Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

DuffleBag wrote: »
    I believe it Rickard.. pronounced Ri-card... Mullane also got Dayne (Dwayne) Lee and Alan (Eoin) Cadogan's names wrong... for a man who says knows so much about the u21 team.

Chinese whispers Id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭zetecescort

TEAM CORK UNDER 21 HURLING

1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Darren Browne (Kanturk)

3. Alan Dennehy (Charleville)

4. Sean O'Donoghue (Inniscarra)d

5. Dave Noonan (Glen Rovers)

6. Conor Twomey (Newtownshandrum) (c)

7. Niall Cashman (Blackrock)

8. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle)

9. Martin Brennan (Fermoy)

10. Kevin O’Neill (Watergrasshill)

11. Killian O’Connor (Mallow)

12. Darren Casey (Charleville)

13. Mark O'Connor (Douglas)

14. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)

15. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

Subs:

16. Jack Barry (Castlelyons)

17. Jack Buckley (Charleville)

18. Mark O'Keeffe (Fr. O'Neills)

19. Kieran Histon (Cobh)

20. Shane Hegarty (Dungourney)

21. Dayne Lee (Na Piarsaigh)

22. David Geary (Fermoy)

23. Donal Hannon (Newmarket)

24. Patrick Herlihy (Mallow)

Selectors: Damien Irwin (Killeagh) - Manager; John Hodgins, (St. Finbarr's) - Coach; Ger O'Halloran (Ballinhassig); Alan Browne (Blackrock); Liam Hayes (Dromina).

Medical Officer: Dr. Paddy Burke. Physiotherapist: Michelle Tormey.

Ticket Information

€10 adults
    €5 concession (student / OAP)
    Under 16s free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

A strong team named considering all the big name absences and it's a solid looking full back line although I'd prefer o donughe be more central and Histon in

Having Kellher with the football makes no sense and it deprived hurlers who could done with him
    Strong half forward ball winning unit with meade imo drop deep and I think Cork will play a sweeper

A lot of lads out of minor so it's year one but it's a strong team down the centre and Waterford will be favourite and it's huge ask to beat them but Cork should be competitive with a good start
    I think they will play as a team and if cashman and Spillane and Lee can have big games it's good for Cork

Dennehy is worth watching to see if he has senior full back potential and done well for cit and Cork intermediate here so he has a good test now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Isn't Killian O'Connor a career defender?
    Shame Peter Kelleher not playing. Funny how Alan Cadogan could make the U21 football team with greater senior commitments.

WATERFORD U21

1Billy Nolan Roanmore

2Shane Mc NultyDe La Salle

3Kieran BennettBallysaggart

4Conor GleesonFourmilewater

5Michéal Harney Bonmahon

6Tadhg De Búrca Clashmore/Kinsalebeg

7Shane Bennett Ballysaggart

8Austin Gleeson Mount Sion

9Tom Devine Modeligo

10Colin Dunford Colligan

11Stephen Bennett Ballysaggart

12D.J. Foran Potlaw

13Ryan Donnelly Dungarvan

Cormac Curran Brickey Rangers

15Patrick Curran Dungarvan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

It must the youngest Cork u21 hurling team ever ...from last years minors Sean Hayes and Eoghan Keniry did not make it a bit surprised by that ...the only player I can make out who is on the age is Alan Dennehy indeed most of the subs are underage as well ...what age is the following Niall Cashman, Martin Brennan, Jack Barry, Jack Buckley, David Geary and Patrick Herlihy...Shane Hegharty.. ..TTM ? the biggest losses to this team are of course Michael Cahalane and Pa O Callaghan..

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    It must the youngest Cork u21 hurling team ever ...from last years minors Sean Hayes and Eoghan Keniry did not make it a bit surprised by that ...the only player I can make out who is on the age is Alan Dennehy indeed most of the subs are underage as well ...what age is the following Niall Cashman, Martin Brennan, Jack Barry, Jack Buckley, David Geary and Patrick Herlihy...Shane Hegharty.. ..TTM ? the biggest losses to this team are of course Michael Cahalane and Pa O Callaghan..
    As far as I'm aware I could be wrong but cashman geary I think definitely herihly, and hegarty have one more year at this grade left

Horgan is a huge loss also and so too is Murphy
    Gunning would be a huge addition also after the leaving cert if cork manage to win

Waterford team is superb on paper and there's quality all around but Spillane could if he gets ball be a real threat inside
    On paper Waterford are the team to beat but will they play as a team is the key
    A good performance for Cork with dennehy doing well at full back and Spillane at full forward would be good

Kevin o Neill is a great ball winner in the air and one to watch
    O Connor normally played full or centre for the hurling in the back line but in football played centre forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Shame Peter Kelleher not playing. Funny how Alan Cadogan could make the U21 football team with greater senior commitments.

Hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Eh, the u-21 football is played in March and April so at worst Cadogan was going to miss a few league hurling games. Kelleher and the Cork Senior footballers are preparing for a Munster Senior final in case you weren't aware..bit of a difference.

I didn't think he'd see much action but if he's not being released then management must be thinking about him at least and Senior grade takes priority. Unfortunate for u21 hurlers but that's the way it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Just saw that Kerry are -2 points in paddy power for the munster final. I'd take that all day long. In reality I'd take -6 points on Kerry, that's how low my estimation of this cork managerial set up is. And I don't really think we have the backs to cope. (Wetherby they play out of position or not)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Scarecrow 2

I heard few weeks back kelleher dropped himself off the hurling to concentrate on the football.

