Other people that get annoyed when you don't drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Non drinkers are included but they should not try to impose their beliefs/hang ups on people who wish to enjoy themselves.

The irony, it burns! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

What, so after a few drinks, you're compelled to focus on what someone else is (not) drinking? In fairness, that's your problem, not the non-drinkers! :P

That depends on who's in either establishment :P

Well, gererally, non drinkers in non-drinking establishments and drinkers in pubs etc. Kinda easy that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

It's not unique to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

Drakares wrote: »
    I have experienced this quite a bit.

When out with people in a pub /restaurant and I am not drinking alcohol either because I'm driving or just don't feel like it, there's inevitably at least one person that will proceed to get upset about it.

I'm either "ruining the craic", a "dry ****e", "under the thumb".. And every time the waiter comes by to take orders for a fresh round of drinks, one of the lads will say "No bring him a beer/whisky" or something stupid. Then when I say I'm driving, they're like "just one then".. Ehh No..

Once or twice things have actually gotten really heated where one guy I know told me to leave his house because I didn't feel like making myself sick with drink...

I have talked to other people who have experienced similar things and they always say that the types who need you to be drinking are idiots.. But in a lot of cases for me, they're good friends and intelligent people that just have this childish mentality that I cannot understand.. I mean, what bloody difference does it make what the hell I am drinking?!

Anyone else experienced this?

Why do you keep mixing with them? Why put up with them? I drink, (more than the government guidelines!), but I would never dream of pestering someone to take a drink and nor would I tolerate someone telling me to take alcohol when I choose not to.

Well, gererally, non drinkers in non-drinking establishments and drinkers in pubs etc. Kinda easy that one.

Yes sir, no-one who drinks alcohol has ever gone into a cafe or attended a gig with no bar. (I'm assuming that's what you mean by "non-drinking establishment? Or do you think non-drinkers have clubhouses where they meet up and all not drink together? :D) Likewise, no-one who doesn't want to drink has ever been in a pub or club. Never happens. Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Why hang about places that sell alcohol if you're a TT?

As someone who doesn't drink, I kind of agree with this. I haven't been in a pub in years, because I find drunk people a bit... boring. The idea of paying the guts of a fiver for an unrefrigerated fizzy drink, just to listen to people gradually becoming less and less interesting... well, it frankly doesn't appeal to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Yes, I understand. What I'm not keen on is non drinkers taking everything in at a party/pub etc. We all let our hair down occasionally and one of the reasons we drink is to accommodate that release. Can you visualise a party full of non drinkers? All weighing each other up?
    And all afraid to drop the mask

That's a bit sad, I mean the fact that someone can feel unable, without being thrashed to drop whatever mask they have constructed in order to enjoy themself, and with so much paranoia that it has to be perceived to be among like minded, I can assure you the reason that some drink in similar company is because it can be so mind numbingly boring to observe and listen to what lies behind, that you'd need the whole bottle of JD to kill the time.
    And as if you have a choice, as it's invariably some works do or some other construed event where attendance is mandatory.

But why does it seem predominantly here is like this? Why that mistrust?

I'm not knocking drinking, just that attitude you get from some that you are no fun unless you at least attempt to keep up with them no matter what.
    I've been to crowded clubs on the continent where the amount of alcohol sold in the whole night would barely cover a round here, yet every one there was there to have fun.
    I've had many a sober pub conversation with the hardest of Scots and English drinkers about the most fascinating, personal and shocking things and rarely got that same suspicion and attitude.
    You're not interesting unless you're drinking.:rolleyes: my pale white freckled arse.

wil wrote: »
    That's a bit sad, I mean the fact that someone can feel unable, without being thrashed to drop whatever mask they have constructed in order to enjoy themself, and with so much paranoia that it has to be perceived to be among like minded, I can assure you the reason that some drink in similar company is because it can be so mind numbingly boring to observe and listen to what lies behind, that you'd need the whole bottle of JD to kill the time.
    And as if you have a choice, as it's invariably some works do or some other construed event where attendance is mandatory.

But why does it seem predominantly here is like this? Why that mistrust?

