If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

RonanP77 wrote: »
    That's a big help, it's the one thing I'll struggle with though.

I'll try and put this down right so you don't think I'm being awkward and ignorant. My paces for this year would be;

5k - 4:20 - 4:25/km
    10k - 4:45 - 4:50/km

I won't need to worry about those until the end of the year or early next year though, I have no shorter events planned.

I have my LSR and easy pace as 6:10 - 6:45/km but realistically I've settled around 6:25 - 6:35/km. It's my comfortable pace, my happy pace and I can keep at that for 17km so far. I can comfortably go at 6:10 but 6:45 feels a little odd and I'm not keen on it, much slower and I find it hard to find a rhythm and maintain it, it feels uncomfortable.

The rest now is guess work as I don't have experience at these distances really.

10 mile 5:50 - 6:10/km
    HM 6:10 - 6:25/km
    PMP 6:25 - 6:35/km

6:50 isn't much different from 6:45 so I guess I'll try it as my easy pace now. It's going to mean my easy runs before work are going to take ages and leave me tight for time, it's going to leave things a lot less enjoyable and I'll struggle to hold myself back. I'll try it on tomorrows easy run though and see how it goes.

This is why I was saying before that maybe it's my finish time I needed to look at again rather than my pace.

I get it, really. Who said running slow was easy :D I just feel that at your stage, conservative is better. Plenty of time to reassess in a few weeks. I think it was chrislad who said you have to practice running slower, he's right!

As for the time factor - and I include myself here - we are all too guilty of not factoring in peripheral-thingies time, such as stretching etc into our 'run time' so I know that slowing down is going to be an additional sacrifice to family time.

Running is not just about running, training for a marathon is a HUGE commitment, just huge which is why it is not to be taken lightly. Prepare to say goodbye to most Saturday or Sundays from August onwards. They may well be written off completely as you a) do that long run and b) feel so fecked you can't do much else for the rest of the day. So really, setting that alarm a bit earlier now in order to get that slow paced run in is just a minor taste of the sacrifices to come :eek:

Try it and see and don't give up after one run! Nobody doubts that you can *do* faster paces. I have said before that I think you have natural speed. What is missing from your jigsaw puzzle is endurance and faster paces will not help you with building that. Good luck!

Wottle wrote: »
    Fair play to you Dubgal, you're energy on this thread is fantastic.
    As a result you've got me contemplating another crack at the marathon, haven't done one since 2009.
    Keep up the good work

Thanks wottle! I am not accepting any responsibility there*

unless of course you do amazingly well :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Just back from the hillsprints session. It was tougher than I expected, or maybe I just hadn't planned it very well.

I had initially planned to be running up and down Cornelscourt Hill, about 3M into the 5M run. But I drove by this morning en-route to work and I thought it maybe wasn't steep enough, so I was in doubt as to where to do the actual hill-sprints. As I headed out I suddenly found the perfect spot: a pedestrian footbridge across the N11 at Foxrock. A nice long ramp, about 8 seconds long, reasonably steep. The only trouble was that it was only a 1-2M into the run.

Anyway, off I went, haring up and down this footbridge, to the bewilderment of some folks at the bus-stop right besides it (not that I care). I actually enjoyed this very much and the sprints went fine. I did 10 reps (5x over and back), without the need to "recover" too much, and continued on my merry way.

I had the majority of the 5M still to do and the legs were actually tired enough after all that - so this was disappointingly hard. Of course I decided that this was the right time to experiment with the route a little and I ended up doing about 1/2M longer than I intended. :confused: The last part is a 2km straight, uphill drag, into the wind, and I was glad it was finally over. Whole session took about an hour.

So, Dubgal, of course all the Novices of the "Boards" variety are galloping up and down hills, bridges, sanddunes etc, without question (ours is not to reason why), but what's the theory behind a session like this? Hill-training? Sprint-training? I note that this is the only hill-sprint session in the plan, but I am actually thinking of throwing in a few every now and again... as I did enjoy it.

