If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭sideshowbob321

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi sideshowbob. Just looking at your recent running history, I'd hold fire on moving up to HHN2 just yet. Two weeks into the plan is a little early to be ramping it up, especially considering you haven't long come from two days running a week. My advice would be to consolidate your recent gains for another two weeks before you move up. If you really feel it won't add too much strain, you could increase the lsr in week 3 to 6/6.5 miles. The trick really is to 'hasten slowly'. At this stage, you want to build your endurance platform and jumping up to HHN2 won't benefit you hugely at this stage, in fact potentially there could be more risk.

And, just to hammer the point home again, slowing down your lsr is the biggest gain you can make at this stage :)

You could do the Clonmel Half, but how do you plan to do it, as a race or lsr? We've discussed the cons to doing a race as a lsr (discipline etc) but as you would have a recovery period/interrupted training afterwards, you might be able to swing it. Personally, I would barter with the OH and sell my soul do whatever it takes to get the scheduled lsr in my holidays ;)

ok Thanks Dubgal72
    I think I might just slightly increase the lsr this week as suggested :)
    I might have been itching to get a bit more ahead of myself now to compensate for the holiday break.
    As the hols are 6 weeks away I should be concentrating on 'the now' and building up slowly now which should give me a better grip on changing things slightly before I go (I could do my lsr the day before I leave?) and when I'm back
    I just need to get inventive around how to break the news about a longer absence on holidays....
    I've also started back today crossfit/kettlebell/core training twice a week that should keep that itch away for a few more weeks !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Dubgal72 wrote:
    Ok. Just curious, why have you substituted strides for all the pace runs? And why have you increased the lsr's ahead of schedule, especially as you are coming back from injury?

I was doing higher mileage than the plan already so I figured there was no point going backwards for it. The Boards plan was way too advanced for me but both HH plans looked to have very low mileage. I love the long runs, when I'm out there I feel like I could run all day.

I'm doing strides instead of pace for a few reasons.

I really enjoy running at easy pace and think it's really raising my fitness levels.

I'm not being at all ambitious in regards targets, I'll be trying for 4:30 but happy with 4:45 so figured I didn't need much pace work.

Like you say, I'm only back running a couple of months before the plan started and even though I've been given the all clear and feel great, I didn't want to push my luck by doing much at pace. I'm more confident now after last night so maybe I'll revise that.

I'm open to suggestions and do pay attention to the more experienced people here (unless they're telling me not to do it) so if I'm doing something wrong then let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Hope you've had a magnum by now?! Now you have a fix on your pace in the heat, would running by time on your feet help? Ex head out (one direction only...) for 20 mins and 20 back? I like the pool cross training :cool:

Sounds like a plan ! Will try that tomorrow. Not sure you would classify my pool work as cross training ! More like lying on an inflatable bed training !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Yay! Shins are okay, just a little tight and knotted! I can still train, just have to miss tonights run, so I need to make up a mile during the week to keep on target :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

RonanP77 wrote: »
    I was doing higher mileage than the plan already so I figured there was no point going backwards for it. The Boards plan was way too advanced for me but both HH plans looked to have very low mileage. I love the long runs, when I'm out there I feel like I could run all day.

I'm doing strides instead of pace for a few reasons.

I really enjoy running at easy pace and think it's really raising my fitness levels.

I'm not being at all ambitious in regards targets, I'll be trying for 4:30 but happy with 4:45 so figured I didn't need much pace work.

Like you say, I'm only back running a couple of months before the plan started and even though I've been given the all clear and feel great, I didn't want to push my luck by doing much at pace. I'm more confident now after last night so maybe I'll revise that.

I'm open to suggestions and do pay attention to the more experienced people here (unless they're telling me not to do it) so if I'm doing something wrong then let me know.
    It depends on what effort you're doing the strides at, but if it's injury you're worried about, strides can potentially cause stress, especially if not done properly or too explosively so keep an eye. Your injury was around the ankle and calf area wasn't it?
    If you decide to include a weekly pace run, remember it doesn't have to be at PMP straight away. Also keep in mind a general rule of thumb: 'avoid increasing pace and volume in the same week'.
    Your original plan was to train for DCM in 2016 so it's a good idea to keep the target for this year on the conservative side...which reminds me...you did fill in *the questions* didn't you?! :D

ok Thanks Dubgal72
    I think I might just slightly increase the lsr this week as suggested :)
    I might have been itching to get a bit more ahead of myself now to compensate for the holiday break.
    As the hols are 6 weeks away I should be concentrating on 'the now' and building up slowly now which should give me a better grip on changing things slightly before I go (I could do my lsr the day before I leave?) and when I'm back
    I just need to get inventive around how to break the news about a longer absence on holidays....
    I've also started back today crossfit/kettlebell/core training twice a week that should keep that itch away for a few more weeks !!

