If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Will better tyres reduce road noise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Stheno wrote: »
    Will better tyres reduce road noise?

Sure havn't they all db ratings now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    Anyone have a mint green mk2 punto for breaking, the brother decided to park his into a pole head on...

I know a guy has one of them for breaking. I took the bumper from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Well i had a very productive night!

I built this :pac:

1zejn2w.jpg

And then i decided to break out the vintage guns and throw a 1926 Mercedes 540 K together :D

jt0yft.jpg

So much glue..... :o I'll finish it tomorrow at some stage and then paint the body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Was driving the pajero for today, lord, modern cars are so comfortable in comparison. My legs ache from pressing the peddles, as the seat isn't really height adjustable, gears are so stiff. Grinded them a few times, 5th instead of 3rd once or twice. I'd hate to have it for any more than 10 miles tbh. But it can move! Anybody know the horsepower it should be throwing out? (1998 2.8 diesel)

My Shogun 2.8 was 123bhp, I'd assume a Paj is the same

I think someone that posts in the dashcam thread recorded that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

The car passed this milestone on the way to work this morning.
    At 200k km now it is completely unsellable in Ireland :)

354334.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

if it is , it certainly wont be due to the mileage. Most people are not bothered about high mileage cars these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

if it is , it certainly wont be due to the mileage. Most people are not bothered about high mileage cars these days

People who do worry about the mileage on 16/17 year old second hand cars and generally people try to avoid selling cars to anyway

Im noticing more and more cars around 6 years or less will have more than 100k on the clocks compared to maybe 10 years ago, if that makes sense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Got some new wiper blades today.

It's so comforting not hearing that screech again! Plus the wipers actually work :D

Ah plenty are. Not when it comes to a diesel boggo passat or whatever but something like this etc the mileage may be a turn off.
    My mileage is still fairly low when in comparison with many on sale but it is climbing strong.
    Will be close to 140k at the years end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

YbFocus wrote: »
    Ah plenty are. Not when it comes to a diesel boggo passat or whatever but something like this etc the mileage may be a turn off.
    My mileage is still fairly low when in comparison with many on sale but it is climbing strong.
    Will be close to 140k at the years end.

I'll catch you by the end of the year.....:D

166man wrote: »
    I'll catch you by the end of the year.....:D

I'm going to leave mine running each night on blocks to make sure you don't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Car back into the mechanic, I must be giving some financial boost to the Polish mechanics scene :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Turbo lines came :D

Just need coolant and oil now

Finished my model car too, so far so good today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,934 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

bear1 wrote: »
    Car back into the mechanic, [...]
    Seriously, why you still load more into it? Get rid of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

joujoujou wrote: »
    Seriously, why you still load more into it? Get rid of.

Amen.

Cut losses and offload that car!

Hear you guys loud and clear and trust me I am contemplating it.
    The reason I haven't offloaded it is just the amount of work I've got going on coupled with a new born.
    Also, as I'm doing most of my job in Poland then I would have to drive the car back to Ireland just to get rid.
    Amazed that our 2 Fiats are the most reliable cars we've had.

Unregistered Users

Sell it for parts in Poland. ;)

Or maybe export to Russia - they take everything. :D

Unregistered Users

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Page not found. :P

THE NATIONAL Road Safety Authority has urged motorists to drive like absolute ****ing lunatics in wet road conditions today.
    Gardai have also asked all road users to exercise extreme disregard for the weather and to drive as recklessly as humanly possible.
    Chief Super Intendant Michael Murray told WWN that people should ignore all warnings and drive as fast as they can through the floods.

“If you are travelling under 120km an hour you are likely to get stuck in the flood.” he said. “The best thing to do is to make sure you are going fast enough to skim across the water like a large stone.”
    Careful drivers caused problems for rush-hour commuters in many parts of Dublin earlier this morning. Motorists have been urged to ‘shunt’ slow moving drivers off the road and out of harms way.
    “It is imperative these vehicles be taken out as quickly as possible to avoid further delays in traffic.” added Mr. Murray.
    The RSA advised that no road was impassable due to flooding. It is down to the driver to grow a pair of balls and tackle the flood head-on and as fast as possible.
    In Waterford motorists are being told to ‘man the **** up’ and avoid turning back when they see a flood.
    AA Roadwatch said motorists these days are turning into pussies and should be made wear ‘P’ plates if they refuse to challenge a flood.
    “People have gone soft over the past twenty years.” the organisation said. “Making drivers wear P plates are probably the only solution to this problem. ”
    “It’s only a sup of water lads.” they added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Page not found. :P

Boards.ie is blocking out some of the link, replace some of the stars :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Brilliant! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I was at my mechanic today and he had Alfa 159 and Alfa GT in the yard. I am not proud of this, but I really liked both of the bastards in flesh.

I know our going jokes here around Alfas, but looks like that 1.9 JTD engine is pretty decent? I am doing a lot more driving now thanks to a woman in my life ffs :p . I cant believe I am thinking of it, but maybe its time for me to be a bit more sensible and get diesel lol.

Sell it for parts in Poland. ;)

Or maybe export to Russia - they take everything. :D

I'd say I'd get sweet f all if I sold it for parts.
    Jaysus I'm not going anywhere near Russia, shure they are mad loike

I was at my mechanic today and he had Alfa 159 and Alfa GT in the yard. I am not proud of this, but I really liked both of the bastards in flesh.

I know our going jokes here around Alfas, but looks like that 1.9 JTD engine is pretty decent? I am doing a lot more driving now thanks to a woman in my life ffs :p . I cant believe I am thinking of it, but maybe its time for me to be a bit more sensible and get diesel lol.

Well they ain't slow, our own pred holds the Irish land speed record with one.
    Set between Borrisokane and Birr on a frosty night.

I like the 159 from the front, from the back loos a little too stubby and boxed off for the overall shape of the car

gts etc are not particularly nice to look at

imo of course