Joined at the hips

• 09-07-2015 06:48PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭

One of my friends has been going out with a girl for two years. Every single time we go out he takes her with him. She goes mad when he doesn't. He brought her on a stag. I asked him for advice in confidence a while ago and he brought her along too. When I brought this up with him that the whole couples thing is driving me crackers him and her insisted on trying to set me up with someone despite the fact I'm emigrating soon. None of the other lads or female friends do this to this extent.

Do you know any couples that can no longer function as individuals and have to involve their OH in everything? I've stopped going out with them am I being unreasonable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,879 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

steddyeddy wrote: »
    One of my friends has been going out with a girl for two years. Every single time we go out he takes her with him. She goes mad when he doesn't. He brought her on a stag. I asked him for advice in confidence a while ago and he brought her along too. When I brought this up with him that the whole couples thing is driving me crackers him and her insisted on trying to set me up with someone despite the fact I'm emigrating soon. None of the other lads or female friends do this to this extent.

Do you know any couples that can no longer function as individuals and have to involve their OH in everything? I've stopped going out with them am I being unreasonable?

He brought her to a STAG?!??! Why would she even want to go?! Can't imagine it would be met with a good response if the shoe was on the other foot and a man was brought along to a hen! (Unless he was the stripper!)

She sounds very very insecure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Shoot her. Solve your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

He brought her to a STAG?!??! Why would she even want to go?! Can't imagine it would be met with a good response if the shoe was on the other foot and a man was brought along to a hen! (Unless he was the stripper!)

She sounds very very insecure.

It's not her alone to be fair. It's both of them and she's a little more sensible than him.

A friend of ours is long term single and he asked him out, invited his OH and two of their coupley friends. I mean have some sensitivity. They did the same with me when I was single.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 SmilesInMass

It's not her alone to be fair. It's both of them and she's a little more sensible than him.

A friend of ours is long term single and he asked him out, invited his OH and two of their coupley friends. I mean have some sensitivity. They did the same with me when I was single.

Maybe they wanted him to fill in numbers for an orgy? An extra man is always useful in that situation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

Its healthy to be apart in a relationship, when away for a few days its great seeing your partner again, you need to be able to miss them.

I know a few women who don't allow their partners out without them, or they have to be home by dark even if thats 7.00pm.

Am married 15 years and would drive him to the pub to get some peace and quiet, not that he is any bother, sometimes just like the house to myself when the children are in bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Maybe they wanted him to fill in numbers for an orgy? An extra man is always useful in that situation!

I am with you there!
    I dont see any need for women in an orgy.

cassid wrote: »
    Its healthy to be apart in a relationship, when away for a few days its great seeing your partner again, you need to be able to miss them.

I know a few women who don't allow their partners out without them, or they have to be home by dark even if thats 7.00pm.

Am married 15 years and would drive him to the pub to get some peace and quiet, not that he is any bother, sometimes just like the house to myself when the children are in bed

It's both of them and not his GF. He insists on her coming too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Very considerate of him insisting she comes.
    Does he sleep in the wet patch ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

That's not healthy for either of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,879 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

But is that because if he doesn't he'll get an earful?!

I just don't see why 2 people can't spend a bit of time apart!

A night out with the boys, should be just that!

Going on a stag?! She should have more cop-on & say no! Will ye go off and enjoy yourselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

He brought her on a stag.

This is just beyond weird. It defeats the whole purpose of a stag.
    cassid wrote: »

If things don't work out, I'd like to marry you next. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭mailforkev

How was he allowed bring her on a stag? Why did your group of friends accommodate this oddbod?

Stag options are very simple.
    A. Friend comes minus girlfriend.
    B. Friend doesn't come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Shoot her. Solve your problem.

Only solution really. Especially when she's goes on the stag. She probably has a tracking device on him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

Jesus. If my fella brought me with him everywhere he goes, I'd throttle him! I've my own stuff to be at.

There are some major insecurity issues there OP, I can't say I blame you for ditching the friend :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

He is p*ssy whipped by her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I've broken up with women for pulling this crap. My honest advice is, at the first hint of something like that developing, get out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I've broken up with women for pulling this crap. My honest advice is, at the first hint of something like that developing, get out.

The thing is, it's not so much that the woman is pulling this crap, it's the fact the man is allowing her get away with it which is only reassuring her to do it more. It's his fault for not manning up and telling her off, or yeah f*cking off out of the relationship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Stopped reading at this.

Take his man card away, immediately if not sooner. Stop all contract too.

The humanity.

Aineoil wrote: »
    That's not healthy for either of them.

Feck them it's not healthy on us! It's sickening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

This is the most pathetic thing I've heard in months. He should have been barred from the stag, and had his last man card confiscated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I can't stand people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

mailforkev wrote: »
    How was he allowed bring her on a stag? Why did your group of friends accommodate this oddbod?

Stag options are very simple.
    A. Friend comes minus girlfriend.
    B. Friend doesn't come.
    ^This.

I honestly don't believe that this actually happened.

If it did, you and his other mates are just as bad for allowing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

"Brought her on the stag"? Sorry. Not buying that. If that actually did happen you all should have said you weren't going on it.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

OH... Other half... that's the problem, isn't it?

Nobody is half a person. Nobody needs anyone to complete them. You find someone who enhances your life and whom you love. You do not find your other half, you have two halves already.

She's terribly insecure if she can't leave his side, she doesn't view herself as an autonomous two halves person.

And it takes two to tango, so he can't be all that self assured himself.

Guys I might have described the situation wrong but it's definitely not a case of home being whipped by her. Even when she's not out he calls her begging him to come out. It's just a weird weird interdependence him and her and some of their coupely friends have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I thought with the thread title you were talking about a catsuit or something like that.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Somewhere on some chick forum there is a poster angry that her friend always brings the bf everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

b1tches be crazy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭YurOK2

That sounds like absolute hell to me.
    I'm feckin delighted when my husband tells me he's heading off somewhere, even if I'm not doing anything myself, it's nice to have a few hours to be by yourself.
    There's something seriously wrong with your relationship if you need to go everywhere together. There's no trust and one or both have no self confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

The thing is, it's not so much that the woman is pulling this crap, it's the fact the man is allowing her get away with it which is only reassuring her to do it more. It's his fault for not manning up and telling her off, or yeah f*cking off out of the relationship
    It's moreso her fault for bossing him around. Ideally he would tell her to get lost but responsibility still shouldn't be deflected entirely onto him.