best cereal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Fruit and fibre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

used to love corn pops <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Mr_Muffin wrote: »
    You add it to the porridge when you are making it. The peanut butter will melt and mix in with the porridge.

Hmmmmmm nurse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I hate milk so cereal is mostly out for me :(. Nothing makes me want to puke more than seeing the remnants of soggy cereal in a bowl. I do like Lidl muesli with strawberry yoghurt and strawberries. Porridge made with a splash of milk and the rest water is lovely. Add a spoon of honey and some cinnamon, some chopped banana or berries, and nuts , it's amazing :).

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Start.

Runners up are Coco Pops and Frosties.

There is also a Granola with Raisins and Almonds I get in Dunnes that is excellent. Can't for the life of me remember the brand. Lidl to a similar version called Crunch, which is not as superior but also doubles as a colon cleanser.

All them.

ALL. THEM.

*cries into eggs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Any time I've eaten porridge or any other cereal, I've been hungry again about an hour or two later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,079 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

When I was a kid I used to mix Cornflakes, Rice Crispies and Weetabix all into one bowl with a small bit of sugar

Holy sh1t it was good.

Whenever our parents got one of those 'variety boxes' (usually when we were camping) we used to all fight over the honey nut loops and the coco-pops cause our parents never let us have those sugary cereals most of the time

We got away with crunchy nut corn flakes for a while cause my Mother didn't realize that they were covered in some kind of sugar syrup

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Homemade granola. With a banana chopped in, and maybe a handful of berries.

And when I don't have time (or can't be bothered) to make the granola, it'll be porridge with a bit of honey and fruit.

I never used to have cereal for breakfast, as I hate milk. It makes me throw up, I just can't stomach it. But then I discovered to amazing goodness of soy milk about 2 years ago and now breakfast is cereal 5 days a week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

osarusan wrote: »
    Any time I've eaten porridge or any other cereal, I've been hungry again about an hour or two later.

Much as I love porridge, even with adding stuff to it, I'm the same. It's a myth that it fills you up till lunchtime !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Morpork

http://www.lidl.ie/en/3137.htm?action=showDetail&id=99

Picked this up last week for the first time. Totally hooked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Smidge wrote: »
    Porridge is the Devils wallpaper paste.

Remember the wife's Grand Parents making the porridge for the week, back in the day :eek:.

Still gives me a bit a shudder.

And then top it with some butter milk - its just wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Loved Lucky Charms when in the US. They use colours that aren't even in the dictionary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭KTR1C

Heroin :cool:

If I haven't got any porridge usually does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

Akrasia wrote: »
    When I was a kid I used to mix Cornflakes, Rice Crispies and Weetabix all into one bowl with a small bit of sugar

Holy sh1t it was good.

Whenever our parents got one of those 'variety boxes' (usually when we were camping) we used to all fight over the honey nut loops and the coco-pops cause our parents never let us have those sugary cereals most of the time

We got away with crunchy nut corn flakes for a while cause my Mother didn't realize that they were covered in some kind of sugar syrup

haha never let you have the sugary cereals,

little did she know.....

they are all full of sugar! WIN WIN

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I really like special K, weetabix, porridge.

I must eat more porridge. Im not even sure how to make it, or which one to go for. Trial and error I guess!

Flahavans organic oats.

Now, you may think that there's no difference between the organic and the plain stuff, and I would have been of the same opinion, but the difference is indeed real!

Put it in the fridge the night before with a little more milk than it says on the pack. Make it in a pot not in a microwave, cook it slowly.

It's feckin gorgeous if done right. Rotten if it's not.

Steep the pot with cold water, not hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Weetos was a special treat when I was a wee little girl. And Nesquick!

Crunchy nut, Cheerios, the mini bite size wheetabix with the chocolate chips in them. They're all feckin' unreal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Cookie Crisp, weetos, Nesquik....all the chocolatey cereals that shouldn't be classed as cereals!!

So bad.

I only eat weetabix and porridge though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

There was a banana flavour rice krispies type cereal out years ago that was delicious, they stopped making it after a short while for whatever reason.

All about the porridge these days though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭blastman

Berserker wrote: »
    Can you buy them these days?

Worryingly, they seem to have disappeared of late...

Am I the only one that remembers Puffa Puffa Rice. Like ambrosia, it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Cookie Crisp, weetos, Nesquik....all the chocolatey cereals that shouldn't be classed as cereals!!

So bad.

I only eat weetabix and porridge though. :(

Oh my I forgot Cookie Crisp!! I only eat either porridge or eggs for breakfast these days. :( I think I want to go on a cereal binge :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Porridge, sprinkling of pumpkin seeds and dried cranberries and a spoonful of strawberry jam.
    Nomz!

Weetos and start are also two of my faves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Im partial to the odd bowl of bran flakes but porridge with a bit of strawberry jam is delish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Porridge hands down like everything with food if it tastes to nice it probably isn't good for ya. Most cereals today are laced with sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Porridge straight up with a sprinkle of salt and a little milk, purist that I am. As a treat/change Dorset Cereals Chocolate Granola.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Ruu wrote: »
    Does anyone remember Kelloggs Country Store? Do they still sell it?

Still available in all good supermarkets. And also in Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

In winter porridge (Kavanaghs from Aldi, the best for me yet), with cinnamon, and cream when I have some in, otherwise milk. No sugar.

In warm weather, weetabix (sorry Aldi own brand) crushed and porridge oats mixed in. A bit of ice cold water first, then topped up with whole milk. No sugar, I hate sweet cereals.

Porridge with a few spoonfuls of mixed fruit and nuts thrown in, sometimes with lindseeds or sunflower seeds thrown in, or physillium husks if required, with juice and yoghurt to follow.

Sometimes pancakes or waffles with maple bacon as a treat.

Banana/strawberry/chocolate flavoured weetabix, coco pop, chocolate ready brek, Cheerios, corn flakes , can't choose a favourite :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Banana/strawberry/chocolate flavoured weetabix, coco pop, chocolate ready brek, Cheerios, corn flakes , can't choose a favourite :)
    Corn flakes from years back i always though was like eating cardboard. My favourite ceral back in the day was Crunchy Nut there's 11g of sugar in a 30g serving :P