Luas assult victim ..... Case puzzling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

You forgot to add the vat fraud and millions that it cost Us taxpayers
    Not to mention the foul tasting apples..

Nearly turned me off Cider, got used to the taste though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Judge: "Now don't do it again, okay?"

This is Chief Wiggum level stuff. I'll let you free, if you promise not to commit any more crimes. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I get the luas every day nearly the red line is a joke most of the time. When ever i hear any stories like this not surprised cause ive seen enough meself happen right in front of me.

Seen people robbed a few times only recently seen a girl get robbed then punched in the face your man just jumped off and legged it.

The same week i seen this someone smashed a window at inchicore and everyone had to get off and wait around.

Theres constantly things going on yet theres never constant security they just randomly turn up from time to time. Mostly when theres some event on!.

If there where constant security on the luas you wouldnt have half the trouble going on cause its mostly caused by ****ing cowardly scum that would leg it if they where confronted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

You forgot to add the vat fraud and millions that it cost Us taxpayers
    Not to mention the foul tasting apples..

It was import tax fraud. And the import tax was ludicrous.

Ruu wrote: »
    Judge: "Now don't do it again, okay?"

This is Chief Wiggum level stuff. I'll let you free, if you promise not to commit any more crimes. :D

Judge: "Please think of your child(ren), If you stay out of trouble and don't appear before me for a few weeks I will refer you to probation services who will send ye all off to Disneyland for a week".

The Judges live in fairy land! They don't realise that these awful cnuts and junkie bastards know more about the legal system and how to milk it than any Judge in the land!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

There's no deterrent, no fear. The vermin do what they like and take what they want. They know in the unlikely event that they're apprehended, all they have to do is give a sob story to a gullible judge and they'll be let go with a slap on the wrist. Jail them, sterilise them, take the kids off them. They'll only follow in their footsteps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

I agree, and yet the gardai then claim "you can be arrested for assault if you do".

I "got involved" and also called the Gardai. A single Garda arrived in record time and took off after the assailants. I warned him there were at least a dozen scum bags and he just said "Good, Good" before tearing away after them.

On topic, I know of a case where a young woman was beaten and robbed on the luas. After the robber legged it and the girl was left crying, no one helped her. No one offered her a lend of a phone after hers was robbed. No one asked if she needed a euro or 2 after her bag was taken. Nobody even asked if they could help her. So blame the junkies , blame the judge all you want but there is plenty more to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

ive seen enough meself happen right in front of me.
    Seen people robbed a few times only recently seen a girl get robbed then punched in the face your man just jumped off and legged it.
    mostly caused by ****ing cowardly scum that would leg it if they where confronted.

So confront them then. You stood there and watched people robbed and didn't do anything about it?? Big man on the internet though, complaining about "cowardly scum" while you stood idly by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

Egginacup wrote: »
    I can guarantee you that if there was a burly Polish bricklayer on the Luas on his way to work he would have hammered 7 shades of shit out of these two rats. But locals just cower and think "don't get involved".

You wouldn't be implying that the Polish are violent now would ya Father.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

they can smell the fear

cajonlardo wrote: »
    I "got involved" and also called the Gardai. A single Garda arrived in record time and took off after the assailants. I warned him there were at least a dozen scum bags and he just said "Like the hurling match I played on Sunday" before tearing away after them.

On topic, I know of a case where a young woman was beaten and robbed on the luas. After the robber legged it and the girl was left crying, no one helped her. No one offered her a lend of a phone after hers was robbed. No one asked if she needed a euro or 2 after her bag was taken. Nobody even asked if they could help her. So blame the junkies , blame the judge all you want but there is plenty more to blame.

Fixed the first part of your post:D what a hero of a Garda!

In on topic news, that is what happens when people see these scumbags getting slapped on the wrist over and again, they don't want to get involved because it will take much more out of their lives in terms of abuse, time in the station giving statements and time in court and also the worry that these same scumbags will have your address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Duiske

Sure, but more serious than assault? Really?
    Scumbags like these should receive sentences which are among the highest in our court system. The longer they're kept away from decent people who don't deserve to tangle with them, the better.

I didn't say anything about either crime being more serious than the other. I was just pointing out the playing down of a muti-million euro VAT fraud as simply a case of mis-labeling food stuff. The rest of your post I agree with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Duiske wrote: »
    I didn't say anything about either crime being more serious than the other. I was just pointing out the playing down of a muti-million euro VAT fraud as simply a case of mis-labeling food stuff. The rest of your post I agree with.