A practical question (maybe more for the lads out there): how does one avoid chafing at chest-level.... Not only does it make for quite a horrible red-stain on the otherwise bright-yellow running top (yuk), it is also very unpleasant showering afterwards... :( Does one really need to shave and plaster things over? :rolleyes:

And a niggle alert: right hip, the top of the hip-socket, is stiff/sore/mweeh. I can't really seem to stretch it or foam-roll it properly. Not worried about it, yet, as I've felt it before and it never bothered me too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

nop98 wrote: »

A practical question (maybe more for the lads out there): how does one avoid chafing at chest-level.... Not only does it make for quite a horrible red-stain on the otherwise bright-yellow running top (yuk), it is also very unpleasant showering afterwards... :( Does one really need to shave and plaster things over? :rolleyes:

This stuff..
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Beige-Kinesiology-Tape-Sports-Taping/dp/B0073UJUH4/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1436364239&sr=8-11&keywords=kt+tape

Cut into little squares and over the little buggers.. No need to shave, Im a gorilla and it stays in place!

I have a picture from last year when i wasn't using any tape but i'm banned from putting it up!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

how does one avoid chafing at chest-level....

Bodyglide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

This stuff..
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Beige-Kinesiology-Tape-Sports-Taping/dp/B0073UJUH4/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1436364239&sr=8-11&keywords=kt+tape

Cut into little squares and over the little buggers.. No need to shave, Im a gorilla and it stays in place!

I have a picture from last year when i wasn't using any tape but i'm banned from putting it up!!!

Oh god I remember that picture!!! BANNED :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Firedance wrote: »

Still haunts me. Remember exactly where i was when I opened that picture......
    scarred for life Neil..

And a niggle alert: right hip, the top of the hip-sockets, is stiff/sore/mweeh. I can't really seem to stretch it or foam-roll it properly. Not worried about it, yet, as I've felt it before and it never bothered me too much.

This is my most favourite stretch for that niggle, it feels so nice to do.

155236-325x200-pigeon.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Wottle

My heart rate monitor works for me, gives the nipples a bit of leeway

Ososlo wrote: »
    scarred for life Neil..

Well its all sorted now.. Hopefully!!

Anyone from around Terenure/rathfarnham have a hill suggestion for some sprints.. Cant think of one off the top of my head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Anyone from around Terenure/rathfarnham have a hill suggestion for some sprints.. Cant think of one off the top of my head?

Hill from Terenure up to the Yellow House? Not quite as steep as it could be but it would do ???

edit: Could also do that hill up from the Dropping Well in Milltown back towards the Churchtown direction (thinks that's the steeper of the two DW hills ....)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Just thinking; would Khyber Road be good for hill sprints? How far up the road should I go? I'm terrible at gauging distances!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Would either of these hills be suitable for hill sprints? Living in Naas so kinda lacking hills here..

Option 1

Option 2

It can be hard to tell from these images their actual incline

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Just thinking; would Khyber Road be good for hill sprints? How far up the road should I go? I'm terrible at gauging distances!

I think it would be fine, Military road would be good too.
    Would either of these hills be suitable for hill sprints? Living in Naas so kinda lacking hills here..

Option 1

Option 2

Hard to tell from the photos but pretty much anywhere with a hill is fine. Don't overthink it, find a hill and run up it.

adrian522 wrote: »
    I think it would be fine, Military road would be good too.

Thank you!

Option 1

Option 2

Hard to tell alright. Go for the steeper one, hopefully it's the rural lane one cos that's far prettier :)

Honestly, all of you, don't stress on the gradient. Steeper is better because it will encourage better form and faster leg turnover. Short, sharp, steep and sweet :)

If you live in pancake land, just do strides like two weeks ago. Whatever you do, don't do flat sprints :eek:

Have a read of this for those of you with more questions re hill sprints. The author suggests two to start with. I say 6-8 is ok as you have had some pace work done pre-marathon training.

