Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,788 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

No offence meant but one would have to question why this outdated presentation is so populR, but then you just have to think 'Jeremy Kyle'
    What's outdated about his presentation? His presentation is unique to him and always has been.

You're just throwing insults at him and people who enjoy his TV persona, it's been comical to watch Clarkson haters flip flop around all the possible character flaws out there. Ye seem to think it's a badge of honor to hate Clarkson, as if it's the secret handshake to get into some high brow club of light entertainment.

If you don't like Clarkson that's fine, different strokes for different folks. But don't take on this air of superiority just because you don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

ScumLord wrote: »
    If you don't like Clarkson that's fine, different strokes for different folks. But don't take on this air of superiority just because you don't get it.

If you do like Clarkson that's fine too. But don't take on this air of superiority by assuming that those that dislike him do so because there's something they "don't get".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

What's outdated about his presentation? His presentation is unique to him and always has been.

You're just throwing insults at him and people who enjoy his TV persona, it's been comical to watch Clarkson haters flip flop around all the possible character flaws out there. Ye seem to think it's a badge of honor to hate Clarkson, as if it's the secret handshake to get into some high brow club of light entertainment.

I'm sorry mate, but would you please outline where I am 'throwing insults at Clarkson' that are not true?

Have to say the vitriol coming TG supporters is quite foolish.

I am putting forward a point of view which is,in fairness,is not in favour of Clarkson, but it's a genuine point of view.

I don't appreciate bullying warnings from people who's view I differ from,mate.

Very foolish and childish tactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭lertsnim

It astounds me when people are surprised he got fired.

But he didn't get fired. He even recorded voice overs this week for an episode to be aired soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,788 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm sorry mate, but would you please outline where I am 'throwing insults at Clarkson' that are not true?
    No problem, every single one of your posts have made a sideswipe at people who watch Top Gear.
    Not in the slightest mate, unlike you, it seems, I don't live my life riding on the backs of TV presenters who present a lifestyle which might synch. with my idea of life,like driving cars around and crashing them and generally behaving like a total idiot for the benefit of the rump of viewers who appreciate that kind of 'entertainment'

Not for Brendan, laddie, do things for myself.
    The whole post is an underhanded attack on people who watch top gear and the post ends with you implying you're somehow better for not liking Clarkson.
    There is unfortunately a rather dark rump of people to whom that scenario presents no problem,Boney.

Astounds me too that that kind of attitude is still 'popular'.

No offence meant but one would have to question why this outdated presentation is so populR, but then you just have to think 'Jeremy Kyle'

Then it all comes clear.
    Again, the entire post is an opportunity for you to belittle people that watch Top Gear and comparing it to Jeremy Kyle.

Every single one of your posts is just a swing at Clarkson and his fans.

No problem, every single one of your posts have made a sideswipe at people who watch Top Gear.

The whole post is an underhanded attack on people who watch top gear and the post ends with you implying you're somehow better for not liking Clarkson.

Again, the entire post is an opportunity for you to belittle people that watch Top Gear and comparing it to Jeremy Kyle.

Every single one of your posts is just a swing at Clarkson and his fans.

So I'm not entitled to an opinion, and just because you rock in,I'm supposed to coil up and post no longer on this subject?

You seem to infer that there are a lot of thin- skinned people posting here.

You seem think that anybody who presents a contrary opinion to yours is belittling others.

You seem to think that your opinion is paramount and anyone who dares to say otherwise should be hounded off the thread and vilified?

You seem to think that you can bully people into conforming to your point of view

You got another think coming,mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

It is perfectly possible to have an opinion different to other people with out belittling their opinion. Some people like Top Gear, some people don't. Does it really have to descend into the people who dont like Top Gear belittling the people who do? Can we all not just agree to disagree?

syklops wrote: »
    It is perfectly possible to have an opinion different to other people with out belittling their opinion. Some people like Top Gear, some people don't. Does it really have to descend into the people who dont like Top Gear belittling the people who do? Can we all not just agree to disagree?

Of course we can, now maybe the pro Clarkson people can follow the same path, rather than trying to put words in people's mouths.

Sense at last.... All new show... Chris Evans is the new man

You heard it first from Brenno.

Adios Jezza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Adios Jezza

This might result in some sort of disciplinary action, but it needs saying anyway - you're some exasperating person, bah. Live long, and prosper. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,490 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Chris Evans, for **** sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Ryan Tubridy in as host of TLLS.

