If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Went down to the Kilcock dismantler place. Not the best experience. It was nice to walk around and see that many cars but I saw only two MK3's there (Vento and Golf estate). Got 3 little things from them for €20 and I'm happy enough with that but they wanted €70 for Punto bonnet and wing, so I didn't take them. Also on my way out the guy checked my pockets... that wasn't pleasant.

Was going to get the bonnet and wing from someone in Dublin for €30-€40 but they closed at 6 and I didn't make it there on time.

In other news, I saw this awesome car, with an awesome sticker on it. :P

19292319749_fabe68a7aa_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

€70 wasn't bad for the two man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

GvidoR wrote: »
    Went down to the Kilcock dismantler place. Not the best experience. It was nice to walk around and see that many cars but I saw only two MK3's there (Vento and Golf estate). Got 3 little things from them for €20 and I'm happy enough with that but they wanted €70 for Punto bonnet and wing, so I didn't take them. Also on my way out the guy checked my pockets... that wasn't pleasant.

Was going to get the bonnet and wing from someone in Dublin for €30-€40 but they closed at 6 and I didn't make it there on time.

In other news, I saw this awesome car, with an awesome sticker on it. :P

They checked your pockets? Jaysis that's a new one on me, I know people lift little things from there, and I've seen whats done about it, but the pockets is a new one

YbFocus wrote: »
    €70 wasn't bad for the two man?

It probably wasn't bad but since I got prices for €30, €40 and €50 from other places, I didn't want to take them for €70, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

It probably wasn't bad but since I got prices for €30, €40 and €50 from other places, I didn't want to take them for €70, you know.

True, the searching the pockets was totally wrong of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

If someone went to search my pockets in an established business a swift box to the jaw would be coming right their way. Totally out of order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Hard got for less than that gvidor. Maybe why they checked your pockets. Could have seemed a bit odd that you didn't take them for that.

Interslice wrote: »
    Hard got for less than that gvidor. Maybe why they checked your pockets. Could have seemed a bit odd that you didn't take them for that.

I wouldn't say so. As I said, I can get them for €40-€50... could have gotten them for €25-€30 + my current bonnet today, but that place closed too early. :(

Regardless of why theyy might have done it, it is not on

They checked your pockets? Jaysis that's a new one on me, I know people lift little things from there, and I've seen whats done about it, but the pockets is a new one

Seen them throwing an eye into a bag or two but that's about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Seen them throwing an eye into a bag or two but that's about it.

Yeah I've seen that, I seen them run out after one lad with a bat one day, but he didnt make any attempt to hide what he was at, still though bang out of order either way

Regardless of why theyy might have done it, it is not on

True, not making excuses, just speculating. If they asked me to empty my pockets I'd do it but they wouldn't be puttin their hands near them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

True, not making excuses, just speculating. If they asked me to empty my pockets I'd do it but they wouldn't be puttin their hands near them!

Empty my pockets? Absolutely not, make me!! :)

Empty my pockets, you say? Oh wait, I think I left my car unlocked, I'll be back in a minute. :pac:

jimgoose wrote: »
    Empty my pockets? Absolutely not, make me!! :)

Each to their own but I'd just show my wallet, phone and car keys and say good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

You should have said "What? You wan't to check me pockets, why don't you go fúck yourself, what the fúck would I want to rob any of the shít you have here"

Them exact words is what I would have said. I know I could be brave and say I would have hit him or something but in reality I wouldn't but those exact words I would have said and he wouldn't have got me to empty my pockets as I would have shouted a lot more abuse at him.

Also on my way out the guy checked my pockets... that wasn't pleasant.

That has pissed me right off. Who the fcuk do they think they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

If someone went to search my pockets in an established business a swift box to the jaw would be coming right their way. Totally out of order

You definitely haven't had that many dealings with Kilcock then or heard the stories....theyve a reputation

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

You definitely haven't had that many dealings with Kilcock then or heard the stories....theyve a reputation

Exactly what I was thinking, I'd not go near the place :)

Yeah I've barely heard of em tbh

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Having dealt with a few scrapyards over the years, I dealt with Kilcock over the phone.

Rude is not the word, I'd not go near them.

Whelans in Portlaoise, and a crowd dgt put me onto up in Louth/Cavan are my go to spots. You can ring them in advance to check if they have parts, and they will hold onto them for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

They have a reputation around here for being a crowd that you don't mess with it.

On a similar note, its just dawned on me how good the breaking business is for legitimising money. Revenue will never know if you sold the engine for 50 quid or 500 quid :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Yis don't know them well enough. It isn't my place to tell my tales of what goes on in the background or the places history.

I'm a regular, they know me well and I know them well, does me grand. Got my aerial and centre console today, will be back for a roof lining :)

I have seen them fighting before. The bat used to be a common sight. Mostly for apes who are blatantly trying to hide parts. But sure fighting in scrapyards is common ;)

There are far, far more unfriendly yards....

Didn't see you today mr gvidor! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote:

You must be a dodgy looking character! :P
    I know in my local breakers, one of the lads goes with you and takes the part off with/for you. I know they don't want things to be taken left right and centre and need to put barriers in place to tackle it, but this way has a more subtle kind of "helpful" attitude about it, as opposed to the "empty your pockets ya durty rotten scumbag" approach.

You must be a dodgy looking character! :P
    I know in my local breakers, one of the lads goes with you and takes the part off with/for you. I know they don't want things to be taken left right and centre and need to put barriers in place to tackle it, but this way has a more subtle kind of "helpful" attitude about it, as opposed to the "empty your pockets ya durty rotten scumbag" approach.

The two places I use have the parts ready to go for you if you ring in advance.

You can question them if needs be ( I once was given a passenger as opposed to a drivers mirror) and that's about it :)

dgt wrote: »
    Didn't see you today mr gvidor! :(

I didn't see the 406 either. I got there at about 4PM.

I left about half 3 and went to mcdonalds, had a fantastic feast with my coupons, was starving! :cool: Had been there since 12 though :D

dgt wrote: »
    I left about half 3 and went to mcdonalds, had a fantastic feast with my coupons, was starving! :cool: Had been there since 12 though :D

Haha nice, I also got McDonalds afterwards. No coupons though... paid full price for my Big Tasty. :P

What did you do there for 3 hours though? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Replaced the dodgy wiper motor today for another one, no questions asked (in the breakers). This motor, like the other two has the same issue in that when you turn off the switch when sweeping on the intermittent setting, it stops where it is. If you do it with any of the other speeds, they'll park. Also you should be able to flick the stalk down and it'll do one sweep, you need to keep your finger held on the stalk or else it'll stop. Said t'fcuk with the messing so I went to the main dealer in search of a wiper motor relay. Bought said relay, at a cost of 35 beans. I said I was going to test it before I leave the place, so popped it in, and it made no difference. Brought it back in 3 minutes after buying it, and they refunded me no bother, didn't even check the bag to see if I put the old one in, trying to pull one over. Sure the wipers work fair enough, better than before, so they'll do!

Haha nice, I also got McDonalds afterwards. No coupons though... paid full price for my Big Tasty. :P

What did you do there for 3 hours though? :eek:

Ah, I do scout out what I need/may need for future visits. I like to take my time with certain things. Also love poking under the bays and see how stuff is put together

They have a black E34 that might yield a part or 2. Same with Jaguars.