Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Quick question diego, is the HM in eight days...ie not tomorrow? :)

Correct, it's tomorrow week. Run Killarney is the event.....check out the course profile!

Have been told by people in my club that it's hard on the legs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

diego_b wrote: »
    Correct, it's tomorrow week. Run Killarney is the event.....check out the course profile!

I'll be doing that too, but I might just stick with the 2:20 pacers for it, which is towards the higher end of my LSR. I'll see what my pace is like for the 13 miles on Saturday and judge on that. 2:30 would be my LSR pace that I would expect for 13 miles, but the fact that it's nearly all downhill will speed me up naturally.

chrislad wrote: »
    I'll be doing that too, but I might just stick with the 2:20 pacers for it, which is towards the higher end of my LSR. I'll see what my pace is like for the 13 miles on Saturday and judge on that. 2:30 would be my LSR pace that I would expect for 13 miles, but the fact that it's nearly all downhill will speed me up naturally.

Good stuff, looking forward to it now. Should be lovely views and that doing it especially if the weather is a bit clear.
    The LSR I've planned tomorrow has two miles flat, two miles up hill and then 9 miles either downhill or on the flat. The reverse of the half on the head course I got my half marathon PB on last month.
    Would like to see what the feeling of that much downhill running is like but I will be keeping it slow. My LSR pace is 10-11min/mi depending on how I'm feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

This week the boards plan has a 13 mile lsr on Saturday and next week too. I've signed up for a Half marathon race next Sat a few months back. I wouldn't mind giving it a decent push so what way should the next two weeks of the boards plan be adjusted if I did. Risking the wrath here I know!
    Between now and the big one I also have a 10K the Aug bank holiday weekend (long warm up and cool down to get the required mileage that weekend), the 10 mile in the race series that I'm planning to do and a final half marathon on the 6th of Sept in Dingle.
    Did 3.3 last night, and my foot is a bit niggly. Did some stretching on it, and popped a few things, so it's feeling a lot better now, but I think I'll leave my LSR until Saturday evening, rather than morning, it get a bit more rest.

Hey diego....hope you slept well last night cos......just checked the dates of your planned racing schedule :mad: :D

First of all, the next two weeks, diego and chrislad:
    W/b 13
    No need to change too much here. The pace run is structured to increase so you could
    A) keep to the plan, 4 miles of pace, but reduce intensity - do it at the slower end of your PMP range (my preferred) or
    B) keep the pace run at 3 miles
    Keep the other runs at easy, even recovery, pace. Make sure you bank sleep this week too. A good thing to know - everyone - a sleepless night the night before a race generally won't impact your performance significantly, but lost sleep in the week before more than likely will.

W/b 20
    Keep this as a recovery week, easy running only, 3-5 miles. You should be ok for the 15 mile lsr on the Saturday. Take it very easy, listen to your body and if necessary, plan your route so you have an opt out last two miles if your legs really aren't playing ball.

Chrislad, I'm going to ask you not to commit to running this at all costs. Downhill running will take its toll on your shins and foot niggle. Personally, I'd hold fire on this race but see how the week goes....

Diego, you plan to race three races in just over a month. Two of them (the 10 mile and HM) will require up to 10 days recovery. They are both too close together. Pick one of these, seriously. Both have benefits so don't sweat too much ;)
    Your focus at this stage will be ramping up the mileage and lsr's, you really can't afford to interrupt your training too much with tapering and recovering - twice - in such a short space of time. Plus the risk of injury....
    Sorry :) (not really :D )

Thanks for the advice dubgal...I thought I might rattle things up a bit with a post like that!
    I'd like to race the 10K and the 10 mile in August if I can (if I have to chose it will be the 10K as it's my clubs annual event so will be attending all the same). The 10 miler seems to be ingrained into the plan a bit, could it be a case of wait and see to how I get on with 10K and how training is progressing before signing up. Even still I guess I could do it at an easier pace than flat out.
    For the half in September I am happy to treat that as a long slow run, it's the Dingle half so supposed to be lovely on the views and that so will just enjoy the trot around.

Hey is it too late to join.

What is your athletics background? Have you run before?What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    Running for about three years

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    5k 21.30 10k 48.00 derry marathon 2014 4.03
    Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    No

How much training do you currently do ? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    Run 10 k twice a week and longer run on Sunday morning last 2 Sundays 9 mile

How many days a week can you train?
    3 to 4 days a week

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    Dream time - love to do dublin in 3.50, under 4 hours. Last 8 mile in derry last year were a disaster.had done up to 22 mile in training runs at 5,35 per km pace. Probably too quick. All went wrong on the day.

What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    start on boards plan week 3 maybe
    Hi donegalpaddy. You've got a marathon under your belt so you know the score :) Yes, I'd be inclined to agree with you on the paces of your training runs. Was the whole of the 22 miler done at this pace? If so, you were effectively doing your lsr's at PMP :eek:
    Any sort of flick through these pages will see a theme emerge.... Slooooooow down :D
    Do tell us all about what went right and wrong along the way last year too. I hope you're able to commit to four, even five, days running a week. Miles and miles (slow ones of course ;) ) will get you over that line and miles spread across the week are smarter miles IMO :)

Top tip that on the sleeping, I read that before on the web about the sleep in the nights before the night before a race being critical and in my brief experience it's been very true. Often find it hard to sleep before a big event or holiday, tis like the night before Christmas for me.