I'm not knocking drinking, just that attitude you get from some that you are no fun unless you at least attempt to keep up with them no matter what.
    I've been to crowded clubs on the continent where the amount of alcohol sold in the whole night would barely cover a round here, yet every one there was there to have fun.
    I've had many a sober pub conversation with the hardest of Scots and English drinkers about the most fascinating, personal and shocking things and rarely got that same suspicion and attitude.
    You're not interesting unless you're drinking.:rolleyes: my pale white freckled arse.

Again, I hear you. "Ve vill enjhoy hourselfs", is the mantra of central Europeans ....... I worked there for 15 years.

The Irish ability to have the craic and be sociable is envied by lots of the visitors to our shores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

In a political system, democracy rules. That is the majority ..... get it?

Non drinkers are included but they should not try to impose their beliefs/hang ups on people who wish to enjoy themselves.

You've only got to look east of Constantinople to see what alcohol banning does to the brain.

How is being in your presence while not drinking considered imposing their beliefs/hang ups on you, when you are the one making an issue out of this person not drinking ?

Its plain an simple, crowd mentality, were all getting **** faced, this guy/girl isn't so therefor there must be something wrong with them. Your most likely just worried what this person will remember of you while you make a drunken tit out of yourself. Sure if everyone is locked there's a better chance they wont or someone else might make a bigger tit of themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

I can think of one time where we went to a place for the music. I was enjoying the music at the start of the night without drink. It's doctors orders that I can't drink and I wouldn't touch it because it doesn't agree with me. I was told to sit down because I was dancing like a duck. I couldn't give a ****. A while later they wanted to mix in alcohol into my 7-up because I was so dry and it was them dancing like an eejit by the end of the night. They ruined my night. I doubt no one else cared what I drank and how I danced and whether I needed 50 drinks to get up and move. It's always the people with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I find its just in Ireland that this pressure is put on , Anywhere I have being in Europe when asked what am I having may it be in a club or pub and I say green tea or sparkling water, no one bats an eyelid, only comments are get are I thought you were Irish...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

OK, whatever floats your boat. But why not hang with friends of similar outlook?

For the most part I enjoy their company, have lots of common interests, just don't like their attempts to persuade me to drink more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Why hang about places that sell alcohol if you're a TT?
    First off I'm not a TT and if I was, the argument is illogical anyway.

Why do you go to the Cinema or somewhere other than a pub if you drink alcohol?! Pubs are not just for getting plastered. They're for meeting people and friends.

If ones personality is so dull that they need alcohol to "have the craic" then it says a lot about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,194 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

My brother never drank alcohol but when he was younger used to go to the pub with the rest of us, he got sick of it when idiots used to try and put vodka in this 7up when they thought he wasn't looking.

Dangerous carry on as he was the one who was obviously the driver on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Again, I hear you. "Ve vill enjhoy hourselfs", is the mantra of central Europeans ....... I worked there for 15 years.

The Irish ability to have the craic and be sociable is envied by lots of the visitors to our shores.

Is it? The arrogance of people who assume they're having a better time than others never ceases to amaze. How the Fck can someone tell who is having the better time? Everyone has different tastes and interests. Is a GAA match more exciting than cricket? Is Call of duty more exciting than FIFA? Everyones answers would vary according to their own tastes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I practically never drink and the 2 main people I go out with...would be heavy enough drinkers (20+vodkas on a night) and they'd think of nothing on it...if I just said I had enough and wouldn't be having any more(I'm very lightweight)....or if I was out and not drinking atal...they wouldn't care

But I wouldn't be the type to judge anyone on what they do when out drinking either.

The naysayers would have had a field day at Cana. Tut tutting their way, watching and making mental notes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Tell them you don't want to end up an alcoholic like them.

The naysayers would have had a field day at Cana. Tut tutting their way, watching and making mental notes.

Haha. Most non-drinkers aren't watching you, pal, you're really not that interesting!

TBH in my experience the people who "tut, watch and make mental notes" the most are not non-drinkers, but people like you who think everyone should be drinking as much as they are. It's kinda funny that those who "hate non-drinkers" usually say it's because they don't like people judging or commenting on what they're drinking. Ever occurred to you that you're the one doing that to them? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Dont worry, a good skinfull should get you out of that frame of mind.:)

Who the hell stands around making mental drunk notes :confused: unless maybe they are writing a play.

Haha. Most non-drinkers aren't watching you, pal, you're really not that interesting!