Waterford team looks much stronger on paper. Cathal Cormac looks a big loss for cork also. Very good ball winner and we are not blessed with them. A good performance with some players excelling would be as good as we can hope for i would imagine. Hard to see us winning this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

Just saw that Kerry are -2 points in paddy power for the munster final. I'd take that all day long. In reality I'd take -6 points on Kerry, that's how low my estimation of this cork managerial set up is. And I don't really think we have the backs to cope. (Wetherby they play out of position or not)

One would have to worry about the future of Paddy Power and if I was a shareholder I'd consider selling immediately and before those odds have a negative impact on the share price. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭clerk

According to Cork GAA website fixtures for Sunday
    http://www.gaacork.ie/

Senior Hurling Championship
    15:45 St Finbarrs vs Blackrock @ Pairc Ui Rinn
    19:45 Sarsfields vs Bishopstown @ Pairc Ui Rinn

Is that a typo or a fact, i.e, is it a double header or not ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

clerk wrote: »
    According to Cork GAA website fixtures for Sunday

Senior Hurling Championship
    15:45 St Finbarrs vs Blackrock @ Pairc Ui Rinn
    19:45 Sarsfields vs Bishopstown @ Pairc Ui Rinn

Is that a typo or a fact, i.e, is it a double header or not ?

It's actually a triple header, 14:00 Inniscarra vs Cloyne. Decent day of hurlball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

DuffleBag wrote: »
    It's actually a triple header, 14:00 Inniscarra vs Cloyne. Decent day of hurlball

It's not a triple-header, it's a double-header and then a stand-alone match. Different admission prices, though I suppose one could stick around in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

It's not a triple-header, it's a double-header and then a stand-alone match. Different admission prices, though I suppose one could stick around in between.

If one was a glutton for punishment:D

Thanks very much for the info.

You think they's have the senior matches as the double header !!

Is 7.45pm on a Sunday not a crazy time to be playing the 2nd senior match for the players involved and the supporters ? Whereas they could have had a handy crowd for a senior double header at 2 and 3.45.

Late throw-in for Sars game is to allow Éanna Martin to play, I believe. Wexford are playing Kilkenny in the afternoon

Thanks again - you're a well informed man. :) I was asking around and nobody could head not tail of it.

No hassle. Bishopstown weren't happy with it

I can imagine given the time etc. It really is an unsocialable time for a match but sure since when did the clubs and the fans matter. ;)

Would liked to have seen Alan O Callaghan wingback, Dayne Lee centreforward and Sean Hayes fullforward. Kelleher is a serious loss.

All three are serious players but that half back line is hard to debate in all three playing senior for there club and it's a strong line
    O Callaghan will be there next year
    I'm surprised Hayes isn't on either the intermediate or this panel as imo has senior potential
    Lee I think is a good sub to have and he's doing the leaving
    Cork need a game changer from the bench and he's good options

Very strong Waterford team but missing key players from two year ago will affect Cork but a good start and hopefully we'll get a performance
    It's a very young team but not as poor some make it out to be
    Its a good side but it's young but a senior Cork team almost forty years ago with six under twenty lads won senior all Ireland so it's not impossible young side win this game tomorrow
    Yes you expect Waterford to and rightly so with their big guns but if cork stay in the game as long as possible they have a chance

I'd agree with kelleher being a loss
    It's he's choice to play football so it must be respected but I think he's being rushed in to the senior when Cork have such array talent in forwards shouldn't be brought in now

The management have a habit pulling in young talent but then dropping them
    Kelleher has huge potential as a midfield down the line but I fear Cork see him as a full forward target man when if they wanted one Dan mac Eoin who is further down the road in he's career would been much better option for now
    He was listed in this management eight or so potential seniors last year but was never given a proper run this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Hard to know what condition lads are in when the Leaving Cert is still on. Can't blame a lad if they prioritise it. Know it's had a major effect for a couple of lads who would have likely made the panel at a minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Scarecrow 2

Figsy32 wrote: »
    Hard to know what condition lads are in when the Leaving Cert is still on. Can't blame a lad if they prioritise it. Know it's had a major effect for a couple of lads who would have likely made the panel at a minimum.

Has Alan o Callaghan even played hurling this year? Haven't seen him line out with any team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Has Alan o Callaghan even played hurling this year? Haven't seen him line out with any team

Not since the very start of the year.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/cork-lack-leaders-and-are-rudderless-blasts-tomaacutesnbspoacute-seacute-337397.html
    Very good article by what o se said

He is totally justified imo by he's views and he must be one of the few to actually call a spade a spade with Cork football
    I admire him hugely as a player and as a pundit long before today but more so now
    See he's not being any way non football orientation views he's simply on performance calling it as it is

I think genuinely he wants cork be competitive in its better kerry football in the r the long run and they need a test in munster unlike the leinster championship

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/forthright-tom%C3%A1s-%C3%B3-s%C3%A9-lays-it-on-the-line-for-cork-1.2251768
    He said it all really when he said the Players are there and if cork had fitzmaurice they would be a different team

Hurling is on TV later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Took a kerry man to say it,fair play tomas. There gas been ZERO improvement with cuthbert thus year,we lack leadership from management down and are heading for a hosing in killarney in front of the smallest cork crowd there in my memory