Thanks for the advice dubgal...I thought I might rattle things up a bit with a post like that!
    I'd like to race the 10K and the 10 mile in August if I can (if I have to chose it will be the 10K as it's my clubs annual event so will be attending all the same). The 10 miler seems to be ingrained into the plan a bit, could it be a case of wait and see to how I get on with 10K and how training is progressing before signing up. Even still I guess I could do it at an easier pace than flat out.
    For the half in September I am happy to treat that as a long slow run, it's the Dingle half so supposed to be lovely on the views and that so will just enjoy the trot around.

Hehe. Ok, deal, you can do the 10 mile and HM if i get to lock the shackles on personally you really think you can trot around dingle at a shuffle ;)
    The 10k and 10 mile are compatible, racing the 10 mile and HM aren't...
    However, if you could dump the 10 mile and race the HM, that would be a good option too.

See I'm seeing here I can actually race two races where I thought you might say only one, I'm happy!! I'd be happy to race the HM over the 10 mile.
    I might be up in Dublin for the 10 miler so if I do that I will do it as a training run with my mate who thinking of doing it. It will be a good bit slower I think that any PMP I think.

If I did an 8km race in a couple of weeks would I have to miss that week's LSR or is it at all possible to do both? I was originally scheduled for the fingal 10km but I'm not going to do that next weekend.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Oooh which one ? I love my Scandi dramas :D
    No idea, I'll ask himself later :). It was a detective one, it was going really well until the usual 'asking you to suspend your disbelief went too far'. Left hanging at the end but not enough to make me rush straight to ep2. Watch this space :)
    donglen wrote: »
    Nice early 4 miles this morning, left off the headphones for the first time, it was nice to hear the birds singing instead of the usual pounding music. Definitely helped with the slow it down goal.
    On the negative side, felt a hamstring niggle on Monday so rested until today........it's still there though, not enough that I'd call it sore but enough to make me call the physio later.

Deadly - on the headphones free, not on the niggle :( If you don't mind me saying, I think we are generally far more body aware without headphones so you could have picked up on that niggle earlier than Monday without headphones.
    I know this is hard for you guys, but you will be better runners in the long run if you practice running 'free' now.
    Let us know how you get on in physio won't you?

If I did an 8km race in a couple of weeks would I have to miss that week's LSR or is it at all possible to do both? I was originally scheduled for the fingal 10km but I'm not going to do that next weekend.

Hi whoopsa, just tried to find you on the tracker sheet. Why you not on it?! Remind me again of your plan/schedule please and the week of the 8k but it could be integrated. Is it absolutely necessary? Persuade me ;)
    IMO, Lsr is more important than 8k race at this stage btw.

Hi whoopsa, just tried to find you on the tracker sheet. Why you not on it?! Remind me again of your plan/schedule please and the week of the 8k but it could be integrated. Is it absolutely necessary? Persuade me ;)
    IMO, Lsr is more important than 8k race at this stage btw.

Well. Now.

I not on it mainly because my mileage was not worthy of it til this week, what with all the easy runs and the injuries and what have you. I'll join it now though sorry sorry sorry :o

I don't actually know my plan for that week yet :o I'm on the last week of my current plan and will get my marathon specific over the weekend. We can reassess it then. I won't miss my LSR, if I can't do both then I'll miss the race, no question. I just would have liked to do the 4 races (5 mile, 10k, 10mile, HM) in the lead up, but it's not the end of the world by any means!

Well. Now.

I not on it mainly because my mileage was not worthy of it til this week, what with all the easy runs and the injuries and what have you. I'll join it now though sorry sorry sorry :o

I don't actually know my plan for that week yet :o I'm on the last week of my current plan and will get my marathon specific over the weekend. We can reassess it then. I won't miss my LSR, if I can't do both then I'll miss the race, no question. I just would have liked to do the 4 races (5 mile, 10k, 10mile, HM) in the lead up, but it's not the end of the world by any means!
    Hehe :D
    I'd definitely focus on build up and consolidation. It's definitely more important. No need to box tick the four progressive stages. Nobody *has* to do all four. I just did the last two last year. Even two out of the last three (10k, 10m and HM) is ok so don't sweat it, concentrate on getting back to where you were for now :)

Hehe :D
    I'd definitely focus on build up and consolidation. It's definitely more important. No need to box tick the four progressive stages. Nobody *has* to do all four. I just did the last two last year. Even two out of the last three (10k, 10m and HM) is ok so don't sweat it, concentrate on getting back to where you were for now :)

Cool. I've the warriors run and the great north run to look forward to, I'll stick to them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

Cool. I've the warriors run and the great north run to look forward to, I'll stick to them :)

lol

libelula wrote: »
    lol

Heh, OK, maybe not so much the warriors :D

But I can look forward to Guinness after, yes?