TBH in my experience the people who "tut, watch and make mental notes" the most are not non-drinkers, but people like you who think everyone should be drinking as much as they are. It's kinda funny that those who "hate non-drinkers" usually say it's because they don't like people judging or commenting on what they're drinking. Ever occurred to you that you're the one doing that to them? :pac:

I'm not sure where you get the "hate non drinkers" from. Possibly your mind.
    wil wrote: »
    Dont worry, a good skinfull should get you out of that frame of mind.:)

Who the hell stands around making mental drunk notes :confused: unless maybe they are writing a play.

So thats where O'Neill got his plot in The Iceman Cometh?

Bunch of Mary Whitehouse clones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 SmilesInMass

Ever think that the reason you love going out and getting plastered is because when you're not drunk you can't stop thinking about other people thinking about you? Just the kind of vibe I'm getting after reading though this thread :pac:

Yes, I like going out, socialising and not getting plastered.

I also disagree with Sharia Law ......... something that would be closer to the mindset of the Total Abstinence Heads than of regular pubgoers.

This thread is Other people that get annoyed when you don't drink

but it has morphed into Other people that get annoyed when you do drink

Anyway, here is one from Tom T. Cheers!:

One of the best nights out in town I ever had was one where I drove in, had one pint of Pepsi (not even Coke) and drove home. I spent maybe 2.50 the whole night and had a blast, woke up with a full wallet, a clear head and a car in the garden. I do drink, maybe once a fortnight, but I could just as easily go without it. It's a sad scenario in this country when the first word to follow a person's statement that they don't drink is 'Why?' rather than simply saying 'ok cool' or 'can I get you a coke/sprite/whatever'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,490 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Omackeral wrote: »
    One of the best nights out in town I ever had was one where I drove in, had one pint of Pepsi (not even Coke) and drove home. I spent maybe 2.50 the whole night and had a blast, woke up with a full wallet, a clear head and a car in the garden. I do drink, maybe once a fortnight, but I could just as easily go without it. It's a sad scenario in this country when the first word to follow a person's statement that they don't drink is 'Why?' rather than simply saying 'ok cool' or 'can I get you a coke/sprite/whatever'.

+100 on this.

I haven't had a drink out socially in years ,for various reasons,and as I'm normally the driver. doesn't mean I'm anti drink , far from it , each to their own . Normally you get asked , Why aren't you drinking, sure get a taxi home.
    If I wanted to drink that's exactly what I'd do , but I always enjoy my night out , when I do go out , sober :) And no , I don't judge anyone who does enjoy their night out with a drink !

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Divided opinion on this myself

On one hand drinkers are drinking to get drunk and be drunk with other people so a non drinker in that group makes the whole thing more uncomrfortable
    Same goes for getting stoned, pilling, shrooming and so on.

On the other hand, unless its a group of people aredrinking together with the aim of all being at the same level of twisted, then non drinking is perfectly fair game, Each to his own and all that.

So question really is what is the groups goal at the end of the night, If its to be twisted, then feck off spoilsport. If its to meet up and have a chat/laugh with each other then whatever floats your boat.

I don't drink much and don't go on sessions with my drinking buddies when im not drinking as I don't enjoy them. Also drunk people are spas when you are sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

At this stage people know that if I'm drinking I usually drink heavily and when I'm not drinking I won't be cajoled into having "just the one". I have a friend who likes to detox for a month or two at a time and she gets such unbelievable hassle for not drinking that she came to an arrangement with a favourite barman so when she orders a martini for herself he gives her water in a martini glass. Madness but it works.

As for drinkers not wanting to be with non-drinkers...how fecking old are ye lads? "There watching us and remembering everything we say". Jaysus.

To be frank listening to drunk friends shouting at each-other, telling the same tired old joke for the 57th time is tedious and I'm not listening to ye at that point, I'm gone to find more interesting people to talk with.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

People that genuinely get "annoyed" when you don't drink, i find are usually ar5eholes, who will only get the opportunity to act like that ONCE with me, and once only.

life's too short for idiots to be all up in your face about stuff that doesnt concern them.

Sure for all they know i could be on a kilo of coke, or heroin or could've just done a bong or waterfall before meeting them.

but god forbid you say no to the oul "good CRAAAIIC" OIRISH drinking. oh no, can't have that!