If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

would it not be 144x more than a horse and trap though? :rolleyes:

It's all about the power to weight lad! It's the weight of all the wet turf that had them so slow.

Apparently there is 14.6hp/horse :eek::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

soooo, the final tally

engine: €350
    fitting: €350
    clutch: €210
    service kit and consumables €95
    3 months tax: €180

total: too much.

first time i've ever thought "oh jaysus, the car tax". €180 is a bit sticky for 3 months on an auld banger, you'd nearly do the GTC for a year for the same money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Just got an online quote of 530 for fully comp. Currently with chill.ie it's 783 for an early renewal, tpft. Best they can do apparently... The guy on the phone with chill earlier: "We have access to all the underwriters operating in Ireland. You won't get any better. I can do it for 783 today as an early renewal but it will be 803 euro from tomorrow". I told him for the sake of 20 quid I'd take my chances on shopping around :).

I've changed broker every year. They seem to give you a good price the first year, maybe making little or nothing just to get you in, and then the standard price from then on. The only pattern I can find! Hopefully that 530 is true. Wouldn't mind that. 580 on the van was the lowest premium I've ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

That's bs from chill they wanted €500 from me for tpft. I called sheridan insurance and got tpft for €380 on a 1.6 focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Right, so I've an update about the car and I don't have good news :(
    Right, the good news is that the car will be in my hands tomorrow evening and hopefully the rattle will be gone.
    The bad, well I was right in thinking the injectors may be faulty.. Note I said injectorS.
    All 4 injectors were faulty :( not running right at all so I'm a over 600e lighter now. They also said that they seriously recommend changing the fuel filter which they will do (genuine one).
    I'm off to get drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I've gotten something laughably wrong of fuelly, but I'm going to use it to my advantage and pretend my car does that MPG :D

Look at my sig :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

bear1 wrote: »
    Right, so I've an update about the car and I don't have good news :(
    Right, the good news is that the car will be in my hands tomorrow evening and hopefully the rattle will be gone.
    The bad, well I was right in thinking the injectors may be faulty.. Note I said injectorS.
    All 4 injectors were faulty :( not running right at all so I'm a over 600e lighter now. They also said that they seriously recommend changing the fuel filter which they will do (genuine one).
    I'm off to get drunk.

What make/model is this car? It appears to be unwell very often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Stheno wrote: »
    What make/model is this car? It appears to be unwell very often

I don't think you want to know!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I don't think you want to know!

I have a vague suspicion it's an Accord :pac:

Accord :(

Accord :(

Are you torturing it?

Torching you mean...

Lol what has gone wrong with it? It's not an 05 petrol auto is it?

04 diesel.
    Let's see, where do I start:

Chains (both) replaced
    During that job 3 of the 4 injectors were damaged.. gob****e bought 3 ****e injectors and then fobbed me off when I complained.
    Brakes/discs
    New filters including the expensive Honda purchased fuel filter
    Boost solenoid failed over and over again
    Inlet manifold had to be cleaned
    and now 4 refurbished injectors.
    I know brakes/discs/filters are consumables but I haven't had one months break.
    I also need to buy a wheel bearing and a wishbone which will need doing this month as well.
    Paid 2.1k for the car and I've spent I'd say the same again on repairs.
    Haven't had a year yet :( but to be fair to it it has never ever left me at the side of the road

04 diesel.
    Let's see, where do I start:

Chains (both) replaced
    During that job 3 of the 4 injectors were damaged.. gob****e bought 3 ****e injectors and then fobbed me off when I complained.
    Brakes/discs
    New filters including the expensive Honda purchased fuel filter
    Boost solenoid failed over and over again
    Inlet manifold had to be cleaned
    and now 4 refurbished injectors.
    I know brakes/discs/filters are consumables but I haven't had one months break.
    I also need to buy a wheel bearing and a wishbone which will need doing this month as well.
    Paid 2.1k for the car and I've spent I'd say the same again on repairs.
    Haven't had a year yet :( but to be fair to it it has never ever left me at the side of the road

Is it the 2.2 engine?

