If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Talk some sense into me before I stick a screwdriver through my oil filter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

CianRyan wrote: »
    Talk some sense into me before I stick a screwdriver through my oil filter...

I've done that before.

But I found a better way of unscrewing them. Grab a piece of grippy sandpaper and voila.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Too many meetings my head is melted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Mk2 escort bare metal resto pic montage. It's due an mot tomorrow. Taking from passionford.com

B13E8DB8-6C1C-4DD9-A984-E4AE6D596CC0_zpsos2g74xv.jpg
    24A8C865-3BE1-4954-A6C7-E6E5644EB89C_zpsjep8afay.jpg
    7D8AA022-64A7-49F4-8F8C-BBFEE0850570_zpsrhfe4e83.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Snapchat--3016064903545839954_zpsmjpnaueo.jpg

In CIT today, pity it was a dirty peasant manual diesel :pac:

GvidoR wrote: »
    I've done that before.

But I found a better way of unscrewing them. Grab a piece of grippy sandpaper and voila.

Chain tool is an absolute failure so I'm gonna see if I have any sand paper! Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Chain tool is an absolute failure so I'm gonna see if I have any sand paper! Haha

I find a multigrips is the right job. Be worth buying. Handy to have in general. I tried an inner tube before too. Might work for you. Just use a spanner or something to twist the tube tight.

I've done that before.

THANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOU

It's off and wouldn't you know, looks brand new. :p
    Same can't be said for the oil, black as tar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Snapchat--3016064903545839954_zpsmjpnaueo.jpg

In CIT today, pity it was a dirty peasant manual diesel :pac:

Carlow or cork?

YbFocus wrote: »
    Carlow or cork?

Pffffft Carlow :pac: Cork of course :P

All ye cork boys are the same :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

CianRyan wrote:
    THANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOU

It's off and wouldn't you know, looks brand new. Same can't be said for the oil, black as tar.

So did sandpaper do the trick, yeah? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭No Voter And Proud

Interslice wrote: »
    I find a multigrips is the right job. Be worth buying. Handy to have in general. I tried an inner tube before too. Might work for you. Just use a spanner or something to twist the tube tight.

Inner tubing from a bike tyre worked for me on me old ford before.

All ye cork boys are the same :)

Only a small superiority complex :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Front left indicator doesn't work on the Punto. I thought I'll replace the bulb, easy peasy, but unfortunately that wasn't the case.

Each headlight has a different indicator bulb holder and turns out the left one doesn't work. Swapped the bulbs to make sure. :(

Sure what are you worried about... Indicators are an optional extra.

Pov06 wrote: »
    Sure what are you worried about... Indicators are an optional extra.
    It's not a bmw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

So i was in kilcock today, and just to let the alfa people among us know, there is a 3.0 gtv v6 there, ready to be pillaged, its black

I went in for bits for the 900, only to find it was crushed :( But where a door closes a window opens, and they left in its place a 00 9-5 aero, so i picked this up for 150 moneys, not a bit of movement out of it :D

141s1gg.jpg

Fitting it at the end of the month, for the grand total of 80 euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

You can see here how they're different.

j2yyFmy.png

Buuuut... Is one lamp a foglight equipped head lamp and the other a standard lamp?

Do the 2 lamps take completely different bulbs?

So i was in kilcock today, and just to let the alfa people among us know, there is a 3.0 gtv v6 there, ready to be pillaged, its black

I went in for bits for the 900, only to find it was crushed :( But where a door closes a window opens, and they left in its place a 00 9-5 aero, so i picked this up for 150 moneys, not a bit of movement out of it :D

141s1gg.jpg

Fitting it at the end of the month, for the grand total of 80 euro

You were ripped off. I have a TD04 here that cost me 40 quid :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

dgt wrote: »

Meh! they wanted 300 for it but one of the older lads said the car wasn't worth a shyte anyways, which is partly true, so he said 150, better than 300, and way better than 800 :o

I've got my turbo, and that's all that matters

0522a855-9da9-4c9f-8c6c-bd71075cd6f0.jpg

And you fit it for that cost too or?
    I been looking back through your posts in the past and you seem most helpful to ham fisted user like me with good guides about how to change parts yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Would it fit my 1SZ-FE? :pac:

Pov06 wrote: »
    Would it fit my 1SZ-FE? :pac:

Nope. I welded it to a d-turbo manifold so it could never be used on anything else, just out of badness :P
    And you fit it for that cost too or?
    I been looking back through your posts in the past and you seem most helpful to ham fisted user like me with good guides about how to change parts yourself.

I aim to please :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Probably welded on by an orang-utan! :) Do you have the type of chain wrench that couples to a spanner or a 1/2'' ratchet?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

11 meetings back to back with a fifteen minute break at lunchtime :(

If I never go to a meeting again it will be too soon

And the traffic on the way home was horrific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

11181850_406466122892739_336840110740296744_n.jpg?oh=bd55e1a9ab80d7c17b6bd85f4f916af6&oe=5632B722

I'd prefer 55mpg more than a small man tbh

Stheno wrote: »
    11 meetings back to back with a fifteen minute break at lunchtime :(

If I never go to a meeting again it will be too soon

And the traffic on the way home was horrific

Are you ok hun? ;)

Me or duke?

Stheno wrote: »
    Me or duke?

Too late to the edit :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I'd say yer man from game of thrones would be great craic to go on the lash with...