Starting to second guess myself on the hillsprints. Running 5 miles tonight and was planning to do 4-5 hill sprints, now I'm not so sure. Despite all the careful instructions I'm terrified I'll do them wrong. :(

Don't forget, these are for the 'boards plan' crew. They've already eased into this session with strides two weeks ago and a PMP run last week. What have you done so far this week? You could integrate these into your schedule at any stage so don't feel like you have to do them tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

After a week of doing exercises / stretches (but no running), I was back with physio tonight. He seems happy enough with the progress & wants me to start back running with 3 easy runs this week. He gave me some additional exercises to work the hip too.

I'm back again next week to see how I get on after the runs. Hopefully, I should be OK to get back to the HHN1 at that stage. He seems quite confident that I should be able to do the Fingal 10k, which is great news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

5 miles (well 5.4 due to poor maths) done at 9:56min/mi avg. I think I've most of the dogs in my area sussed now but sometimes I employ silent ninja running tactics to avoid detection. One little so and so took the heart of me right at the end of my warm down, gotta love 6ft walls and even bigger gates sometimes.
    Did my hill sprints towards the end of the run with a half a mile to warm down. Did 8 sprints at 10 seconds each, found them grandest. Had done a few sessions of longer ones with my club last month. Have to be used to the hills living in Kerry!

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Don't forget, these are for the 'boards plan' crew. They've already eased into this session with strides two weeks ago and a PMP run last week. What have you done so far this week? You could integrate these into your schedule at any stage so don't feel like you have to do them tonight!

True dat! Turns out I bottled it anyway. I'm adding hills to my route/plan this week anyway and thought the hill sprints sounded like fun so toyed with trying them. But I got to the hill section and didn't have the confidence to try. I had a good run regardless, though I found myself running too fast too often and had to work hard to slow down! Anyway, that's another 5 miles under the belt and my splits were fairly consistent. I really enjoyed the new route and felt like I had done it justice. :D

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    After a week of doing exercises / stretches (but no running), I was back with physio tonight. He seems happy enough with the progress & wants me to start back running with 3 easy runs this week. He gave me some additional exercises to work the hip too.

I'm back again next week to see how I get on after the runs. Hopefully, I should be OK to get back to the HHN1 at that stage. He seems quite confident that I should be able to do the Fingal 10k, which is great news.

Good news ZV Yoda, thanks for popping in to let us know. Good luck and keep doing what you're told :p

diego_b wrote: »
    5 miles (well 5.4 due to poor maths) done at 9:56min/mi avg. I think I've most of the dogs in my area sussed now but sometimes I employ silent ninja running tactics to avoid detection. One little so and so took the heart of me right at the end of my warm down, gotta love 6ft walls and even bigger gates sometimes.
    Did my hill sprints towards the end of the run with a half a mile to warm down. Did 8 sprints at 10 seconds each, found them grandest. Had done a few sessions of longer ones with my club last month. Have to be used to the hills living in Kerry!

Thanks diego, sounds like you had no bother there :)

True dat! Turns out I bottled it anyway. I'm adding hills to my route/plan this week anyway and thought the hill sprints sounded like fun so toyed with trying them. But I got to the hill section and didn't have the confidence to try. I had a good run regardless, though I found myself running too fast too often and had to work hard to slow down! Anyway, that's another 5 miles under the belt and my splits were fairly consistent. I really enjoyed the new route and felt like I had done it justice. :D

Ah I see! Y'know they sound like fun...and they actually are too! I love these sessions, they take nothing out of the legs but you know they are doing *something* good :) How often do we get to do a workout with 'no pain but all the gain'?!
    Great to hear you're enjoying it, and of course the slowing down :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

4 miles easy done. Nice and slow...

I did the 10 mile lsr on Sunday. Is Friday too soon for the next lsr, 13 miles? Am I better off waiting until Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Good news ZV Yoda, thanks for popping in to let us know. Good luck and keep doing what you're told :p

Will do - I won't be taking any chances.

I'm still subscribed to this thread, so I've been reading it daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Firedance wrote: »
    Ososlo wrote: »
    scarred for life Neil..

In the interest of research, on behalf of all the other novices, I demand to see that picture!