Yep. I mean it's a very good engine and I believe it's Honda's first attempt at a commonrail engine.
    Pokey and if looked after will serve you well.
    It also has a very good spec, auto wipers, heated seats, sat nav, sunroof, climate control, leather and an electric boot door.
    Oh well, whats done is done. I'm just praying that the rattle is gone...
    I'm also wondering how the car will feel power wise once I get it back, I imagine I will notice a big difference to acceleration and fuel consumption?

Yep. I mean it's a very good engine and I believe it's Honda's first attempt at a commonrail engine.
    Pokey and if looked after will serve you well.
    It also has a very good spec, auto wipers, heated seats, sat nav, sunroof, climate control, leather and an electric boot door.
    Oh well, whats done is done. I'm just praying that the rattle is gone...
    I'm also wondering how the car will feel power wise once I get it back, I imagine I will notice a big difference to acceleration and fuel consumption?

The one engine my mechanic told me not to near on accord was the 2.2 diesel, can't remember exactly now, but he'd come across a few with issues
    still hopefully youre near the end of all the grief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Mc Love wrote:
    Had my battery changed and thought the radio code was in my manual pack, now I'm waiting in the dealers and have to pay 20 euro as they have to take my fecking stereo out to get the serial number

You have the sony 6cd and seperate climate control? Or is it the nx unit, with the sat nav? If it's the former, then it's piiss easy to takr out, start at the cup holder and work your way up to the radio, everything just clicks off. There's 4 normal screws around the radio and then the radio is free. I had a step by step procedure up here when I changed my radio. There's loads of demos on talkfords wiki too, could have shown you them if I knew in time.

It's a stupid idea having the serial number written on the radio anyway, awkward to get at! Do your dealers charge a tenner for code retrieval, mine does. Must get a code for the one I took out, and stick it on ebay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Are you torturing it?

No, Nicola Romeo is trolling him from his grave for getting rid of his 156 :pac:

Well I hope Nicola only has one victim at a time :pac:

Actually, on the subject of Accord woes, since I figured out that the accelerator is bottom up as opposed to top down, almost all of the issues I had with the accelerator have gone, it speeds up fine through the gears etc, compared to the shuddering/stuttering/slow acceleration, that was me being truly dense.

However, I've one outstanding issue. Driving at between 40 and 45 mph, and between 55 and 60 mph, on particular sections of road (very specific sections of road) the accelerator will shudder for a few seconds (maybe up to five/six seconds) then stop.

Is it possible that's the road surface? E.g. if I come out of the port tunnel going northbound, everytime I pass the sign that indicates inside lane for M50 and the other two lanes to go north on the M1 I get the shudder and if I do nothing it goes away after a few seconds.

Does it make sense to think it's the road surface? And is there anything I can do if that's the case? My mechanic had it for a day and said he found no issues with it whatsoever

Yeah haunting me from beyond the grave..

Ordered a pair of inner tie rods for the NCT. Got a bit carried away and ordered tie rod ends, ball joints (NCT man said I might want to consider doing them in the future), pads, discs and drop links. I'm broke now :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Valeting a car for a lad. It's a 2004 mk4 golf. Now I never drove a low spec mk4, but comparing this gt spec one to my focus, there's really no competition. The golf is a much more solid car, heavier, nicer to drive, nicer to be in, lovely bucket seats. Maybe I'm not comparing like with like, ie, a higher powered, high specc'd golf with a fairly basic, lower powered focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Valeting a car for a lad. It's a 2004 mk4 golf. Now I never drove a low spec mk4, but comparing this gt spec one to my focus, there's really no competition. The golf is a much more solid car, heavier, nicer to drive, nicer to be in, lovely bucket seats. Maybe I'm not comparing like with like, ie, a higher powered, high specc'd golf with a fairly basic, lower powered focus.

You forgot it's got blue dials !

AT NIGHT :pac:

That good or bad?

What colour dash lighting/dials does everyone have around here actually. My focus is green with red pins, mondeo is orange/red with white pins.

|Any thoughts on this lads? Seeing my mechanic to get the merc serviced tomorrow

I.e. my shuddery post, bear has me frightened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

What engine? The mk4 Golf isn't a patch to drive vs a Focus, but the rest is accurate enough!

Tea 1000 wrote:
    What engine? The mk4 Golf isn't a patch to drive vs a Focus, but the rest is accurate enough!

This is a mk4 golf vs a mk1 focus. It's a 1.9 tdi 130