That'll probably be my next pint :eek:

I broke my life >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Re sleeping, I finally finally found something that helps me sleep. It's a white noise track I got from YouTube, it's 10 hours long so I know I'll never run out!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzuCYwKLRG8

It helps me fall asleep more quickly, even when I wake up in the middle of the night I'm not tossing and turning like I used to to try and go back to sleep. Sometimes I use this track, sometimes I use the rainfall one, depends on my mood. It's brilliant though.

Anyway, thought I'd share!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

Hi ratracer. I've included your earlier post just to remind me where you're at. Have you been able to stick with the plan? It brought you on fairly rapidly from cycling/little running to a full-on weekly schedule. How has the ol bod and legs held up so far?
    The HHN1 works without the introduction of pace so don't feel you have to. I'd be reluctant to recommend jumping into pace work just yet. Instead I'd recommend topping up your aerobic and endurance running base for a few more weeks. You could start to think about strides next week if you feel you're ready. Have a look at this post but don't rush into anything. Slow and easy running will bring you the most benefit for now.

I've been getting on OK, I'm happy with it so far. I was away the last two weeks and just got three runs each week, including the long ones, so I was happy enough with that. I'm regular enough with stretching and doing a bit of core work, so the body is holding up, no niggles or injuries so far. I have noticed my heels are a bit tired though, not painful but noticeable. The shorter LSR tomorrow will be grand, but I'm looking forward to getting the longer ones done in the weeks after that.

Chrislad, I'm going to ask you not to commit to running this at all costs. Downhill running will take its toll on your shins and foot niggle. Personally, I'd hold fire on this race but see how the week goes....

Chances are, I'll stick to 11:30/mile pace. The main reason I'm doing it is that I'm down in Killarney that weekend, and I don't know the area so finding a 13 mile route would be difficult. This is a closed road so it has that going for it, plus we were staying in the Gleneagle anyway!

It's only 100ft per mile drop for the first bit so if I'm taking it handy, I shouldn't feel too many after effects.

Truthfully, I am considering dropping the marathon. It *may* be a year too early. It was July 12th last year that I only started running - and that was 2.8km on the C25K stop/start plan. I'll probably decide by months end. While I feel I probably could do it, and I'm finding the current distances per week fine, I'm thinking that if my shins do act up, resting would be much more beneficial in the long term. My physio doesn't seem to be worried about them, which is a plus, but I want to be able to run it in relative comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Just signed up for the Rock n Roll HM in August

Need something short term to keep me focused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

RonanP77 wrote: »
    Have you been doing plenty of stretching after a run and some foam rolling? Good idea to get the physio to look at it, no point letting it drag on and possibly become more serious.

Yep, I'm a good man for stretching/foam rolling. Actually found a new relief measure today, a hockey ball. Great for the glutes.....pain and pleasure at the same time.

Rest day for me and man I feel like I earned it. Very busy at work today so was counting down the minutes! My plan tonight is to put the feet up (I mean keep the feet up now that I'm home!), play some Skyrim, surf youtube and drink copious amounts of camomile tea. Of course with plenty of time for getting early to bed!

What do your rest days (or evenings) look like?

Rest day for me and man I feel like I earned it. Very busy at work today so was counting down the minutes! My plan tonight is to put the feet up (I mean keep the feet up now that I'm home!), play some Skyrim, surf youtube and drink copious amounts of camomile tea. Of course with plenty of time for getting early to bed!

What do your rest days (or evenings) look like?

I finally got my bike sorted so did a 11 mile cycle. I'll rest up most of tomorrow before the lsr. I'll probably doing 15 miles cycling a week now as cross training split between Monday and Friday's depending on how I feel.

I'll be mostly drinking fizzy water out of a wine glass to make me feel like I'm not missing out on actual wine :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

I'll be mostly drinking fizzy water out of a wine glass to make me feel like I'm not missing out on actual wine :pac:

Ah here! Its Friday..!!! ;) okay, serious question- does a small amount of alcohol really have an impact?? I have had the odd beer... One or two and have been unaware of any adverse impact..... Maybe the effects are felt more for the fitter / faster people, not the plodders like me! Any thoughts novices?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

PJD wrote: »
    Ah here! Its Friday..!!! ;) okay, serious question- does a small amount of alcohol really have an impact?? I have had the odd beer... One or two and have been unaware of any adverse impact..... Maybe the effects are felt more for the fitter / faster people, not the plodders like me! Any thoughts novices?

Its a marathon training programme, not a pregnancy.

Nah I'm doing my LSR in the morning. No point drinking tonight. I'll have the odd glass of wine or whatever but I'm going to keep off it as much as possible.

A friend of mine did DCM last year and didn't change his drinking habit. Came in at 3:12 (and was pretty disappointed!). Depends on the person u
    I guess. I don't know what the experts have to say on it though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

A friend of mine did DCM last year and didn't change his drinking habit. Came in at 3:12 (and was pretty disappointed!). Depends on the person u
    I guess. I don't know what the experts have to say on it though :)

Disappointed with 3:12.....! Yikes!! Eh.... I'm a bit slower... Maybe Friday was the wrong day to bring up the alcohol discussion!

This is why I decided on camomile tea :P