Keep us posted anyway. You are absolutely right tho, focus on the now...with of course half an eye on the weeks ahead ;)

And if you need to grab an extra hour for your lsr, you do know how to operate your alarm clock?! :pac:

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Sounds like a plan ! Will try that tomorrow. Not sure you would classify my pool work as cross training ! More like lying on an inflatable bed training !!

If you pop a glass of something into your hand while on the inflatable, I am sure Bungy Girl would class that as a Body Balance class :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

3.11 easy done yesterday.

5 miles including hill sprints done tonight. 3.3 miles easy run and then hit the biggest hill around.

Planned to do 6/7 but didn't find them too bad so did 10. Each sprint was a fast 25 count and then a jog back down.

A slow 1 mile ish cool down to finish.

I expected these to be harder so I think I might need to find a steeper hill.

Had a little meltdown on Saturday. There was snots and tears.

I hadn't been able to complete a 40 minute easy run on the wednesday and so I was putting off my next run for one simple reason; fear of failure. I was beginning to absolutely hate running and my motivation was gone and so I had a chat with my mostest amazingest bestie and we agreed that the reason was because of all the knock backs I've had, because each knock back has made my goal seem bigger and bigger and it's just there, hanging over me.

So I missed my planned run. And after all the snots and tears I took the mutt up the dublin mountains for an extra long walk. I got to near the bottom of the scalp and took off, I sprinted up and down the hills, and I jogged on the flat, there was no garmin, no heart rate, no idea how far I ran. And I remembered why I love this so much.

So today was the first day I was able to run back on my plan in I don't know how long. The plan was 10mins WU, 6 x 4 minutes @ LT HR with 75 second recovery, and 10 minutes WD. I was nervous, but looking forward to it still, the rain was a welcome treat. I knew by the third interval that six would be difficult, so I agreed with myself that I would do four and I would not count that as failure, because it is my first day back on the plan. So I completed 4 x 4 min intervals, followed by a 12 min WD and 4 x 60metre sprints.

I'm feeling happy again, I'm pain free, and I'm confident I can finish this week's plan successfully.

No more snots and tears :)

Edit; I also decided to give long hard consideration to taking a break from crossfit until the marathon is over.....

Dubgal72 wrote:
    It depends on what effort you're doing the strides at, but if it's injury you're worried about, strides can potentially cause stress, especially if not done properly or too explosively so keep an eye. Your injury was around the ankle and calf area wasn't it? If you decide to include a weekly pace run, remember it doesn't have to be at PMP straight away. Also keep in mind a general rule of thumb: 'avoid increasing pace and volume in the same week'. Your original plan was to train for DCM in 2016 so it's a good idea to keep the target for this year on the conservative side...which reminds me...you did fill in *the questions* didn't you?!

Yep, they were filled in ages ago, I remember you giving out to me and telling me to come back next year ;-)

Yeah, it was torn ankle ligaments (talofibular ligaments if that means anything to you) That's something to take on board then, I might be better off switching Fridays to pace (is that the same as tempo?) instead of strides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

If you pop a glass of something into your hand while on the inflatable, I am sure Bungy Girl would class that as a Body Balance class :D

Now that I like the sound of ! Always wondered about that body balance :)

Yep, they were filled in ages ago, I remember you giving out to me and telling me to come back next year ;-)

Yeah, it was torn ankle ligaments (talofibular ligaments if that means anything to you) That's something to take on board then, I might be better off switching Fridays to pace (is that the same as tempo?) instead of strides.

I would say easy running for the next seven days to make sure the latest niggle is history and review/decide then. 'Pace run' means a set number of miles in or around your planned marathon pace (PMP). I say 'in or around' as for novices, PMP is unknown territory. If you're planning to just get around the course or are not being overly ambitious with target it's not strictly necessary, lots of easy miles will get you there. Have a think anyway...

Omeceron wrote: »
    3.11 easy done yesterday.

5 miles including hill sprints done tonight. 3.3 miles easy run and then hit the biggest hill around.

Planned to do 6/7 but didn't find them too bad so did 10. Each sprint was a fast 25 count and then a jog back down.

A slow 1 mile ish cool down to finish.

I expected these to be harder so I think I might need to find a steeper hill.

