Whats the best investment youve made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I've a comfortable bed, and a comfortable pair of shoes. That'll do for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

My bike, car is getting a bit lonely though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

stimpson wrote: »
    Or creepy, depending on the neighbour.

definitely not creepy! she was the sweetest :o and is probably the main reason I got into art and started my career :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

My education. ...printers....they're more for my mom...certain hardware ..certain software ..certain free software is often just as good though.

Dammit Lady you got in there before me :D

Definitely, my education :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Also education, particularly my postgrad. My undergrad was more my parents investment lol. From a financial sense anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Specialun wrote: »
    Pipe down son

Sorry, I always get excitable when my dividend cheques arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Property!:)

As the Americans say...'Get off my Property!!' **cocks shotgun**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

€1000 on a banjaxed, purple Volkwagon Polo in the summer of 2008.

None of the lads had a car, so I unintentionally saved a fortune being Desi. Lost my virginity in it too. If ye think your first time was awkward and uncomfortable, try doing it in a VW Polo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

BOI shares post crisis.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

My first improv class all those years ago. Opened doors for me that wouldn't have opened otherwise.

Bottom line is invest in yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

BRCD for $3.97 a share in 2011. Sold in December for $12.15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

BRCD for $3.97 a share in 2011. Sold in December for $12.15.

What did you spend all that 12 dollars on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

What did you spend all that 12 dollars on?

In fairness, not even accounting for dividends, that's still over an 80% return on the initial investment, and if that were a block of 1,000 shares, that's a tidy sum! :eek:

Education, pension, laptop, car, tablet.

I also love my wake-up light alarm in the winter months, and my electric blanket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

My Umbro jumper that I bought about 5 years ago for a tenner, still wear it round the house in winter, sometimes wear it to 5 a side.....I wish I'd bought 3 or 4 of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Public_Enema

My dog. Yes I've spent a lot more money on other things. But the adoration, companionship, memories and laughs my dogs gives me, pretty much makes him priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Candie wrote: »

I also love my wake-up light alarm in the winter months, and my electric blanket.

I bought a sunlight alarm clock two years ago. A great product. I've full blackout curtains in the master bedroom, so was looking for a product like that to have me waking up feeling refreshed. They really work. I bound out of bed full of energy during the winter months at 5.30 after 5 and a half hours sleep.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Shares in a pumpkin farm.
    I have a feeling they're gonna peak right around January

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

My investment in life itself.

I've invested a lot in life. Particularly my investment of staying alive, but we'll see how that turns out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

My investment in life itself.

I've invested a lot in life. Particularly my investment of staying alive, but we'll see how that turns out.

You are going to be mighty pissed off if your investment turns out to be a short term one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Bought a few acres in '91 for not a lot, sold it in 2005 for enough to pay off the mortgage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Menas wrote: »
    You are going to be mighty pissed off if your investment turns out to be a short term one.

Not really....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

My preorder for Fallout 4...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I have two 'with profits policies' that I took out in 2000 and mature in 2030. They both have consistently made between 25 and 35% profit/bonus every year since they started.

Got a link to that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Got a link to that?

They're haven't been available since 2001. In fact you can't get a 'with profits' policy from anywhere anymore. They were Canada Life policies but have since last year been taken over by Irish Life. Everything earned so far along with my premium is guaranteed on maturity.

dropped €4500 i didnt have on a postgrad evening course two years ago that landed me a job upon completion in January that's worth four times that annually in salary increase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Buying my own home.
    It was tough going at the start, but is saving me a fortune as the years tick on. I'll be rent and mortgage free in another 8 or 9 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭LadyFenghuang

My dog. Yes I've spent a lot more money on other things. But the adoration, companionship, memories and laughs my dogs gives me, pretty much makes him priceless.

Very true. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

extra virgin snake oil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I don't invest money so my health I would say. Gym membership, decent road bike, and I spend quite a lot on food and eat very healthily.

Maintaining good health and fitness are my top priorities in life. Especially as I get older. I need to stay strong and fit for the job I'm being educated for.