Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the best investment youve made

• 18-06-2015 5:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

For me it must be my apple tv and ipad

Streaming all the best series has improved my tv viewing greatly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

my boards.ie subscription where would I be without it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I made a good investment in the jax this morning, I'm not looking for a return on it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Yeah, Chromecast was a good one. What does the Apple TV offer that the Chromecast doesn't? I can't see why ATV is 100 euro and chromecast is 40?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Peacock to be placed in the 3:05 at Ascot today @ 7/4.

Money for nothing.

Still working on getting the chicks for free bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I have two 'with profits policies' that I took out in 2000 and mature in 2030. They both have consistently made between 25 and 35% profit/bonus every year since they started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Yeah, Chromecast was a good one. What does the Apple TV offer that the Chromecast doesn't? I can't see why ATV is 100 euro and chromecast is 40?

Chromecast is miles better, you can cast any tab from chrome so you can watch any web video on it. Maybe you can do that with a jailbroken appletv I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

my boards.ie subscription where would I be without it

But you're not a subscriber?? :confused:

you're a phony!! :pac:

Mine would be my toolset, given it mountains of abuse and it holds up to it no bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭LadyFenghuang

My education. ...printers....they're more for my mom...certain hardware ..certain software ..certain free software is often just as good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

XBMC, blows apple TV and everything else away.

A vodka and orange for someone when I was 17.

She's still with me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I bought a Chromebook last year. Best €230 I've ever spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bought a classical guitar second hand in 1996 for £1800. Wouldn't get much change out of 20k if I bought it new today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Specialun wrote: »

You invested in some consumer electronics, eh?

Could I interest you in an investment in some magic beans or penny stocks? If you're more of a tangible property guy, I have some bridges I could sell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Bought a house in 2004 for 160k, sold in 2007 for 400k. Put cash in bank and went to Australia. Came back in 09, bought a house in 2011 for 370k, sold it 2015 for 470k and have our eye on a one for 260k. Hopefully be living mortgage/rent free in two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

My sewing machine and a second hand box of paints from my neighbour when I was 5. They were £2 and a hug.

Lau2976 wrote: »
    My sewing machine and a second hand box of paints from my neighbour when I was 5. They were £2 and a hug.

That is so sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

My Samsung sound bar

It's interesting what different people consider investments. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

My Pension!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

A one way ticket to the US 25 years ago.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

McGaggs wrote: »
    You invested in some consumer electronics, eh?

Could I interest you in an investment in some magic beans or penny stocks? If you're more of a tangible property guy, I have some bridges I could sell you.

Pipe down son

No let's hear him out I for one am intrigued!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Penis enhancement

PM sent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

That is so sweet.

Or creepy, depending on the neighbour.

Mine has to be my divorce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

But they aren't investments. They're just great purchases (particularly if it's a jailbroken Apple TV 2).

I have a fancy watch that is now worth several times what I paid for it.
    That was a good investment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Just a little Samba

When I finished my degree I bought an open ended 20 stop round the world flight and spent 2 and a half years travelling and working. Even made it to the Antarctic on cruise from Chile, they ferried us to the shore in little ribs and we got to see penguin and seal colonies.

mailforkev wrote: »
    But they aren't investments. They're just great purchases (particularly if it's a jailbroken Apple TV 2).

Some people have a good eye/mind for things like that.

mailforkev wrote: »

Yeah, purchasing something that you get good use from is "value for money".
    An "investment" is the action or process of investing money for profit....apparently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Menas wrote: »
    Yeah, purchasing something that you get good use from is "value for money".
    An "investment" is the action or process of investing money for profit....apparently!

My best investment was buying 2 new phones for 10 Euro the day they launched in a special offer and later selling them for 60 Euro each on adverts.ie.

600% return, not going to see the likes of that again I expect.

My best purchase it's a ten Euro cable that allows me play everything I watch on my phone on my tv. Cheaper than the Chromecast and much more reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I've a comfortable bed, and a comfortable pair of shoes. That'll do for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

My bike, car is getting a bit lonely though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

stimpson wrote: »
    Or creepy, depending on the neighbour.

definitely not creepy! she was the sweetest :o and is probably the main reason I got into art and started my career :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

My education. ...printers....they're more for my mom...certain hardware ..certain software ..certain free software is often just as good though.

Dammit Lady you got in there before me :D

Definitely, my education :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Also education, particularly my postgrad. My undergrad was more my parents investment lol. From a financial sense anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Pipe down son

Sorry, I always get excitable when my dividend cheques arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Property!:)

As the Americans say...'Get off my Property!!' **cocks shotgun**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

€1000 on a banjaxed, purple Volkwagon Polo in the summer of 2008.

None of the lads had a car, so I unintentionally saved a fortune being Desi. Lost my virginity in it too. If ye think your first time was awkward and uncomfortable, try doing it in a VW Polo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

BOI shares post crisis.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

My first improv class all those years ago. Opened doors for me that wouldn't have opened otherwise.

Bottom line is invest in yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

BRCD for $3.97 a share in 2011. Sold in December for $12.15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

BRCD for $3.97 a share in 2011. Sold in December for $12.15.

What did you spend all that 12 dollars on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

What did you spend all that 12 dollars on?

In fairness, not even accounting for dividends, that's still over an 80% return on the initial investment, and if that were a block of 1,000 shares, that's a tidy sum! :eek:

Education, pension, laptop, car, tablet.

I also love my wake-up light alarm in the winter months, and my electric blanket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

My Umbro jumper that I bought about 5 years ago for a tenner, still wear it round the house in winter, sometimes wear it to 5 a side.....I wish I'd bought 3 or 4 of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Public_Enema

My dog. Yes I've spent a lot more money on other things. But the adoration, companionship, memories and laughs my dogs gives me, pretty much makes him priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Candie wrote: »

I also love my wake-up light alarm in the winter months, and my electric blanket.

I bought a sunlight alarm clock two years ago. A great product. I've full blackout curtains in the master bedroom, so was looking for a product like that to have me waking up feeling refreshed. They really work. I bound out of bed full of energy during the winter months at 5.30 after 5 and a half hours sleep.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Shares in a pumpkin farm.
    I have a feeling they're gonna peak right around January

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

My investment in life itself.

I've invested a lot in life. Particularly my investment of staying alive, but we'll see how that turns out.

My investment in life itself.

I've invested a lot in life. Particularly my investment of staying alive, but we'll see how that turns out.

You are going to be mighty pissed off if your investment turns out to be a short term one.