Well done but seriously, with an introduction to something new, always, always 'underdo' them. Your body might not protest at the time but it could very well come back to bite you.... Even a fast 25 count sounds too long but the effort sounds about right: these are not a lactic-building workout as such, they are not meant to knacker you. These babies are short and very sweet. Their purpose is to keep you in touch with speed/fast leg turnover and also have the added benefit of making you run with good form.
    I think you forgot to mention the thorough stretching session you had too??? ;)

- make sure you are thoroughly warmed up for these
    - pick a hill in advance. Ideally it will be pretty steep. My favourite is a short and steep tarmac'd footbridge over a railway line but you got to work with what you have
    - these are done fast....but not for long
    - you should not 'be wrecked' on these, if you are, you're doing them wrong, probably too long
    - do 6-8 as an introduction. DO NOT DO MORE THAN THIS THIS WEEK!!!
    - like 'flat sprints', no need to get a pace on these, do them by effort so TURN THE GARMIN OFF :D
    - count slowly to 8 or 10 for these (ie, 8-10 seconds), no huge benefit doing them for longer
    - walk back or jog very slowly. Recover completely before you start the next one, take up to two or three minutes.
    - really focus on form: lean from the ankle but not too much; run tall, high knee lift, quick feet and strong arm drive. And the driving force always: don't strain, shoulders down and stay relaxed :)
    - warm down and stretch thoroughly afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭ratracer

Right, so that's the summer holidays out of the way, and I managed to run on 6 days, including the two LSR's!! It was quite hot in France but I enjoyed the runs all the same. Back to the normal running in wind and rain tomorrow :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

ratracer wrote: »
    Right, so that's the summer holidays out of the way, and I managed to run on 6 days, including the two LSR's!! It was quite hot in France but I enjoyed the runs all the same. Back to the normal running in wind and rain tomorrow :(

And back to the rat race next week? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Well done but seriously, with an introduction to something new, always, always 'underdo' them. Your body might not protest at the time but it could very well come back to bite you.... Even a fast 25 count sounds too long but the effort sounds about right: these are not a lactic-building workout as such, they are not meant to knacker you. These babies are short and very sweet. Their purpose is to keep you in touch with speed/fast leg turnover and also have the added benefit of making you run with good form.
    I think you forgot to mention the thorough stretching session you had too??? ;)

Point taken and lesson learnt. Each one was 16/17 secs according to my garmin.

Hope that was short enough to get me back into the good books :o

Dubgal72 wrote:
    I would say easy running for the next seven days to make sure the latest niggle is history and review/decide then. 'Pace run' means a set number of miles in or around your planned marathon pace (PMP). I say 'in or around' as for novices, PMP is unknown territory. If you're planning to just get around the course or are not being overly ambitious with target it's not strictly necessary, lots of easy miles will get you there. Have a think anyway...

You're right there, I don't think I'll know my PMP until I've got a lot more miles done and have some of the longer LSRs under my belt. At the minute I intend doing the first half at my easy pace and then see how I feel. I'm sure that will change over the next 16 weeks though, probably after the 10 mile and which ever HM I end up doing.

Omeceron wrote: »
    Point taken and lesson learnt. Each one was 16/17 secs according to my garmin.

Hope that was short enough to get me back into the good books :o

Actually a bit too long :) 8-10 seconds is fine for these. You were never out of the good books tho :D

- make sure you are thoroughly warmed up for these
    - pick a hill in advance. Ideally it will be pretty steep. My favourite is a short and steep tarmac'd footbridge over a railway line but you got to work with what you have
    - these are done fast....but not for long
    - you should not 'be wrecked' on these, if you are, you're doing them wrong, probably too long
    - do 6-8 as an introduction. DO NOT DO MORE THAN THIS THIS WEEK!!!
    - like 'flat sprints', no need to get a pace on these, do them by effort so TURN THE GARMIN OFF :D
    - count slowly to 8 or 10 for these (ie, 8-10 seconds), no huge benefit doing them for longer
    - walk back or jog very slowly. Recover completely before you start the next one, take up to two or three minutes.
    - really focus on form: lean from the ankle but not too much; run tall, high knee lift, quick feet and strong arm drive. And the driving force always: don't strain, shoulders down and stay relaxed :)
    - warm down and stretch thoroughly afterwards.

Looking forward to hearing how the boards plan people get on with these. Hope the above helps but if you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Looking forward to hearing how the boards plan people get on with these. Hope the above helps but if you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask.

The hill sprints are the *best fun ever* :), I did them last night, and kept your tips in mind. Took a couple of goes before I was sprinting, as it's not something I'm used to doing. I have a decent little hill near my flat which is the perfect length for an slow-count-to-10 ... but it is not as steep as it could be, so I'll plan for a steeper hill in two weeks time.

You're right there, I don't think I'll know my PMP until I've got a lot more miles done and have some of the longer LSRs under my belt. At the minute I intend doing the first half at my easy pace and then see how I feel. I'm sure that will change over the next 16 weeks though, probably after the 10 mile and which ever HM I end up doing.