Again. Nothing to do with VAT. Customs duty. In this case because of ludicrous duty of 232%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭tawnyowl

In all fairness....why would someone on the Luas not have done something??
    Probably fear of being injured by the assailants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭tawnyowl

There's no deterrent, no fear. The vermin do what they like and take what they want. They know in the unlikely event that they're apprehended, all they have to do is give a sob story to a gullible judge and they'll be let go with a slap on the wrist. Jail them, sterilise them, take the kids off them. They'll only follow in their footsteps.

"Sterilise them"? Jesus wept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

So confront them then. You stood there and watched people robbed and didn't do anything about it?? Big man on the internet though, complaining about "cowardly scum" while you stood idly by.

For starters I didn't stand there I was sitting away from it. Please tell me why I should get up and run to the other end of the luas to confront someone who's more then likely carrying a weapon or something similar?

It's not my job or place to have to do it that's why I mentioned security.

The fact is paying customers shouldn't have to sit and watch and wait for this crap to happen on there way in and out the city.

Once no one goes near me I ignore it but there's plenty of people who get hassled from it and it's not fair.

Security being there would solve alot of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

That poor woman. Sounds like an utterly terrifying attack :(

That lady should sue them. We all should until they get the picture.

Also, for the last 20 years ff, fg and lab have allowed this lawlessness to occur.

And we'd all lose fortunes as, of course, not intervening does not make one liable except in cases where neglect is a constituent part of the wrongdoing, as in neglect of children.

You also omitted SF...but I guess they really can't talk about lawlessness, murder, beatings etc without alienating some in their own front bench...

tawnyowl wrote: »
    "Sterilise them"? Jesus wept!

Why should they be allowed to bring kids into the world if they can't look after them? They only see them as a cash cow anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭lanos

Also, for the last 20 years ff, fg and lab have allowed this lawlessness to occur.
    You also omitted SF

SF have never been in government in republic so it is perfectly ok to omit them
    clumsy attempt I must say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Bystander effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Odelay wrote: »
    Hi, welcome to Ireland and our unique justice system.
    For a get out of jail free card rack up as many offences as you possibly can, the more the better, just don't misslabel garlic as apples, cos that's a serious offence.

bit disingenuous

I hate the idea of bringing my girlfriend, a small Vietnamese girl (23) to visit Ireland. She doesn't even want to but it'll prob happen in the next couple of years.

I know that something like this will happen after a night out or just out and about somewhere. You never ever have to worry about this stuff until you go back home to scumbag central.

lanos wrote: »
    SF have never been in government in republic so it is perfectly ok to omit them
    clumsy attempt I must say

Any violent unprovoked assaults in NI since they took office?

Let's search. Bet I can at least one.

Which would put SF figures in the unique position of both being involved in violent criminality and failing to curb it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Hang on what would one class as out of character for a person with 30 previous for various stuff like theft, Assault, Drugs ??? Don't they mean well within character. Also the whole drug addict/alcho I'm sorry but if you have been on methadone say for over 5 years you can get out with that one as you don't want help. I wonder If/how long they have been on methadone for example.

Any violent unprovoked assaults in NI since they took office?

Let's search. Bet I can at least one.

Which would put SF figures in the unique position of both being involved in violent criminality and failing to curb it.

In fairness, I don't think they have this same issue in the north. This class of thieving, junkie scum is very much Dublin based. Walk down O'Connell street and you can spot them a mile away.

That's what you get giving smack heads bus passes so they can just hang around the place. And travel all over Dublin to cause trouble in areas they should not really be getting to easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 phone150

In all fairness what do you think would happen if one person stood up and told 2 scumbags strung out on drink/drugs to leave the woman alone?? They'd just say ok and go on their way?? No they'd take it out on the person intervening and would probably use more violence or even a knife on someone for standing up to them, , Very foolish thing to do to take on scum like that when you don't know what they are capable of and what weapons they have. But hay at least you'd be called a hero in the papers when they're reporting your funeral.

phone150 wrote: »
    In all fairness what do you think would happen if one person stood up and told 2 scumbags strung out on drink/drugs to leave the woman alone?? They'd just say ok and go on their way?? No they'd take it out on the person intervening and would probably use more violence or even a knife on someone for standing up to them, , Very foolish thing to do to take on scum like that when you don't know what they are capable of and what weapons they have. But hay at least you'd be called a hero in the papers when they're reporting your funeral.

And if someone had battered them... Oh my human rights and all that. And you bet there would be a lawyer in the corrupt legal system we have here auite happy to take the taxpayers legal aid and sue. As they had a hard life and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 phone150

Only sensible thing to do is call the guards and there's no excuse for not doing that.