1 06:31.1
    2 06:36.1
    3 06:43.6
    4 06:39.5
    5 06:41.8
    6 06:26.1
    7 06:19.5
    8 06:32.7
    9 06:38.6
    10 06:36.2
    11 06:31.6
    12 06:34.2
    13 06:31.7
    14 06:27.2
    15 06:29.4
    16 06:57.5
    17 07:06.7
    18 06:40.4
    19 06:49.6
    20 06:39.5
    21 06:36.8

Ran a new route today and km's 6 and 7 were along a road that was a bit too narrow for the speed the cars were going so maybe subconsciously I was speeding up to get off it. Also there was a bugger of a hill at 16/17km that I wasn't expecting (see attachment). Didn't know it was there when I planned out the route on google maps and nearly stopped to walk but continued up. Might keep it in the lsr's as it a bit of variety to the normally flat runs around Naas.

Also, I think I've reached my limit in terms or distance or time out running where I don't need water. Found myself pretty thirsty on the 1km cool down. Must look at that next..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Firedance wrote: »
    guys & gals, I was in TK Maxx in the Ilac earlier* and noticed they have a High Five marathon training pack for €12.99,
    Pack contains:
    5x EnergyGel Plus
    10x EnergyGel
    1x Protein Recovery
    1x EnergySource
    1x EnergyBar
    1x 10 tube ZERO
    1x Run Bottle
    Marathon Nutrition Guide
    here's a link to it on another site http://www.discountsupplements.ie/high-5-marathon-day-race-pack?gclid=CICh1a6czsYCFYRl2wodXgsM5Q

The gels alone are €1.60 in a sports shop so this looks like good value (to me) especially if you were planning on using high 5 anyway :)

*I resisted the urge to purchase yet another pair of runners.... :rolleyes:

I went today to take a look at this pack but it's all the caffeinated and chocolate stuff. :( Bummer. I don't drink caffeine or eat chocolate. Oh well, it was worth a look so thanks for the heads up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Did my LSR run at 9:45 this morning, earliest training run I've ever done but it was good to get out at that time and plan to get out earlier in future. Was messing around with a water belt before going out as haven't used it ages so getting the sizing right takes time and even still had to adjust it once I started. Ran the reverse of the Kerryhead Half on the Head route so two-three miles flat then climb for another mile or so and then generally downhill or flat for the rest of the route with some small climbs (definitely had a perspective shift in the last few months as to what I class as a serious climb so I must be adapting to hills okay). Found the pacing grand throughout, set my watch in an easy pace heart rate so was running anywhere between 130-150 bpm....only time I breeched the upper limit was a few times going up on hills when I really couldn't slow it down anymore so just kept going knowing it would stop beeping in a min. Found it helpful as an additional cue because I do find on the LSRs that after maybe 5-6 miles when I well warmed up and feeling pretty good that I can start to increase pace if I'm not being mindful.
    All in all I was out running for 2hr 24mins which by just over 24 mins is the longest I have ever spent running.
    Was thinking when running would I break 2hrs 30min and then thinking that if I'm able for the pace it's only another 1hr and a half running to do my marathon on the day.
    I have an odd logic with running that no matter the distance or time ran I always think I could go back and run that again if I had to. That kind of thinking started with me when I was doing my couch to 5K just over 2 years ago. So coming back into Ballyheigue today at the end of my run I was thinking you know you could just do that same again now and you'd have your marathon done just like that!! Anyways what would be the fun in that with what is to come yet in training!

Start time 9:44am
    Duration 2:24:12
    Distance 13.1 miles (If I run 13 miles I am always gonna run the 0.1!)
    Avg Pace 11:00min/mi (is that too slow for someone hoping to try have a crack at the 4hr mark Dubgal?)
    Splits
    10:37
    11:07
    11:54
    12:16
    11:08
    11:00
    10:57
    10:35
    10:39
    10:42
    10:36
    10:54
    10:32

And of course no earphones, it's been two weeks since I last worn then running I think.

Carried a water belt with two small bottles on it, one with water and one with high 5 stuff. Also had two fig rolls chopped in half, a pack of jelly babies and two standard high 5 gels (not ISO ones).
    Took first sip of water at 3 miles and one half a fig roll, gel then at 5 miles plus more water and probably a slug of high 5 drink soon after, another piece of fig roll at 6 miles and some water, same again at 9 miles.....10 mile mark I took my other gel and some water, noted the water was starting to taste a bit manky (guessing I didn't rinse the washing liquid out very well so ditched the rest of the water then). Took the last piece of fig roll at 12 miles and a small bit of high 5 plus two (red) mini jelly babies. More food than I ever had on a run before but I was not hungry when I finished nor did I have any real muscles soreness during the run or afterwards.....would know I was out running but I am grand out.

Also I only do Jacobs fig rolls, I detest all other sham brands!!