You can establish a working PMP for now: it's not an 'actual marathon pace'.
    If your planned working range is a target of 4:30-4:45, your PMP is at quickest 10:20m/mi or 6:25 per km so your pace run would be executed between 6:25-6:40 per km.

An introductory 'pace run' could look like this:
    15 mins warm up at shuffle -> easy pace
    5k at PMP (ease into this, 1st km at 6:40 pace, work down to 6:25 pace)
    10 mins cool down at easy pace
    Stretch etc

So your easy runs and lsr's will be at 11m/mi or 6:50km pace and slower. Hope that helps if you decide to go down that route.

The hill sprints are the *best fun ever* :), I did them last night, and kept your tips in mind. Took a couple of goes before I was sprinting, as it's not something I'm used to doing. I have a decent little hill near my flat which is the perfect length for an slow-count-to-10 ... but it is not as steep as it could be, so I'll plan for a steeper hill in two weeks time.

Nice :) I am sure you will have no bother finding a steep gradient. Bit spoiled for choice in your neck of the woods! How are the ribs?

My running guy suggested hills that were "about the same gradient as a carpark ramp", does that sound about right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I'm going to be bold and skip the hill sprints this week. I don't want to be putting undue pressure on my shins for the moment so I'll be taking it nice and handy this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Nice :) I am sure you will have no bother finding a steep gradient. Bit spoiled for choice in your neck of the woods! How are the ribs?

Ribs still a bit sore. The physio did a good bit of manipulation on my back on Monday and warned me it would temporarily make things sorer.... and it did :rolleyes:. She gave me permission to try all of my schedule for the week, even the Tuesday repeats, but I was a bit too sore yesterday so I swapped in Wednesday's "5miles easy + hill sprints". Will see how I feel later but might do Thursday's easy run today and leave the 5x650m for tomorrow.

Am watching it. Weird old injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Wottle

Fair play to you Dubgal, you're energy on this thread is fantastic.
    As a result you've got me contemplating another crack at the marathon, haven't done one since 2009.
    Keep up the good work

My running guy suggested hills that were "about the same gradient as a carpark ramp", does that sound about right?
    I won't specify a gradient, just steeper is generally better. The less gradient, the more like sprints they are and IMO, hill sprints have less injury risk. Note difference between flat sprints and flat strides: flat sprints are NOT to be attempted :D
    chrislad wrote: »
    I'm going to be bold and skip the hill sprints this week. I don't want to be putting undue pressure on my shins for the moment so I'll be taking it nice and handy this week.
    Wise I'd say until your shins start behaving.
    Ribs still a bit sore. The physio did a good bit of manipulation on my back on Monday and warned me it would temporarily make things sorer.... and it did :rolleyes:. She gave me permission to try all of my schedule for the week, even the Tuesday repeats, but I was a bit too sore yesterday so I swapped in Wednesday's "5miles easy + hill sprints". Will see how I feel later but might do Thursday's easy run today and leave the 5x650m for tomorrow.

Am watching it. Weird old injury.
    Definitely listen to your body, when it comes to injury, your body knows best :) Sounds like you're moving in the right direction!

I won't specify a gradient, just steeper is generally better. The less gradient, the more like sprints they are and IMO, hill sprints have less injury risk. Note difference between flat sprints and flat strides: flat sprints are NOT to be attempted :D

Yup, I posted sprints last night, but they were strides at about 90%.

I wonder if I misinterpreted him and he meant minimum of carpark ramp gradient. I'll look again :)

Dubgal72 wrote:
    So your easy runs and lsr's will be at 11m/mi or 6:50km pace and slower. Hope that helps if you decide to go down that route.

That's a big help, it's the one thing I'll struggle with though.

I'll try and put this down right so you don't think I'm being awkward and ignorant. My paces for this year would be;

5k - 4:20 - 4:25/km
    10k - 4:45 - 4:50/km

I won't need to worry about those until the end of the year or early next year though, I have no shorter events planned.

I have my LSR and easy pace as 6:10 - 6:45/km but realistically I've settled around 6:25 - 6:35/km. It's my comfortable pace, my happy pace and I can keep at that for 17km so far. I can comfortably go at 6:10 but 6:45 feels a little odd and I'm not keen on it, much slower and I find it hard to find a rhythm and maintain it, it feels uncomfortable.

The rest now is guess work as I don't have experience at these distances really.

10 mile 5:50 - 6:10/km
    HM 6:10 - 6:25/km
    PMP 6:25 - 6:35/km

6:50 isn't much different from 6:45 so I guess I'll try it as my easy pace now. It's going to mean my easy runs before work are going to take ages and leave me tight for time, it's going to leave things a lot less enjoyable and I'll struggle to hold myself back. I'll try it on tomorrows easy run though and see how it goes.

This is why I was saying before that maybe it's my finish time I needed to look at again rather than my pace.