So long plank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,105 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

It is being confirmed from the BBC now saying Chris Evans is the man to take it over for a 3 year deal.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-33158464

UPDATE: Press Release from the BBC Media Centre

http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/latestnews/2015/chris-evans-to-lead-new-top-gear-line-up?ns_mchannel=social&ns_campaign=bbc_press_office&ns_source=twitter&ns_linkname=corporate

jimgoose wrote: »
    This might result in some sort of disciplinary action, but it needs saying anyway - you're some fcukan langer, bah. Live long, and prosper. :)

You talkin' to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,153 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Great choice, I like Chris Evans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,464 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Adios Jezza

If that's true I don't think it'll last long. Evans is a very different persona to Clarkson and the reason why people watch the show is the banter between the 3 lads - that's why it's constantly being repeated .. ratings winner.

If Clarkson, May and Hammond pop up elsewhere I'd expect "new" Top Gear to go the same way as "new" Coke.

I probably won't watch it.. not an Evans fan to begin with anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

You talkin' to me?

Yes. Yes I am.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    If that's true I don't think it'll last long. Evans is a very different persona to Clarkson and the reason why people watch the show is the banter between the 3 lads - that's why it's constantly being repeated .. ratings winner.

If Clarkson, May and Hammond pop up elsewhere I'd expect "new" Top Gear to go the same way as "new" Coke.

Aaah go on, of course you'll watch it, will be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭ofcork

Last episode being shown on sun 28th apparently.

Yes. Yes I am.

Why the hate, Goosy?

Just reporting like.

No need surely.

The two fat lads and the little fella are history

Like I predicted:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,105 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

ofcork wrote: »

Yep. A 75 minute episode, which is the final one with Clarkson Hammond and May, will be aired on Sunday 28th of June at 8pm on BBC Two.

I don't hate you, Brendan. Far from it. I just think you're a Knobjockey! :)

We'll leave it there so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

We'll leave it there so...
    Will you watch the new Chris Evans show, Brendan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

New presenters and new producers might be a good opportunity to refresh the format. This was badly needed. The few times I did have the misfortune of watching Top Gear I saw a heavily scripted and forced type of 'banter' and bonhomie between three middle aged men in ill-fitting denim jackets. That type of lad humour was tired and well past its sell by date.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Will you watch the new Chris Evans show, Brendan?

I might, just for aesthetic reasons.

But if they bring in crap like 'the Stig' or some other rubbish, the Bren will bruise the off button kinda rapido.

Hope genuine car fans like it though, and it's not a conduit for insult, defamation and taunting.

Hope it concentrates on just cars.

New presenters and new producers might be a good opportunity to refresh the format. This was badly needed. The few times I did have the misfortune of watching Top Gear I saw a heavily scripted and forced type of 'banter' and bonhomie between three middle aged men in ill-fitting denim jackets. That type of lad humour was tired and well past its sell by date.

Good observation Aongus, we have left the 1980s behind I hope.

Best wishes for the new show and a new start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

I might, just for aesthetic reasons.

But if they bring in crap like 'the Stig' or some other rubbish, the Bren will bruise the off button kinda rapido.

Hope genuine car fans like it though, and it's not a conduit for insult, defamation and taunting.

Hope it concentrates on just cars.

The Stig in fairness is needed to compare the top end cars around the track. Being honest, I think it will stick to broadly the same format.

I like Clarkson. I get his sense of humour. And, as a petrolhead, it was pretty much the only car programme the missus would watch, no need for one of us to dissappear to the bedroom to watch something else.

I'll check out the new series like yourself, but I don't envisage liking it, but probably for different reasons to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

ofcork wrote: »
    Yep. A 75 minute episode, which is the final one with Clarkson Hammond and May, will be aired on Sunday 28th of June at 8pm on BBC Two.

If it isn't the highest rated programme on BBC Two since the peak of Great British Bakeoff on Two - 9.4 million I'll eat my hat.

pablo128 wrote: »
    The Stig in fairness is needed to compare the top end cars around the track. Being honest, I think it will stick to broadly the same format.

I like Clarkson. I get his sense of humour. And, as a petrolhead, it was pretty much the only car programme the missus would watch, no need for one of us to dissappear to the bedroom to watch something else.

I'll check out the new series like yourself, but I don't envisage liking it, but probably for different reasons to you.

Thanks for that info.

I don't envisage watching it, but as a challenge for Evans on a performance basis and how he moves the show on from the, well, let's face it, the morass it sank into, that in itself will be worth following.

Hope all the old fans take to it, and that's an honest wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

If the trio appear on Netflex or somewhere else I will be watching. Chris Evans is okay, I liked him on Don't Forget Your Toothbrush and TFI Friday, whether he would be good on Top Gear is another matter. Like you, I don't know whether a new Top Gear will work.